(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

Perlicia,
where u gg? cruise rite?? envy envy!

Totoro,
I have intro spinach to her. I read abt the nitrate content, but I guess if dun use the spinach water it shld be okie. Carrot is also one of the food with nitrate. So if you make carrot puree, you must becareful on that too, dun add in the water from the carrot to blend.

fiona,
hope u'll get better.

ecookie,
re: Asparagus
My cooking method for asparagus would be to skin the end of the stalk alittle, coz the skin there is tough(if u are using those big fat asparagus, the skinny one no need), then chop in even pieces n steam then blend? That's what I will do.

spinach has high nitrate content??? Matty has been eating spinach everyday! *worried* but i used organic spinach...is that ok? where did you gals get the info?

Noon, mummies!!! Great 1st Mother's Day celebratn with BBs & family?

re: Gathering
HARD ROCK Cafe on Vesak Day (May19), 12pm-3pm
1) ecookie - 03 (me+hb_bb)
2) CM syeo - 04 (me+bb+gal+maid)
3) hippo - 03 (me, hb n bb)
4) sugar_nut - 03 (me, hubby + bb)
5) frostyfiona - 03 (me, hubby and BB)
6) cheval - 03 (me, hubby + bb)
7) totoro_bb - 03 (me, hb + bb)
8) ueno - 02 (me n bb )
9) Pinky -02 (me & bb)
10) sanbebe - 03 (me, hb + bb)
11) Jas - 02 (me & bb)
12) unice - 03 (me, hb, bb)
13) Doobom - 02 (me & bb)
14) Annie - 03 (me & bb)
15) Dodo - 03 (me, hb, bb)
16) Jacq - 03 (me, hb, bb)
17) Perlicia - 02 (me & bb)
18) gingerleaf - 03 (me, hb, bb)
19) eil - 02 (me & bb)
20) zhen_zhen - 03 (me, hb + bb)
21) chintz - 03 (me, hubby + bb)
22) madlynette - 03 (me,hb n bb) KIV
23) bbwow - 03 (me, hb n bb)
24) Tiffany - 04 (me+bb+boy+maid)
25) junnie - 04 (me + hb + bb + gal) TBC
26) ariajo - 02 (me and bb)
27) ponponta 03 (me, hb nn bb)
28) zinterz - 02 (me n bb - hb to be confirmed)
29) renziz - 03 (me, hb, bb - TBC)

RESERVATION under Jessie.
QUOTE: Mothers' Gathering.

See all of you then. =)

happy belated mother's day mummies!

Sigh...I had the WORST mother's day ever. Planned to bring my boy for a swim and hubby just went crazy and started arguing with me. End up the whole day spoilt and bb didn't get his swim also.

Hope everyone's mother's day was better than mine!

Today I took leave to take care of bb as MIL have to work. Temp SAHM! Such a bliss!!~~ ahhhh...

ginger,ya, the cruise lor...although not as challenging like taking a flight, I also worried about when we go down the cruise for like 8h...can he take it without being cranky...

like yesterday went out the whole day...after milk he dose off, so can put him to the stroller and sleep like a baby. that's more like it....

One month back, when he dose off, put to stroller then immediately wake up and cry... my arms so tired....have to carry him for 1/2h or more to let him recharge his batt. Hope nothing like this going to happen in june..."keep finger crossed"

totoro,

yeah, I also ask my mil to prepare the puree and freeze it for her convenience. but end up my fil nag again and say frozen food no nutrients so my mil said since she's home most of the time, she'll prepare it fresh.

I don't mind cause that's her business! except when at my place, I'll prepare my own set of purees.

btw, is brocolli ok for bb now? thinking of making porridge later.

sigh yest mother day i eat maggie mee at home with my girl. i am v sad, angry and mad with my husband. It is my 1st mother day and yet he went to have dinner with his mum together with his eldest bro. Angry is that idiot MIL had it planned. she ask both son who have kids to have dinner with her, leaving the wife and kid at home. Thus, i quarrel with my husband till today and am still crying.

bbwow,
broccoli is good for bbs! Can feed now.

