(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

RE: savings + insurance

we hv opened a jnr savers a/c under uob for bb. its a joint a/c wif parent until bb is 16 yrs old. it ties in wif some free insurance coverage (depending on amt deposited)

bought endowment cum insurance fm uob oso - called jnr life term. we opted for 18 yrs term.. then the money will come in handy for her tertiary education.

besides tat, aviva health shield (payable using cpf) covers child for free if both parents under the plan. we switched fm aia health shield becos of tat 1 reason but the coverage beta as most of the claim as charged by hospital.

Hi <font color="0000ff">Phoebe</font>..

I used to be a regular at the Park Mall branch, after the close down of the TPY branch. Membership # is TP963. Now, I will be switching to Kovan branch, cos I have moved to SK. I missed the classes by my fave instructor, Cindy C. And also the steam bath!

I also cant fit into my pre-pregnancy clothes. Its a good reason for us to buy more new clothes! Hee

The week b4 I start work, I will do all my facials, hair treatment plus highlight, manicure + pedicure & shop for new clothes. Must give myself a fresh new look after 3 mths of "vacation" plus 9 long months of "baking process"..

my boy at 4 wks, take around 110ml every 2 hours. now at 7 wks+, he takes 110ml every 3-4 hours. its like he's drinking less ??

anyone with the same situation ?

Hi <font color="0000ff">peapod</font>..
When r u starting work? Who will be taking care of ur son then?

Is it safe to let baby sleep on their stomach? My MIL also commented that my son's head is flatter on one side. I try to move him to the other side when he is asleep.

Although savings account little interest, but it is flexible. You can use the $$$ anytime you need it. If you put in insurance, you cant withdraw before it matures.

Hi <font color="0000ff">Pillow</font>..
My boy also 7 wks+ is taking 100ml - 110ml every 3 hours. According to his PD, this is OK.

Hi darmae, thanks for the info, i will check out UOB too

Hi Em, me starting work on 21 Nov
My PILs are still staying with me now but they will be moving to my brother-in-law place in Dec. So will be taking my son there in the morning next time. Honestly, I will miss their help with the baby. Now, with them at home, my hubby and I can have some quiet, private time together in the evenings, either taking a short walk or drive or just chatting in the room. At these times, it almost feel like life is back to normal :p

Hmm...it is not very safe to put baby on tummy. So can only do it during afternoon naps when we can check on him often.

I will be going off to do my hair and color next week before I go work. Looking forward to it. Sick of looking like a 'huang lian po' at home, with my fringe clipped up and in pjs :p But very sad to buy clothes leh! My butt size went from a M to a L or even XL *sob sob*

thanks Emily !

me also intend to go shopping 1 wk before i start work in Dec
get myself ready for work. have shed off all my weight liao and can fit into my pre-preg clothes, except look busty. i presume after stopping BF, i should be able to fit liao, as breasts will shrink

hi phoebe, i also let my son sleep on tummy in the afternoon, i will turn his head on different side at each nap so as to even out.

Like Emily, I also have amore membership leh, can check for me if possible to extend longer? My membership # is JP433. Earlier this yr when i discovered am preggie, they told me extension is only for 6mths from my expiry date, which i think is inflexible. My expiry date was Aug'07, plus extension it's only till April next yr! I had a c-sec and couldn't do any high impact class nor hit the gym for some time, according to my gynae it will take abt 6mths to fully heal. Can i request for extension till end of next yr?

I like to attend Cheryl's class, hee hee...the siong siong type! By the way...are you a trainer or..?

pillow, my fren whom jus stop bf-ing recently told me tat the breast will become very soft and saggy... and its quite true lor.. cos my breast is somewat like tat... cos dun bf liao.. only pump and the supply is super low like goin to stop liao...

Peapod, u sure u expanded to L or XL meh? I met you during our early pregnancy days...machiam you are the slimmest one leh...tall & slim! Haiz...me also just from size M to L or XL, depending on cutting, size 30/31 now!!! Upset too...haiz...hope i can slim down further till i go back to work next yr. Somehow is the hip that will take a long while to shrink back into shape leh. Intend to only buy new clothes during the Dec Istean/Robinson sales!

hi darmae, recently hubby and i also switched our medishield plans from INCOME to manulife. They tied up with AVIVA to launch the medishield plan which i think is very good, child covered for free till age 16 or 18yrs old(can't recall now).

hi vicki: may i ask re: doing passport for baby, how did you take baby's photo? At ICA or we can produce the one that we took from our camera? Is there a special price for infant's passport? Where & when are you planning to bring baby for holidays?

Hi Star, just remembered your qn re: the NUK teat, i think the 2 holes are meant for us to modify if the original one is too slow flow for baby. Recently i also tried the premium bottle and i like it. My son have no prob adjusting from the normal bottle to premium one but i think he likes the latter better.
Premium one comes with premium price!!! hee hee. I also using silicon teats for my son, don't know abt boiling method cos' i using sterilizer. I guess to boil for 3mins max should be ok, the same as boiling bottles. Your baby sure is fast drinker, 15mins for 150ml! My son would need to take 30mins at least to finish that amt and am already using medium teat and modified it too. Cannot be too fast slow else baby will choke, so you have to have spare teats to trial & error to modify till it suits him/her.

any of your babies like to turn to one side more than the other?

my girl loves turning her head to the right be it during sleep or while awake.

