(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

thks 4 concern... much appreciated..

hippo...hvnt hv time to read up, briefly browse thru the page, glad to knw your bb ok...

fyi, bb lance got discharged fm hospital last monday 24/3, we reached home about 2+pm after 16 DAYS of camping there! he supposted to hv operation on 24/3 unfortnately, he caught virus again on 21/3 nite (cough, then vomit then fever), tis round he had lung infection again, hiaz... now his fever down but he has lotsa phylem... so hv to postponed his operation approx 2 wks later. me too was sick since 21/3, think we both caught the virus together. i was down with fever, sorethroat, stomache & gastric flu, last few days was v sick so no energy to login... today feel better... actually lance completed his 10days of anti-biotic thru plug (3x adays 8hourly), but doc said is ok to let him continue another 3 days, ie, 21-23/3 b4 opt on 24/3. he was ok all along. who knws on 20/3, the surgeon asked us to attend a 'discussion' at outpatient clinic re the opt, we went down to the clinic on 20/3pm, waited abt 1.5hr b4 get to see the groups of surgeons, who knws is a 'false alarm' discussion, actually the main surgeon was testing the candidates (final year medical student), we r so 'unlucky' to bcom their 'case study'!! v angry leh... inside the room cant even ask any question, sit there do nothing for 5min, jus listening how they questioning the candidate abt our case & wat's her remedy?? then we were told to go back to ward!!! hubby was so mad that he blar @ the asst surgeon who apologised to us saying will come to the ward & brief us re lance opt later on!!! eversince came back fm clinic, lance started to cough, cos 'exposed' to unhealthy envirornment as his immunune system was v low (many children sick @ the clinic). tat night, he started to fall sick. finally managed to speak to the asst surgeon who advised lance's opt was consider major but 98-100% safe, as his condition is 4/5, cannot do keyhole, they'll need to insert a tube/camera via his penis & see the condition of the reflux (insert dye again to see the backflow), afterwhich, they'll make a small cut at his bladder & cut away affected ureter & pull down into the bladder & use the bladder to wrap it up & sew it to prevent backflow of urine to kidney, they'll also put a small tube there to facilitate the urine normal flow & this tube will be removed 1 mth later where bb need to put on GA again (no surgery involved). sounds complicated to me, i was v sad bb has to go thru tis opt, but to save his kidney fm future damaging, we hv to let him go thru tis opt. the urine backflow wont cause him fever, but is the virus attack (high fever, esp UTI) that will affect his urine backflow causing infected urine to damage the kidney. unfortunately for lance, he's a little unlucky than his sister who managed to avoid opt with long term anti-biotic. will b bringing lance nxt thurs for review of his cough b4 operation is fixed. if the opt is successful, he only needs may b 6 mths of anti-biotic not 5-6yrs old. till nows, he cant take his 3rd/4th doze 5in1 jab, hv been postponing, most likely will let him take the jabs fm nuh cos PD will monitor easier rather than going back to polyclinic liao. tis week i clearing my balance maternity leave as nanny is away on holiday in perth (already pre-planned beginning of tis year), end up i took tis leave to look after lance after came back fm hospital & i myself sick
, hiaz.... if he going opt in 2-3wks time, i'll need to take leave again & camp with him another at least 1 wk @ nuh

brown rice.. my nanny used to feed lance w EYS brown rice when he about 4mths+, but due his chubbiness & heavy wt, PD/doc asked to stop feeding till he turn 6mths. lance was 6mths on 25/3, today, i tried feeding him some friso rice cereal & he seems enjoying... (i duno how to cook the brown rice, also the tin i bought w nanny & she's away)... may b nxt few days will try feeding him some fine porridge w broth (erm... i mean oni the juice fm steam pork)...

junnie, bb adri is fine, thanks.. aiyo, i read how u describe Lance's situation until i cry.. very heartpain for the both of you.. u are very brave dear. please take gd care of urself so that Lance knows he can count on his mummy when he goes for the op.. u have my mental support! gambate..!

brown rice: my mum brought it for grinding when baby was abt 4 mths and she's feeding her on and off since then.. i tink e medical hall is near where my mummy stays, at sims drive.. my mum's also feeding her with porridge liao.. tink she enjoys "blowing" all food out except milk though.. haha! but no choice la, gotta let her e used to it.

re: flying
guess i'm one of those lucky ones who can sleep on the plane. i think i'm just a sleepy head. haha...

re: EYS brown rice
must this be cooked? last time i was at EYS, the lady tell me just mix with milk or water can already. true or not??

sharon, you are very brave to consider travelling alone with 2 kids. so will u follow ur hubby there, or just go up now and then?

junnie, glad to hear you're feeling better. must take good care of yourself ok.

hi junnie,

pls take care junnie, will pray that bb lance opt will be successful.

hi ueno,
medical hall is at kallang Bahru where NTUC is.
Blk 71 #01-531B.

junnie,
stay strong and take care of yourself, must sayang little lance extra special ok
we are all rooting for a quick recovery for your bb.