Perlicia,
dun worry, sure will enjoy wan. Like dodo had said, juz go with the flow, relax and enjoy.

Im planning a holiday myself too! Hope to be able to go in June/early July. Had discussed with hb, but still cant agree on where to go. Australia is out as its too cold, so left with resorts, shanghai, cruises, HK, or BKK. The resort I wanna go has a no child policy. So disappointing!
Might skip HK with hb, as a gf asked me to join her there in end june. Now cannot make up my mind, but at the same time, very excited abt it.

Anyone know of any resorts with a private infinity pool and allows babies?

Tiffy,
dun be upset anymore! With such lovely kids we've got, everyday is mothers day!
Juz think of it this way that ur hb is fulfiling his filial duties as a son. Next time ur baby will grow up to be as filial as daddy to you too.

My mothers day was spend lazing ard at home, and then having dinner with inlaws.
Baby gave me a present yesterday! How sweet right?? I was cleaning up her poo when she decided to give a final push and bits of poo splattered on me. The hb gleefully shouted 'Happy mothers day' behind me.

Tiffy, hugz hugz, dun be sad....
At least ur have bb wif u , on ur side

ask ur husband if during Father's day, he wans to be left alone in the house while u n bb goes out..

some MILs are really out to spite the DILs....
dun be too upset by it

tiffy, bbwow,

hugz hugz, theres nothing worse than a spoilt 1st time mommy mothers day! i think if this happens to me, i will remember for the rest of my life what my hb did to me on that day right?

i think most importantly on this day is for us to be thankful to god for blessing us with healthy baby. i was walking with hb and bb in orchard road on mothers day when i saw a mommy hugging her bb so lovingly at Taka. then i realise that her bb was sick, i mean very sick. i had to choke back tears, i felt so sorry for the mommy and so thankful at the same time for being so blessed. after that i didn't want any expensive meals or presents, being mommy is reward enough i think. even writing this post i feel teary already.

gingerleaf, hahaha, lyn so powerful ah, can squirt her poo poo out so far...

Re holiday in June: I am going to a 4 day church camp in Msia at a resort. Should not be a prob cos many aunties n uncles ard to entertain Sean

At first nearly get tickets for Beijing as my friend is working there for 1 yr, so asked us to visit her...but old folks say tt I will be stressing bb if we keep going sight seeing etc, weather also starting to get hot in June liao

So now planning for Cruise or Koh Samui/resorts trip...still cant make up our mind...dun wan go for expensive trip this mid yr as have to save money if we wan to go for New Zealand trip in Nov....

sigh, so much of thinking n planning, sekali end up stay in SIN whole year round

so sian,is Monday again...

frosty.. take care..

gingerleaf, wat a Mother's Day present lyn gave u, hahaha...

tiffy, dun get upset, my b your hb also 'no choice' hv to obey MIL instruction.... but i'm puzzled howcome your MIL so 'bu tong qing da li'? cant she allowed DIL's & grandchildren to join for dinner?

chirs.. wow.. your list of food for bb so 'feng fu'!! btw, wat is brewer yeast, tahini, rolled oat & millet? i nvr come across leh.. u mean u add fruit in the BR when feeding or separately??

jo.. dun worry, we all also learning fm tis thread, jus throw your questions, mummies who knws will advice u & we also learn same time, hehe..

re spinach & brocolli, nanny & i also fed bb lance alr.. oni gv the leaf, not the stalk yet, ya, dun add the water...didnt knw carrot cant gv too much, i tink every type of food also dun gv exceed ba..

unice.. hi-5, my bb meal also similar as yours leh..ysterday i fed him porridge w threadfin, bb so 'smelly' after tat, yeee..

ecooke, yalor, where to get fresh apricot? (is call 'tao zi' rite?, then the plum u use is 'li'??

Tiffy, arggghhhh, i didnt ask u to leave hb at home alone on Father's Day!!! i just ask u to get him to THINK over it!!! *faint*
haha, not worth to show ur MIL tt she has won over this incident...should show her tt u n hb will never be seperated!!! thats the BEST victory

unice,
yah manz! 2nd time I got squirted! So irritating.

