(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

hippo,
Me oso along St65. I tot only Gingerleaf along that stretch.
But itz my place who is along St65, but person @ my mum's place. Coz I am too lazy to go home aft work, so might as well stay @ my mum's place.

<font size="+2"><font color="119911">welcome joankum</font></font>

<font size="+2"><font color="ff6000">happy birthay clare and clarrise</font></font>

<font size="+2"><font color="0077aa">happy anniversary doobom</font></font>

<font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">happy birthday to hippo's mummy</font></font>

wow, it sure bring back alot of memories as we celebrate our little one birthdays...

gingerleaf, which hospital did you deliver at? how come cannot bring camera???

gingerleaf: I delivered at Gleneagles. Well, overall ok lah but seein my frens all delivered at TMC had good feedbacks on the services and food. I stayed in a 2 bedded room, but actually the price not much difference fm 1 bedded at TMC leh.

chersam,

I also delivered at Gleneagles under Dr Peter Chew. I stayed in 1-bedded room but it's not that big loh. The rate is quite ex coz I stayed there for 3 nites..

Happy Birthday to zq!

re: Tokyo
Yeah. We had lotsa fun although it was really tiring lugging so many things along &amp; having to take many pitstops to feed baby, change diapers etc. I guess hubby &amp; i could probably enjoy &amp; have a more relaxing break if we travel by ourselves. No regrets bringing aidan along though bcos it's also a fun &amp; different experience :)

We didn't manage to get the bassinet seats so it was rather cramp carrying aidan on the plane. Luckily he was very cooperative &amp; didn't fuss much :p

Here's my brief itineray for those who are interested in going tokyo:
Nothing much on Day 1 since we reached there in late afternoon.
Day 2
- Go Tsukiji Fish Market in the morning &amp; have super fresh sashimi for breakfast!
- Imperial Palace. There's a nice park there so you can have a picnic or simply walk around to enjoy the scenery. If you are going during the cherry blossoms season, this should be one of the ideal places to enjoy the view.
- Akihabara (a heaven for fanatics of electronics, anime, computer games etc)

Day 3
- Disneyland (must reach there as early as you can. They open at 830am. We reached there at 930am &amp; all the special shows are fully booked)

Day 4
- Day trip to Hakone / Mt Fuji

Day 5
- Meiji Shrine
- Harajuku (experience the teenage culture &amp; check out those funky cosplay on Sun)
- Shibuya

Day 6
- It rained so we hanged out at Shinjuku, Shibuya &amp; Ginza (the shopping districts)

Day 7
- Ueno (check out the Ameyoko Market Street where there are many shops &amp; eateries. had lotsa fun shopping there. there are many shops selling Adidas products at more than 50% discount!)
- Asakusa
- Odaiba (a man-made island with amusement park, shopping malls. There's also a Mega Web there by Toyota &amp; you can test-drive the cars &amp; play with the simulator) Actually you can spend an entire day in Odaiba itself. We didn't have enough time to explore the place.

Day 8
- Went back Ueno again for last minute shopping before heading back to Singapore

Aidan's favourite ride at Disneyland is Carousel. He loved it so much that whenever we took the trains in Tokyo, he would hold the poles &amp; pretend he was riding the carousel! Haha
1778255.jpg

1778256.jpg

1778257.jpg

1778258.jpg

Happy fifi,
hehe! Aidan so cute..the crossing finger posts so adorable. WaH! Seems a good trip!

Joankum,
Welcome here! Do chat with us more often. I also stay at JW st 65.

Gingerleaf,
Clap clap to clever Lyn..can walk le! So happy &amp; cute to see them walk..dayan refuse to take his first step leh. urrgh!

Dodo,
HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO HANDSOME ZIQIAN! and happy 3rd anniversary too! time passes so fast!

Happy birthday to all ZQ, Clare, Clarrise!
Happy anniversary to Dodo and Doobom,
Happy birthday to hippo's mummy!

Wow.. what a wonderful day today! :D

Hapi fifi.. thanks for sharing ur itinerary, great photos! Aidan looks so happy!

oh i miss out wishing Happy Birthday to Clare &amp; Clarrise!

welcome Joankum :)

gingerleaf,
wow. u've captured a nice video of lyn walking! she looks like an adorable drunkard. so cute. aidan keeps wanting to take big big steps but he can't walk by himself yet

thanks! yah, he was super high during that week. his mouth was hardly closed from smiling &amp; he was always busy clapping &amp; waving his hands! i concluded that even babies need HOLIDAYS! haha. dunno why he's into the clasping hands stage now. hee hee

will try to post more photos on facebook when i have the time. it's no longer holiday for aidan so mummy is going to spend a lot more time to slowly feed him again! welcome back to reality! haha

Happy birthday Clare/ Clarrise/ ZQ... and other toddlers that I missed out.

Happy anniversary to Doobom and Dodo. My anniversary is 14th Oct.

Doobom,
How was your interview? Changing?

