(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

gingerleaf: dun be too worried.. if u got asthma when you were younger and not now should be okie bah.. i still will have asthma attack even now if weather too cold/environment too dusty..

re: CNY
Baby didn't go out visiting too much but had a couple of late nites. lately his naps have been pretty erratic because I'm not around in the day, and maid lets him sleep whenever he wants to. Have told her to try keep him awake until nearer to his supposed nap times to prevent catnapping. Today I asked her to record down his nap and feeding times. Hope can adjust back to his routine...

Re: feeding
Are our babies supposed to go on a 4hrly feeding schedule already? my piggy can't go more than 3hrs between feeds. sometimes he starts demanding for milk after only 2 hrs!! But when I try to up his feed he refuses to drink.

ecookie, gina ford also recommends dropping the 10-11pm feed only after baby has started on solids after 6 mths. my one will naturally wake up at abt 11pm to drink...he also will close his eyes and drink, then back to sleep after that.

Hey fitty nut & gingerleaf,

I also ordered from the bp !
I've bought the neck float and the tub, thinking of trying it at home before bringing jav to swimming pool. I've read somewhere that says it's best for baby to avoid chlorine. Well, but I think I'll bring jav to pool when he's 6 mths old. Meanwhile, I'll just let him have fun in his tub

garden dreamz,
I just bought Gina Ford's Complete Guide for Sleeping recently and haven't finished reading it, so I haven't tried anything on jav yet.

karrie: yah in this case think ill remain his 11pm feed till his solids established aft 6 mths bah..

re:napping..
i also dun know how much my wormy napping during the day since my MIL take care of him n i cant possibly ask her to record down the nap hours.. though i did ask her to record down the feeding timing :p

feel that my baby tend to sleep late during weekdays maybe cos he naps too much during the day. he ll sleep early during weekend cos normally i ll play with him n bring him out n this keep him awake longer during the day...

how to make baby sleep earlier? now he sleeps ard 9pm , hoping to shift it to 7+pm..

eccokie,
thanks. Cant help but panic when I 1st read it. hehe. It must be hard on you to have attacks now and then.

karrie,
lyn oso not on 4hrly. Now she is drinking 150ml on 3hrly too. I thinking of stretching her feeds, but I was telling myself, drink at 3 hrly oso good la, increase metabolism rate. HAHAHAH. thats my warp theory la.

I am not following any gina ford or tracy hoggs thingy. Are they really useful?

Everyone's baby sleeps so early!
Mine sleeps at 10-11plus! Its hard to get her to sleep earlier, but maybe thats becoz we bring her out often to dine out... then normal reach home oreadi 9plus-10 liao.

re: dream feed
According to Tracy Hogg, dream feed is done when baby is still sleeping. Do not wake baby up. It differs from Gina Ford who wakes baby up at 10.30pm for milk.

Well, I'm feeding jav while he is still sleeping. I actually like it as he will drink the milk very fast and without figeting

aria,
same same. hehe. I kinda like it that way, coz I feel its easier to bring her out late and not worry abt losing any schedule. BUT, sometimes oso wish she can sleep earlier, so evening will be more free.

gingerleaf,
same thinking like you..haha...also, sometimes i reach home quite late.. so if she sleep early i dun get to play with her or breastfeed her..

hippo
take care n stay strong yah?

karrie
i read the book few times but my boy still dun work well on the PU/PD method.

worse still, ever since the CNY over-stimulation n feeding/sleeping times all got screwed up. these few days, he hardly naps in the day at all. can see he's tired but he keeps wanting to turn to his tummy to play. can only sleep if i carry n pat pat him. used to be able to sleep on the bed when i pat him, nowadays, refuse. then when finally manage to sleep, only 1/2hr nap! i pat him for 1 hr, he sleep 1/2 hr!

wonder if its normal that our babies at 4 mths more alert to things n thus refuse to take naps in the day, prefering to play n play? mine likes to play n babble to everyone around, including his toys! super cute to play with but naps/bedtime is a headache! :D

Saw this blogspot. Really heartache. My hubby, whom I'd only seen him lightly drop tears twice in 12 yrs, actually cried.

