(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

Hi Mommies!

got a mommie asking for this so here is my bugaboo bee review.

the bugaboo bee arrived yesterday, i think my helper and HB both approve of the bee, for the following reasons, non-fussy, compact, light weight and speed.

my HB very funny one, he saw the bee and started dancing with it like the daddies in the promo video, then he say "like dis is it?, like dat is it?" striking different ballet poses.
he joker man.

i started checking out all the different parts for any faults becos got 7 days return/exchange policy so must make sure its working properly. so far so good. the parts are still all quite stiff perhaps becos its new, but with regular use, these parts hopefully with loosen a little and make it faster to fold/unfold. however, the mechanism to fold/unfold is pretty straight forward.
the bee feels very sturdy and solid in my hands, yet lightweight.

i manage to change the seat to reverse by myself, without HB assistance, but perhaps my technical background helps in this area, in fact i even think i may be better than HB to do this. haha!

HB and i decide to test run the bee by meeting a friend at the MRT station,

i could carry the bee with my bb inside it, up and down stairs already.
i mean not by using the wheels against the stairs but by literally lifting the whole stroller with bb inside. of cos must make sure safety harness is put on properly.

the suspension is wonderful, bb has got a more smoother ride as we are able to glide over cracks, curbs and bumpy pavements smoothly. bb hardly bat an eyelid when we hit a bump cos got like a cushion effect. i think she hardly feels anything at all.

aiyoh another good point is speed, the wheels so smooth when you got a downward slope the bee really flies out of your hands, so the bee comes with a safety wrist band attached to the handles, it is recommended you use this wrist band all times becos if you forget to on the brakes on a slope, the bee will just fly down on its own and you really have to run after it. it was very funny, we tested this and we had to run after the stroller with the bb inside. i remind my HB we must use this wrist band always cos if out of the blue the stroller fly can be very very dangerous.

so now i know why they call it the bee and why the daddies in the video all running around! it is very fast downward slope those slopes that is meant for wheelchair use. so when pushing the bee you hardly use any effort at all. so easy and light.

i think next time when i go out with my 'children-free' friends, they have to catch up with us instead of us catching up with them!

some minus points are:
1) seat is small, i think maybe can use until bb is max 2yo (how big are 2yos?) or depends how large ur bb is. not meant for large bbs.
2) parts are so stiff that it is hard to work the buttons for folding/unfolding, etc. hoping that this is a 'new' issue and will resolve with use.

overall i am quite happy with the bee and happy that there has not been any complaints from HB about making such an ex purchase. heng, phew! definitely the stroller for me!

madlynette, so the ride has been change to a BMW? Better comfort and suspension.

Chris, do tell us about the trip to OZ. I am intending to go June but worried about the cold weather. August is the best but as I am going to change job soon, so can only go in October which is the whale watching season long over already.

zhen zhen, I am going back to Brisbane. So trying to find my best month to go. Thought if cannot go to Oz in June, then go korea instead.But hor, I find that the flight time also is roughly 1 hour different from Oz.

gingerleaf
lyn is so so cute in the photo, love her chubby cheeks! :D thanks lots for ur input regarding brown rice powder, why is it consistency about HT cereal that u didn't like? how about heinz/nestle? are their brown rice products gd? thinking of heinz since its for 4 mths n above...

hippo,
PM me ur new no. leh. coz i've ur old one only...

chris
ur brown rice is what brand? is it the chinese one or western brands like heinz/nestle,etc? woah... u going OZ in april, do have lots of fun yah? weather there now nice n sunny but not too hot, just nice! :D

madlynette
ur latest gadget v.stylo milo leh! model inside also v.v.cute! :D

perlicia
hey, still must find time to go back brisbane leh. its a lovely place! i will also go back brisbane someday, visit all the old haunts, am quite sure many of the familiar places will still be there! :D

Jas,

My baby has also been sleeping in his own room since birth.. same as zhen_zhen, I put a baby monitor so I can hear him from my bedroom.

I used to be able to put him in his cot immediately when he dozed off after nursing, but now I must rock him in his chair first until he sleeps then carry him back to cot.

I suggest you can get a baby monitor if you are worried, and try to put him in his own room to see if he can sleep well alone.

