(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

happy VD!! wow, soo many post, really difficult to catch up.

i hv been super busy like siao chabo, running up & down PD, work, home, nanny plc, childcare. cos bb falled sick since Day5 of CNY, high fever 39.7 fm 4am, then fever up & down, brought bb to PD, say throat abit 'red' & urine test shows dirty. i told him bb on TFM, no eat heaty stuff, he said cud b during CNY visitng...some1 sick hug/kiss him & passed virus to him cos he jus recovered fm bronchitis 2-3wks ago. gv me 2 choices, either take paraceltamol + antibiotic go home monitor or admit straight. due both short handed @work (1 colleague took unpaid 3mths leave settle family prblm, 1 jus preggie 5wks - got MC for a wk due unstability) & @home (my hubby outstation also fm Day5, rtning oni nxt week), i told PD will monitor @home, PD said since urine test shows dirty, most likely also UTI or reflux (likelihood cos my gal got history of reflux) if urine test result out on 15/2 shows postive, hv to arrange bb for ultrasound, etc
then tis few days hv been sponging bb + giving paraceltamol, started with oral antibiotic last nite (3x aday), initially was every day go jab @ his thigh (anti-biotic) to reduce infection causing high fever, poor bb cried his lung out during the jab
lucky fever drop 37+ since last nite, if still shoot up again, then really hv to admit him.

gingerleaf: so envious! u can join in ur hubby to new places!

think at 11 mths, baby should be good enough to go travelling though not recommended for too long a period i suppose..

im going japan this end mar with my mum + not bringing baby cos he too young..

hubby will stay behind to take care with PIL.. *sobz* think will miss my baby v badly and also worried that his routine will all be screwed up when taken care by my PIL

junnie: oh no, so sorry to hear abt ur baby falling sick.. it really sucks to see the little ones getting sick...dont worry too much n just continue giving the anti-biotics+paraceltamol n monitor baby's temp..everything will be fine soon.

take care of urself too!

hi bbwow
reading ur line:
Even give milk if too slow, he won't let you feed him anymore. Must change person! My baby can really throw a mean temper!

Just like my Chloe!! Haha.. see u this saturday!

re bottle teats: Sean doesn't like NUK/avent brand teats lei...also dunno y he only likes the cheapo Tollyjoy brand bottles lei...sigh...also good la, let me save money on his bottles....

re swimming: Thanks gingerleaf for the link...i wanna get one for Sean too...cos thinking of bringing him for a short dip next month at the condo pool... u got the swimming float thingy, i was contemplating on getting tt too, but it feels tt it looks like strangling the baby's neck lei...??..

travelling: I have just made passport for Sean liao..cos April will be going to Germany for business trip for 3 weeks...sean will be going wif me too lo, else both me n him will 'die' missing each other heehee...

junnie,

so sory to hear that.. hope bb will recover soon.. u take care too oh.. ask for extra help if need be, dun overwork urself..

unice,

i wana tag along!!! haa.. so good.. hubby joining u both as well?

re swimming:
initially i wana bring bb for a short dip ard his 5mth +.. but i think i have to check wi my pd whether is it ok coz bb got slight eczema, all thanks to me loh.. i have eczema since young.. hubby said the chlorine in swimming pool may have adverse impact on bb's eczema.. hmm..

Chintz,
Happy Birthday!

dodo,
but isnt 8mth plus abit early to bring overseas? I meant, its still abit troublesome la, so many things to carry too. By teh time oso started solids liao, thats another prob manz. Im not exactly keen to do so la, pretty mafan. Unless go resort, those with private infinity pools... thats a different story. Hehehe. That type, jus hide inside the hse, no nid to come out one.
Where are you planning to go in June?

eccokie,
I been to greece liao, so not very gian to follow, but I never been to germany! I still feel 11mth, baby is abit young. Dunno how oso la. If let PILs look after, oso cant bear la.
So nice ! can go japan. It is one of the place I've been dying to go. Never been there at all.