No matter how much 'Troubles' our little ones gave us, we should appreciate that he / she is with us.

<font size="+1">Not for mummy who get depress easily.</font>

http://ashleyisourangel.blogspot.com/

my boy also sleep late.... knock out around 11pm must carry and pat pat to sleep.

He is in infant care, usually the teacher will record his nap time, he sleeps around 4-6hrs during the day.

cheval: i think ur boy sleeps too much during the day.. think they need at most 4 hrs during day time..

gingerleaf: yah still will get attach like once a year but ever since aft giving birth now like very easily feel an attack coming up then must quickly use inhaler to control it.. body weaker after delivery *sigh*

re: baby sleeping time
i hope mine will sleep earlier like 8pm then can free up evening for me to do my own stuff but gingerleaf + aria_jo are right, cant get to play much with him when back from work at 7+..

the story is so sad.. i cried after reading and im working now.

just went to toilet to dry my tears &amp; clear my nose...

anyway my boy need to be rock by me to sleep for the BIG sleep at night.. and he will cried v angrily when i rock him till he zz.. the whole process normally takes ard 10-20 mins..

i dun know why he so angry also.. anyone has similar experience?

bbwow
u can try dream feed. yes, bb is still slping. no need to wake them. they will instinctively know how to suckle.

jovial, it's so sad... i think i read it somewhere before but the pictures really make me cry.... ya, i am really thankful that my baby is with me and feel like going home straight away to hug him.

now in the office, i think they all thinking why i crying...

re: blog
The ability to carry bb to full term is indeed a privilege. It does not just happen naturally to every woman. I miscarriaged once...feel really blessed to go thru the pregnancy journey without any complication.

I reminded myself...next time when Isaac starts running about, avoid saying "Aiyo, it's so troublesome to bring you out, can't you stay still?" Thank God my child is still running, how about those who can't?

Gardern_Dreamz
The PU/PD mtd also doesn't work for me. Need to carry to sleep. Put down only will wail. Super tiring.

Again I let bb cry to sleep...kinda exhaust his energy and train him to sleep on his own at the same time. Then one day I discovered that he sleeps faster when he rubbed his face agst my comforter. So now I put bolster, pillows and a napkin around him for him to grab and 'soothe' himself to sleep. Soft wailing at most if he can't fall asleep easily.

Maybe bbs feel more secured bah...just like I like to hold my pillow to sleep.

ecookie,
Isaac needs to be carried to take his catnap b/w 6pm -830pm...if not very cranky. Don't understand why??? cos this doesn't happen during day nap. So sometimes we will bring him out for dinner and he naps well in stroller.

Ecookie, same here my boy will cried when I rock him to sleep sometime, my hubby said because he feel hot, so on air-con for him for an hr, but sometime he still continue singing under fall a sleep.

Only 4hrs sleeping time during the day...can I know how the 4hrs been allocated....my boy go to school at 7am when he still sleeping wake up around 9+ for shower &amp; milk…..and he sleeps again at 11+ to 12+ and he has some nap times in afternoon, add up to 4 to 6 hrs total sleeping time in the day.

What will you gals do tmr nite?
I think it's gg to be another day for me. Hubby isnt the romantic sort who will celebrate nor surprise.

myra is consuming more milk now than i can produce. mommies can recommend me good FM brands please. i need to supplement her one FM feed a day now. help!

similac, nan, enfalac, S26, friso or mamil? *blur* my sis says buy the most expensive is the best. wonder if this is true?

