(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

ariajo, wow...she always cried b4 driftin to her dreamland? hope she will b over this phase soon. Dat day I didnt noe travis was so tired also. He was watchin tv wif me den end up fell asleep sittin on my lap. I only noe when I asked him to check out wats on tv. hahaha...so comical. Normally he will ask me to go into his room to pat him. :p

maruko,
no lah.. that was infancy.. now better but if she's overly tired and over stimulated, yes, she will be like this. like yesterday we brought her swimming, end up she has difficulty falling asleep...and at night, she scream and cried in her sleep..think may be nightmare...she knocked out before 7pm yesterday..haha...

ariajo, oic...

thanks for the concern mummies.

hapi fifi, i would love to ask my mom for help. but my family is shifting house this week, and she's panicking because they're so far from being done packing. so no help there. and my in laws have their own agenda. so no choice...

ariajo, dodo, your kids look so adorable. wanna pinch their cheeks!

sorry if i don't respond to the rest of the posts. am not really absorbing what i'm reading. am so stone...

Ariajo & dodo,
Your no. 2 are so super huggable. *muacks*

Zhen,
"xin ku" le. If we stay nearby, you can download your kids here at my place. so you can have rest. Of all people, mummies really cannot fall sick one. Haiz!

Maid:
My maid told me last Mon that she's gonna start to eat vegetarian food on Mon & fri. It is for religious purposes. I mentioned is there a need? Last time dun have now you chu pattern hor?! She smiled & walked away. She eat white rice with vege only.
Then you know what? Today is monday right? I purposely cooked chicken curry. I wanna see if she eats.
*bingo* SHE EATS THE CHICKEN LOR! See la?!! so many pattern.

Jas, wah seh...not only Mils chu pattern, ur maid also one of a kind. hahaha...tink she forgets wat she told u last wk liao. U shld "remind" her after she finished eatin, sayin "tot u eatin vege on mon & fri?" kekeke... :p

Maruko,
No..i dun want to reveal it till its friday..cos i want to cook Curry fish head. I purposely cook her fav dishes. By then, i will unfold her pattern!!
She is very choosy about her food. not nice--eat a few mouthful. Nice one--can eat like a mountain.

Just saturday, i ordered fishball noodle (this is a famous stall at blk 16 Bedok south) for her. Her face black. Cos she dun like. While i eat claypot chicken rice. See la!

zhenzhen.. pls go & hv some rest when the gals r napping.. tk care =)

jas.. see la.. no need so kan-cheong.. danson finally wanna walk aft bth u 'nagging'.. jus joking =D *clap clap* another skill he attained.. but jus be careful of the 'kor here & there'.. dayan's fever due to throat? nxt time ask him dun yell & shout =D

cm.. prof said let prblm outgrown by itself rite? if tis time round v bad again.. u may wanna bring him back for consultation or seek 2nd opinion in indo.

ariajo,dodo.. another 'fu qi xiang' bb? keke.. both so cute!!

araijo.. u telling me.. zann has natural curl & two 'spiral' on her head!! super duper 'chia-char'bo'!!

dodo.. tink no prblm for ur family to relocate again, u alr got experienced le.. is a good opportunity for ur hb, urself the kiddos.. all the best..

hippo.. work at ur own pace now.. relax & enjoy ya =)

twinklestar.. try not get involve in the MIL issue.. heng u managed get a temp CL on time.. & ur hb so hands-on to help-out.. rest as much as possible. (i was hving prblm during both confinement, my mum & CL cant click.. i'm like 'sandwiched' & so stressful).. hahaha.. garina so cute! so how ur frd ans her??

hapififi.. too bad i miss u ysterday at the hospital.. saw ur sms much later.. good to hear keagan doing better & better.. can the spinal test b avoided? fyi, i asked my NIL, hers also horizontal cut.. she's going home today.

sugarnut.. so late u hvnt slp arh.. glad to hear lleyton is ok liao.

cherie_bear.. poor javen & shanice.. shoo shoo their virus away..

maruko.. u did the rite ting to 'siam' ur MIL, no point face-to-face w her.. she'll b more 'de yi'!

