(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Hi Angel,

How have u been? =) Oh!! Jade took 2 jabs in a day? Must be really painful! I still remember she didnt cry when she took her last 5 in 1 jab. Woah she started eating so many kinds of food! I just started Jaylen on his cereals =)

atinarin: its the 1st one with wheels one!

angel: may i know which area u stay ard? $3k is alot. im considering to rent a place near my mum's place too but its at the east side. may not be cheap...

re: baby powder; thanks for the advice. will get a non-talc for my baby soon!

re milk feed: just started my boy on 5 feeds recently - 2x200ml + 3x170ml.
seems like hes drinking alot even though he s just 4 1/2 mths~
or is it that most babies here have already started solids thats why milk intake seem lesser than my boy?

miraclecraz: yah i think so too. ard 910ml per day. but my boy has been drinking this amt since 3mths old!
at 4 mths old, he's 7.9kg & 66cm tall. PD didnt mention thats he's too big leh..& he commented that between 800-900ml per day is fine...

ecookie: oh that high chair is really nice! only $90 from Cheong Choon? Not bad, will consider.

Your boy is drinking far more than my almost 6 month old la so dont worry...and hes much heavier...my girl is stuck at 6kg only leh..64cm i think...

Good morning ... just now I let Jordan try solids for the first time!

Since he didn't wanna finish his milk after drinking only 50ml, I thought I might as well use the remaining EBM to prepare some rice cereal for him to try. Made just 1/2 packet of the sample sachet and he finished all!

Will be starting him on formula milk soon too! But just 1 feed at night first till he finishes all the FBM.

Ben Mum,
I didn't kua zhang leh. it's really like that when Zac cries.. very heart wrenching one. And actually I'm not an over protective mummy. But his such cries really gave me no choice but to pick him up..

ecookie,
Zac uses powder from day one though I know abt the allergy and asthma thingy. You may want to try liquid powder from Mothercare if you are concerned.

Vone,
ya lor.. but by the time I put my finger in, too late liao. He gives me nasty surprises all the time. Sometimes at nite so tired I fall asleep latching him only to be rudely awoken by his bites. So now I dun sleep when I latch him at nite. Or rather I'll be in semi conscious state instead. If I feel that he's abt to bite, I will immediately push my breast towards him and somehow he will stop biting. It takes some practice cuz the natural thing to do is to pull away.

atinarin; Yes for both!
tray can be removed (very easy to remove also) & seat material is waterproof and can be removed to be washed.
why dun u go down kiddy palace to check it out 1st?

aiyo nearest kiddy palace is Toa payoh...so super packed on weekends...will see if mums and babes has it thanks ecookie...hope if i buy, she sits in it...already the bumbo is not well used

Bena:

Glad the method is working for u
Nowadays when my son tries to gum me i'll push him towards my breast and he will unlatch. But this little monster will kinda fuss and cry alittle ^^

angel.. me too got approval from HDB for the 2 yr rental.. however only after then i found out that i can only sell the place or buy a private property after 7 years instead of the 5 years clause.. n i only stayed here for 1 year so decided not to rent out le cos thinking of shifting near to a good school for my girl in future.. haha.. i know i think too far ahead le.. but my place here got no good school leh..

i have the Combi highchair and Ikea (at my dad's). one cost me 200+ , and another just $33. the combi high chair looks super comfy, like SIA business class, while Ikea one, looks hmm plastic, cold and hard. i placed a cushion in the ikea high chair.

guess what, between the 2, i prefer the ikea high chair. so much easier and can be cleaned easily. really worth it !

hi voice

What veg did you puree? Was told spinach is really good but I really have no idea how to puree spinach leh..

So far for veg, I will cook alongside the porridge loh...

Pillow
I am also Ikea highchair fan! definately value for $$!!

hi lbs
i pureed sweet potatoes & carrots today, yet to try spinach. He just had sweet potatoe mixed with cereal, very messy, a deep dark purple color mess, haahaa!

I think for spinach is steamed and then blend lor, same as the rest.

hi tiny voice
Oh, so far I also pureed sweet potato, carrots & pumpkin (she hates carrots though). You used the Japanese sweet potato?

hmmm...I wonder how it taste like to puree the spinach...

Btw, anyone know if puree banana need to be steam?

bena, yah...i know those type of cries. sometimes we really no heart to let them cry out. have to pick up. if ben gives 1 loud wail, me and hb will run over to the room liao, only to see him sleeping contentedly. SIGHS

lbs: yah...i used the purple japanese sweet potato, i yet to let him try carrots. Will let him try sweet potato for 4 days before moving on to carrots, have pureed already though. hee hee!

