(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

jme,
Hi, I've tried s26 too... just switched her to Nan HA but I think she don't like it. Nan HA not as tasty as s26 lah. Hai... wonder whether to switch back.

arisz: i teach in the primary ...i took from one week before my edd which was mid sept then i actually am kind of wasting about 2 weeks leave but its ok la...anyway this yr alot of mc...i dont want to be away in jan cos thats like super impt to train the kids and get them disciplined.

Hi pinky, arisz,
At least now I know why she is so cranky and I'm not so 'man zang' anymore when she acts up...I started to think maybe my new maid was putting stuff in the milk or something coz it started one day after my maid came! Oh btw, I realised that she doesn't fuss that much when I latch her. Do you notice the same thing with your babies?

Pinky, besides the medicine the doc prescribed, what else can we do to ease their discomfort? I've been giving my girl infacol but she still like that leh.

Aidanee,
Hahaha ya I like the way you describe as if the teat is poison!! I felt like that too!

ssmummy,
u stay at Sembawang? u teacher also huh?
Sure, we go classes together.. is more fun to hv someone u know in the class!!

But last time u did wat class?

angel, there's nothing much tat we can do... jus do our best to soothe bb lor.. if not, try and see whether pacifer works for u... my pd advised me to give lor.. but i anti pacifer.. ahhaha.. so die die never give her..:p and pray very hard tat time will pass really fast.. when they are older it shld be better..

pinky,
Thanks, the pacifier works like magic at times..but sometimes she suck abit and doesn't want it anymore. Cry until so poor thing...haiz..I feel so pain for her.

angel, i'm giving FM totally so I dunno about the latching part.

my boy cried so much last night that hubby and me got so fed up...we decided to bring him to the PD later. Cannot take it anymore, cry for every feed...gosh!

By the way, I'm also anti-pacifier initially, but now sometime I will give him the pacifier coz like wat angel said, it really works like magic at times.

Angel,

thanks, i will try your method n see how it works out on my milk supply.
About washing BB hair, I kinda follow mrs wong bathing infant method, my CL also does the same, so I follow loh, never directly apply shampoo on BB's head. Hee Hee, will try tomorrow. If not, BB will be nickname " smelly head" by her daddy soon.

Wise,
Ya I am starting to think maybe she's rejecting the bottle and prefer my breast! This morning when she woke up I tried to bottle feed her as usual, she cry and cry and refuse to eat. I know she is definitely hungry coz last night she didn't finish her feeds. Then I tried to latch her and she happily suck away!

arisz,
What did your PD say? I also thinking of bringing my girl to see the doc later...but wonder whether there will be any use. My friend said when her girl got colic, all the doc said was don't worry she will grow out of it once she reach 3-4 months. Easy for him to say! He's not the one dealing with a crying baby.

Atinarin,

What I did so far on washing BB hair is to add the J&J top to toe wash in the water, then use a cloth to wash her hair.

Opps,
think I am the odd one out for not washing BB's hair.

Hi arisz. I have a similar problem, my boy is crying at most feeds and rejecting the bottle. Will you please let me know what your PD says? Thanks!

Hi cookiemonster,
Oh ya Mrs Wong did mention don't need to wash hair...but its my CL who told me must wash her hair so I follow also. Hahahha! Guess diff ppl got diff methods. I think there's no harm in washing to let them smell nice! I love to smell my girl's head

cookie_monster,

me is doing what u are doing like wat mrs wong teach...dun worry, different people have different ways if washing the bb...

angel, peapod, I will be bringing my boy to see the pd later at 3.15pm. Will update you when I'm back at home tonight.

Later going to buy videocam with my hubby coz we wanna capture all the cute moments of our boy.
Decided to buy coz my sis told me she regretted not capturing all these cute moments last time when my nieces were young. Now they are already 7 and 10 years old.

pillow,
cos bb throws up milk and has a bit of reflux....alot of dscomfort,resulting in unhappy bb....pd said i overfed....bbs at exacttly 2months should be around 5-5.5kg. mine was 6kg then. already doubled the wt. so i took her advice. he is much happier... but now, he is drinking less from bottle....prefers breasts.

angel,
yah...wish the milk is sedative too...make them drowsy!!!!