Jas, wah she will show u black face if she dun like the food? Maids nowadays really pampered.

junnie, yup yup. I oredi "siam" her for 2 days liao. Tink she also wanna siam me coz she stayed in her room most of the times when im home. Normally she will com out n sit at livin room wif travis.

Hapi fifi,
Forgot to say that Kaegan gets better! He will be & definitely be. I am so elated to hear that. It is expected news, dear! He will soon go home & be with his daddy, mummy & lovely kor kor. u got rest & eat well bor?

Back from lunch... How's lunch?
Luncheon meat sandwich and Curry Chicken noodles... *slurps*

Jas,
Where is your maid from? Why have the 1st and 15th rule for veg. food?
Ignore her coz you already did your part by providing her meals. Ask her to throw away the leftovers since she cun finish.
Yes, helpers will also have preference of food especially when it's about yummies. For me, so long I do my part by ensuring they have sufficient food/drink, I dun bother if they want to eat or not. If I see that they dun eat, then I will say 'Cun finish, throw away.'
But for us, normally they will finish up everything. I can be so amazed by the amount they can eat. Just a meal alone is the amount of my total 3 meals a day.
We have an encounter with an Indo-Muslim who told us that Char Siew is not pork! *faintz ya?*

dodo & ariajo,
Naia & YA really so lovely and huggable! *HUGS HUGS*

Jas,
Oh no!!! No choosing of food is my house rule! Sometimes if I remember I will asked her what she wants to eat and will tabao for her. Other times, what we eat, she has to eat which is good enough. Like when I ask her to tabao chicken rice and add char siew, she gets to eat same thing too. I think I’m generous enough for her liao leh. I try not to create a habit for my maid to always have a decision in her choice of food or always get to eat what we eat like ice cream, chocolates, expensive biscuits, etc. Else, mei wan mei liao in the future. Luckily my maid not a greedy person. Those daily food like coffee, marie/soda biscuits she will self service for breakfast lah, other than that she dare not anyhow eat my things. I hope it’s because I shared with her before that cannot anyhow eat food at home or dig the fridge for food because I will provide her sufficient food. Your maid really too much.. Show black face. Really doesn’t appreciate you at all.

Mmm… Seems like your maid really trying to push her limits? Next time when you get a new maid, try my house rules ok?

I am so sad, everytime I finished reading and want to post something, I dont know how to start or where to start from. I am so short of time everyday, despite my workload is not extremely busy. But still, I cant afford to spend too much time reading and posting all at one time. Feel so outdated and cannot catch up with all the topics here.

To all the mummies here, I really miss chatting with all of you. Just that time does not permit me to do so.....

Aria & dodo, cant help it but want to say both Naia and YA are really very adorable and loveable.

Update: Andrea just started Pre-Nursery last monday. Glad that she did not cry as bad as I expected her to be, with her loud and sharp cries normally, I was so worried that the teachers cant cope. Surprising, she was alright and only crying on and off according to her teacher. Thank God for that.

Doobom & Maruko
I miss lunching with both of you and all others too!! When when? I can do lunch anytime, but has to be at Raffles City. Time is flexible and up to 2 hrs!!!...
Doobom, Please arrange at least once before you pop arh??

Hippo,
I read that you are very kan chiong and cant wait to see Ayden. You seemed very prepared for Ayden, unlike me previously, I wished I will pop my #2 later, for fear of not able to cope. You are one steady mummy, all the best in your delivery for in case I MIA for sometime again..

Maruko,
You are very cool alrdy... just avoid for short while and let both parties cool down, things will be back to normal again.. Good luck.

RE: GATHERING
Where are we having another gathering again? Havent seen all of you for longest time.... I want to join in the next one.