Hee hee... will tell you all more when back... but is not confirmed trip cos my MIL thought of coming along. If she is coming with my nephew.. then im not going with my BB.

Tiffy,

Not all medical hall do that. I had to go all the way to circuit road to grain them.. Im not sure if there any different in the different organic brown rice brand.. I just choose the brand that is certified by the OZ authoirty..

garden_Dreamz

I cant remeber the brand, is about $4plus for akg, is australia certified organic. Is not nestle or the chinese brand, those are pre treated. I buy whole grain rice (like our white rice) and grain into powder.

gardendreamz, sorie dear! i forgot who i hv sms-ed my new hp# la.. will sms u shortly! =D

perlicia, must go back brisbane like wat garden said.. i miss dat place!!

chris, hugs for u n baby! hope he recovers fast fast... n enjoy ur holiday ya... =)

garden dreamz and hippo18,

ya...kinda miss the place and the fresh seafood. Now thinking about the pancake house in city and oyster at surfers. Oops....saliva going to drip like baby already...Haha.

hippo18, you study there as well?

hippo, I got ur new number oreadi! Thanks!

chintz,
use a measuring tape to measure urself? I do that very often! Heeh.

garden_dreamz,
I feel the HT brown Rice cereal is more watery n creamy compared to rice cereal, coz I find a pasty texture is easier to feed than a creamy texture. I didnt try nestle.

Perlicia,
No, didnt play the mouse! I scared the mouse very dirty leh! So dun dare to let her touch. =p

jas,
I dunno how to help coz my gal been sleeping on her own in her own room since birth. Maybe you can start off by sleeping in the same room as him, then guadually sneak off after he falls asleep?

madlynette,
wow! ur bee looks so atas and niceeee! But that price tag.. phew!

All this talk abt gg to aussie makes me wanna fly over NOW! I miss gg to melb so much! Such fond memories of me n hb there, and I wanna bring lyn there to share it n make more good memories!

We shld meet up! But where but whereeeeeeee?

gingerleaf,
oh yah another minus point i missed out. its expensive.

also i realised all the mommies on the octobermummies yahoogroup are 1st time mommies.
jojer whr r you?

gingerleaf, ya..it is dirty. my boy very keen to touch but we just hold the mouse and let him see. then his hand will hold his papa's hand wanting to bring the mouse to his mouth.

Meetup...maybe can meet up in labour day or that week. suggestion might be globetrotter...heard that it is child friendly, but dunno baby friendly or not. never been there to eat before.

chris

thanks for ur info. hmm, i don't even know where is circuit rd. have to search ard for those nearby medical shop then. If no choice, then buy those in a tin at ntuc..

Perlicia,

not so nice to bother you although u go there frequently. i try to check whether any nearby medical shop have this service or not lor

gingerleaf,

perlicia, mine was in boring perth, not brisbane.. YAWNZ.. but i love love love brisbane and e people there! so much nicer than most parts of the country. and i flew with SQ for awhile after graduating so been there quite a number of times and i'm always reluctant to leave! =D

sharon,

hehe yah, i MIA v long. v v tired looking after my girl and i'm a 1st time mummy, many things have to learn and do. Last 2 weeks my husband went oversea training and i work 24hrs looking after my little devil lor. Midnight have to wake up n check on her cos she flip everytime and sometime with her head facing flat down. Scare she may suffocate herself so no choice have to wake up in the middle of the night to check on her. Causing me lack of sleep and those 2 weeks, i only have 1 proper meal everyday.

it's ok tiffy..maybe if you really need it and we are meeting up, then i can help u to buy the grind brown rice and pass to u. Circuit road is in the east, between aljunied and ubi.

ok, so any comment on globetrotter bbwow?

hippo18, I never been to perth? Much more boring meh? Brisbane also have boring times, but can go to the happening sufers paradise to release the wildness.

We should make a time and venue for a gathering lah. we haven't got a chance to take a big group photos to post up our forum yet.

suddenly thought about the gymboree class you all talking for awhile. Now then have time to find out what it was? WOW...not bad and seems fun. Are we able to get a class for our october mummies only. Like consolidate to form a class?

Perlicia,

I suggested 2 May.. but yet to find time to check with gymboree HF if they have available slot to cater for a private trial class.