Hi madlynette,

I used to think that way too. Buy the most expensive, but I realised it doesnt hold true.
I 1st gave my gal enfalac(which was highly recc by a frd) and I think it was too heaty for her as she developed rashes and she didnt poo very often. She was on partial BM thou.
Then I tried mamex but I didnt like the texture of the powder and it was..erm. made in M'sia.
Lastly, I tried Friso and it did well for her, ie she poo more regularly while on it.
I think its a trial and error thingy and diff FM suits diff baby. I think the best bet is to try out small tins and go with ur heart.

fitty_nut:
yah my boy will wail to be carried come evening time for his real sleep at night.. but yesterday i went out with friends and hubby said he just play with baby at his cot then when baby tired, hubby gave him pacifier n his beanie (he got a traditional beanie made by my mum for him -made of green beans sprouts?) then he fell asleep himself!! hmm, dun know why cos normally he needs to be carried before he can fall asleep at night.. though no prob with napping on his own during day time.. v weird..

yah, now adays his grasp more firm, he ll pull his beanie to his face , rub rub then will fall asleep easily.. lol

madlynette:
yah i agree with gingerleaf, FM is trial n error one.. depend on how ur baby react to it..
im using friso from the start when i wean my baby off BM at 2nd mth for i was given a free tin from my gynae and since baby didnt reject it and was poo-ing okie (once daily/alternate days) i stick to it lor..

gingerleaf: sigh my hubby like urs too.. very seldom plan for occasions like vday / xmas etc

he normally just bring me out for dinner and perhaps movie since i like to watch shows alot. but thats really abt it. pressies/cards i need to remind him that we are exchanging then he ll go buy if not he will be the lazy type n rather just subsidize whatever i want to buy along the way.. hmph!

madlynette:
i using the normal gold range. soy milk is more for those babies with allergies/milk reflux/diahorrea etc i think..

both are same i think but read somewhere that soy milk is better used if recommended by PD. if not, gold will do for most babies.

cheval: i dun think its hot cos he cries away anyway! lol.. and nowadays quite cold at night...my house quite high then wind blows in at night v cold..

but soemtimes really buay tahan.. rockng a squirming baby then he got hot, i also sweat lol..hopefully as they get older, wont be so angry come bedtime.

Re:naps
im not sure how many hours baby sleep during daytime cos MIL taking care. but come weekends when i take care of him myself, normally he ll sleep for 30mins-1 hr after his bathe at 10am.
then another long one from 2+ to 4 (ard 2hrs). then evening ard 6, he ll take another short one less than 1 hr.

then he'll be ready for his real night sleep ard 8-9pm...

re: baby feeding,
my boy now on 4 hourly feeding schedule and 5 feeds a day since his 3.5mth... i din fix this schedule on him, he just decided to less 1 feed per day, wonder will he get enough milk or not.. hmm...i never read up abt the gina ford and tracy hogg thingy.. is it useful?

gingerleaf &amp; ecookie,
mine the opposite, hubby asked me where to go celebrate but i dun have the mood for it loh.. and i told him dun buy me flower which he usually do it every year.. i find it really waste $$, sure kena tok! acutally i find myself behaving more n more like huang lian po now... how ah.. cham..

dodo,
u got such good hubby leh. I think good genes will pass down to anderson ba. Can i chop 1st? I got good genes too u know, I promise lyn will be a nice gal too. HAHAHAHAHAH

dodo,
waste money is true la, but im sure everyone will wanna have a little surprise somewhere. Like I wan a surprise, yet I dunno what I wan.
I oso know it wun come cheap on days like this, yet i yearn for it, yet dowan him to waste money. lol. I very confused.

gingerleaf,

u made me laugh la!!! haa...
ya i hope anderson will inherit his papa good genes and not my bad temper! :p good leh, ziqian + zining.. even their names sounds like couple.. haa!

aiyo.. u really confused huh... true, good to have surprise once a while, but i prefer surprise on those non-festive days leh.. actually a card wi all his mushy words will do loh, im easily contended right..

dodo,
dun u think both their names sounds very much like those period dramas name.
lol.

card with mushy nonsense will do for u? You very easy to cheat leh. heheheheeh. =p

gingerleaf,
Put up/put down mtd. Usually for bb who can't sleep on his own. Something like you carry bb and when he abt to sleep, put him down. Let him wail for awhile, pick him up again. Repeat these steps till the wailing time gets shorter and shorter.