Joankum
A big welcome to Oct thread. We all all fun loving mommies... hehe.. btw, I have 2 kids too, Son-Apr06 and Girl-Sep07. I delivered both my kids with Dr Peter Chew too. Stayed in their 1bedded and 2 bedded before... find the 2bedded very cramp and small.. But it was a fruitful stay la, made friend with my room-mate!

Aria_jo
Andrea is also walking now. Add me in the list.. haha.. thanks.

Re:Taka Sale
Spend 5 hours shopping at Taka yesterday. Very good deal. On top of the usual sale 10-20%, cardmembers get additional 15%. Really worth it... Member additional off end this sunday - 12/10.

Happyfifi
Aidan very handsome lei.... Love his big big eyes. Great that he enjoyed in Disneyland. A pity tat Tokyo Disneyland is in Japanese, if not, it would be more fun.. hehehe

How was the weather when you were there? Do you bring lots of clothings for Aidan or you send his clothings to hotel laundry service? I will be going HKG in Jan, the weather will be 10-22degrees. Any travelling tips to share?

gingerleaf,
lyn is so cute n super sweet when she walk. i keep on replay the clip to watch.hahahaha

all mummies,
why u all don't like beep beep beep beep shoe? i find it so cute. I put on the barney sandal for Sherry to learn walking at hm, n she love it. When I took it off, she will cry and get angry.

hippo
Time just zoomed so fast that you dont even know 5hours have passed. Want to go on, but late liao, got to go...

Re: Julia Gabriel Holiday program -Playnest
Anyone going?

tiffy, keke.. personal preference la.. i dun like the sound of it.. but i will let adri wear it at home once i get my hands on a pair! haha.. but wun let her wear outside la... =P

tiffany, yeah... time passes fastest when u are enjoying urself, like shopping! kekeke.

ecookie/hippo,

No way I will let her wear the queak queak shoe outside manz! So irritating! But its really interesting how much they wanna wear it! I bought the shoes on 2 purpose, one is to let her be interested to walk more, another is to let her be used to wearing shoes. Some kids do not like wearing shoes to walk. Lyn was one of those.

Hippo,
go buy at our KP. if u wan practical n loud one, look for the barney one. Coz really easy to squeak. Max cool one is SO MUCH NICER, but when lyn walk in them, the squeak not obvious, coz I mentioned that, their squeaker air cushion only lines the heel, whereas the barney ones lines almost the whole sole.

Chersam/joankum,
I also stay at Gleneagles 1 bedder. But my room was on lvl 5/6, and the garden is juz outside! Cannot open the curtain coz ppl can look in and I see alot of ppl gg to the garden, hide one corner n smoke. I requested for a change to have a 2 bedder(facing trees) convert into a 1bedder for me, but they say cannot. Pay so much for a 1 bedder n its so crappy lor, room so small, no good scenery n the decor is so sucky n lets not even go into the curtains!
And because I delivered at night, I only saw the baby close to midnight, and only sleep close to 3plus coz too excited. Then next morning at ard 7am, one indian man was outside my window cleaning!! All the squeaky noises of the wiper disturbed me from sleep and I was so pissed, I called the nurse in and demand to change my room NOW. I happened to be crying coz I was really pissed at not being able to sleep abit longer, and the staff nurse thot I got depression and was distressed over the incident and quickly gave me a 2bedder convert into 1bedder. So happy sia.
Another incident was, during my last nite, someone was drilling above me! My hb was pissed n went out to investigate. It was 1+am then, and all the babies cryin in the nursery. Then hb complained to security guard n nurses n it was only after 3+am then the sound went off. Next day we remarked to the CO and they gave their apologises coz many ppl complained abt it too.
Then 1 week later, we got a hamper from Gleneagles as apologies. Hehe.

tiffany,
the weather in tokyo was around 19-24 degrees celcius when we were there so it was pretty comfortable. however, before i went, it was supposed to be around 14 degrees so i packed a lot of clothes for aidan. i brought 8 sets (1 set per day) so no laundry service required. i had 1 suitcase packed with his stuff (eg inflatable bath tub, utensils, clothings, toiletries). I can email you my check list if you need. U give me your email address?

i think quite important to keep our babies warm since they are not used to cooler climate. i also went to pd before i travel to get some medicine for fever, flu, cough, diarrhoea, just in case he falls sick.

i think hk is just as baby unfriendly as japan in general. so it will be useful to bring along a lightweight, easily collapsable stroller &amp; a baby carrier, if you have. how many adults will be going? you bringing both your kids along right? so you need to think through your logistics. it definitely helps that my mum travelled with us too bcos we have so many things to carry! we had to carry baby, lug a stroller, a heavy diaper bag &amp; camera bag, handbags etc. haha

it was pretty challenging for us to travel to &amp; fro airport to hotel as there was no direct limousine bus to our hotel. so we had to lug many luggages &amp; take a train &amp; walk more than 10 min to our hotel! quite a comical scene now that i think back.

Ponponta,
me from Gleneagles. So crappy place.