Tiffy, dun be so upset oreadi. Can always make it up again with a nice dinner or what.

Mad, I feel teary juz reading abt ur post.

junnie, haha, ya man, so fishy for the whole day...even wipe his face, hands oso no use..
couldnt wait to bathe him in the evening

as usual, cook extra porridge, so me n hubby ate threadfin fish porridge
)))

unice,
oop! u mean like that.ok, i will sms him by copying ur words.

gingerleaf,
yest i had took out meat to defrost and want to cook and that when he told me he go out eat with his idiot mum. So as a punishment, i not cooking his dinner from today onward.
I am cooking ginseng chicken soup for myself today.

Junnie,
'wo yan bu xia zhe yi kou qi'

bbwow, tiffy: sorry to hear what happened. i'm sure hubby didn't mean to hurt u. *hugs*

threadfin: what's threadfin in chinese?

chintz,
1st time mother day is v special but yet this is what i get.
threadfin in hokkien is call 'ngoh hue'. If u go ntuc, it is stated as threadfin. Buy threadfin fillet, not much bone and sometime no bone at all. Easy for us to handle

Tiffy
hugz hugz ... don't let it spoilt the rest of your days ....

For me, other than receiving additional SMSes from my friends/colleagues, there is no difference from any other day!!

Mad
Read ur msg and tears almost dropped down as well. Am blessed that bb is healthy and growing.

Spinach & carrot
Will take note when preparing these.

By the way, are we able to freeze puree fruits like papaya and honeydew ?

tiffy,

*hug* sorry to hear about it.

my day wasn't even better. I pre-celebrated my mom's mother's day the week before so that my hubby could spend with his mom on the actual day. At first they planned dinner but no place so end up lunch.

I even agreed to the plan and said after that I wanna go my mom's place to visit her and also swim. We agreed. But SUDDENLY after lunch, my mil had other plans and my hubby didn't tell me. I was so disappointed but instead of him feeling guilty, he blew his top at me over his mom.

Today, he kept saying sorry but what's done is done lor. he didn't just disappoint me, he disappoint his son also.

naughty adri can pull up to a stand n support herself on those fat legs liao.. haha! but can't balance.. did a split!

1416056.jpg

bbwow & Tiffy,
Dun be upset about these. You are a wonderful & great mummy for your BBs! *HUGz from Jerry*
Due to the endless 'stunts' of the ILs, I had concluded to turn deaf ear & entertain them. Whatever they comment, I juz nod my head & smile. 'Ya, ya...' with them. The most impt thing in my mind is that itz not worth to start a war with hb juz becoz of them. Have no time for that too, coz juz wanna give all my time to BB. Always look/think of BB, u sure feel happie! =)
A smile from BB everyday is the best ever present for us. Everyday is Mother's Day for us!

re:poo after intro solids
Depends on the solids BB take. Can be orange (due to carrots), slight blacky, greeny (spinach), etc. So long itz not hard, I find it ok.

madlynette: i feel like tearing after i read ur post. we really should be glad to have a healthy baby...

bbwow: sorry to hear that ur mothers day didnt go that well. yah my hubby's family LOVES to plan last min and just tell us. then he ll just follow. v irritating. and some places not even baby friendly. my BIL + SIL's kids are both 3 yo so they can practically go everywhere.. so sad that they didnt think for us at times. v selfish i feel . sigh. but what to do. in the end, now i tell my hubby i dun entertain last min invites. so even if we didnt have anything special that day i stil wont turn up for his gathering.. :p

tiffy: *hugz* dun be sad. if im you, i will be boiling mad too. but suan le. not worth it over ur MIL lah. she so mean to plan this. .. next time bb actualy bday go back ur mum place celebrate, dun invite her!

re apricot: i got the dried types , wash and steam n blend as usual. according to the first food book, dried apricots can be used.

anyone has idea where to get peaches? been searching high and low for it to no avail leh.

junnie: plum is those purplish thing, the flesh v sweet but skin sour one.. so i ll steam it also and remove skin then blend n freeze..

Hi Tiffy and bbwow,

sometimes just wondering why must we always give in to them hor.....But at times, man usually will have the 大男人 attitude.

