(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

jovial u are lucky...my own mum is not supportive of me bfing cos she say i need to nourish myself with all the heaty stuff asap after i give birth. if i bf, i cant nourish as much...i went against her idea at first...tried bf...then realised i could not...she actually laughed at me....sniff sniff....

Has anyone finished your post-natal massage already?

Care to share your experience?

I am thinking of starting next week...but just wondering wat will happen if bb is not sleeping when we wanna do the massage?

I dun have a CL and my mum needs to take care of my son..so can hardly attend to my girl if she fusses.

Somehow, I have a feeling that my BM supply is diminishing....

can hardly get 40 ml now...after 6 hours ....at nite even more pathetic...only 20 ml nia...

Jeddie,
maybe u wan to try pump more frequently.. or maybe try to re-latch your baby?

Yipee.. Starting my 1st massage today.. hope its a good one..

Hello all mummies and MTB,

sorry..has not been updating my progress...i have been reading the thread but by the time i finish reading, too lazy to post.

i have popped on 1st Oct (children's day)... my boy's name is He ChengJun. His weight was 3.31 kg at birth. i have epidual+natural birth.

Now, he is only 2weeks plus and is already drinking 100ml every 2-3hours. i have stopped latching him cos every time when i latch him, he will fall asleep, treating my nipple as pacifer. i dont want him to have this habit so i stop latching.

My milk supply also could not meet his demand. i was abit sad for not being able to TBF. i'm taking Fenugreek but it does not seems to help much as well. So i only give him watever EBM i have, hope it helps him to grow well and healthy.

He is begining to turn cranky....always want people to carry him to sleep. The moment we put him on bed, he will wake up and cry again. Tomorrow, will get hubby to buy sarong and see how is his response to sarong. At this moment, i give him pacifer to calm him down. From tomorrow onwards, i hope the sarong will help and i will stop giving him pacifer. cos i think is harder to kick the habit of sucking pacifer and pacifer will affect his teeth developement.

1 day no login, so many cuite bb photos liao

garden_dreamz, sanbebe,lavander & serene(happy mtb)..congrats

re BF, feel not so sad after hearing some mummies same like me either going to/stop BF, at least i'm not alone... of cos we wanna gv our bb the best of all, jus tat we not so lucky..

re pacifier.. i alr given the nite when back fm hospital cos hv to 'tame' him down whever he cranky, if nt the whole block will hear his wailing..

brought bb for jaundice test last wed, lucky level dropped till 86, no more poking for him
but nxt friday going for 2nd dose HepB.

San

Yeah..later i will try to latch her on again..maybe twice a day..once per breast..so that i wont get cracked and sore nipples again. Not comtemplating to buy a second hand ameda pumo to try out since my medela not working well on me...still deciding.

Jessica

My son used both the pacifier and sarong and for your infor, he kicked the pacifier habit when he is about 14 mths old..everytime we put the pacifier in, he will gag..so we just threw it away and he has never asked for it since. Whereas, at almost 23 mths now, he is still sleeping in the sarong...no sarong, takes hours to make him sleep..

jeddie..i finished massage today (5x) i thot taking 7 or 10x but massage lady said not necessary?? she even lend me her binder thru'out maternity leave & teach me how to bind - saying to we can help ourselves reduce the tummy during tis period..v kind of her... anyway..it depends how long your massage & wat time your massage lady coming - so tat u can plan your day (if u dun hv CL).. during massage of cos best not to be disturbed so u can 'enjoy' the process (mine is 1hr only so i make sure CL is not busy w house chores but to standby for bb)..

gingerleaf..i had a cut too for lagation, gynae said same as c-sect, after 10 days can massage.. i tink it depends on individual's healing progress..

hi,esther...pls help me to update, Baby Kaelan Tan delivered on 9oct, weigh 2.95kg and 49cm....btw,m oso using the same lite therapy machine as urs...tried putting the cloth nappy under his head liao..thanks..went to review his jaudince level tis mornin...after 3days of therapy,frm 12.5 dropped to 10.5 so PD said hv to continue the therapy til mon...he said sud b cleared by mon..
find him so kelian wenever i put him under the therapy...so heartpain...sobsob..

