(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

Gingerleaf,
Can add me? my email is [email protected]. I never received it before.
I didn;t know that HT cereal is high in sodium and Nestle Rice cereal is high in sugar content. Haizz! I just buy when ppl say is good. So how now? haha...just finish whatever i have now and maybe start on puree as what u suggest for me. sweet potato nice? i luv it myself!

Baby bonus:
Looking forward to it! Not to spent lah..but to save it at ds account.

Speedy recovery:
Will covered Ziqian & Lance in strong prayers. Health and happiness be with them always and all times!

MIL:
aiyo! i staying wz MIL..i ald short lived for ten years liao cos of her! to talk about her needs at least 1month to complete my story. haha!

Baby 1st Bday:
Side track abit. Have u all tot on how to celebrate yr baby 1st bday? i know its abit far away. But oops i ald have tots of it! Cos these few months have been attending my friends' kids 1st bday. My conclusion: Not to have it in chalet or outdoor area. Its really damn hot and funny creatures like notorious ants will join u for party. haha!

Jas,
Dun juz not feed ur ds coz i made remarks abt the sodium n sugar content. Most ppl have fed them for decades oso nuthing wrong. Im juz abiiitttttt anal thats all. =p
Oh, sweet potato nice, but very starchy.

poor babies! can just imagine how tough it is for everyone involved. know that i will be praying for all of you.

sugarnut, i'm free on 3rd Oct. count me in. just wondering whether 40 adults + 20 babies is too big tho. perhaps need to split into 2 classes??

jas, i think it's personal preference which cereal to use. for you to decide which you're most comfortable with.

Gingerleaf and hippo18, No choice leh. Mummy Just want to get a holiday and want to bring Raphael along. So how expensive also have to go ahead...unless i cannot get the cabin. Bangkok and HK is a choice but bringing the little one. abit hard lor. Dunno izzit small for Star Aqaurius. But for my route, only star Aq. has it

unice, I am going at the low season instead of the peak period. Going to switch new job in July, so want to go for holiday. I am booking it from a tour agency. it is a 5D4N and stop in Penang,Phuket and Port dunno what in KL. If you interested I can cc you the email address and the price list.

Tiffy, my cold war is on and off. I also quarrel with my husband because of his mother. I didn't really enjoy much about my Birthday either( which is in march). But at least I feel that I am happy to have a son at my side this year. Just forget about the unhappiness and enjoy yourself with husband. get angry some other day

Jas, spill it out cause sometimes our thread moving slow. I also spilled mine sometimes. Here I thanks all the mummies for looking at my complaints..heehee

Sugarnut, I am ok with 3rd May Gymboree class. Let us know the details. Will try not to bring husband to reduce the crowd of 40 adults.

any of ur babies have constipation or hard stools when starting to give cereal and puree? My gal is having constipation a few days ago and i gave her papaya puree and after taking tat, her poo poo smells of papaya but stools still abit hard leh. I dunno wat to do, so i've stopped giving her the cereals and puree form today and gave her prune juice lor. Hope it helps.... and can start giving her the cereal and puree again coz she can really eat as she can finish 4 teaspoon of cereal mix with puree and milk.

hi mummies, are we on to weaning now? today just started matty on some heinz rice cereal, he seems to like it...open his mouth big big for the spoon! but he seems to have preference for certain spoons...he likes the pigeon one, but not so much the nuby one...lil fusspot haha

just wanna check if all of you are still sterilizing the bottles? any idea when we can stop? how about baby's bowl n spoon? just wash with soap n water, or must sterilize oso? i just use boiling water to rinse after washing...dunno if it's ok?

Have not posted in a LONG LONG time. I'm one of those who disappeared after giving birth. Heh..can still remember me?
Been reading the posts on and off when I have the time. Having a baby is super time consuming.

Just wanna check with mummies here whether your babies have been fed water with burned prayer paper. Ie. Fu shui
My MIL is secretly feeding baby with that behind our backs. Caught her a few times but she simply bo chup us. So angry!!!! She keep insisting it's safe for baby. Just wanna hear the opinions here. Is it really safe?
So fed up with the ILs. Can argue with them all the time over baby matters.

hey Kris
you're back!!! long time no hear from you!!! :D ILs issues v.touchy subject. if baby seems fine, happy, eating/sleeping well, guess its better not to burn bridges over this issue... maybe?

re: cereal
Heinz cereal is OUT OF STOCK in NTUC! so frustrating... its out of stock for the past 2 weeks. in the end, i managed to find Frisocrem, which specifies that its safe for 4 mths onwards. any comments on frisocrem, ie. high in sodium/sugar,etc?

any mummies know which other supermarkets can get Heinz cereal?

sugar_nut
i'm fine for the gymboree trial. but best if can split into 2 classes coz i think its quite packed with the existing name list. do help us out on this, k? thanks!

dodo,
hope she n ziqian are doing well. must be v.worrying and tiring for her and her boy...