I feel so sian that my hb is away for biz trip this week and I have to spend alone with my 2 kids. Anyone interested to go east coast for sand play or polliwogs on Saturday afternoon?
Petit, Lucas said he miss Tiffie and Marcus and I am surprised he said that and asked me to call them out!!!

gotta go, come back later...

Hi Mummies, need your advice:

If you have a 2yr+ toddler and a newborn, how do you manage at home without any help..? My son super clingy now, he's just started a 2hr daily playgroup this term.

My #2 edd early aug and am thinking of catering confinement meals, any of you tried it before? Not comfortable with engaging a CL. :p

Btw, i'm a sahm.

jas
Wow... showing black face is really too much!!!Talk about maid, though my maid is not greedy, but she is rather selective of food. I used to buy soda biscuits with sugar toppings for free time snacks, she never touch at all... asked her why she is not eating, she said she dont like with sugar topping. She is one person if she dont like to eat, she will rather go hungry then to eat it. She is one of those "high class maid"

Carlson's Vomiting ... yes seen doc liso ... but only found that his valve nvr close nothing else liao ... and doc said can let him out grown by himself too ... and he is growing not only very well but super will .. .he is wearing like 3 to 4 yrs old clothing ... the only test that is not done for him and also doc dun think that there is a need for him too that is MRI Brain scan ... but he is also given medi for this issue just in case it due to the brain thingy too ... still dun help and he is still active la but he did show that he dun like to vomit cos after that he will scold me ... " mummy/mama ... i said i dun want milk.... den cry liao" the thing is i am worry cos i have given him the insert medi liao and yet he is still vomiting !!! last time this medi worked for him i will call his PD later and ask if not may come back next week to bring him see the doc cos next week is Carissa's school term break

Maid hahahaha my maid also chu pattern again ... ask for money etc den i just ask is it u dun want to work ... den just tell me ... cos i dun want to pay her till 1st of the month den she says want to work want to work... but this morning came only at 7.45 will i need to leave house by 7.10am ??? i black face to her and nvr talk to her till now ... nvr take out anything for them to cook too till i finish my lunch man so angry later den i "scold" now not free and sleepy kekkeekeke

u know what when i buy jam for bread for breakfast for the "workers" ... my dear driver just use spoon and eat for fun ... within 1 day i but jar of jam gone liao so not more jam for them and now he take my rice out to eat when we go out ... i dun need to provide him meals ok ... i pay him liao and he is getting 2.5 mil per mth and my maids are only getting 600,000 and 700,000 ... "sigh" while i am typing this my maid sms my hb saying that she dun want to work liao ....WTF man ...

TIffany, u r MISSED!!! I also waitin for u to get me for lunch leh. How abt tmr? kekeke...my boss not in town so can meet up for longer time.
Im so tempted to join u for sand play on sat BUT its my hb's granny bday. Gotta b there for whole day so cant join u. Andrea at pre-nursery liao ah? Gd to hear she is adaptin well for 1st few days...

CM, tink its best dat u seek med treatment for Carlson back in SG. It's not gd for him to keep vomittin rite after he ate. Heartpain for u n him. Wow...tink its very hard to get gd maids over there at their own country. They can "suka suka" say dun wanna work. It's tough on u...hang on there. We r all here to "listen" to ur rants.

Maruko,
Wow.. you so chun lei.. tmr I have a meeting at 2pm, so, kind of rush for me. Shall we arrange next monday onwards? Pai sei, didnt mention earlier this week is abit tight for me.

CM,
Really understand how sian it can be... I REALLY REALLY HATE that too. That's why I am at the mercy of my maid. haiz... I have to control myself to be tactful and never scold her even if she do things not the right way.... Sian right...

Yesterday, she tried to put Lucas skate scooter in my car boot, and she knocked my bumper before she got the scooter into my boot, then I asked her, you knocked the the car? and she can still say Yes and full stop. Never even apologise wor.... then when I checked my bumper when I got home, there is a small den on it... #*(#&$*#.. then how??? scold?? then next moment she will tell me I want a TRANSFER!!!! and I get headache... soo.....haiz.... swallow my saliva lor....

