(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

gingerleaf
you very clever to tempt mommies here hor, ask your lyn to give big smile and i melt already, definitely going there tomorrow now, all your fault. hehe.

mummies, need ur opinion!

i only let chloe have 5-in-1 jab until recently my niece was sick & hospitalised due to stomach flu. it got me worried so i'm intending to let chloe have rotavirus too!

but i read somewhere that it must be done by 6mths. just now i called a clinic and the nurse said can still be done ASAP, like tomorrow..

im wondering if baby can get the same protection if she's to get the 1st dose at 6mths n 1 week.. 2nd dose will be 1 mth later..

thanks mummies!

frostyfiona!!! ya man, so busy wif work and when reach home, really DEAD tired..
yup, did my lasik 2 months plus back!!! u wanna do too??
I did it at the Lasik Surgery Clinic at Paragon
Tel: 6836 1000

mummies talking abt lasik, my colleague went yesterday for the surgery. She told us there is promo goin on.. ard 2.3K+....

Unice,
How the lasik?..most of my colleagues seem tempered

dodo
britax is really v.gd n comfy. i also got britax after asking unice. mine is also from the SnS series. it was quite cute, i was contemplating whether to buy or not, so put bb inside for 'test-drive'. the moment put him inside, he smiled so widely that i bought it on the spot! :D

welcome mama ian ian !

If your son is rejecting both, then probably he's not ready for semi-solids yet. Wait for a week or 2, then try again.

In the mean time, give him a spoon to play as toy. Let him get used to it first, perhaps he'll be more receptive to it by the time you introduce the food.

gingerleaf
haha... ur gal v.lucky to have so many toys! agree with madlynette that you really know how to tempt all the mummies here! :D

mama ian ian
u aren't the only one. my boy has been rejecting his cereal since day 1. if i'm lucky, he takes 1 tbsp. tried all brands of cereal but nothing appeals him. he doesn't refuse the spoon coz if feed him water, mouth will open but if spoon has cereal, he refuses to open mouth.

come to think of it... he doesn't seem interested in what us adults are eating at all. i got a feeling that maybe he's not ready for solid food. but he's 6 mths alr... dunno how... sighzz...

sanbebe, i see, maybe will try again. thanks!

garden_dreamz, yeah my boy too. if the spoon is filled with water, he has no probs opening his mouth, rather, he wants more. but if cereals or porridge, oh man, he can close and turn away his head. bleargh.. headache! 6 months al but al know how to reject.

kust a quick update.. brought clare for checkup last sat. she's weighing 6.95kg (oni put on 150g for e past one month
} and 70.5cm.
height on the 97percentile whereas weight is 50th.

dunno why she so tall oso cos her parents aint. :p

chintz, my gal is e exact opp of yours in terms of e ht & wt percentile. haha

toys sale still got good stuff by tmr?
for mummies going later ,can update update ?

gingerleaf, u reallee true blue singaporean leh.. so SHOPAHOLIC!

as for job jar, i oso bought the brand themos from the prev BP. havent tried though.

for those having prob feeding bb with water, can try putting gripe water to the water as advised by my PD.

my gal finally accepted water! via spoon fed. seems like she enjoys to eat or drink from the spooon.

unice, which doc did the lasik for you? how is it now? so did you ask abt the thing that do lasik liao cant go thru natural birth? is what i heard true or not? if not, i wanna do also!! mai tu liao, been waiting for so many yrs but nv do...

gingerleaf, u power la! hahaha.. i can't go, am still stuck in e office now.. hmm.. after ur tempting project, i will tomorrow! as for the flask, i got THERMOS brand.. if i m not wrong, model is B3000 food jar in pink =D

one fine day i will meet u to help u "CLEAR" ur house.. haha!

IM BACK!!! HAA!!!

gingerleaf, chintz & garden,

re car seat:
thanks for the tips on britax carseat! will go and look ard to source for a model that i like and compare the prices

re food jar:
seems like the more popular brands are thermos & zojurushi... ok, shall research more on these...

gingerleaf,
i wana get a play yard too leh... but thinking of 2nd hand one..brand new one rather exp...

mama ian ian
really v.frustrating right... that our babies can b so smart to know which is which... i also dunno how. only can hope that its a passing phrase only.

madlynette
i tried all ways of cereals, all brands of cereal, even adding puree (eg. pumpkin,carrot,apple, potato,etc) still the same fighting war. i'm running out of ideas v.soon liao...:D

dodo
haha... u really post up pics of ur loot! :D tmr going 2nd round ah? then stack up high high n outbeat gingerleaf one hor! dun wait, get a play yard to maximise ur dollar coz when they start walking, play yard won't use that much liao.