Gymboree email me the price and timing for the class already. Is this once a week thing? Doesn't seems to have much choice for working mothers.

hi all, many thks 4 kind concern...v touching to hv so many mummies' mental support

hippo, i was surprised i'm 'stronger' than my hubby! i oni shed tears twice @ nuh when all alone, ie, when once the nurse told me middle of night she unable to pump the anti-B into lance's plug, cos is clot, she'll hv to infm the doc who will do a replug. tat time, the doc on duty not so experienced so he dare not poke lance cos lance is 'quite famous' @ the ward as too chubby, most doc scare to poke him (difficult to find vein!!), i'll hv to wait for more snr doc to do the plug, i waited fm 3am to abt 10am as tat day the seniors were held up @ICU. i dare not sleep btw 3-10am cos i'm afraid anytime they'll carry lance away to plug, i hv told the nurse/docs tat i wud want to be present while they do the plug. another time was 3am also, i was too tire tat i doze off (tink it was 3am 21/3) where the snr doc wake me up, i oni heard him calling 'mummy, i hv a bad news'... i was shocked & waked up, i thot going for opt instead the doc said the nurse infm him the plug failed again (as his little hand was swollen they cudnt pump the anti-biotic), so i hv to carry him to the procedure room for replug again... after the plug was done, i cant help but my tears flowing cos imagine so tire & so sleepy, still hv to hear lance screaming as the doc plug him. fortunately (other than the 1st time of plug during earlier admission 02-06/03, the rest of the plug was quite successful, ie, one time find the ven & poke thru though a few times they take abt 20-30min to find the vein & bb was scare & crying). i counted & lance was pluged about 7x during tis two times of nuh stay!! v poor ting, now his both hand, arms & feets all kena poke already... his hand & arm still got the needle mark... now he scare when ppl touch his hand...

zhen zhen... the EYS brown rice need to be cooked. my nanny will add abt 50ml of milk (FM) to the paste (after cooked abt 1table spoon with luke warm water) then mix b4 giving bb @1st trial. u'll hv to increase the brown rice/milk as bb appetite increased...

junnie,

im teary reading your post and seeing bb's photos... very heartpain for him... you are a very strong mummy! i really hope all these will over soon... hugs to both of you... agree wi perlicia, lance will grow up to be a very brave boy! i still remember u told me lance's chinese name has a same word as my boy "骞".. i hope he will be like the ancient China warrior 张骞 who has strong determination and endurance! aunty hugs hugs..

junnie
u take care k? I'm sure lance will definitely recover n be a cute n active boy soon.

it's sad to read abt what Lance has to go thru..heart breaking.

Dear Oct mommies,
My son's bday is 26th Oct'06. Next month will be going for his 18th mth check up. The nurse told me he must know at least 3 words other than mama papa.. Aiyo I am so worried now.

Till now, my boy is still rejecting bottle feed. Scream n scream, so have to spoon feed with some pacifying. After some monitoring, I feel that he doesn't like milk taste. Tot of changing FM, however recalled PD mentioning to me that almost all the FM taste the same (not of significant difference, itz only individual preference). My boy is on Similac Follow-on. Due to his going-thru of the teething stages, he is not feeding very well. Dun noe how long teething is going to take.

Tried different types of feeds for him. Rice Cereal w/FM, Brown Rice Cereal w/FM, Porridge (w/ sweet potato, red date, wolfberry), Nestle Brown Rice w/milk, Avocado w/FM, bottle feed (FM). He reject all the above. We need to pacify him every feed. He keeps 'blowing' (put-put) out everything on our face. Is he playing with us? If I say NO, he continues n kicks his feet happily. Oh NO...

junnie,
HUGsss... Take gd care. I believe all will be well. U rest well too.

I have 22 packs of 6oz frozen EBM (Feb 08) packed in Lanshinoh milk bags to exchange with 22 brand new Lanshinoh milk bags.

If need more, i have March 08 ones as well, but would like to clear my Feb 08 ones first.

Pick up point is at TMC, and please bring your own storage to transport the frozen EBM.

I juz went swimming n back! So fun, and she was so shocked initially when we put her in the cold water. Took her some time to warm up. Overall, everything went well, cept forgot to buy sunscreen. =p She knock out immediately after we came out of the pool. Heehe

hi all mummies, sorry for interrupting. I m looking for daytime babby sitter to look after my 4th months old daughter around jurong west cntr 1. If you hv any recommendation, pls let me know at [email protected]. Thanks for your help!

hi gingerleaf, did u put lyn in a wetsuit? or just wear swim diapers? how long did she stay in the pool? which pool u use?

hahahah sorry to bombard u with so many qns. my hubby n i really wanna bring matty swimming but find the pools too cold leh...