Karrie,
I use hot water to rinse my feeding bowls n spoons too!
I read some ppl stop sterilizing after the 6 mth! But I think I'll prob stop at the 9th.

Kris,
YES! You are one of those missing oneees!!!! How are you??? 6 mths liao. u no shadow no sound!
If you are talking scientifically, drinking anything thats burnt is of coz no good la, but I do remember drinking bits of that when I was young! My nanny used to feed me that, but thats only on special occassions, which is once in a blue moon. I guess anything thats in moderation is fine ba. Anyway. how come need to drink that? I tot most taoist baby wear the amulet on them instead?

Re Gymboree,

Ok then, let's do it on a first-cum-first "serve" basis. Those who have responded, we will attend on 3 May (Sat), 10am.. If we manage to get another 10, then will start the 1 May class:

3rd May (10am):

1. sugar nut
2. gingerleaf
3. garden dreamz
4. annie
5. perlicia
6. jas
7. ueno
8. zhen_zhen
9. madlynette
10. sharon

1 May, 10am (pending min 10)

When the 1 May class is confirmed, if you really wish to switch date, then get mutual agreement from another mummy to switch? I'm not sure if this is the best way but at least easier to ensure that we get a min number to start each trial class.

I will get more details from you in yahoo groups.. then provide more info on meeting time, place etc nearer the date.

Oh yah...I was telling my HB that if too many pple, he can go watch the process at one side or go form a "Oct Daddies" gathering at the nearby Marche while the mummies attend class.. haha..

oh no poor anderson!!! Hope he is better now...
dodo, hugZ hugz dun be too upset k...anderson is a strong boy..

update from dodo:
Doc has visited baby n said that his lungs are better, no more whizzing sound...hope can discharge tom..

Haha.. ok.. getting a bit tough here..

Let me rearrange in the order of response today:

3rd May (10am):

1. Perlicia
2. gingerleaf
3. Unice
4. ueno
5. sugar nut
6. sharon
7. jas
8. madlynette
9. zhen_zhen
10. annie

1st May - 10am (pending min 10)

1. garden dreamz

I guess if eventually the number is slightly above 10, then we just all go on 3rd May. If we get near to 20 (say 18), I can ask gymboree if can split 9-9.. let's wait for more responses k?

Garden_dreamz, this is just 1 issue out of the many i have with them. Intending to move back to my parents place for a week this weekend. Need to show them I mean business.

Gingerleaf, my baby got thal major plus recently hospitalised for UTI. Guess my IL are worried, keep going to pray for her, and probably the "temple" suggested drinking for more effect?? I don't know also. Anyway, the "temple" my IL goes to is those at the private houses one.

I also bought the Heinz cereal, and rabbit brand instant brown rice. Gonna try feeding baby tomorrow. Hopefully she likes it. *cross fingers*
I bought my Heinz cereal from Shop & Save.

Hahaha, I say we all attend 3rd may la, all daddies cannot join us, but they can go sit at the corner. Think they can be in the same room, juz dun let them join our circle. Think we all have to sit in a circle or soemthing lidat.

Aiyoh.. alamak.. super pai tan organiser leh. haha..

I just keep on update the list for 3 May lah..

3rd May (10am):

1. Perlicia
2. gingerleaf
3. Unice
4. ueno
5. sugar nut
6. sharon
7. jas
8. madlynette
9. zhen_zhen
10. annie

11. garden dreamz
12. bbwow

At most those who feel it's too crowded by the time the number for 3rd May grows, can go jio pple to start another class instead?

Anyway, I thot it's also to meet up with all other mummies? The more the merrier? hehe..

re heinz cereal,
seems like its very diff to get the heinz baby 1st cereal for 4mths onwards! I've been to a couple of supermarkets n all dun have, so now Im using the green packaging one - organic heinz baby rice cereal. This one is more expensive at ard $4++.

I went to the supermarket today and compared nestle rice cereal and organic heinz rice cereal.

Nestle rice cereal per serving is 145mg of sodium
Organic Heinz rice cereal is 6mg of sodium

What a difference! I double checked and hope I didnt see wrongly!

Organic heinz rice cereal does not contains sugar but nestle rice cereal contains sucrose.