mama ian ian,

i did not try adding gripewater to cereals. oni added it to water to help my gal to drink water as she used to reject water badly. so now, succeeded in getting her to drink water via spoon. she has been taking food/water via spoon well.

dodo,

yeah, datz rite! her bd is 1010. so easy to remember rite? sama sama as urs..who is older? thk shld be urs cos clare is a night bb

garden,
haa... just received an email form toy'r us, they will have a cardmember sale this coming tues! omg... i cant resist that temptation also... gal, how much u got ur play yard? is it really worth the money?

jacq,
haa! my boy is a night baby too! very late night actually 15mins before it striked 12am! :p

few days never log in liao
shld have check earlier so that I can go and get toys as well .... sob sob ... weekend sure very crowded one ...

tomorrow going to bring kelly for the trio class, getting a bit excited as don know whether she will like it or not

poo poo
been busy with work and her poo poo problem. this time we have to dig it for her manually and my mum seek help from chinese medical store and got some stuff to jet into her ass which she poo poo after that .... so far this morning she poo poo once and hope it will be back to normal

guess I found few things that could result in this
- rice cereal
- change of stage 2 milk powder
- applesauce

so now, I stopped feeding her rice cereal, change her milk to Friso 2 instead as this is the only one that have dietry fiber added compared with the rest ....am thinking maybe I just let her have 2 favour of milk to balance out the nutrients and poo poo ....

totoro,

kelly so poor thing... does drinking water help? what rice cereal she having now? maybe u can try giving her spinach for a couple of days? my boy poo everyday when he had spinach. in fact, he poo more often when he started solid.. im also in the midst of switching him to Enfapro, so far so good...

Hi dodo,

Yeah, thinking of spinach for her but need time to prepare so no chance to give her yet.
Will try to do that on Sunday since tomorrow seems a busy day liao ......after reading the forum .. ha ha

I realized when she have problem pooing... it's also green in colour and it stick in one whole lump even though it's not very hard. Your bb poo poo what colour when you gave enfapro ?

Now I switch to Friso 2, poo poo yellow one ...

ya totoro, give spinach! i think it helps

i think my bb poo poo highly related to the food i gave him leh.. when i gave him spinach, his poo poo is rather greenish colour and wi some vege residue, and when i gave him pumpkin, the colour of his poo poo is lighter...

btw my boy also dun like to drink water, he totally reject bottle feed of water, and play his mag mag cup wi tongue when i feed him water, he only accept spoon feed of water... very difficult to please...

actually now my boy on a mixture of EBM, friso 1 & enfa (1 feed on friso 1, 1 feed on enfapro and remaining feeds on EBM), so far so good... but not sure his reaction when i switch to mixture of EBM and enfapro...

anyone going to Toy'r Us Star members priority sale this coming Tues? i wana go... but scared i cant handle bb myself coz need to bjorn him and i think it's very inconvenient for me to reach out for the toys on shelves... dun dare to ask hubby to take leave for this leh... sigh~ very luan now.. any mummy went to Toy' R Us sale before? worth going?

gingerleaf,

I think both you and lyn must be very high after the shopping ... if only i know abt this earlier ..cos hb not working today !!!!
BTW, the top left ball thingy, kelly loves it and I'm thinking of getting more of the balls for her ...hope they have it there

1st may
so have we decided where to go after the class?
am thinking of Marchie since it's at the same level and 11am should not be crowded yet .... unless other mummy have any other suggestion??

mummy who wanna get something from the new mothercare shop at harbourfront, I have the 15% discount email and think one of the mag i got have the discount coupon as well. let me know okie so I can bring on the 1st as well.

wow dodo, u oso got a small mountain of toys!!

are the toys reallly cheap?

Frostyfiona, my surgeon was Dr Marc Tay. I asked him abt whether the muscles ard eye/cornea will tear if i happen to deliver my second by natural birth, he said confirm No such thing
we still can deliver via natural birth after lasik...
its really fast lo, i went for my initial checkup on first day, then next day can operate liao...

unice
how many day MCs was given given after the lasik?
my specs is giving way now as my gal grabbed it a few times and I slept with my spec on nowadays so that I can see her immediately ... so am thinking whether shld I just go for it and solve the problem instead of getting a few more pairs of specs which will cost me a bomb as well .. hiaz

dodo!!!!!! u really ONzZ!!

i might be going tomorrow for the sale.. perhaps morning?! not sure yet. what bout u?
any other mummies going tomorrow as well?

if i manage to persuade hb and we have the car, I might go but they open only at 11am ...
I need to rush back to town for the trio class at 2pm .. hmmm

mama ian & those tat i missed out due no time read posts cos camping @nuh ... welcome to join us!

