(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Hi Angel,
Yes i'm trying to source out for one. I used to engage one b4 during my confinement though thy really did a good job but it's far to expensive liao so we terminated the contract after one month. May i know how much is per hr rate? Do u mind to PM me the contact no.?

irene, how u do it ah? i tried latchin my gal on y'day.. then she cried like mad.. then keep gagin at my breast refuse to suckle..
then when i squeeze out the milk in her mouth then she kept tryin to drink but reject my breast leh..

I am pretty disappointed.

I knw my BM supply is pathetic but i have been latching bb on as far as possible but i suddenly wondered whther she is getting any milk or just suckling so this is waht i did. i put the bottle teat in her mouth to see if she suckles when nothing is ocming out and true enough, she was crying and just sucked despite the fact that no milk was coming out!

So the whole time im bf, she was prob just sucking for comfort esp when my left breast has really like no mil kwhatsoever, only 5ml comes out when i pump!

This may explain why she farts so often, all air going in!

How do i stop bf? Wont i get very engorged or in pain?

gd morning mummies,

need to check on something personal... i spotted slight pinkish discharge on my panty liner yesterday morning but seems to disappear during the day. but i spotted it again tis morning when i visit the toilet. is it supposed to be menses?? it looked like the regular clear discharge with a pinkish tone...

but isnt menses supposed to be delayed.. when total breastfeeding?? any mummies experience this?

atinarin,
Dun be disappointed, in fact it is baby's normal reflex to suck on something when it goes into her mouth. So that does not mean that u don't have milk.
Most impt, is your BB growing? Is there poo or urine?
Dun be upset, Try eating more fish, drink more fluid and have more rest.
Are you using any breast pump?
Try pumping every 2-3 hr it will increase the supply.. dun give up... u can do it..
Demand = supply

atinarin, if ur sure tat u dun wan to bf liao then stoppin is very easy... but if not.. to re-establish supply is a long process leh.. to stop ur bm, jus pump when engore but do not empty ur breast.. then pump lesser and lesser then the bm will get lower then will eventually stop aft tat...

Phoebe: thanks. jsut very disappointing like i have been trying so long sometimes an hour for her to bf but looks like nothing is going in, thats why she will cry after 1hr of being latched on, then FM. So its like what a waste of time too. BF for fun?

pinkyj:i do pump but not for long too about 15-20 mins. Maybe i havent been emptyin my breast.

hi angel, the teat which you are referring to is the "variable flow" one. i also bought that coz robinsons having 20% storewide discount. heehee but don't intend to introduce to my boy till much later coz my fren mention her girl keeps getting choke by it.

i also tried looking for the 3hole teat at various places, all out of stock. in the end, i just went straight to robinsons, they have lots there.

jme, can't help you on the poking hole for avent teats coz my hubby spoilt all our 1 hole teat ones. so we gave up , and buy new ones instead of trying to poke.

Hi pinkyj,
Like wat Bena said, i tried to latch him for comfort when he's in a good mood lah. I try not to latch him when he's super hungry or cranky cos he tends to struggle & reject my breast. The first time i managed to latch him if when he's half asleep haha... But hor i only latch him once or twice a day cos i tends to pump out & feed my ebm thru bottle. I can only latch him more often during weekends.
Dun give up try to latch ur gal when she's not hungry & see if it works.

atinarin, when i pump i will always pump until really nothin then i stop.. (aft compressin the breast and pump till the last drop) i've tried increasin the no of times i pump then it did increase the supply abit.. but was hopin tat i can latch my gal on to stimulate more supply.. but she reject my boobies leh...
sob sob..

atinarin, actually when bb latch on, you will know whether there is milk from corners of her mouth ? there will bound to be leakage.

hi everyone..

sorry to ask this qn again, i noe this prob has been discussed, but i sort of missed the posts...

Can anyone advise on a good baby carrier? Baby bjorn? Ergo? Both are pretty exp rite? I'm contemplating to get one, but checking which one to get & affordability..hmm...tks ya!
cos such carrier can only be used up to a certain age, so thinkin if i shld invest in one...or jus to get something cheaper but decent enough in terms of safety & usability...hmm..headache..

dArmeAe, breastfeeding doesn't stop menses from coming. When I had my first one, my menses are back immediatedly the next month after my lochia ended. This time round, my "auntie" still hasn't visited me ... praying it won't come so soon ... heeee.