Haha...for me, the wailing time gets longer instead. This mtd only for bb >3mths, otherwise overstimulating.

Re:valentine's

4got tml is valentine's. My pastor ever said "husbands, you can 4get abt everythg else except your wife's birthday, anniversary, valentine's, first kiss (keke)..." " But then again, wivies...if you are very particular and fuss over these few days, it's very pathetic lor. That means out of 365 days, you feel 'extra' loved only during these occasions.."

I always tell my hubi that everyday is a valentine's day to me if he shares the hse chores. Hahahha. So far very blessed...he treasures this marriage alot.

Dodo,
Yia, flowers on such day very ex. My hubi was rather shocked that I dislike flowers when we were dating. Must be very happy deep inside huh...

madlynette,
agree with gingerleaf, it's a trial and error thing. You pay more for the brand. I did a few research over comments about the various FM brands. Similac and Enfa tend to be heaty. But some bbs are fine with it.

KKH using Nans as it's closed to BM taste so I started with that and so far ok. Another point I'm quite particular is the fats content.

fitty_nut: i didnt hear of the PU/PD method maybe will try soon since baby > 3 mths liao...and he s getting heavier so cant possibly carry him to sleep everyday (though nowadays it can be as fast as 5-10mins then he's sound asleep..)

dodo: ur hubby v nice! my hubby just sms me before lunch that he s bringing me to dinner at a restaurant at vivo.. n he ll make resrervations.. and thats all.. not even sure if he s buying me anything.. :p

n i want to reduce baby's feeds to 5times too..
so far still on 6 times though i varied the amount to make sure he doesnt exceed 900ml per day.. somehow feel FM very fattening.. like 900ml of FM not = to 900ml of BM..
and he s already 7kg at 3mths..

any mummies out there whose babies is at 7kg or more at 3 mths old?

gingerleaf,

ya.. aralyn + anderson.. very rhyme also.. haa!
im easily cheat in this aspect but very particular in other aspects! hee..

fitty,
actually i like flowers but just dun like he kena tok on v day.. haa! he bought me a bouquet of flower when i delivered my boy and he wrote something very touch on the card which made me teary... i told him that's the most meaningful flower i ever received from him

ecookie,

ur hubby also nice to bring u out for dinner tomorrow.. not cheap also leh, enjoy urself k!
my boy also 7kg at his 3rd mths.. not sure whether FM more fattening than BM or not.. he currently on BM for 4 feeds and FM for 1 feed.. but i think i may need to increase his FM coz my BM supply seems running low recently leh though i still express diligently.. hmm...

my hubby oso never gives me card. When we were still dating, he did sent alot of cards n letters, BUT thats becoz he was overseas studying. Now, nuthin.
But i shldnt complain much la, coz he helps out alot in hsework, and will buy watever i want if i ask.
But i still wan surprises la, very greedy. lol.

last mth I ordered a cake online, to be send on his bd, to surprised him, then he got teh credit card statement b4 teh cake arrived and asked me whats that purchase for. So funny, I almost burst the bubble, but managed to lie to him, which he beliff. i really gotta hand it to him.. the statement oreadi put THE PATISSIER, he still can beliff i bought clothes. Somemore, not teh 1st time i buy from them. hahahaha

hi fitty nut, ecookie &amp; gingerleaf, thanks for your advise, will try out friso for my bb.

baby feeding &amp; weight:
my little kooky drinks about 160 to 170ml EBM about 4 or 5 times include nightfeed. this is estimate cos sometimes she doesnt finish her milk and at times she cries not enough. on demand mah.

2 days ago, we went for her jab and at 4 months she weights 6 kg 50 percentile growth. i hear they say baby boys are heavier than baby girls. dunno true or not?

heres a link on how to measure your babys growth but in inches and pounds.
http://www.babycenter.com/baby-child-growth-percentile-calculator

http://www.kellymom.com/babyconcerns/growth/growthcharts.html