Junniezz,
Lance so poor thing. Hope he'll get well soon! You also must take care of urself!

junnie: Oh no, hope ur baby gets well soon...poor little thing is feeling so uncomfortable...

ecookie: I m quite worried abt the flight actually...scared tt the pressure difference will make Sean feel uncomfortable n make alot of noise on the plane... Last time when i travelled there, got some ang moh babies cried non stop for nearly the whole 10hr journey!!..
No lei, my hubby only joining us for 10 days...my godmum will come n look after Sean for the 3 weeks...

re attention seeking babies: Sean doesnt like to be left alone for more than 5-10mins!! He will go air-air-air..then if still no one tends to him, he will cry till the sky fall liao...but once we carry him up, his cry stops abruptly...he can pretend to cry man!!!
pp tell me its because he is used to being carried and latched on and falling asleep at the same time...so bad habit liao..

ask u all mummies ah, do ur babies like to stand up straight (wif our help, of cos)? sean doesnt like to sit down when we r having our meals/watching movie outside..He insists on standing up straight...and likes to bounce somemore...
that makes me more tempted to get the Fisherprice jumperoo for him since he is so happy bouncing ...sigh

dodo, hubby only joining me for 10 days

Gingerleaf, u r right on the mafan-ness of bringing babies' food out esp overseas...mb for tt few days just bring those instant cereal or off the rack canned foods lo..but my cousin last yr brought a small hotplate and masstin to cook porridge for her son during their trip

unice: air pressure may make babies' ears uncomfortable... hopefully sean wont feel that during the flight...

gingerleaf: yah japan is v nice..ive been to tokyo but visiting other places like osaka this time round...
greece is v nice! ive been there too for my honeymoon.. esp the greek islands!! i miss travelling with hubby..

eunice,
so shiok leh!
i really gotta hand it to you for sacrificing so much and bring sean there. Remember to tell the airlines u have a baby, so they will give u the front seat with biggggg leg room. heehe

re: standing
lyn oso liek to stand leh. Evereytime she air air air, I will let her stand stand, then she will smile till the eyes disappear into nothing. Hehehe.
Oh, jumperoo, now she can really jump very very wildly in it. See the smile on her face when she jumps, you cant help but smile along urself too.

gingerleaf,

actually we dun mind the mafan leh... think sure can work a way out in terms of bb's meal... maybe like what unice said, bring some cooking stuff for bb food.. very challenging n exciting right!
hubby suggested resort but i dun really like the idea leh... still yet to decide where to go leh.. wana join me? haa... :p

unice,

sure it will be a very very different experience for u and bb! good that ur godma will help out there.. i think germany will have good weather at april, i went austria & swiss 2 yrs ago ard that time, weather was so nice! must take lots n lots of photos there and share wi us hor

true abt the air flight pressure... my sis brought my niece back to australia when she was 3mths old.. she fussed lots throughout the flight loh.. she travelled SQ then, if u travelled SQ also, can ask for bb bassinet i think and like what gingerleaf said, the front row wi super spacious legroom!

dodo,
u wanna tempt me sia, but anyway, hubby going work trip in june oso. So guess cant join ba. Unless ur hubby wanna help look after me n lyn! HAHAHA. I think he will pengz

I think all airlines provides bassinet right?

gingerleaf,
ya i think he will pengz! haa.. but who knows, he really loves bb loh... u know what he said to me that day, i was talking to bb "what u like for ur 1st yr bd present? mummy will buy for u".. then my hubby said "mama, i wan a didi or mei mei"... faint... :p

oh is it? me mountain tortoise.. hee..

Hi I'm from the NOv thread mummy,

Junnie, is your PD Dr Ngiam from SG Baby? Is the antibiotic Augmentin?