thks so much for info, i really hope the hole will close up by itself in no time & bb is as healthy as the rest of your babies

gingerleaf & dodo, u both 'competing' arrr?? can really shop for your little ones.....likewise for those mummies going to buy the toys, your bb must b v hapi got so many new additions!! i got no space to store if so much toys @home, also no time to go enjoy the sale as tml still hv to work then go MIL hse 'reporting' cos so long didnt go since bb sick & also cant bring bb to anywhere, must avoid crowded places for him for time being.

re bringing bb food outside, i tink use thermal jar/flask to contain porridge is the best idea as porridge can still keep warm. if plain cereal, can jus mix on spot with warm water, less troublesome. hmm.. is good to invest in either the tiger/elephant(zojurushi) brand as it is v durable. i hv a tiger brand food jar and 2 of Gourmet thermal flask, no prblm to keep hot porridge warm for 5-6hrs.

dodo, u sprained your wrist while carrying bb? huh... if u carry lance will be worst, he is 9.7kg now leh, today exactly 7mth (abt 2 wks older than your bb) those doctors/nurse always 'pity' my back whenever they see me so small size carrying bb walking outside the ward whenever he cranky after blood/urine tests or plugs. i feel like carrying a sack of 10kg rice.

annie.. hope your bb better now. cough will take longer time to recover. dun worry, bb will pickup appetite soon. i also had bad experience w kkh (tat was abt 4yrs back when my gal admitted for UTI as no 'proper' doctor assessed her case during admission, we were told she need operation for reflux problm @9mths, tat time we so lost, then thru some recommendation, we get 2nd opinion & get to knw the Head of NUH Children NKF, who is now my gal & bb's PD for UTI, then my gal 'escape' the opt & outgrown the reflux prblm after 3.5yrs of antibiotic.)

gingerleaf, yahloh too bad cannot see lyn on 1 may, she is one of my favourite oct babies leh. so super cute.

hi mummies, wow the toy sale looks so tempting esp with dodo posting a pic of bb here!!!

but i have to work tomorrow...so have to give it a miss. anyway the three of us are cramping in a room at my in-laws' place so no place at all to put the toys...the living room is already becoming matty's playground!

junnie, wish Lance a speedy recovery from his reflux and heart issues...im sure God will watch over him...

have a good weekend all! (mine will be spent working, mid year exams round the corner. i really feel like quitting loh. no time for poor lil matty.)

Long time me MIA. Have been so busy at work, that now only manage to pump 1x in office! my ss is really dropping. But I've been reading the posts while expressing (dun ask me how i manage, it's very funni one). Think i gotta stop bf-ing soon if my supply continues to be low. My work day is really busy and filled with meetings and deadlines and vendors to manage. si beh cham. reach home only knock out after feeding bb liao.

Karine is 6mths 1 week old liao. Have been feeding her cereal for 1 week already. Any idea when can I start increasing the cereal amount and when to add on the additional feed for dinner? So far adding 2 tspn of rice cereal to 20ml of milk. ok? Then when can start adding vegs stuff to the cereal?

Wow, dodo and gingerleaf, love your buys! I'm telling hubby that we must go tomorrow, after bb jab!!

Gingerleaf - toys r us sale is only at united square outlet? Will it be as good as your buys at the warehouse sale?

dodo - i got the same mat as yours! and buying another one for my mum's place. it's so comfy!

Another development was that karine was allergic to the FM, hence had to switch to the lactose free one. currently using the Friso Soy, so hoping that after the 1mth feeding on that, she can go back to regular FM. Now bo pian, supplementing 2 feeds of FM to 3 Feeds of BM. sigh.

Mixed feelings about low supply - on one hand feel glad to stop expressing at work cos really sometimes, no time. on the other hand, feel bad cos its a vicious cycle to lead to low ss. and will definitely miss convenience of bf-ing in morn and nite!

madlynette - i missed the BP on the thermos food jar, so sad. hope there's another one on it. shd be good buy?

Looking forward to the gymboree class!!!

hey dodo,

so clare is a jie jie afterall... :p she arrived at 8plus.. btw, is urs at mt alv? cos i remembered there were quite q few bb after clare that kept the mid wives v busy dat nite..

wow, all the excitement abt the SALE SALE SALE..
tot i could go down to toys sale tmr initally. but hb gotta go to see chiropractor.

junnie, on a +ve note, bb lance is growing v well @ 9.7kg despite e hospitalisation. hope he will recover well v soon!

karrie, teachers' life reallee sound tough. understand how yucky to work during weekend. but there is this june holidays coming rite?