I kept my heinz baby 1st rice cereal box and did a comparision with heinze organic rice cereal.
heinz baby 1st rice cereal's protein, carbo etc is slighter higher than heinz organic rice cereal, assuming prob a smaller baby needs more enegry.
The box of Heinz Organic rice cereal printed "Not suitable for infant under 4mths", so I assume can give it to babies above 5mths ba. Anyway, I started lyn on the Organic one last week, coz cannot find the heinz baby 1st rice cereal.

Thanks sugar nut for adding me to the list. Btw, my HB will not join us for sure. So one head less! hee.

Kris,
Oh my! How come they give bb drink that?! Its really very out of date and definitely not healthy! if i am you, i be screaming my heads off...

Heinz cereal:
I bought it in Kiddy Palace.

Sterilising bottles:
Can i ask why must we stop sterilising after a few months? any reasons?

sugar nut,
I think so too!! The more the merrier! So gymboree said can have up to 20 babies, did they say can accomodate up to 40 adults? Heeeh.

Jas,
which Heinz cereal you got?
The white box one or the green box?

re sterilising,
actually by 6mths no nid to sterlising oreadi, coz baby by this time have oreadi ingested alot of germs by biting this and that. However, most parents reckon its safer to stop later. Its not a must thing to stop sterilising, if you have more time n is okay, you can continue to do so! =D

re cereal,
gingerleaf
I'm not surprised if nestle does hv more sodium than heinz.

garden dreamz
I rem tt friso has sugar, so I didnt gv my boy tt that. I used to gv HT or earthbest organic cereal. but, my doc wont i'm seeing for piles said tt gving cereal will cause constipation due to excessive fibre, so, I'm thinking of not gving brown rice this time.

tks for the replies on cereal.. aiyo.. just realised tt i forgot to buy the cereal and spoon for my gal and she's 6mths today. haha.. coz she's my 2nd bb, more relaxed.. for my 1st boy, I was all prep up when he was 5 mths old.

Count me in on the 3rd May ....
no time to login and I'm missing so much.

Kelly is better liao but still monitoring her poo poo. Poor girl ...

By the way, she did not have her jab at 6th as nurse adv that they just went for a talk and realized that if bb was to take at 6th mths, they will still need 4 jab, so it will be better to take at the 7th mth onwards.

can update me via SMS on the class if u don't see me logging in .. :)

morning mummies, what time will u all be done after the gymboree class on 3rd may? if im free i go Harbourfront to meet u all :D

chintz,
u attend gymboree at tanglin rite? Do u think having 20 babies is too big for a class? Whats the size of yr class?

hey kris! great to see u back! is everything ok with ur girl?

dodo said anderson is fine. hope they can be discharged today!! hospital is no fun..

junnie, all e best today.. hope everything goes well for u n Lance..

gingerleaf, wow! datz a great difference leh!! no wonder my girl's hair grow so slowly (sodium = hair loss)?? hahahaha!

gymboree classes: mummies pls note that the HF outlet is not very big.. 10 babies and 20 parents should still be ok but be prepared to strain your ears to listen to wat e instructor is saying lo.. enjoy ur class ladies! =D

ueno, tanglin is bigger. but 20 babies is too big for a babies class even at tanglin. unless only 1 parent attends with the baby but u will have to "Q" at e equipment plus u wun get as many chances at e equipments compared to a smaller class... =)

Hippo18,
thats exactly what i was thinking.

Sugar nut,
So i think instead of putting everyone on the 3rd,its much better to split into 2 classes for the benefit of our little ones. Hehe..I am ok with 1 May so can u put me there instead?
Thanks so much! Thanks for organising!

kris
can empathise with you... ILs is one of the main reasons why i took unpaid leave. had a few v.bad brushes with them on the few occasions that bb went back. so i felt that taking unpaid is one way that i can 'protect' n defend my child, albeit temporary but its better than nothing. at least u can stay at ur parents place for a while, to show them that you still have ur 'niang jia' (your own mother) to support you.

re: cereal
ok, will go shop n save/KP to check out the heinz one.

gingerleaf
i tried to find the organiz heinz but also OOS! my luck really not gd man... have you tried friso or heard anything about friso? i'm now stuck with a can of friso that i bought out of desperation coz all the other items on the shelf is for 6mths n above.

krissie,
oh dear, i'm not stuck with friso, still dunno whether to feed him that or not...

re: gymboree classes
poor sugar_nut....u really having a big headache trying to accomodate to all of us. but i'm sure all the mummies appreciate ur efforts.

Gingerleaf,
I bought the white box Heinz cereal at Kiddy palace. Now coming 6months think should change ald.

Btw, thanks for adding me to the yahoo group. I have updated.