What type of porridge you let your girl eat?

Think my boy played too much in the day, then night time he cried in his sleep.

so funny...my girl was in pink, head to toe, hair tied up some more, and also with a pink band and guess what?

An aunty working at Mc Donalds asked me - GIRL OR BOY?

Halo?! Thought its obvious enough...funny la

tinyvoice: I feed her rice/brown rice porridge using the soup cook with pork ribs & add a bit of brocolli/spinach

atinarin
I find it quite stable loh. My boy used it before but havent let my gal try yet as she isnt sitting very steady yet..

Ben Mum,
Hahaha.. you are so funny.

Angel,
You are very shrewd leh.. can earn $$ somemore while making life easier with less travelling.

Atinarin,
Hahaha.. ya I understand. Some people don't have eyes one. Zac also always mistaken by strangers for a girl. Mrs Wong call him Ah nia (hokkien for lady). I think it's cuz of his quite long hair and plus his girly features..but I don't really take offense as I think he really looks quite "you4 xiu3". Hope he'll grow up to be more manly

You know I can understand your dilema with regards to vaccinations. Every vaccination is like a battle for Zac.. he'll always have fever and sometimes very high fever (today his highest was 39degrees). Very worrisome for mummy. Lucky now subside liao. Sometimes I also wonder why I have to put him through this.

Hey mummies, I'm giving my boy Similac next time. Thinking of a way we can help one another save $$$ here. E.g. if you are giving your bb Enfapro, I can call Mead Johnson to obtain a sample and you in turn help me call Abbott to obtain a sample ... and we exchange!

Brilliant?

Anyone keen to exchange with me? PM me which milk powder you want ...

Btw hor, suddenly thought of something ... last time who said when bb likes to pull ear and scratch head means teething ... very true on Jordan leh!

And ... does your bb like to "scratch" the mattress / mat when he's in tummy down position? Jordan keep doing that ... think that's the initial stage of learning to crawl?

HI Blueskye,

Its me who said tat!! So Jordon's first tooth has appeared?? Did he have scars on his head n ears?

RE: Crawling
My gal can crawl a little..But she behaves more like a frog cos she leaps...Hahah..we call her "LEAPFROG" now..

Poohwei, he got scars on his face, not head and ears ... so what does that symbolise? Haha ... and yes, he got a tiny tooth coming out liao.

angel,
WOW! extra 1k every mth for renting it out, thats a big deal!

re ikea chair,
The chair is really good. Its actually very sturdy! I have the combi rocker as well, but I find the ikea high chair better for feeding.

sorry to interrupt sep mums.. my boy was born in sep too.. can find out how to puree food? i am totally clueless so he hasnt tried anything other than rice cereal. pls help!

my boy has been scratching his ears too...hmmm. is he teething ?

atinarin, yes i find the ikea high chair stable. if anyone getting the ikea chair, do consider buying those soft pillow at ikea to place on the chair , i find it more comfy. the ikea high chair is definitely better for feeding. imagine, messy baby, turning his head sideways with dirty mouth, the cushion all have food as well liao

have some qns .....

1. can i ask whether do you usually give the pureed food on its own, or do you guys mix it with cereal ?

2. my boy don't seem to like the Heniz rice cereal.he will now eat, but after every mouth, he would grimaced after he swallow. any one with recommendations for another brand ? or probably i should just mix a fruit puree with the cereal to have more taste

good morning ladies!

school hols but im going to school for meeting...wonderful life eh...

looking forward to coming back early though...wanna check out bb fair but no kakis leh

morning mommies! today CTE verrrry smooth, think 30% went off for holidays already.

phoebe: i might come over to get the drypers tomorrow!

IKEA high chair:
will look into either that or the mama love one since its pretty cheap too.

Bena:
Zac dont look anything like a girl leh..
Ya the vaccinations i dont know what to say also la...read that even the influenza shot can lead to diabetes later. I myself have had that one.

Dont know if we can pressure MOH enough to start doing the MMR separately...3in1 seems to have problems with causing autism and what not so in the states, many mummies have spaced these out to do one shot at a time. Measles, mumps then rubella.

blueskye
My gal does scratch the mat, hb's & my face/body/hand etc...hahaa

Pillow
1) Yes, I do mixed pureed food with cereal most of the times..

2) You can try Healthy Times organic brown rice. But is a bit on the ex side..

Any babies on Mamex Gold Step 1 here?