Cherie bear,
Wah, Shar got so many pressies!!

Hippo, ur mummie bd today?? Send my regards! If she ask who, say the most cute one at the party can oreadi. AHHAHA

ecookie,
go KP buy. have blue color barney sandal. can buy for yz.

gingerleaf,
heard some gynea will upgrade the room free at TMC. That why i opt for 4 bedded, then free upgrade to 2 bedded by my gynea. and since only stay for few days, i never opt for 1 bedded, can save $ mah. Food is really super good at TMC.

gingerleaf:
thks. some friends gave 2 pressies, that's y she has so many
She's happy seeing her presents. B4 we take this pic, her presents are in her room &amp; I brought her into the room the get something,she clap her hands &amp; smile at her presents.Think she knows it's all hers, haha...

oh yah, Happy birthday to Clare,Clarisse &amp; Hippo's mummy! And, Happy Anniversary to dooboom &amp; tiffany!

gingerleaf,

wow! so many things happened during your stay there... mine also level 6 facing the garden and i dare not even open the curtain coz scared pple might be walking outside. hee.. no bad lah, at least they still compensate u with a hamper...

gingerleaf, thanks for the info on the shoes gal! adri also dun like shoes.. she'll tear them off when she gets e chance.. haha!

ur experience at Gleneagles so happening sia! haha.. "hide one corner smoke".. mummies ar? but lucky u got something back as apologies.. else it must have been so crappy!

thanks! will tell my mum... sorie lor.. tell her cute one she sure think of Lyn lor.. haha... she remembers Lyn as the tall &amp; sweet baby.. then when she was viewing the photos, i told her dat Lyn's e one who had intussusception.. then she went "aiyo.. ouch.. so pain.. poor girl.. she looks ok now.. so strong!".. and she has said this to me before lor.. hahaha!

mad,
YEAH!!! this sunday!! Hope all goes well. Very paranoid.

Tiffy,
I like the shoe only if she wears it at home, coz its pretty adorable to hear that sound n know she is walking. But I absolutely cannot stand kids or her wearing it outside.

Ecookie, KP. I got mine at KP. Boys one is dark blue in color.

Happi fifi,
Your trip looks fun! I really hope to go there too, but I might have prbs with the language n where to go. Aidan really look so happy in the pics.

Tiffany,

Oh so 'qiao' ah, yr gynae is also Dr Chew... he's vry ex hor. His clinic always vry crowded one, and i vry scared to go there and wait one.

wow so many posts in just 2 hours!

HAPPY ANNIVERSARY DOOBOM!!!

gingerleaf, gleneagles really crappy ah? oh no my sis in law is giving birth there leh...

dodo, yah so touching to see how our babies grow from such teeny little precious things to now...so big and can almost walk liao...i saw your pic up there and i have one with matty exactly like that too!!! hehehhe...the shower cap all skewed and hair super messyyyy...hahahaa...

hapififi, yah tokyo and HK not v baby friendly...that's why we're leaving matty at home. thanks for sharing your itinerary... i suppose u all did it free n easy? any problems with the language barrier? Aidan is so cute loh! he really looks like he had fun

that time we brot matty to phuket, it was such an experience for all of us...made the mistake of joining the island hopping tour, gotta transfer boat, so bloody hot, and no place for matty to lie down...but the bub was really power lah, he still managed to sleep in the humid heat, had lunch on a rickety old DIVE BOAT (finished most of it too) and didn't complain at all while all around us were screaming n whining kids...amazing. but then after that we were like...ok...next trip leave the baby at home liao. hahaha.

cherie_bear, Shar looks so grown up

welcome joankum!

gingerleaf,
dunt worry too much, when i go to tioman that time, i also very kan cheong, but everything turned out fine, then realised i was worrying unneccesarily...

Gingerleaf
I dont like Gleneagles too. I find 6th floor service very bad. 5th floor was so much better Wow.. got hamper some more. I should have complaint too...I booked for 1 bedder, no rooms liao despite I have pre-register way before my delivery date. So cock-up. Yar, remember there was reno going on during our birth period. TMC is so much nicer. Their 1 1bedder like hotel room, suite lagi nice, like 6star hotel. 2 bedder not so nice, very small and cramp.

Happyfifi
It will be great if you can PM me your check-list for reference. TIA..
I will be bringing both kids, can die if no extra hands mann..... I will be bringing my PIL and maid. Bring her so that she can run after my notty boy and handle Andrea and carry stuff la.. Yes, I will bring my lightweight Combi and Babybjorn. Though i know its not a good carrier, but i let my maid use it to carry her. Best is Andrea can sit on stroller lor. Alternative, stroller will be used for carrying bags...

Mad,
Coz the last trip was postpone coz lyn was admitted to KK.
Then this time round, she started a hacking cough recently. So abit paranoid things might not go as panned.

doobom,
Happy anniversary too!

Karrie,
Your sil might have a different experience la, just so happen I was abit suay. But the food really sucks lor. The soup is like water with ingredients in it.