(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

hi phoebe, interested to find out more abt the packages at amore.. can tell me more? need to lose another 10KGS!!! ahhhhhh... can pm me if not convenient to share over the thread.. scarly the moderator tot u come here and do business...:eek:p

HI Phoebe,

Swaddling does works! Thanks. My girl also have one hand come out and she slept well. But I scare that my girl will feel too hot, so I on the air-con for her.

I am interested in the AMORE packages too, is there a website or you can give me more info via email? Does exercising flatten the tummy? I felt very flubby nowadays. I stay in Punggol, so prob will be going to Kovan branch if im joining.

Reflux:
My BB vomitted consecutively (2 times) today. =( I very "xin tong", milk come out from her nose also and she look so frightened. Think it is reflux, How many times if this continues, should I send BB to PD?

Stretch mark cream, I used the palmer one but allergic to it, so I used Johnson baby oil and it works, I do not have stretch marks on my tummy, but I did not apply on my thigh, so my thigh "kena".

I have a very private but impt question for mummies who had an episiotomy:

For those who have resumed intercourse with your hubbies, did you find it painful?

I 'just did it' for the first time since I gave birth...it was so f#$%ing painful...felt like a virgin again! Is this normal or should I be worried??? Thought our vaginal walls will be loosened after birth...but instead it feels the opposite!

Phoebe,
Thanks, most prob if going will be the one at Civic Centre... will let you know if going ya. :)

Oh yes, regarding bringing EBM out... I'll usually warm it and then put inside the thermal bag... can last for 2 hours.

Voice, Jordan's also using Nuk pacifiers ... and yes, there's always a mark there but it will go off one ... so no worries.

Ask you all ... after first month assessment, when's the next time to see PD for jab/follow-up?

Angel, don't worry ... you are normal! I've tried 5-6 times liao and still painful ... based on my experience when I had my first one, it will take some time for that part to be "seasoned". Also, I did consult my gynae on this when I did my 1 month post natal check ... she said not to worry that the wounds will "tear" cos when she did the Pap Smear for me, that thing that went in so big ... she's very funny ... she said if that can go in, surely I should have no problem with my hubby's.

hi phoebe, u got mail!!

angel, me also try for the first time after almost 1 yr!! it did feel alittle sore.. like wat blueskye say lor.. need time to 'season'.. hahah

Regarding the nigra line,my gynae say it will take 2 years to fade off but if u got another bb b4 tat it will grow even darker..not sure if it is true...

mine still very dark lines everywhere... gynae comfort me by saying oni my hubby see...

pheobe- she tried b4 but me myself aso lazy...haha

voice- my bb aso using NUK pacifiers..same..look around but find all the NUK teats the same...buy almost all the designs for NUK liao allwill have marking on bb face- cause I am very forgetful in losing them or their caps.. Maybe u can try look around for those breastlike pacifiers...

blue, pinky,
Oh thanks for sharing..what a relief to know that its normal! *SCAARY* Thought there was something wrong with my episiotomy healing and have to go for surgery to correct it!

ssmummy,
My PD advised me EBM that has been warmed up can only last 1 hour leh.

Voice,
My girl also using NUK pacifiers and always have the mark after sucking haha...she looks like the Joker from Batman! I wonder if other brand pacifiers will leave a mark too? Any mummies using non-NUK?

Blue,
Re check up with PD, next one should be at 3 months which will coincide with the time they need to go for next immunization.

If EBM must be consumed within 1 hr after it has been warmed, how do we bring EBM out for BB, esp if we are out for 6 hrs or so? put it in mini freezer & bring it out?

angel,
i m bfg, give ebm an using Pigeon pacifier. no mark....tried n tested with no.1 and no.2 is using now. no nipple confuion.

Cookie monster, I don't usually bring EBM out unless it's fresh and feeding time is within the next hour or so. If you want to bring EBM that has been in the fridge, you probably need to place it in cooler bag with ice packs.

Hi <font color="0000ff">Voice</font>..

I got lots of rompers with size 3M-6M, so my boy can wear new clothes everyday, hee
Babies look cute in rompers!

My son is using Avent pacifier 0M-3M. He also got the mark after sucking. Its normal cos when they suck, the pacifier pressed into their chin & face.

Sometimes, I did not give him pacifier, he will suck his fist & thumb. Did SamSam do that as well? I find that sucking fist & thumb is quite dirty with all his saliva flowing out.

Hi cookiemonster,
When I go out I usually bring EBM in a cooler bag with an ice pack..can keep cool for up to 4 hours according to the manufacturer's specifications. But if more than 4 hours then I will bring frozen EBM...takes a long time for it to defrost.

alot of bb's using NUK pacifier hor.... Blue: i thot i saw in one of jordan's pix that his pacifier shield is quite big one, think is solid blue color one, that one also NUK?

Em: Sam is still wearing mits everyday leh..so didn't have a chance to suck his thumb or fist, hee hee! I have not cut his nails on a regular basis so he's always wearing his mits and booties...lazy mummy...

Wait till they teething, they will salivate even more leh...