Mummies using NUK teats, are u still using the 0-6month medium flow for your babies? Or change already? My ds seemed to have problem feeding... He seemed to be frustrated and hept struggling. I am wondering if the hole is too small or what..

dodo, my hubby also... everyday ask my baby, you want a didi or meimei leh? i say i cant go on maternity leave so soon leh, dun hai wo leh... my boss will faint...

gingerleaf: yup! i went santorini & mykonos & athens for honeymoon! santorini is really the far better than the other 2 places...hehe..

gingerleaf,
wow i never been to Greece!! I wanna go!! last yr actually planned to travel to Greece but preggie liao..so cancelled my plan..but being preggie is much much better than having the trip haha

lyn so cute can smile till see teeth no see eyes haha...now make me more tempted to buy liao..everytime go KP i will see if they sell it...keep looking at it for the past 2-3 weeks liao sigh...

dodo, u will be travelling in June too? We will be going to a Msia resort for Church camp (only 4 days) in June but not sure which resort yet...but will be travelling by coach...

ya, i will take photos
It will be Spring in April but my German counterparts say April has the most unpredictable weather, will rain suddenly or snow suddenly..
too bad, company cheapo one, so only travel by Thai airways haha... no Luthansa or SQ for me :p

fiona,
ya loh... i act blur to his comments leh :p actually i love kids also, but i told hubby i doubt i can love another bb again coz i love my boy so much and i dun wan to share my love to him wi anyone else.. at least not for the moment.. he said im too obsessed wi my boy... hmm...

queenaire,
im still using 0-6mth medium flow.. tried the large before, almost choked him... maybe it's not the teat prob? my boy also like that last time, i tried to shift him more upright position when feeding and he's better... maybe u can try that?

frostyfiona,dodo: wah ur hubbys really like children alot! i want a #2 also but its my hubby who s having reservations.. guess he s really feeling the toll of taking care of our little wormy hee.. but think we should be waiting for another year or 2 before planning for #2 bah.. heh

unice,
gingerleaf already tempted us buying many things liao loh.. and now my heart also itchy whenever i saw jumperoo... aiyo.. :p

ya.. wana go for a trip this june on my birthday... but yet to decide where leh... wah, bb sean very good leh, can travel to many places wi daddy mummy

yup! we encountered snow in swiss also although it was spring then... make sure u bring enough clothing & accessories for sean oh..

chintz,

didn't know it's your birthday today! happy birthday!

Yes, see you this Sat. I think my boy and your gal will like seeing each other again. hehehe...

ecookie, true.. actually i really salute him leh, i asked him u really dun mind everynight wake up at wee hours to feed baby meh? he said he dun mind at all... pengz... many told me 2 yrs gap is good, but now i prefer a wider gap maybe 4 yrs...

Unice,
I found out I was preg juz 2 days b4 departure to europe. Somemore hubby had to go amsterdam n notterdam for work b4 we go paris. It was the worst holiday in my life coz I puke like mad. Now I think abt it, I still will cringe. Ppl got paris so happy, I go paris so miserable.

dodo,
u all got weakness la, not i tempt you all de. LOL. TSK! No self control!
HAHAHAHA.

I told my hubby, want 2nd one can. Not next year coz ox year, later too sturbborn. My bro in law still can tell me, good what! Can work very hard. Pengz.
Not tiger year, coz I think tiger clashes with me. So left rabbit loh.
So have to wait 3 yrs. I think nice timing la.

gingerleaf,

ok la ok la.. i must admit i have no self control... haa!

hubby prefer ox year and i prefer rabbit.. no tiger for me too.. just simply dun like loh.. so see who wins ultimately! haa..

haha so alot of mummies here will take into consideration of chinese horoscopes just like me!
i dun want rabbit cos clash with me cos i rooster.. actually i want ox but abit too tight for my hubby.. but stubborne me think may be possible to give birth in early 2010 still ox year lol..but that means will spend CNY in confinrment hiaks..

haha gingerleaf, u very influential mah

i always ask sean :" u wan the jumperoo?" then i replied for him:" i wan, i wan"
but my hubby says, its mummy who wants the jumperoo, not baby !!!

aiyo, i dare not think of another baby now lei....think want to focus all on sean first, till he is abit bigger than will have the 2nd and last one...hee

Re: 2nd baby
I thought only my hubby planning for having a 2nd one.. Now i'm quite relieved! Haha..

ecookie, ya i know a few 'tiger' ladies, really quite fierce! Therefore, to be safe, we're thinking of an ox baby.. :p

How? anyone joining me? lol

chintz!! i want ox baby.. ox is best friend with me -the rooster lol.

i want to join u. but counting hor means we must start trying and get preggy when baby ard 1 1/2 years old. :p

ecookie, ya.. that is if you dun mind having a late ox. If we want an early ox, means have to try this year liao.. around June!~~

Like quite jia lat ler..

