(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

thanks blue.. so u suggest fei zai sui first
I actually also find that after i upgrade to the avent big bottle my gal does not burp lor...

pillow hee hee me scare later if i wait till she colic then she cranky i have a hard time.. so i thought of giving some wind relief med first.. i press her stomach abit hard lor.. they say that indicates wind is it true huh?

so ur pd say not necessary to burp every feed huh? ya if i tried and tried charlene no burp i just carry her upright for a while lor.. no choice.. but so far touchwood she does not really show signs of discomfort lor that is why i am pondering to give or not to give also.. cos i know colic is uncomfortable so i don't want to wait till she uncomfortable then give lor...abit kiasu maybe hee..hee..

hi low family, my boy does not burp every feed, esp at nite. my PD say , try to burp bb for 10 mins, if no burp, just leave it be. no cause for worry.

if bb have wind, apart from "hard" stomach, they would show discomfort, like crying, unable to finish milk, etc. as for colic, i don't think its for sure proven to be due to "wind"....

to try to prevent colic, by giving infacol, etc, i think its a bit over kan cheong ? but i guess its no harm to give a bit gripewater if it makes u feel better

burping bb...clara also need a long time to burp...in the nite after her last feed...will change a diaper first...play with her a while...then try to burp her...so the whole process is abt 10-15 mins after the feed...so patient a bit...sometimes she will wail as the wind in the stomach cannot come out...just continue...then she will BURP...LOUD one!!!...the whole room can hear one...haha

Wise, Angel,

If only latch BB at nite, will it cause painful engorgement and leaking? I have been pumping so far coz BB cannot latch, when I go back to work I will have difficulty pumping in office. SO I am in a dilemma now, whether to stop pumping BM and give BB FM.

DO you think if I pump once in the morning before work and once at night when I come home is ok? I am scared of engorement and leaking (quite an embarressment as I work in a male dominated working env).

when can we directly apply shampoo on BB's head and wash? How old? My BB's head smell "suan suan" one, very tempted to wash her hair with shampoo directly, but 8 weeks seemed too young, I am also worried about "cradle cap" problem.

hi blueskye,

my boy born same day as yours but seems like your boy is so much bigger size than mine...gosh! so cute!

He was born only 3.015 kg @ 37 weeks ... heee, thankfully he caught up on his weight later on.

How big is your boy now? Mine was 6.4 kg last Wed ... maybe I should go weigh him later again. I thought he lost weight after coming back from my MIL's place cos they fed him less milk there.

cookie monster, i oso apply the shampoo directly to my gal's head and wash since birth.. cos she got cradle cap.. oso a suan suan smell... jus keep washin her hair and massage the scalpe abit then the cradle cap shld clear up soon..

Wiselyn, yes, well said! Health is the most important ... if not healthy, big and heavy also no use mah. So we must always pray for health ...

yah i agree wiselyn....

but i have a problem these few days, my boy is on FM and he has been crying everytime before a feed...when we position the teat in his mouth, he will wail loudly.
For each feed, he has to cry for like 5-10 mins before he is willing to drink...and when he does drinks, he will 'complain' and cry occasionally with the teat in his mouth...anyone of you have any advise?

Thanks in advanced!

I think my boy is about 6kg now because when we weigh him at the PD 2.5 wks ago, he is 5.5kg.

blueskye, your boy looks so round and chubby....cute le!

Arisz, you are not alone! Mine also fuss alot when drinking milk these days, esp in the afternoon ... but surprisingly at night he's ok and drinks quite fast. Don't know why also. Because of this, when he's at my in-laws' place, my MIL only feeds him 120ml instead of his usual 150-160ml at home. My MIL said she rather feed him less than to see him drink until so "qi cham".

ariz, blueskye,

my gal was also like tat.. then we found out tat she cry cos she's colicky.. so whenever she drink she will cry until like dunno wat.. my pd say, when the milk enter the stomach it will cause a churnin feelin tat's why bb will cry b4 durin or aft feed.... so i gave her colic meds when she drinks her milk.. aft a while it got better then i stopped the med.. tis my 2 cents worth..

sometime can't help it when our MIL don't know 'how' to feed our baby.

my boy already drinks very little, so far he only drinks between 100-130 ml for 3 hourly or more. And whenever he is at my MIL's place, she will want to feed him but she always feed him around 90 or 100ml and he stop drinking and she would said...'baby had enough liao la' but she doesn't know my boy is a fussy drinker...he needs ppl to 'hong' him to finish the last bit. i tried to explain to her...sometime she listens, sometime she don't know is forget or wat. haiz

the worst is my SIL's baby is 2 months older than my boy and he is a fast drinker and always wants more milk. such a big contrast from my boy!

pinkyj,

wat colic meds did you give your gal? and how did you give it? maybe i would like to try your method.
thanks for the advise!