Hi I am also doing what mrs wong taught us .. pour the lactayd into the water then use a damp cloth and rinse over my gal head... then for my gal bottom i would pour the lactacyd on my hand and rub on her bottom then rinse with water using the damp cloth before putting her into the bathtub

My Cl also taught me this way.. so way charlene head still ok not smelly hee hee..

arisz thanks to let me know the outcome too.. my gal seems to be colic and taking less milk now...
thanks for your help!

angel,
can u show me your feeding schedule?

Do u wake jade up for the 11pm feed or do u do it as dream feed?

last 2 nights, my son can take 120ml at 7-8pm,and sleeps till 2am without a dream feed at 11am. he refuses to open his mouth at the 11pm feed. if he does take, he will still get up at about 3-4am (cos of gas). he wakes up at 6.30-7am, but not hungry....meaning, he must have suckled too much at the 3-4am feed.

hi aidanee,
Here's what my girl has been taking...7 feeds of 125ml.
7am - 125ml
10am - 125ml
1pm - 125ml
4pm - 125ml
6.30pm - 125ml
8.30pm - 125ml
11pm - 125ml

But the past few days during her 5pm, 8pm and 11pm feed, she cries and cries and only manages to finish 1/2 - 3/4 of her feed.

I do her 11pm feed like other feeds...she's usually sleeping so I'll wake her up and unswaddle her and sometimes gotta take off her pants too if she's still drowsy.

The 11pm feed is an impt one, try to get him to finish the full feed coz then he'll sleep longer. If he doesn't want to eat at 11pm, then try cutting down the feeds before that, so that he'll be hungry at 11pm. I managed to stop my girl from waking up in the middle of the night by feeding her more during the day and cutting down her feeds when she wakes up in the middle of the night - Gave her water, pacifier, or if she still doesn't settle would give her half the feed or feed her one breast instead of 2, and slowly cut down the latching time..Eventually she just woke up later and later.

for clara at times also colic...esp when me carry her on my shoulder...her stomach on my front...she SCREAMED!!!...most likely is colic liao...give her the colic medicine...SCREAM again..as it is not milk...after the medicine...she will still cry a bit...then cool down will burp and fart!!!...then after that ok liao

clement what colic med u give clara?
ridwind?

angel.. how many weeks old is ur gal now?
so good no more night feeds.. my gal last feed is 1am she would still wake up at about 5plus thereafter 8 plus.. 3 hourly interval.. only that stretch from 1am to 5plus the interval is longer...

atinarin.. my darling is exactly 2 months old today.. started feeding her water when she is 3 weeks old..

angel.. me also curious how old is your darling le.. so shiok got no night feeding..

blue.. my darling is also 6.4kg when i weigh her yesterday.. we got fat babies..

i will use one tiny drop of ru yi oil and rub on my darling's tummy then massage in circular motion whenever she cries..then will burp her for one minute.. and it works most of the times..she will have this super relief look on her face after massaging.. then will continue to drink her milk happily..

btw can check with all mummies how did you spend time with your bbs esp they are more alert and less sleepy now le.. me usually will let my girl do some neck and leg exercises.. or talk to her.. show flash cards when not lazy but super inconsistent :p .. turn on the musical mobile to entertain her when i am just too tired ( feeling guilty as have been doing that quite often).. so wondering is there anything that i should do or take note..

Hi arisz,

My gal also cry a lot b4, during and after her feeds. We get so stressed up! She will also vomit out some milk at times. Now, we resort to feeding her when she is asleep. She is also drinking less now. N we concluded that she is a snacker + colic!! She takes abt 90-100ml every 2 hours. Hard to stretch feeding time unless we r out or its night time. The longest interval that we managed for nite feed (on ebm) was 1am-5.30am.

I am also a teacher!! Taking my balance 3 weeks leave in Jan. Yahoo!! Can breastfeed until Jan at least.