Seriously is there any 'rugi' issue for year end babies?

hhah YE babies not much rugi bah.. im also a dec baby i think not much prob haha

i definitely want to try for late ox.. any ealier too "siong" for me. hiaks. read somewher its best for the mother to rest her body for at least 18 mths before conceiving again...

if miss ox, then bo bian tiger lor.. *roar* lol

hey,

any mummies experiencing hair loss problem now? i hv a patch of baldness.. quite obvious and ugly. anyone has any remedies?

as for 2nd one, reallee dun dare to think now.. still trying so hard to get back to shape, cannot imagine gaining more weight again. a bit demoralise when i see my so many old clothes but cant fit in.

Jacq
I seems to be dropping more hair in the shower now compare to the time I was pregnant, patchiness, so far never notice any. Can apply those hair tonic? But not sure if it will affect the bm.

WAH! the thread moves so fast!

ecookie...i succumbed and brought my gal to another expensive pd session to check out whether she has eczema! sigh. pd said that is very normal leh...and that MANY babies have it (tho my fren's bbs dun have leh. haiz)...prescribed this moisturiser called 'PHYSIOGEL'. will let it know how it goes! ;)

gardendreamz...in my desperation to get my gal back into routines after thecny overstimulation...i've just bot the book 'Healthy sleep habits happy child'-weissb. anyone read it b4? quite impressed by it so far....accurately predicts my gal's sleep patterns since birth! this guys seems to really know wad he's talking about! hee.

jacq....am losing hair too! but have not observed any bald patches...YET! :p my fren's who asked a doc about it...was told that its normal for newmothers to experiencce hair loss...but will recover in about 9mths or so i think

Morning mummies.

ecookie, so let's mark our calendar together for a 2nd one! lol.

jacq, my hair drops a lot too! My gynae told me before that he can actually prescribed hormones pills to prevent hair lose, if i wish. Perhaps u may check with ur gynae?

chintz: hee lets do that!

gollygeegirlie: lucky its not eczema cos i ve n scared baby will have too...

gingerleaf: can we get this physiogel from normal pharmacy?

re hair loss:
yah im losing hair too! esp after shampooing when i comb through can faint at the amt. been vacumning more often nowadays cos my hair everywhere! bleh..
my hair is quite thin in the 1st place before pregnancy now like worse.

and to think will continur falling for nextfew mth , cringe!!

Garden_dreamz,

tot of Nepia too...but NTUC and carrefour got no displayed sample leh. So don't know how it looks like.

re: crying out mtd
Oh Oh...Mummies, sori if this mtd seems 'chan ren'. You need to be discerning when using this cos though I believe all bbs can be trained, but not all like such mtd.

I tried out this mtd when Isaac is 1mth old but to no avail. Agree...bbs' tears tear mummmies' heart! So lots of carrying.

I re-applied when I realised Isaac's eyes seems to be able to follow wherever I go. When he cries, I'll always walk and do sth within his vision. Pat his legs and tell him 'mummy is here'. Then walk away. This can repeat a few times, just to assure him I'm always around. BUT will not pick him up lor.

Slowly he knows that prolong crying is not a way to seek my attention.

Happy training okie...I'm sure you'll find sth that works well with you and bb.

gd morning mummies...
wahh... so many postings! :D
re: travels
dodo, unice, gingerleaf
goodness...seeing u all mentioning about travel, i miss travelling so much... but dun things its possible to travel for now, in terms of financial n logistics, got to wait till bb bigger! :D

gingerleaf,
thanks for the link to BP. haha... forum really v.useful for getting stuff hor, dun need to step out of house, can shop alr! n eyes itchy somemore, always v.tempted to buy n buy. jialart...

fitty_nut
i had the drypers sample before, so compared the length with nepia n realised that drypers is shorter, so in a way, diapers more prone to leaking n also thigh area not as roomy as Nepia.

yah, i also feel that nepia is much longer than the other diapers..more roomy & less prone for baby to develope nappy rash