Congrats to all mummies who have popped out. Sorry long time never post cos by time I finish reading bb cry for milk again. Finally got time to post.

Here's a pic of bb Shawn to share with you all..

1028249.jpg

gingerleaf, I had checked with my msg lady and she mentioned for C-section better to do it only after at least two weeks.

i also had my massage, today 4th session liao... actually i dun find it relaxing cos very painful! hahaha... maybe i cannot take the massage... and with the binding of my tummy... really cannot tahan man... but must rennnn....

hmmm.... jeddie, what i do is I will bf my baby before the massage lady come and change his diaper... normally he can slp thru out my session... kekeke...

Hi mummies. I delivered my baby girl Megan on 11 Oct. She weighed ard 3.4kg. I had epidural on 10 Oct and waited 8 hours before cervix dilated to 10cm. After ard 1 hr of pushing, baby finally emerged.

I suffered terrible baby blues for the first 7 days after delivery; crying everyday. I didn't sleep enuf. Coz of pain from episiotomy wound and giant piles, I also wasn't mobile so couldn't do much for her except breastfeed. BUT breastmilk seemed insufficient coz she sometimes woke up 30 mins later for another feed. PLUS baby's bilirubin (jaundice) level not going down so have to bring her to get jabbed for blood test again and again.
THEN I got breast infection on left breast - so painful and baby couldn't suck out the milk. *SIGH*

After getting some extra medication and help from lactation consultant, my mood is a little better. LC told us must supplement with formula coz my milk supply not enough yet, so baby cannot pass out the bilirubin terms thru her stool. She wanted us to cup feed even though there'll be lots of spillage, but my family members wanted to use bottle - even when they used cup, they were pouring the milk into baby's mouth rather than making baby stick out her tongue to lick it. I'm worried she'll soon stop being able to direct feed from my breast. *SIGH*

My main concern is that baby is well so I'm thinking of just going to bottle feeding - but supplement EBM with formula - to make sure baby has enuf. But at the moment, my Medela pump can only express 10-15ml per breast after 30mins. If I continue to pump regularly, will my milk supply increase - just like if I had continued to let baby suckle? Or will my milk supply eventually decline? Does anyone know? Any advice would be deeply appreciated!

Hi Valerie,

If you continue to pump regularly like every 3 hrly, your milk supply will gradually increase. But of cos, latch on will be better.

Thanks Joyce! It's such a relief to know that it's a viable option. I'll feel sad that I can't direct feed baby but this option will allow us to make sure baby is eating enuf and will reduce tension in the household. Thanks!

Ya.. dun stress yourself too much also. It'll affect your milk supply as well. When you pump, think of your bb suckling your breast.

gingerleaf,
You can start message anywhere except your tummy. both my massage lady and my gynae say must wait at least 8 wks before you can massage the tummy,as the gynae had to cut thru 7 layer of our flesh to deliver the baby.

Serene (Happy_mtb), can give me your details again ? sorry for the mistakes

all mummies who just popped, Congrats!

great to see u back Dodo! bb looks like u leh.. =) can't wait to hear ur story!

gingerleaf, sms u liao le on e slings. paiseh, nvr logged in the whole day.. as for postnatal massage, do check with ur gynae when u can do it okie?

Congrats to all those mummies who had delivered..

Valerie,
I'm also like u suffering from piles.. the pain is more from the piles than from episiotomy. My milk supply also not enough so now supplementing with FM loh.. I remembered when I first pump also can only get 10ml.. now can pump about 40ml.. but I latch my girl as often as possible during the day.. night time my mum will feed her FM.. I just wake up to pump when I feel pain.. hee.. I'm a lazy mum..

gingerleaf, i also heard that can only have tummy massage 2 months after c-sec. i doubt that i'll be going for massage though. scared... :p

hi mummies, congrats to those who have popped.

Finally my baby Matthias Goh was born on Tue 16 Oct via epi C-section...birth weight was 3.2kg
Will post pics later...