CM,
Now I lun.... wait till Andrea is more independent, see whether I still need to swallow all the saliva or not!!!!.... by then, she will see my ugly side liao. Damn sian, now have to lun.

dd hahhahahaha ... ok ok we swallow the saliva together now later this yr they will need to swallow back theirs liao kekekeke

Tiffany, its ok lah...juz buzz me when u wanna meet. I'm ok anytime. Wow...ur maid will threaten for transfer ah? Sigh...it seems now employers r at the mercy of maids instead.

cm.. aiyo.. ur maid really 'gila' one leh! ooops.. sorry to say tat. she dun stay @ ur hse meh? & ur driver.. nvr eat 'jam' b4 arh? soooo sweet can finished 1 jar a day?? really gv u hard times... hope u settle tis prblm soon. re carlson.. cud it b his stomache/gastric not too good tis few days hence making the medi not so effective than his usual vomit? u try call prof & see wat he says, if need b come bk for treatment/tests.. glad carlson is as active as ever despite merlion-ing..

tiffany.. andrea also goes to schl? glad to hear she's adapting well..

jas,doobom.. chx curry, chx fishead, curry chx noodles.. *slurp*.. make me drools esp now raining so heavily!! i wan curry chx w potatoes & baguette =D

doobom..re charsiew not = pork. my colleague ever told us his maid said samething + ba kwa too!!

jas.. ur maid really 'li-hai'.. cant wait to hear wat's her reaction if u tell her off!

ariajo.. can u pm me ur hse rule.. my SIL in midst of changing one.. thot of sharing the rules w her.. TIA.

Maruko,
Think we set a date for next week. If wait for each other to buzz, nothing will happen again...

Re: Lunch at Raffles City
Venue: Where??
Date: 5th Apr 2010 (Monday)

1)Tiffany Seah
2)Maruko
3)Doobom

Who are the regulars? Please write your names down here yay...

ecookie
bbwow
zhenzhen
Cherie bear
Gingerleaf (though you SAHM, but very difficult to invite you one....)
Eunice
Totoro

Anymore???

Anyone brought kiddos to Brisbane before? I am wondering if we can bring in Formula milk tin into Australia? Also, are we allowed to bring in kids snacks?

Please share your experience of any travelling tips to Australia. Thanks.

tiffany!!!

wow. so nice of you to remember me! raffles city should not be a prob for me!

I was reading on the maid complaints and it further put my mind behind ever getting a maid! gosh. just like teachers, all the nice maids are gone. I'm on very good terms with the maid that took care of us when we were young. even now we're still in contact!

Jas,
wah you so fierce your maid still dare to 'chu' pattern ah? Kekeke aiyo me so apprehensive about hiring a maid. Scared she climbs all over me :-(

junnie,
I'm now at nicu pumping away again. My timing always can't seem to synchronize with K's feeding time so no chance to latch him on. Hopefully it won't be too late to 'teach' him how to latch when we are back home.

The spinal tap test can't be avoided cos it's to verify if the blood infection has gotten to his head (ie if he has meningitis). If he does, then will need to continue staying in nicu for further treatment. If not, can go home & continue with oral antibiotics. Seems like it's quite tough to plan for his full month celebration. Maybe just skip it :-(

junnie,
The encounters are not just with the indo helpers @ home, but also our indo friends. They told us before hand that if we know that it's pork that they are taking, then it's best if we keep quiet. But we cun do that coz we keep dumb w/o letting them noe is bad for us, so most of the time, we will try all ways to avoid these food order when dining out 2gether.

Tiffany,
Hi^5... @ times, I MIA for a while when I am really caught up with work and can only afford to follow by reading the posts, yet dun noe what to contribute. But when I start posting, I seems to post so much... Hahaha... Make up to times when I am absent from here.