I got my husband to get a tin from Giant Tampines last night, and the sales rep said they're discontinuing the one with the Immunofortis formula.. now Mamex Gold is with Soy.

Hopefully it'll taste similar as the one with Immunofortis and Dahlia will be fine with it.

i understand that some of u visited PD - Dr Ong of Aglow Baby Specialist @ United Square right? How do u find abt him? How's his charges like? Thanks!

blue,
ouch! those tiny red spots look rather harmless but didn't know they are so painful! can imagine how uncomfortable Jordan must have been, glad you are all recovering. faith also like to scratch the bumper mat, matress & changing mat whenever shes on her tummy. she does that to our sofa too, very cute i find it.

poohwei,
faith has also started crawling, she finally ventured out of her bumper mat yesterday! so scared she will bump her head on the floor leh, how ah?

re: cereal
faith got her 1st taste of Heinz rice cereal on sat. fed her one teaspoon mixed with EBM and she managed to finish all. but yesterday when i feed her again, she took a few mouth and started crying in her highchair so i had to take her out of the chair as i thought she was uncomfortable sitting in it. but even after she was out she started screaming when i continue to feed her the cereal. wonder if it was bcos she was too hungry as she drank happily when i latch her?

HI Mummyfaith,

En En takes abt 4 crawls to climb out of my king size bed? We often have to drag her back. Any idea where we can get the head protector?

Re: Puree
We normally mix her puree into her cereals. If not, have to prepare too many meals. I started giving her porridge yesterday. I used the slow cooker n cook it until it looks "creamy". Added in brocolli and carrot and sweet potato for taste, but i guessed the nutrients were all gone after such a long period of cooking. My gal was able to take abt 3 tablespoon? Until my MIL says cannot give liao..very full already.

When giving rice cereal to bb, do you mix with FM/EBM or juz plain boiled water? I mix FM with rice cereal for my boy, somehow he is starting to dislike the taste of the rice cereal. I m thinking to mix puree to the rice cereal. So wondering if can mix puree to Rice cereal that is mixed with FM?

hi doobom, same same. my boy dislike the taste when i mix FM with cereal. so i mix with warm boiled water. why not just skip the FM all together since he also taking milk feeds anyway.

am gonna start mixing puree to the rice cereal

Pillow, my boy juz did his follow-up with PD last wed. Told PD abt his refusal to milk. PD explained that bb requires abt 3 milk feeds a day @ this moment. Till 1 yr old, then switch to 2 milk feeds a day.

Currently, my boy is taking 3 milk feeds (7am, 3pm, 10pm). 2 rice cereal feeds (10.30am, 6pm). Last sat, juz started to introduce puree potatoes for the 3pm feed (change 3pm milk feed to potatoes puree).

So if I dun mix FM to rice cereal, then my boy is only taking 2 milk feeds a day. Haiz... headache oso coz not meeting the milk feed guide of 3 feeds a day. How? Any advice?

Hi atinarin,
I think this is the mamalove high chair you are asking about? Its sold at kiddy palace for $99. I removed the tray as it is too high for Faith to reach now.
1289731.jpg

atinarin,

SOrry but just my 2 cents worth

my suggestion for you is try to relate more to local. firstly US standard eating habits and lifestyle is totally different from singapore. It will not be fair to judge that the vaccines may contribute to autism or even any other issues.
they are so many babies who grow up fine with all these vaccines.
diabetes is more of a lifestyle issue. diet and daily lifestyle even obesity will affect chances of getting diabetes. You may ask how i know.. that is because i am trained in health industry
I think ignorance can be bliss sometimes. I dunno if it is true or i misinterpreted it... but i feel that you are too affected by those report already. Dun worry so much.. have faith in singapore MOM,if there is really a issue withthe vaccine then i am sure singapore government will do something abt it...being so shortage of citizens i think they more kan cheong then us...what ever vaccine you are giving to ur child, it is for the best of the bb and nothing else. sometimes there are really no concrete evidence of such reports so dun get urself too affected.. will give u more stress....

Dun think too much.. u are doing fine and a great mummy too =p

3 milk feeds only ?

my boy having abt 5 milk feeds. usually 6+am, 11am,3pm, 7pm, 11+pm. i give around 5oz but he doesnt finish them sometimes.

did you PD share how much is the 3 milk feeds ? coz my boy will not take more at each feed, so we have less feed but more frequent.

i like this chair, leh, i find it very comfy and easy to use, feels very sturdy as well. good buy! the cushion is easy to clean and there are safety straps to secure bb. can adjust height. can recline as well right? got wheels, i was happy when my sis hand down to me.