Started breastfeeding from the 1st day and I'm lucky to have milk supply, although I don't really know whether it's enough yet...baby seems to be constantly hungry, but when he latches on he often falls asleep after suckling for only 5 min. So i'm expressing my milk now...and Jovial is right, expressing more frequently helps to increase milk supply, better not to wait until all engorged! My nipples are SORE though... :p

regarding post-natal massage after c-section, have to wait as long as 2 mths?? my gynae told me about 3-4 weeks can liao leh...hmmm mebbe i should play it safe and start later then

Hi Jovial,

My details as follows. Thanks for updating.

My gynae, Dr Suresh Nair delivered my prince on 4Oct thru epi natural assisted with forceps in Mt A. BB's weight is 2.78kg, length is 52cm.

Hi Karrie Congrats good good happy for you to have milk liao

Jeddie hmm u try to latch la after 2 weeks should be betterwith the pain ... hmm the pain goes off after 2nd week for me so now i try to latch bb either once or twice a day on each breast ... now can bfeed my boy baby boy and gal at the same time i give my gal the older milk with her FM if not got differ mah den my boy with the new EBM or latch heehee hope you can tahan a bit more ok i even open a tin of FM for my boy scare i dun have euongh but now keke got to find time to feed him FM if not waste the FM

Dodo you son got yr eye for sure man hee

I have tried BF from day 1 when the nurse pass me my boy in hospital. The consultant was there every morning to coach us how to latch our boy on. Initially, I did not have enough but I just tried to latch him on.

Now, it's already 12 days since he is born. My CL gives me a lot of fish everyday to eat for the milk supply so I BF him in the day and the formula during the night so that I can rest.

But I think I will try BF him till mid 2nd mth as after that I will need to get back to work.
It is really quite tiring as I need a lot of rest for my c-section.

For mummies whom have difficulties latching your baby, don't give up. Just remember to relax and exercise the method the consultant has taught.
Do not stress up, your baby will feel the stress if you did.

Congrates to all new mummies! Welcome to motherhood.

congratz karrie! Matthias was my first choice of names...but my in laws din like the name...was given bryan or benedict to choose...prefered benedict cos it means blessed by god...=D nice name...=D

hihi mommies

congrats karrie..
waiting to see ur baby pics too...

dodo..ur baby so cute...stick out tounge somemore...hehe...is that the thomson suit they deck the baby out with?

finally mangaged to get a CL...hopefully she dun fly kite on me lah...but not stay in one...just come to cook and go home....still cost me 1700

can i check with u mommies arh...wat the contractions feel like? i woke up with tummy ache and some discharge..but now..no more already...but when i stand up..it starts again...is that considered??

hihi mummies,

gingerleaf, hippo, nans, sharon, ssmummy & bbunny,

many said bb anderson look like japanese & korean bcoz of his "mi mi yan"... hope he will look like Rain when he grows up! haa

bbunny,
yup, that's the "thomson baby" suit...

here is my birth story (10.10.07):

10.20am: went for regular checkup, 1cm dilate, doc estimated baby's head circumference of 36cm. upon discussion wi doc, decide to induce as wish to have natural delivery, worry if wait longer, baby head will be bigger... though doc said the % of my natural delivery via induce is 60% - 70%. i still decide to give it a try... so doc inserted tablet into vagina to induce...

10.40am: had CTG for around 20mins, doc said good sign coz got contraction and baby is active...

1.30pm: visited doc again, to check the effect of the induce tablet, baby head is engaging lower which is good but cervix still tight. doc told me to admit into hospital ard 3pm.

3.15pm: admitted to hospital.

3.30pm: sent to labour ward, continue the monitoring via CTG.

4.20pm: doc came and break water, nurse inserted syntocinon drip to fasten dilation.

5.15pm: contraction at every 3 mins, pain still manageable.

6.30pm: contraction at every 2 mins interval. pain getting more and more intense.

7.15pm: pain unbearable, asked for entonox gas.

9.45pm: sad to hear that not much progress, only 2cm dilation though the contraction is so intense... doc said it was tiring for me, coz after 12 hours of induce, cervix only open at 2cm. he gave me option to wait for a few more hours or c-section. decided to have c-section coz im totally drain out, no more energy to handle the contraction coz i had not eaten for half a day :p

11.30pm: c-section started and baby anderson is borned! i cried when i saw him and heard his cry.. doc put him on my chest and his 1st greeting to mummy was blowing bubbles of saliva on my face! haa... at that moment, all the pain & hardship are worthy!

san,

ur baby is borned on 10.10 also right?
think i heard your baby's 1st cry leh.. coz i was at labour ward 10 ard the time your baby delivered... hubby and me heard a baby cry, seems like next door

dodo,
yup she was borned on 10 Oct around 8plus at night.. and yes I was in labour ward 9.. Hee so "qiao"..