Oh, just weighed my boy ... heng he didn't lose weight though his cheeks didn't look as "bah bah". Today he's 10 weeks ... now 6.7 kg ... gained 300g from last week.

blueskye.. colic happens only at a certain time of the day.. they will be very fussy at everything like sleepin or drinkin... and cry for no reason... but normally in the evenin.. my gal will cry in the evenin time when feein... really drives me crazy leh.. she will wan to drink then she will cry and drink then will try to burp her she also cry.. hehah. then in the end i cry along with her.. pd said tat colic will normally pass by the time they arev3 mths old... so my gal is already 11 weeks and is so much better liao..

ariz, i use colicmix which is prescribed by my gal's pd.. i'll dilute the mixture abit, cos its very sticky... then i'll feed her direct usin a syringe, then my hb starts to put in the milk.. so she wont struggle so much... we gave her the colic meds every 8 hours till she is better then we'll stop..

Emily,
St fit is okay but if the poses requires u to stretch ur abs n tummy u better dun do lor... let the instructor know that u just did a C section. =p

i think i stay 374 cant really rem .. =p after giving birth my memory very bad leh...

Me now at work... eat snake =p missing Ryann..

magoo,

this is my boy when he is around 1 and a half month old i think.

1071755.jpg

i started work already, now in school. hehe... I took 2 months only and my 3rd month i'm taking in january nex yr.

thanks to all for advising.. ya seems colic is very uncomfortable for babies.. hope they get better as they get older

pinkyi so fast ur gal 11 weeks mine only coming to 8 weeks this sat

lowfamily: hey im at amk ave 3 too...near the new hub

cookiemonster: why cannot shampoo babies hair? then how do you wash?

arisz:you are a teacher too? hey clever move to take leave in jan..i didnt. going back in jan

atinarin,

i check with my P and VP and luckily they allow me...if not waste my maternity leave for nov leh...

you are also a teacher? primary or secondary?
i'm teaching secondary.

arisz,
u shaved ur boy huh?
He looks like who? Can't see clearly the pic..
like he has certain features look like u is it?

Hey Arisz,blue, pinky
My girl too fuss alot these few days. She usually finishes her feed in 10 mins. But these few days, she will cry and cry when I put the teat in...after few sucks she will cry again. I will have to take the bottle out and burp her (nothing comes out) and then try feeding again...then she will suck a few times and cry again. Takes her 30 mins to finish the bottle now...and sometimes she doesn't even want to finish it. Dunno whats up with her. I also scratching head.

Maybe if there's a horoscope for babies born in Sep it will say that they will be colicky this week?

cookiemonster,
Yes its definitely possible for our body to produce milk only at certain times. Our body very clever...I'm constantly amazed.

Like me, my girl started sleeping thru the night from 11pm-7am, but I still had to get up and pump milk 2-3 times initially coz my breasts would get engorged and leak if I didn't pump! So I tried to stop it, and now I can sleep thru 8 hours undisturbed! There won't be any engorgement or leaking after maybe a few days.

If you're planning to feed morning and evening, just continue to breastfeed at these times. At the times that you don't wish to continue BF, slowly reduce the amt of time you pump so that its not so engorged and painful. E.g. Day 1-3 pump 15 mins, Day 4-6 pump 10 mins, Day 7-9 pump 5 mins, and Day 10-12 pump 1 min. Eventually your body will stop producing milk at these times and you don't need to pump anymore.

Re: Shampooing hair
I've been doing it since Day 1 leh...oopzz...what's wrong with shampooing their hair? No shampoo will be very smelly lor. I'm using J&J top to toe, will squeeze abit on my girl's head and then rub and work up some lather then rinse off with water. So far ok..no cradle cap.

hi blue,

thks for the contact. ur boy's so zai.. so steady n firm. but he only 10 wks old. i wud hv thot he is much older leh.

hi wiselyn,

no leh, my gynae is dr selina chua, her clinc in mt. E medical centre oso.

angel, u very funny leh.. ahhhaha... tat was exactly wat happened to my gal when she's colicky.. super frustrated wan leh... then for a period of time i dun like to feed her.. cos she always cry then i very pek cek!! then i'll always ask her.. u wan to cry or drink!?!? hahahah

magoo, ya i shaved his head when he is 1 month old. Everyone says he look like my husband, even i think so too. He practically don't look like me at all.

blueskye, i took almost whole of jan, going back on the last 2 days of jan. hehe...

angel, the way u describe how your girl fuss over her feed is exactly same as my boy leh...

mine too....fussy b4,during and after feed. see teat as if i am giving poison. used to give 130/140ml. upon pd'advice,i reduced to 120ml. now depends on his mood....can finish good, if not, he takes only 80ml. sigh! BuT, he still loves my breasts. hahaha...but then again, he only suckles to fill up his tummy,enuf to last only 1.5-2hrs.

headache ah.

aidanee,

think your son is like clara..they are both "breast monster" like to attack breast...clara loves to "attack" my breast at times when she is not hungry...but good thing is she is not rejecting bottles...

wiselyn,

hee.. mayb some bb does look alike in some ways.
chk wif u on infantcare... only option for food is milk powder? do they help to give EBM to bb?