(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

ecookie
it's sharing of information mah ... if not keep buying the wrong thing ..waste $$ leh ...

Perlicia
hmm , come to think abt it, I did not took any pic of Kelly with that yet .... will go search and see can find pic or not

oops...i'm not suppose to? sorry for privacy intrusion! very simple, right click on the picture and click save into my PC and then upload again lor.

can mummies pls enlighten me?

my MIL has started to cook porridge for chloe (yea thats good news!)

but, BUT, she told me her method of cooking, is:
- soak the rice with some oil and salt?! why salt?!
- steam til very soft

and yesterday, i saw her putting in some SOYA SAUCE before feeding chloe

OMG!!!! i tried to tell her in a very very nice way, then she said, it's for chloe to have some salt contents.. some reason that salt is good!?!?!

it's really hard to communicate with her eversince the last incident.

help!

I never take her in dream bag leh. Coz when she is zipped up, means she oreadi koonz liao.
Got the dream bag in bp.
U can buy grobags in mothercare oso.

OMG!!! salt, soya sauce... can ask your hubby to communicate with her? if not, may be tell her BB kidney not fully develop yet, so cannot put salt (may be it's not true but who cares as long as can make MIL not do that mann)

or tell her that if introduce tasty food too early, BB will be very picky with food later on and dun want to eat this, eat that.. later become fussy eater and slowly become skinny..

something like that
1439771.jpg

I think salt is a no no esp. soy sauce with so many other things added

actually the baby bites have salt also so I also try not to give her so much.
Between sugar and salt, I'll rather sugar first since some milk powder also have sugar in liao.

chintz,
faster tell ur hubby to let his mum know that bb cannot take salt, soya sauce. Oil i not sure. But everytime i cook for sherry, i never use oil and all sort of seasoning. just cook it plain.

chintz: pls as her to stop doing this!! no salt for babies under 1 yo! their kidneys cant process so much sodium yet i think. and soy sauce!! equally bad!

ask hubby talk to her instead of urself???

chintz,
just want to let u know 1st, not scare u lah but u have to think of this situation that may happen. What if ur hubby have tell her not to add salt n soya sauce but without u all at home, she also can add this in the porridge without ur knowledge lor.

Salt
Babies up to 6 months old should have less than 1g salt a day. From 7 months to a year old they should have a maximum of 1g salt a day.

If you're breastfeeding, your baby will be getting the right amount of salt. And infant formula contains a similar amount of salt to breast milk.

When you start introducing solid foods, remember the following:
Don't add salt to any foods you give to babies because their kidneys can't cope with it. The baby foods you'll find on sale aren't allowed to contain salt.
Remember to limit how much you let your baby eat of foods that are high in salt, such as cheese, bacon and sausages.
Avoid giving your baby any processed foods that aren't made specifically for babies such as pasta sauces and breakfast cereals, because these can be high in salt.

yes tiffy i can truly get what u mean

cos i know my MIL is that one potential person that you're referring to.

that's why we feel she's the most ridiculuos person in the world. she only listens what her sisters or neighbours told her.

things that she never heard, means it's wrong stuff. not good stuff.

chintz,
have you thought of getting a nanny near ur area to take care of chloe?
from that time ur MIL had refuse to take care of chloe and now she cook porridge with all those sort of sauce, think u better think twice lor. Poor chloe.

chintz,
i also have prob with MIL that time. I disagree her applying sesame oil to my girl and yet few min later when my girl cry, she snatch her from my hand and apply sesame oil. She said it is traditional way to make bb stop crying. What SHIT man!.

MIL is one issue of communicating.. Danny is taken care by my mom... aiyo..sometimes prob also trying to convince her tat salt is bad for baby.. coz da last thing i dun want to hear frm her is she not willing to take care of Danny... n dat will mean, my nightmare will begin when my MIL steps in.. arghhh!

ika.. yes yes.. that's what happened 2wks back when my MIL said she don't want to take care of chloe!!

that's why we gotta be very tactful in every single thing we say or do in front of her now..

tonite we will tell MIL about the salt issue. thanks mummies

dodo,

veri tiring lei need to crawl wif him... think i prefer him during 1 - 3mth time. ha ha only noe how to sleep and cry for milk. Older folks was saying when they noe how to walk.. worst!!!! will be like hell.

garden,

I need to drink chicken essence everyday to have energy to crawl wif my boy. B4 u go back work.. either bring ur boy or i bring my boy to ur hse let both of them fight. We sit there watch show.... ha ha!! Evil Mummy..

perlicia, aiya! nvr say earlier u looking for something like dat.. i just sold off my dreambag! cos adri is always wrapping her legs around her bolster so no chance to use the bag.. ! and i liked it so much lor.. hmpf!

ecookie,
am so mad and angry lor that time. yes, it is v oily. I make my husband bath sherry immediately, i don't care that idiot MIL is angry or not that time.

my son likes to toss and turn when he sleeps (finding the right place where he's comfy)so in the end me and hb will end up on one side of the bed cuddled together (no complaints on that! haha).

will this grobag help him to sleep by "staying put"?

opinions please

mama ian ian: i dun know abt that leh cos no sleeping bag before but i believe will help abit bah.

so not intending to shift him to own cot/mattress?

he refuses to sleep at his own cot/mattress no matter how hard i try to put him down, he will be awake and cry. (that was since birth lor) so in the end got hb to dismantle the cot lor. coz taking up space since unused.

i think he prefers sleeping with me by his side wor, coz he prefers mummy scent. lol

but thinking to fix up the cot again to let him sleep there since he is big liao.

how ar?

mama ian ian: maybe u can try putting the cot next to bed, and dismantle one side so he next to you in a way.. ?then at night if he fusses, you can easily bring him out to comfort him?

yar, mayb will try out. coz room very limited space. and also coz he sleeps - toss and turns, im afraid that the cot might move and when he turns he falls, yikes.

mama ian ian, u can lock e wheels of the cot ah.. dun tink e grobag or dreambag will help much.. might make him more uncomfortable.. datz y when i see my girl's sleeping pattern, i got no choice but to sell off my dreambag.. haiz..

thanks e-cookie/hippo, i try to fix the cot this weekend. hopefully he can wean off sleeping with me, coz sometimes he can sleep turning 360 dg and hit me in the face with his tiny feet!.. lol..

mama ian ian:
oh yr son..very da same like my Danny! Sometimes i got no choice but to let him slp in his sarong.. once I saw him sleep so soundly... becos da momemnt i shift him to his cot.. dat's it! he'll wail n cry in the middle of da nite.. n i'll face prob trying to put him to slp agn..hahaa

anyone interested in Kindermusik trial? im very interested! saw Sep mummies organising... wana have one for Oct bbies as well?