Hey Tiny,
Heard that babies shouldn't wear mits after 1 month coz it will affect their development. Anyway we can't keep their mittens on forever right? I'm also a lazy mummy...don't cut my girl's nails until I see a sratch on her face haha! I think its ok if they scatch themselves every once in a while...scratches usually will heal in 1-2 days.

angel.. hee hee.. yalor.. but he's very understandin lah..
somehow dun have the 'feel' to do it lor.. dunno why also..

ya.. bb shldn't wear mit for too long.. will hinder their motor skill developement..

hi hi my eight week old darling still using the avent one hole teat since birth and now she has to suck harder for milk which will leaves red marks around her lips after finishing the milk. but when i change to the 2 holes teat.. she will be choked on the milk and refused to drink after that.. had tried several times already and she still not used to the flow.. can i check is there any mummy still using same teat since but also facing the same problem..? what should i do? continue using the same teat or change to 2 hole and hope she will get use to the flow..?

ssmummy,
Ya lor...that's what my PD said.

jme,
Maybe you try giving the 2 hole teat a few more times and see...if still cannot, maybe you can follow Tiny's safety pin method - use the same 1 hole teat, but use a safety pin to make the hole abit bigger.

hi Angel and Blue,

thanks, guess i got to buy a cooler bag if I want to bring EBM out, currently, I'm bringing FM out.

Re: mittens
Mrs Wong did mention not to let BB wear mittens after 6 weeks. But my girl is still wearing coz she will definitely scratch herself. I try to let her wear only when she is going tp sleep, that is when she likes to use her hand to rub her face.

Mummies, have your BBs "discovered" their hands already? I read that at 8 wks old, BB will discover their hands and like to look at them and put it in the mouth.

Does you BB also smile at u when u smile at them?

angel: err...i yet to try reinforce same hole leh...hmm..maybe it will works.

jme: make sure you have a spare teat before you trial & error eh...

jme, do try few more times. the first few tries, bb may not be used to it yet... i have tried using safety pin to poke the 1 hole teat, i find v difficult for avent teats....

my bb 8 wks now. i am actually trying the avent 3 hole teat (but thats for 3mths+, bad mummy...) coz i find he always doze off with the 2 hole teat. think he's lazy to put in effort to suck hard so halfway thru bottle, he would sleep already. with the 3 hole teat, he finish his milk in 15mins straight through (previously he always take at least 30mins to finish off).

but different babies different needs... so if your bb can't take the 2hole teat, dun force. gd luck

voice, how many holes did you poke for your NUK teats ?

yes, must have spare teats before trial & error. coz my hubby spoiled all our 1 hole teat bottles :p

cookie monster,
my gal 'found' her hands abt 2-3 weeks back.. happily suckin her index and middle finger and gettin choke while doin tat.. hahah... my gal will smile at me when i talk to her.. then she would try to mimick the mouth movement and make some little cooin sound.. very fun!!

About mittens ... I don't think it matters if they discover their hands any later. Sooner or later they will know they have a pair of hands lor ... you know what I mean?

My gal wore her mittens and booties till 3 months ... she isn't any slower than other kids also ... in fact I think she is smarter than most kids in terms of development.

hi tiny angel pillow... will try the method...hopefully it will work.. thanks...

btw how do you sterilise the needle or safety pin? over fire or in hot water?

hi mummies!!
I'm finally back in s'pore...wow..all the babies look so cute. I'm still unpacking and pretty stress out..cleaning hse, looking after baby , dealing with the elder one etc..hope things will be smoother by wed..still trying to adjust back to the humidity and heat here. falling sick too- running nose and soar throat. catch up with u gals again

Aiyo, Amy, you take care!

Pinkyj, Faith looks like both you and your hubby..my goodness, what a sweet smile.

Blueskye, aiyo your boy has such doleful eyes
Soooo cute!!

No leh.. looks so doleful.. you watched Shrek? You know the cat in Shrek? He always show the doleful eyes when trying to get out of trouble - ya that kind

cookie monster,
My girl found her hand and sucks on the first and second knuckles...but she hasn't found her fingers/thumb yet. And she started smiling and cooing back at us abt 2 weeks ago too.

Pillow,
I also have been tempted to change to the 3 hole teat coz can see my girl sucking really hard with the 2 hole one! The place I went to buy the 3 hole teat was out of stock...but they had another kind of teat also marked for 3m+ that supposedly you can turn it according to how fast you want the flow to be...have you tried this before? My girl keeps getting choked no matter how I turn it...

Hope u've a great day ahead

Hi Bena,
I'm soooooo happy managed to latch my boy for the past few days but only when he's not cranky lah. Imagined while i was latching him yesterday, my hubby was on the other side trimming his hair

cookie monster, Glad that it works for you.. =p
BTW i also stay Punggol leh.. next time can meet up.. U can join Pinkyj for classes, she stay SK and gg kovan too... =p Will PM you details =p

blueskye, Actually tat is what i read from some books, they mention tat if the bb is too use to a pacifier, when bb is fed using a bottle of different teat, bb might get confuse and refuse to suck. So i abit kiasu, i rather take both same then my son not drinking milking.

TiNy, depends on when u come back and how much u have left after your last lesson. lets say u are left with 8mths pkg when u found out u are preggy, by the time u come back the pkg will be left with 8mths. but dun worry la.. i can do extension for u if u nt enough time to finish =p

ssmummy,
According of my PD, she also say BM have to be comsume within a hour after warming.

So wat i do is i brought Fridge to go and only warm when needed lor.

for mittens i heard can wear until 3 mths... my nephew wore till 3 mths but doesnt effect his motor skills... What i do is during the day when Ryann is alert and playing i release his mittens to let him play. Anyway he have been suckling on his thumb when he is 1 weeks old le...

Recently Ryann dunno why drink milk always cry... then i realize that the teat that i use the flow is too fast... Now he drink milk using nuk 1 for thin liquid he will choke with the teat for milk... i am worried. Do you think Ryann have problem with his swollowing skills?

Irene,
Glad to hear you managed to latch again!
Oh btw, do you still need contact for part time maid? My mum recommended me one that's quite good. Her work is very thorough. I've used her twice liao coz my friend's maid's contract ended and went back to philippines for holiday.