Hi charsiew,
I just bought a Babybjorn not long ago & it really makes wonder for me as my boy can sleep comfortably inside when i bring him out
There's a min 3.5kg 53cm max 10kg. Hopes this info helps

hi pillow..its okie.. thanks.. tried to poke liao but mission failed.. will try 2hole teat again when she turns 9week old.. envy you guys having no problem on changing teat..

charsiew.. got my girl babybjorn active.. she has no problem with it.. can sleep very well in it when we go jalan jalan..also very good for back support for the parents..me n hubby can finally hold hand when go shopping together with bb.. did some market research b4 go buy.. seems like caucasian mums like to use babybjorn for younger babies but ergo when they slightly older..dont know why though.. but agree that it is quite ex.. my friend bought one that is much cheaper but complain backache so stopped using le.. the disadvantage i can think of using a carrier is that hubby or i must carry my girl when eating out..

Irene/atinarin,
PM'd the maid's contact and details to you already.

atinarin,
I can imagine how disappointed you must feel. Try to increase your supply like what phoebe mentioned. But if you can't increase your supply then just give FM lor..don't stress over it k. The little amt of BM is better than nothing. Just take it as a special time for bonding with your baby too
She definitely enjoys it.

jme,

think for smaller babies, if u using ergo, need to get an additional baby insert...not cheap also the insert...about 40 plus to 50 dollars..but ergo is good in a way that, they can hold even babies bigger then 10 kg...

blueskye.. was your flow still the same as b4 pregnancy? mine used to be very light flow but this time round super heavy lor.. wondering whether is it normal.. thinking of monitoring it and wait for next menses b4 consulting gynae..

Hi Charsiew, Irene
I am using a babybjorn too. I bought the one with the additional back support..and it can take up to 12kg. Its really a lifesaver, my baby girl loves to be in it. I suppose it depends on individual babies if they will like it or not. Mothercare will let you try it with your baby in it so you can test it first.

My girl sleeps really well in it. Sometimes when she's cranky at home and refuses to be put down, I will put her in the carrier and she falls asleep IMMEDIATELY! And putting her in and out of it is very easy. I tried other carriers like the ergo and combi and some other brands (cant remember the names liao)at kiddy palace, its so complicated just learning how to assemble and use them! The back support is great...coz I can carry her in the carrier while I shop for 4 hours and don't feel any pain at all. My back is bad and when I use the MIM sling for 1 hour I get bad back aches already. When I put her facing in towards me, she sleeps like a baby coz I think she loves the closeness as her face is against my chest. Its got neck support for newborns so her neck is protected. I also just started facing her outwards and she enjoys watching what's happening. Its more expensive than the other carriers but certainly worth it, especially if you intend to have more kids.

Oh jme,
Actually can do almost anything while baby is in the carrier. I can eat...just turn my body sideways so that I don't drop food on her head kekeke. Can go toilet without taking her out too haha! I had to do it one time coz I was out alone.

so tempting to get the babybjorn. by the way, for baby bjorn, is there only one type ? or few types ?

which one is recommended ?

hi blue: yah..that's the one i seen in ur pix, hmm..mine is different one, yours the pacifier shield seems wider leh. where did u buy from?

jme: we roasted the safety pin over the fire and poke into the teat then after that sterilize the teat.

Amy: welcome back...must have brought lotsa coach stuff back for your family members and friends eh.

Charsiew: long time no see u, how r u and baby doing? I have the ergo carrier but yet to use it on my boy, me still using sling or stroller. Will try out the carrier on my boy soon as earlier it was too big for him.

Phoebe: Tks for the explanation on the pkge. I hope to hit the gym or attend class soon, still looks flabby!

Phoebe: Can you recommend what is a good class to re-start exercise and build up my stamina and also not too siong for the abdomen?(cos' outwardly the wound may appear healed but inside not completely yet) I don't want Pilate or Yoga.

Tiny, You same as me, i also C section, so for the time being, no exercise tat involve the abs.. no sit up or crutches.
I would suggest New Body for toning up... can try LO impact but so instructors can be quite siong too... basically, u can do anything except exercise tat involve ur tummy.

dArmAe,
My menses came too n when it ended... few days later i gt spotting again... so lucky for those who never come at all...

Hi Pillow,
I think there's 3 models I've seen so far. One is the standard one which cost ard $199. Sale price at $145. 2nd one is grey and white and has netted kind of material so that its not so hot for the baby. Can't remember how much this one cost. And the 3rd one is the one with back support which cost $250, sale price is $200. My sis has been using the standard one which she say its good, but when she tried the one with back support she said its really worth the additional cost.

had pacify my darling for past 2 hours and she still refuse to sleep.. and guess what.. after reading angel's posting.. i tried and she fell asleep IMMEDIATELY too.. get to type while she is still sleeping in it... so cool!

hi blue,

thks for 'correcting' me... haha somehow i dunno where i got the idea tat breastfeedin = no menses. hee... silly me.