Gymoboree class
Sugar_nut: Thanks for organising. Really appreciate. I am fine with any dates. Agreed with ueno that no point putting all bbs together then in the end didn't get the full benefits of it.

If I am not wrong, Cold storage might have Heinz.

Kris, my MIL also have those praying water but it is covered up one. Actually I dunno whether izzit tap water or boiled water. But she everyday pour them into the drinking water for all of us to drink including baby. I am ok with it but just feel that why must be so superstitious. I also dare not ask her what type of water is that cause my MIL super "xiao qi" one.

Ya, Thanks sugar_nut, really a hard job to organise. You can put me on the 1 May or 3 May also no problem, at least can let you shuffle abit. Thanks so much....

Milk, has anyone start making switch for FM? I have sample of Enfapro, Similac and Mamil Gold. Now headache which one to try? Any recommendation which one is better,Mamil or Enfapro? Thinking not to go for similac

Haha.. I'll just keep track of total first, since there are only 12 confirmed ones now.

Tentative timing:

3 May

1. Perlicia
2. gingerleaf
3. Unice
4. sugar nut
5. sharon
6. madlynette
7. zhen_zhen
8. annie
9. bbwow
10. tororo_bb

Dun mind 1 May

10. ueno
11. garden dreamz (ok?)
12. jas

Let me know if any mummy wishes to switch or join the 1 May class.. then we can even out the distribution as the class grows.

Chintz, think the class is only 45 min.. so shd be done by 11am or so.. I think they have other lessons at 11am.

I see that some of you have already started feeding heinz cereal to your babies. Any mommies experience rejection from your babies??

I fed my boy with the Heinz 1st cereal (blue box) twice and my boy just give the YUCKS look and don't want it anymore. What's wrong??

Ok, I also flexible lah.. let me know if I got anyone on the wrong date.

3 May

1. Unice
2. madlynette
3. zhen_zhen
4. annie
5. bbwow
6. tororo_bb

7. gingerleaf (ok with 1 May)
8. sugar nut (ok with 1 May)
9. sharon (ok with 1 May)

1 May

10. Perlicia
11. ueno
12. garden dreamz (ok?)
13. jas

bbwow, dun worie abt the yucks face dear.. continue with your routine.. some babies are rejecting cos itz a "new" experience and "foreign" taste to them. u need to let them get used to it.. my girl was like that initially too! and she's more or less used to new stuff now.. keke

sugar_nut,
Can I join too? However, I can only make it 3May as hubby works on that day. Appreciate your efforts in organsing this for us. =D

gingerleaf, can I join the yahoo group too? Can add me @ [email protected].

Re: Cereal feeds
I have started bb on cereals since 4+mths. Started off with Heinz 1st Rice Cereal (White/Blue pkg) n 1 feed per day. Aft 2 weeks, went on 2 cereal feeds per day. Currently, his feeding schedule is as follows.

0700 - 150ml (Similac)
1030 - Eu Yan Sang Brown Rice (3scoop) w/ 120ml (Similac)
1430 - Pureed w/ Heinz Organic Rice Cereal
1800 - Nestle Brown Rice w/milk
2200 - 150ml (Similac)

Somehow, my bb does not really like to drink milk. So no choice to put him on 2 milk feeds per day. I has been worrying about whether its enough for 2 milk feeds per day. Anyone can advise?

morning mommies,
myra has been having heinz rice cereal for the past 2 weeks. beginning i give her 1 tspn a day and make it very watery mix with ebm, she didnt know how to swallow at first and eats very little of it but as the days pass she learn, when she learn to swallow i give her twice a day and slowly thicken the cereal but not too thick lor.

now she is taking 3 tspn plus about 6 tspn of ebm twice a day. depend on the thickness of the cereal. agak agak one. i started early cos she was drinking too much milk. up to 210ml per feed after she turn 5 mths.

today i will be starting her with enfapro for one feed at lunch time, see if she reject or not. i very kiasu, so now i have similac, enfapro, dumex and nan all waiting to be tried out. haha. friso have not delivered yet haha.

Ok Doobom.. no prob!

3 May

1. Unice
2. madlynette
3. zhen_zhen
4. annie
5. bbwow
6. tororo_bb
7. doobom

8. gingerleaf (ok with 1 May)
9. sugar nut (ok with 1 May)
10. sharon (ok with 1 May)

1 May

11. Perlicia
12. ueno
13. garden dreamz (ok?)
14. jas

I hvn't started my boy on cereal yet.. but prob will do so when he reaches 6 mths. Wait till we see his PD next week to get the go-ahead.