For my case, have to use the soft approach and at the back, I am like 捶心肝. why must I give me to my husband...contradicting right. I guess it is more tired to get angry with someone than to love someone, especially husbands. So let it be gones and let your husbands understand your feelings.

Fishy smell on my boy also, and somemore he like to bite me...makes me fishy as well...

ginger, lyn really give you a good memory on your first mother's day. Years down the road, I am sure it will be so sweet to let her know what she gave you on mother's day 2008.

Raphael also give me a scare before mother's day, saw him sleeping soundly on bed, and I go toilet, before I reach the door, he is crying already...went to look at the bed....Where is Raphael??? He roll until get stuck on the gap of the bed. Lucky have pillows below...I am like shock and felt funny at the same time....Have a good laugh after that...but of course go and buy a few more bolster to barrier around him. Anyone have their bb rolling all around the bed?

ecookies, peach comes in season leh...maybe also not so sweet one if you can find.

plum and prune not the same huh? I think greber has prune one leh...

Oh...anyone has feedback about combi stroller? The 4.2kg one?

ecookie: i saw some organic peaches being sold at the Cold Storage at United Square at Novena. But quite pricey. Almost $4 each!

Perlicia, I use that...pretty good coz very easy to fold and unfold. But if you have a big baby, then mebbe maclaren is better. coz it is a bit squeezy for my fatty bom bom matty. :p

ecookie
i'm not going to hold any celebration when my girl is 1 yr old. So fat hope she will ever see my girl again.

perlicia
i 捶心肝 alot of times liao.
oop!ur bb not the only 1 to roll in bed. mine also worse. 1min she sleep in nice position, another min u go n check on her she at 1 corner in her bed. sometime turn until 360 degree position.

maclaren quite expensive right?...haven't check on that... But i saw the combi one 4.2kg one at $191 and still have space for raphael....cause my bb like tinny winny one leh. karrie, you know until how old can the combi one last? (provided not outsize the stroller)
My husband very keen to get that...so I just want to research abit to value for money.

HRC meetup...FYI, With UOB card, spending above $60 got free desserts...

tiffy,
dun be angry..there are always a lot of 1st celebration with your BB you see..haiz..what to do? my hubby at first promise me a mother's day celebration too before i deliver and you know what happen? it's a mass celebration with my MIL and SIL and we ended up eating at foodcourt because it was so crowded. Then i had to queue almost 45 mins for my food.. ceh...eat until so pek chik.. and the best thing is i remind my hubby his promise and he has the cheek to say, you're very funny, should be your daugther celebrating mother's day with you what, not me..pengz...hallo, she's only what, 6 months?? i know he's pulling my leg, still... no cake, no card, no flower and he still bother to go and get a card for his mother.. actually, talking abt this really make me boil a bit..haha..but then lamenting here make me let out a bit of steam lah...like what madlynette said, yeah, as long as BB growing healthy and happy, nothing else really matters....hugz..

happy belated mother's day everyone!

I also 捶 till numb already....maybe that's why there is a proverb called "百忍成金" haha...but I always like to say 有时是很难忍的.

At home can type chinese word..easier to see rather than thinking about the han yu pin yin.

Tiffy, so what you do to counter act to the rolling...I tried to swap him in his blanket...but still unsuccessful

pelicia, forgot what the recommended weight limit is but i've seen parents with even 2-3 year olds using that model. it's very light and easy to carry. Just that you gotta take care not to hang things off the handle or it might topple backwards (particularly if bb is sitting in it--very dangerous). It's really value for money
I used the $191 one until matty got so big...then changed to a bigger Combi model.

perlicia: yah i use that combi model too, as karrie said dun hang to heavy stuff behind, it ll topple backwards.. think can last till baby 2-3 years old so long baby never outsize the pram.

karrie: $4 for an organic peach!?!?!? i think baby YZ will try peach next time bah.. ha

maclaren: recently v hooked on maclaren. esp after tryin the quest at mothercare HF.. but not sure if should get it leh cos combi still fine just v wobbly wheras maclaren like more sturdy but after disc at 300++ leh.. abit ex.. hmmm