Great to arrange lunch date before I pop.
As for trip to Brisbane, I am not sure abt milk tins. But I am sure that they have plenty of kiddo food stuff (e.g. cereal, snacks, etc.) avail. there, especially Heinz is from Australia.

bbwow,
I guess it's a matter of luck when it comes to engaging helpers. When one is lucky, u will get a really good helper though it's impossible to get a perfect one. Most of the time, the owners got to depend on focus (e.g. capable in housechores/ handling kids/ etc.), give and take ler.
But from what I gone thru, I become super reliant on my helper and feel really lazy to manage everything @ home on my own. Just like now, my helper is back on home leave for 3 weeks. I am starting to struggle and hoping that the 3 weeks fly pass like rocket!
Now that she is back @ her own home, I start to worry if she will take gd care of herself in terms of her diet. She has half a dozen of kids to handle @ her hometown when she is back. She is those kinda blur ones, turning 40yrs old. So cun help to worry if she can manage and curb with her own blurness. *I think I am crazy and worrying too much.*

cm/tifanny,
yeah, can't scold. yesterday, my maid broke one of my ameda valve again.. quite angry lah cos it's the 2nd piece.. kinda show her my unhappy face and told her becareful when washing the valve cos super fragile. told her, i don't have a lot of spare left!!!

junnie,
i attached doc in pm lah. can you pm me? i will email you from my yahoo acc.

bbwow/ Doobom..

So I assume you two pretty mummy can make it on Monday right?

Re: Lunch at Raffles City
Venue: Where??
Date: 5th Apr 2010 (Monday)

1)Tiffany Seah
2)Maruko
3)Doobom
4)bbwow

Who are the regulars? Please write your names down here yay...

ecookie
zhenzhen
Cherie bear
Gingerleaf (though you SAHM, but very difficult to invite you one lei....)
Eunice
Totoro

Anymore??? Please add, the more the merrier ...

bbwow
You are so lucky to have a good caregiver and still stay in touch. This is really rare.

I guess hiring a maid, we really have to balance our expectation and emotional in order to handle them. Never use scolding... it wont work now!!!

Doobom,
I have also grown to be reliable on my helper, which I know is bad. They can feel it and become yaya payaya when time passes. Now that my helper in into her 2nd contract, she is not as polite as before anymore. Saw that there is cotton pad in her room... she must have taken mine without asking.... see how daring she gets..... though its not an expensive stuff.. but I felt uncomfortable of her not asking permission before taking.... any of you just let your maids take these things to use and no need to ask?

Australia... thought it will always be easier when we carry some of the kids favourite snacks on hand before we top it up with others later from Aust...

Ario,
aiyo.. moreover the valves not cheap wor.... just have to remind her tactfully lor hor.... haiz... really have to control our emotion.

Oh ya...briefly saw you wanted to make passports for your gals....I have some impression that you gals mentioned need to replace passport if the photo is baby picture??

Sorry, I missed that... Andrea made her passport when she was about 1 year old... and her passport expiry is 2013, do I need to replace her passport? Appreciate feedback. Thanks.

Happififi,
Thanks for your pm.. Very helpful tips. I guess if they dont allow those little snacks, then throw it away at the custom then.

tiffany,

my caregiver even attended my wedding cause eventually she married a singaporean but that's after she finished her contract with us, moved to canada for 4 years before coming back. kekeke

yeah. nowadays really can't scold them. my friend's maid just help herself to the juice and drinks at home. they're more liberal now.

Tiffany,
I am not sure if my helper will become 'yaya papaya' if she returns to continue her contract. But she should know me well enough that if she dun listen to my ample times of reminder and still continues to give me nonsense, then I can jolly well fly her straight home. Coz she witness that I did that to one of the other helper.
Kinda confusing coz there are two helpers (one old & one young, both Phil) @ home.
I always bring it across very clearly to them about my expectations and always make my stand clear. Not scolding, just that 'counselling' session during Fri nites when i am free. I will try to talk to them nicely.
Of coz when I really lose my temper when they are too much, I will later on explain to them why am I reacting this way and get them to put themselves in my shoes and understand.
Hmmm... But for taking stuff to use without permission, I will ask where did she get it from. Coz I dun allow them to cross the line and show no respect.
I treat the both @ home more like friends, so even when during counselling, @ times we will end up talking crap and LOL about it. But in the end, they still understand my point.
It seems tiring and waste of time to spend time talking to them, but I find that that's the only way to get them know what I want and know how they feel.