Hi junnie ... you take care ok ... hugs and prayer for you & BB Lance ... so heartpain ... sobsob ... oh on poor bb ... auntie sayanf you ok ... my face is fukk of tears now man ... ...

karrie,
I used a thermal suit, and yes, she wore swim diapers. We went to a public pool early in the morning. I think we were in the pool for like..45mins or so. The water was cold and we put her in the water very slowly. Started off with splashing her legs with water then slowly put her in. She was abit scared and wanted to cry, but after that she was okie. Thru' out the swim, she didnt smile at all. maybe its still a very new experience for her & partly also becoz she is sleepy. When we got her out and was drying her, she fell asleep immediately!

Hi junnie,

U and bb Lance must take care ah. I will pray for u. I understand how it feel when bb sick... must be strong ah.

Me just got back fr my genting trip.. did not enjoy much. Aiyoh alot of story abt my MIL blar blar.. so angry!! I dun care much just give them a face during the whole trip.

Did u all read the ST on the family who dead in the car crash to KL only their bb gal Jolene survived. So sad... :'(

hi gingerleaf, okie that sounds pretty alright
was thinking of buying a thermal suit for matty but it's so ex! saw it $65.90 at the shops. I take it lyn wears the size 1 thermals?

annie, read the story...was so sad. but it's really amazing how she survived. i guess babies have more resilience than we credit them for...
yesterday we also had a scare of our own. my hubby dozed off at the wheel, he was going at about 90km/h and drifted to the left...took out the entire side view mirror of another car on the expressway...it was only hanging by its wires and the mirror was totally gone... not much damage to ours just need a paint job. but it was freaky cos it could have been much worse than a graze! somemore the collision happened on the side where matty was sitting. accidents can really happen in the blink of an eye and the reaction time is so short...think next time i'll sit in front and talk to my hubby to keep him awake. coz now my father in law sits in front passenger seat and he doesn't try to keep my hubby awake! my hubby keeps telling he hates having his own dad sitting in front and now i know why...

junnie, lance is such a cute baby! he's really brave.. fight on dear.. for cute lance!

gingerleaf, i finally brought adri to the punggol swimming thingy liao.. she only stayed in e water for 45 mins and i paid $25.. haiz.. she was afraid initially, then warmed up to it then suddenly went all cranky!!! then gotta hug her for very long to calm her down... whr did u bring lyn to? must have been great fun for u all!

karrie, scary scary.. lucky nothing happened! phew!

annie, i read abt the miracle baby Jolene.. gosh! i cried while reading the reports for the past 2 days man.. so sad and heartbreaking!

karrie..

i guess ah.. either the mummy or grandmother carry the bb Jolene till veri tight. When the accident happen, they flew off together wif bb Jolene (still carrying her) den the impact hurt them so much they den release bb Jolene. Dat's my guessing.... but still veri sad ah.

My hubby keep insisting that the driver, drove too slow till over sleep. Nonsense!!! my hubby is a fast driver... he veri time drive very fast nv think abt the passenger safety.

hippo18,

I wanted to go to St Mary and pay a respect... see maybe dis evening or wat. Go wif my sis, she go to that church.

karrie,
that was really scary!! Luckily god is watching over u guys n everthing is okay. Hope this is a lesson learnt n hb will not doze off anymore.

re: thermal suit
yeah, lyn is wearing size 1. I got the thermal suit for $39 from bp. Saw the same thing selling at $59 at kiddy palace.

hippo,
I wanted to bring lyn to that punggol place too! However, felt its a waste of money, coz I already got the neck float. We went to the swimming pool at the sports stadium further up our place. You know where right? There is a caltex there.

Gingerleaf,
U bring bb to JW swimming pool? Is the environment suitable for babies to swim? never went there before. I am tempted to bring my ds to swim too. Cos he is dry swimming vigourously on his own bed all the time! haha..

Jas,
ya. I think all swimming pool is the same. Jus go to the children's pool will do. Of coz you choose a spot where its shaded. The pool we went to have a children's playground, and we hid under it for shade. Heehe.
We get some kids splashing past us from time to time, but we shield baby from the splatters with our body. You stay JW too? Which part?

gingerleaf, oh i know whr! =D tink i will bring adri to dat swimming pool in future! but 1st must let her forget dat punggol place 1st.. haha.. she got angry with me after dat.. dun even wana look at me leh.. tis girl n her temper.. aiyo..

i cried when i read the newspaper report on baby jolene oso during the weekend, my tears dripping down into my breakfast oso, my HB just keep quiet when he saw me crying. so sad.

havent brought myra swimming yet, soon, soon.

Hi-5 annie, my husband also drive very fast. Now with a baby he also don't really care. When I nag him, he said not too fast what.Angry!!!

Dunno is it a blessing for Baby Jolene to survive or not? I mean that the closest in her life had gone. But at the same time, at least she is too young to know and she can be adaptable with her uncle quickly.

gingerleaf, you all went to swimming already. Wow...Hope I can bring mine soon. Maybe let him has his virgin swim at the cruise. Is the thermal suit good? Last time I bring my little sissy to the pool with her normal short and T-shirt, she is so cold till her lips turn abit purple that we quickly carry her up in 5 mins.