Hello, congrats for all mummies,

seems like each of us have a little problem with anything....

Yesterday went to polyclinic to check baby jaundice level. First time bringing him, so when i see the pricking for blood procedure, really heartache.Luckily his level went down but not to the discharge level yet.

Alot of contradicting decision, for jaundice, mummy should try to eat less ginger and should breastfeed and also monitor the milk intake. Breastfeed how to monitor milk intake?

So, it leads me to a sad decision that i EBM out, because want to monitor the milk intake and feed him with FM as i couldn't supply him enough. Now when I try to relatch him, he will cry very loud and it seems that he want the quickest way to eat, to be bottlefed.

A question to ask. Does that mean that without latching, the milk supply won't increase even though we pump more often? Any clue how to relatch baby?

Jovial, Perlicia also known as Perseus. Thanks.
My gynae is Benjamin Tham from KKH.

Check the forum next week again...

valerie.. congrats... sorry to hear wat u hv been thru, dun worry, all will pass v fast. jus do wat u tink is comfortable & good for bb, dun get stress-up. i personally dun like cup-feeding, find bb too young to b spoon feed..bottle feed also can gv BM, jus continue pump regularly if your supply nvr diminshed... jia you..

karrie & YL .. congrats..

dodo..ya, your bb looks like japanese to me, heheh...must b v handsome when grown up! he so cute, blow bubbles of saliva @u??

bbunny...howcome your CL dun stay over to help u? i mean if u prefer settle yourself @nite is ok though, but 1.7 w/o stay-on is quite X, must 'fully utilised' her day service then.

ssmummy..tink the post-natal massage helps to reduce 'wind' fm our body & 'push' the womb inplace..not really on reducing wt cos tat will need quite a no. of sessions to achieve..

hihi gingerleaf and junnie...

dunno...her usual is dun stay overnight one...sporean lady....last minute...bo pian lor...ask her liaoz...she say she will go market and buy the stuff, wash baby's clothes...cook lunch, dinner, tea and supper...bathe baby as well... how to utilise service more??

Hi Mummmies,

Please help, my baby have many red dots on his face and i tried many cream but still cannot help. Today he jus turn 1 mth old. So sad to see his face. Anyone have such problem or remedy which can help. Thks

bbunny,
My cl does all of the above u mentioned. marketing she will go with my hubby once a week.
She looks after bb at night oso.
Paying her 1.7 too, thru agency.
I think for that price, you can find a m'sia CL from agency, but the thing is, she might not be good la.
I think you might wanna consider coz if u have a c sect, its very tiring to be looking after bb during the 1st week, coz really need lotsa rest.

bbunny..haha..tat's abt all CL doing lor..i thot she only works 'office hr'..since got cook dinner/supper 4u, shudnt be going back early rite? hopefully she help u clean the house & can look after bb awhile so u can rest day time b4 taking over 'nite shift'..

gingerleaf...me confirm with her liaoz..coz dunno so last minute can get one or not...true lah...msian one dunno good or not..read on the forum some quite scary one....at least this one sporean...can track down more easily...haha..

ya...my mom also say..first 2 weeks to a mth at least dun do anything...just rest and recuperate..let the lady do the work...at nite after work then she take over...

bbunny,
my CL was recommended by my SIL. She only join the agency this year, hence we had to hire her thru the agency.
She cooks really yummie food la, and good herbal soups too. She does simple hsehold chores like mop the floor too.
As she is sleeping in bb room, she is looking after bb 24/7. My bb cries alot at night and wake up many times, and poor CL, gotta wake up with her. In the day baby oso dowanna sleep much, so my poor CL gotta rock her to sleep all the time. Can imagine how tiring it is.
She is pretty okie, cept for the fact that her hygiene level is abit questionable.
Then again, there are oso many horror stories abt CL from m'sia.
Mine isnt fantastic, but at least, okie la.