Any mummies out there who have not given any formula for your baby? My MIL keep asking me to start my gal on formula since she is coming to 2 mths old. She claims that baby will reject formula later. However, since i still have lotsa ebm, i am very reluctant to give formula. Plus, breastmilk is WONDER milk. Any mummies with the same problem?

angel,

thanks...so i presume the night ritual starts after your 6.30pm feed? so she sleeps at 7pm thru...n u wake her up at 8.30 and 11pm?

Hi low, jme,
My girl was born on 5th Sep..so now is 10th week. But she started sleeping thru the night since ard 6 weeks old
I think once babies are bigger, they'll be physically capable of lasting longer between feeds. My girl was born 3.2kg, and 4.7kg at 1 month old. Doc say she overweight!

Hi Aidanee,
Yup I put her down after her 6.30pm feed..change to pjs and swaddle her. Will wake her up for her feeds if she's not awake by then. But sometimes she wakes up crying for milk before the time and I'll feed her.

ladies, for nite time, do you guys wait for bb to cry then feed ? or u can hear him "ek ek", mouth opening like hungry then feed ?

pillow: these days i wait for bb to "ek ek ek", the kind will soon lead to crying-type before i feed.

angel: thanks for your advice. Shan't get a nursing cover then.

ladies, anyone bought a fridge to go or a mini fridge? what's the difference and which keeps ebm better? i already have the medela cooler bag, but dun think that would be able to last till i get home?

also, anyone knows where to get nice cot bumpers? i don't want the entire bedding set, but just a cot bumper... so hard to find!

pillow: after 12am, i will let my boy ek ek then feed him. He's currently on the 12am, 4am, 8am, 12pm, 4pm, 8pm routine...sometimes +-.

My boy is turning 2months old tomorrow and i just weighed him, he is 6.5kg now!

Hi atinarin

I am teaching in the Pre-U centre...haha..only 1 left in S'pore.

Hi Cheryl,
I thought the medela cooler bag is supposed to last for 8 hours??

hi ANgel,

my BB is almost on the same feeding schedule as yours 7am, 10am, 1pm, 4pm, 7pm. Then she ZZ around 7pm+. We will wait till she get up, most of the time around 1030pm, sometimes 1130pm. Then we feed her. But she will still wake up about 3-3.5 hrs later for another feed and 3hrs interval thereafter.

My girl will vomit sometimes, mostly during the nite feeds, duno why?

Hi Jme, when BB is awake, I will turn on the music, sometimes classical for BBs, sometimes nursery songs. I try to read stories to her, like " the Little Red Riding hood".

jme,
Haha I'm a lazy mummy like you...I do the flash cards and booking reading maybe once a week. Should really do it more I guess. These days I love talking to her coz she's more responsive, always smiling or laughing. I love to leave her under her musical mobile or on her bouncer/rocker too then go do my own things! Sometimes I feel so guilty doing that coz she can go at it for hours at a time.

Cookier monster,
You BFing her or by bottle? Maybe you try feeding her more at her 10.30pm and 7am feed and see if she'll last longer?

Hi Poohwei,
My girl also never taken FM before. I'm wondering when I should start too coz I don't want her to be hooked on BM too. I intend to stop BF at 6 months.

Recently Ryann is drinking lesser and lesser.. any mummie experience this before? use to drink abt 880- 950 ml daily... now drop to 770 sometime lesser then tat...
Usually can finish 110-120ml in 10 minutes now is either he slp half way thru or start crying when the milk left with abt 30-20ml..
Tried to burp him, sometime after he burb he will vomit.
Now i dunno wat to do.... Any suggestions??

2ndly, recently i abit blur leh... i didnt notice the date of my EBM.. past 2 days le.. i still let Ryann drink leh.. although nothing happen but i am scare lor... do any mummies here know wat will happen if bb drink EBM tat is more then 2 days... Wat is the reason we cant keep the EBM in the fridge for more then 2 days?

SO heart pain i just throw away many bottles of EBM away!!!

Getting more and more no mood to pump milk... =(

phoebe,

2 days is just a guide, some website says can leave it fridge for 2 days (in the chiller not freezer) some says more....the reason being bateria might start to grow and it might not be good for the baby's body