Even tho it may not be so ideal if it's a large group of us, but it's a good opportunity to get the Oct mummies and babies to meet up..

Anyway trial class only.. no obligation to sign up with them later..

Traveling with baby,
Went to Melbourne with baby when he's 4mths+. As he's latching on so its really hassle free. Try bfing the baby or use a dummy during take off/landing to help relieve air pressure. My boy was sleeping when we were landing so i didnt bother to do anything. They give special allowance for babies, u can bring water n milk powder n other baby stuff, no need to pack in the 100ml btls. If ur doing a long flight, it would be good to take note of which toilets in the aircraft have diaper changing stations. Ask for a bassinet seat, baby meal( SQ-they usually give u heinz baby jars)
Try to be at the boarding gate early as they give priority boarding for families traveling with infants.

Finally I have time to sit down and post. Have been tied up with my little one these few days as he has been acting very cranky and fussy. Dunno what happens to him, fights sleep and wants to be latch on every hour or so. Tireeeeeeeeeeeed !!!

Travelling
wow everyone is talking about travelling!
I won't be travelling this year as I have already spent too much on Jav. Hb and I are thinking next yr.

I went to Melbourne when I was 5 mths pregnant with Jav...heehee...Wonderful place with good food

So many mummies studied in Aus, eh? Anyone studied in Canada? I studied in Canada. Love the place to bits !!!

Gathering
I think someone suggested TCC at Raffles Place. Have you all considered it? I read from other thread that Globetrotter isn't that great but I've never been there so not sure.

I think it's best to find a place in a mall where there are baby changing rooms or family rooms to suit our needs.

Madlynette
Wow you actually bought the bee !! I was looking at it the other day at Mothercare. It's really a nice and practical pram. Btw, is it easy to fold and unfold? Can do it with one hand?

hippo
Oh so sorry to hear about Adri. Thank goodness, she's ok. Today I accidentally hit Jav's head on the corner of the chair while I was carrying him. Luckily the hit wasn't that hard so I cheered him up before he cried.

zhen zhen & sugar nut,

Thanks for the info. Ya..think i will buy a baby monitor soon. Or else, it will increase the separation anxiety esp when i am the only caregiver for ds.

Travelling:
Wow! so envy many mummies here who can get to travel. Aussie is a wonderful place, went there once many years back..wish to go again.

Madlynette,
I loved your stroller. Seldom seen this type before on the street. Most that i seem is Mclaren...I love to see strollers...if there is a huge department that sells all types of strollers, i can be there for the whole day. Haha! too addictive...

sanbebe, i love canada too! i was only there for one semester on exchange, but have super fond memories of the place.

re: gathering
think TCC at raffles place sounds good. plus weekend will be rather empty, which would be good for us.

Perlicia,

It ok, yesterday i bought a tin of brown rice powder with 'si shen' from Eu Yan Sheng. 4 times expensive than those selling at NTUC. Shall let my girl try it out today.

perlicia
u r tempting me with those yummy ozzie foods... the pancake house is super good hor n the oysters so HUGE n fresh! :D

hippo,
u also studied at Oz? high five! i stayed at brisbane for 3 years (v.fun, v.independent, carefree lifestyle i had there, so much so that almost didn't want to return back when i finished my studies!!!) n as what perlicia says, its not a terribly exciting place coz its so tiny, but its the little nooks n crannies in certain areas of brisbane that adds to the charm of the city. plus, convenient to go sun shine coast/gold coast if things get too dull! :D

gingerleaf
yah, pasty form easier to feed, i should think... anyway, PD gave some samples which i gonna try n see how. if not, then will check out the medicinal halls or NTUC also sells the chinese brown rice with si shen, not sure if its as gd as EYS one though...

re: globetrotter
its more toddler friendly i find, coz they have a play area for toddlers/kids and also allow them to 'make' their own food,etc. food-wise is not very fantastic, so so only...

Perlicia & Tiffy,

Is at blk 64 circuit road. U bring our brown rice there and they will grind for you .. but is not on the spot. U may have to leave there for a few day.

Haha, gingerleaf...very tempting hor...I also very keen to go ASAP and to walk thru all the places that I have been to with my little one.