reading abit mummies toking abt babybjorn.. i oso very tempted to get 1. cos my gal quite 'fussy' bb. simply refused stroller, n the MIM sling i hv gives me backache plus shoulder ache after using for more than 1hr.
furthermore, bb always seems to be in awkward position with the sling.

angel,
when u say sale price.. u meant using mothercare discount card??

btw, re: maid's off day. our philippino maid hv off day 1 sunday per mth. usually we let her off from 10am - 6pm. (8 hrs). i duno if there's a std but we dun wan to roam the streets too late at nite. hope it helps

need advise on BM supply... i noticed during all pump sessions that my right breast yield only 40% of what left breast can produce. for eg. left breast - 100ml, right only - 40ml.
hw come its so much difference? both are pumped at the same time with same vacuum pressure.
hw do i improve the supply on the right breast?

Can i check with you girls if your bleeding stopped? My girl is 2 mths now and i am still bleeding. Now is dark brown instead of red though. Doc says it really depends on indivdual but i am abit concern. Wondering if any chinese herbs will help to clear. Thanks!

thanks girls will try, i didnt want to stop bf whatever few drops she can get i dont mind., i dont mind fm either.

today i tried pumping when very engorged, only 20ml both breasts. 2hrs later, still 20ml total from nboth breasts.

Darmae: i have the same prob but worse than yours., if my right can give 40ml, left only 5ml!

Hi BB
Did you take black fungus during confinement? Its meant to clear the lochia and whatever leftover bloody stuffs inside your womb (according to CL and elder folks). I ate a lot of them and my bleeding stopped around the 5th week. I'm BF so normally they say menses will not come. You may want to try eat the black fungus.

Hi darmae
My experience is the opp of yours, my right can express more than left. But it's not always, if I express about 5 - 6 hourly, then the difference in volume will not be that much. During expressing, I will also massage with my hands so that breast can empty thoroughly, but very tiring for back, shoulders and hands.

Angel
Would like to know where can get the sales price for the bjorn carrier?

BB, i stopped just at the 6th week but still get some occasional spotting. Its supposed to lighten over time and become almost yellowish in colour, thats the indication that its going to stop. I think as long as yo dont suddenly get fresh blood its fine, fo rme i walked alot and got the clots out.

It has been a looonnng time since i last post...guess was still when we were all preggy with our little ones. Anyway, I am still following the thread closely.
Let me re-introduce myself...Mine is a baby boy born on the 5th sept, name Tristan.

Regarding the baby carrier, I bought the Babybjorn with the back support one and I think its good. Recommended if you have back problem. juz my 2 cents worth.

Thanks rxsti & atinarin, I did not take black fungus during confinement. Ok will try some and see if it helps. Also plan to see chinese sinseh this week, think is not very gd to bleed for so long.

atinarin, do you massage your breasts well before and during pumping ?

i had v bad engorgement on left breast last monday, till fever with chills. my supply immediately dipped. though left breast feel v full, but pumping v low volume (like 40ml type, when usually yield 3-4oz each pump) coz the ducts are clogged. i had to massage real hard, plus latch on. took many days to clear... regular pumping didnt help to clear, keep having 40ml type and damn painful.

BB: apparently it can last 60 days.

Pillow: I dont know what to do..i do massage but willtry to massage more. ITs just that although its always very little, today its more pathetic than usual.

Hi darmae, rxsti
Mothercare was having sale a few weeks back and they had special prices for the babybjorn carriers. I dunno whether the sale still on now anot. There's no additional discount on top of the sale price with the VIP card.

Hey Darmae my supply is opposite of yours...100ml on right but always half on the left. Dunno how to fix it. I tried latching and pumping the left side more but it doesn't work. Decided to leave it be. If you do find a way to fix it let me know ya!

Hi angel,

I delivered at Thomson. How about you? I met blueskye on the day of my delivery and she gave birth so many hours earlier than me.

Hi <font color="0000ff">Wiselyn</font>..
Is baby Clara starting her infant care today? How's everything? Hope she is coping fine...

I spotted one or two drops of pinkish mucous like blood in my baby's poo last friday. Today, I spotted it again.
Any mummies experience this before? PD says that he's been pooing too much and the bleeding is caused by internal abrasion. Really very worried that it's something more serious.

Tks Irene, Angel & everyone for the comments on the bjorn carrier..

Hmm.. i think i will try to do more readup on the Bjorn Air, think i am leaning towards this model & brand.. Cos Ergo seems too pricey for me..

hihi voice voice, tho still struggling to learn taking care & to understand what my bb wants, im definitely more confident than 2mths back.. phew.. time really flies! Our bbs will be turning 2mths old sooon.. heehee

can't wait for them to coo & babble bb talk..tat will be very cute!