Tiffany,

btw, u can bring hot water in thermo flask on board the plane, cos the service crew are quite busy. before landing can request them to pour away remaining hot water(became warm after 7+ hours) and fill with hot ones so tat u can make milk easily and they can help to rinse ur milk bottle with their hot water as the toilet's water non potable. Its hard to find hot water point in aussie parents' room but they do have microwave.

Hahhaha Tiffany,
dun say till lidat. This monday really cant lor. Lyn is starting sch on monday!!!! Heheheh! Her class ends at 1230...

Dodo,
Go for it!! Its a great great great experience!!!! I'd love to be in your shoe!

Hippo,
I cant wait! Promise me u sms me when u pop k!

Zhenzhen,
hope u get better soon!

bbwow,
Come to recall about helping herself to the juice. Got this indo helper whom helped herself to the new bottles of juices in the fridge and then add water to it in order not to hide it from us. For all I can say, she is totally brainless enough to do that.
She thought it's the first time we drank the juice and our taste buds gone haywired and will feel nothing after tasting the so diluted juice. Anyway the outcome is I send her straight back to agency after not being able to accept her habit of telling tale and lies.
My friend also shared with me that her helper ate her alcoholic choco she kept in the fridge and she explained to my friend that she helped my friend to try. This one is really champ! Help my friend to try... Hahaha...

tiffany!! *waves* i m not dat weida or like wat u said leh.. i simply can't wait for didi to come out so that i can (very hopefully) be relieved of the pain and so that i can SHOP! i feel so deprived when i see those nice clothes out there.. oops!

gingerleaf, of cos i will dearie!!
woah! lyn starting school.. exciting! must update us okie? but i m sure she'll do very well one.. =)

Maruko,
Ya, she really champ. Told my friend that she is hungry and she saw the choco in the fridge, so she helped my friend try. In fact her own basket of cookies & biscuits can last her for weeks.
The angry thing is that the choco is not cheap. My friend was so angry abt it. Hahaha...
I just find it kinda funny for that helper to come up with such a LAME excuse. Help to try...

bbwow
WOW>. your caregiver become tai-tai in Spore now? Wah sei.. so, you 2 become good friends. btw, how old is she and come from which country?

happie100,
oh thanks.. sorry, I thought the PM came from another mummy here whose's nick is happififi... i thought its her... Thanks for your valuable contribution.

Dooboom,
Can see from your tone that you are the strict and dont mess with me kind of Mdm... hahaha.. its good that you are very firm with your helper. Somehow, I feel that my helper knows that she is in need, so at times, she will take for granted and become very "relaxed" with us. My helper is capable and mature sort, so, I give my her alot of "freedom" and I do not want to questions her for little things. Looks like I better "control" the situation before she chu pattern!! Last saturday, when we are on our way home in the car, her HP rang 3 times continuously when it went unanswered. Usually saturdays, I will leave Andrea with her alone at home while I send Lucas for class and do my errands. But last sat, 1st time I brought them along. I sense that during the 1-2 hrs when she and andrea has been alone every sat.. she must have been on the phone, that's why last sat, her phone kept ringing away. I am ok with her holding MP, as long as she dont give problem.

happie100,
are you oct 2007 mum too?

tifanny,
yeah, it's not easy to be firm and nice to maid. i hope my maid will appreciate working for me and will not "climb over my head".. she's been with me for 7 months liao and so far so good.hope she will not chu pattern in 2nd year..

doobom, u shld tell ur fren to deduct the choco price from her pay. Den she will b taught a lesson n dun dare to "test" for ur fren again. Muahahaha... :p

gingerleaf, Lyn is startin school next mon? So which hav u decided on?