We organise local meetup first, then maybe when all the oct babies are old enough to go amusement parks, can go for the oversea meetup.

sanbebe, I went to Japan when 2 months plus pregnant. Now when I use those simple japanese greetings to him, he will laugh so happily. Dunno izzit I speaks funny or he hear a fair bits of Japanese from there. That's just a crazy thoughts.

sugar_nut, I have ask the Gymboree people to send me some info for the dates and prices but yet to receive it.

ueno, thanx for the info. More encouraging to bring my boy out but first have to make passport.

Tiffy, no problem

zhen_zhen, TCC should be fine as well. Maybe we should ask anyone bring toddlers or kids if they are interested to meet up, then at least while we chat, can keep the children busy in globetrotter. Let's choose the date first? Any suggestion other that Labour day?

sansbebe & all mummies, thanks for the concern for bb adri.. she's fine and can "scold" people with her baby talk liao so no worries.. keke..

i wonder how bb Lance is though.. any1 with updates from Junnie?

gardendreamz, hi-5!

perlicia, labour day sounds good wor..

re: travelling.. tink i can only go HKG with her early next year to pay respects to her grandpa and visit my relatives... other destinations can wait.. haha! think she'll be like me.. spend her early years travelling to HKG n HKG n HKG...

yesterday hubby was trying to book tickets online and I juz had the craziest idea. Since he is gg greece, I suggested that, he go 1st, then after his work is done, I'll join him in italy with baby. He was very open to the idea and was all for it! But after chatting to a frd online, she pour cold water on me and told me that it isnt feasible lor. Tell me bb cannot take long flight n such. Then hinted to me that its very irritating to have crying bbs on board a plane, somemore such a long flight. Then tell me later hard to find baby-friendly places blah blah blah.. Now my spirit is all dampen. Sigh!

Yeah, I wonder how is bb Lance....
Cheval, any updates?

gingerleaf,
having traveled with baby, i think its doable. Especially when its free n easy, just feed the baby whenever n wherever. Babies r generally well-behaved during flights, not sure abt the babies yr friend encountered but im sure our babies r not like that. In fact, i feel that western countries r more baby friendly and handicapped friendly than Singapore. I have no problem finding ramps n lifts when i was in Mel

gingerleaf, just go for it la.. i've seen so many babies on board.. they are most cranky during take-off and landing.. other than that they seem drowsy.. haha! must be e cabin air..

hippo,
cabin air makes me drowsy too, but I cant never seem to fall asleep! So irritating!

Ueno,
if I were to go melb, I think I'd go for it, but Im not so sure abt european countries.

gingerleaf, tell me abt it.. put me on a long flight and i'm as good as dead liao.. cos i can't sleep!!! and i'm tall so my legs are always in awkward positions and can't stretch! haiz.. and biz class is so ex!!!!!! xiao meh..

gingerleaf, you will not know it if you never try yourself. My husband travel frequently also, think about wanting to join him with the baby. So I actually thought of asking him to bring over the luggage and I just bring my boy and all the necessities I need on the plane.

I also see baby cry only abit on tha plane, never come across a marathon cry one. Guess that the air and coolness makes them sleepy most of the time.

Bring a pram, then can change him on the pram, whether baby friendly or not then not so important already. Handicapped friendly is definitely a yes in europe countries.

hippo18, same same, I can never sleep on the plane also. Just cannot sleep in sitting position. That day happily check the price on the SQ biz class, image 2 adults and a baby cost almost $17K. really for rich rich people.

If globetrotter is so lousy, then any other suggestion?

gingerleaf ... go go go ... i might be Carlson & Carissa to european all by myself and meet my hb too end of the year or bb 1 year old ...cos he is posting there soon ...

sharon & perlicia, hi-5! really crazy to take biz class la.. dat $$$ can be spent on overseas shopping!! hahaha..

brown rice grinding.
mummies interested in grind brown rice just found out that a chinese medical hall at Kallang Bahru provide brown rice grind they charge
$3.50 (per kg for grind) + wash and oven dry + si shen $3.00 + yangsheng $10.00 = total $16.50 (for a kg of brown rice) collect in 3-4 days.
I sent in my today, will collect next week.

Actually the lady boss told me that they also sell organic brown rice, if you get directly from them min 2kg ($7++). it will be more economical to buy rice from them 2kg grind brown rice $25++. For my 1kg already $21+