Mummies who have started work ... how's your pumping at work? How often you all pump? I actually planned to pump 3 times in office ... once at 10.30 am, once at 2.30 pm and another at 6 pm. But these 2 days I manage to only squeeze in 2 pumps (11.30 am and 5 pm) ... think 3 times will be too often (scared boss don't like).

So far only manage to pump out 400ml yesterday and 390ml today in office ... hope it's not a trend of "diminishing returns".

hmm.. i think all bb like to sleep on the rite hor.. my gal also the same.. then have to adjust her head to the left everytime.. but aft awhile she will turn back to the rite...hahaha

my BB is coming to 2 months old this week, she was born on 14 Sep at TMC. got a few qns to ask:

when is it a gd time to bath BB in the morning, whenever i try to bath her, she will cry n ssh ssh. wonder if it is becoz she wants her milk first, but im afraid she will vomit. how long should the interval be if i give her milk b4 bath?

is it also true that we shd not bath BB juz after she wakes up? in case she catch a cold? how long shd we wait?

my BB is also a light sleeper, she will sleep for 10 - 15min, then wakes up crying n she sound like she juz had a bad dream. in the end she only sleeps maybe 1 hr in the day. unless i carry her while she sleeps - then she can sleep longer. i am worried that this will affect her growth n development, coz she is sleepy the whole day but wont sleep...hiaz, anyone had the same problem n managed to make BB sleep longer?

About drinking DOM while BF, I asked Woody, he said better not coz it is no gd that BB feel sleepy all the time. so i stop taking.

my BB stool also become very watery after she had the 6-in-1 injection. coincidentally, i gave her infacol at the same time she had the injection. i was wondering if she had diarrhea n which one causes the watery stool. anyone has the same experience to share? shd i bring Bb to see PD?

cookiemonster: i learnt that bb will not cry that much if she gets her milk before her bath. Feed, burp then bathe.
But the bath must not take too long either otherwise she wails again.

I take DOM every night but i dont breastfeed till morning. BB not sleepy though.I suppose its cos i only take about 10ml.

Hi voice. Yar, sure lar
My butt is my problem area, went up 3 inches after delivery so can't fit into my old pants liao. But I heard that the increase in hip/butt is permanent due to the expansion of our frame to allow baby to pass thru... dunno how true. Tops still not so bad but tight-fitting ones will be tight at the sleeves. But I got no tummy lar... I suppose 'you win some, you lose some.'

Oh, I dunno who my baby looks like leh, doesn't distinctively look like any of us. But think he got my hubby's small eyes and my flat nose hahaa, opposite from what I wished for. My Hubby said "Nmind, boy no need to be handsome one, smart can liao".

By the way, anyone bath baby twice - once in morning and once in evening? Is an evening bath a definite no-no? My baby is a sweaty little boy so I was tempted to bath him before his bed time but MIL said NO.

my girl also sleeps on her right side most of the time.. and when she's awake, she likes to turn her head to the right, and look up.. like looking at her invisible friends :|

shotbyfau: Exactly like my girl! i will turn to look up also like yo what on earth is up there girl?!

but i read that a persistent tilt of the head to one side is not good so i am worried.

peapod: i bathe my bb once in the morning and in the evening i wipe her down.

atinarin: yah, my bb also likes to sleep on her left. she turns back to the left everytime we try to shift her to the right. we found out thru trial and error that we can only turn her to the right when she's in deep REM sleep, otherwise she'll always turn back herself

re insurance: should buy accident policy. very important if your bb is accident prone! it covers pd fees and all. very handy! am going to meet an insurance agent end of this weekend to find out more.

bank acct: i also opened the UOB junior savings account cos it comes with some insurance thing. not sure how the insurance thing works, but if its thrown in free, why not!

amt of milk bb drinks: does your bb drink the same amount of milk all the times of the day or different amounts at different times?

HEy mummies, same here.. my son also slp on the right always look on the right. but i deliberately put the cot mobile toy on his left so he will look on his left sometimes but he never like his cot lor, he love my bed.

Funnie thing, my son eyes also like tat.. just wake up see dlb eye lid on the left eye right eye a bit only... but normal time cannt see at all.

I only bath my son once either morning or afternoon. evening just wash up only.

cookie monster,
My son also have same prob.. i think is insecure.. usually i will use receiving blanket to wrap him up either in yao lan or bed. when in bed if i never wrap, will pat him slp and stay close to him. my hands will be on him. I realize he slp a bit longer.

Tiny,
I use to teach classes before i preggy. but my full time job with Amore is branch manager of Bugis branch. Teach class is only side line... =p
Cheryl is my course mate, we took the exams together with SSC =p ya her class seong lor.. Actually if u C sect like me can exercise after 8-10 wks. but if u nt comfy, can still extend further. no worries i will do it for u.. i gg back to exercise next week le =p

Emily, Cindy just gave birth too! also to a boy =p She shld be back in no time =p I stay PG next time can meet to go classes together.

I will do the extension for u gals. no worries.

BTW, i realize our Date of delivery all very cls. Y dun we consolidate all info maybe like me and Emily, maybe see each other in hospital before =p

peapod: i only bathe her once too cos mum and mil say NO to bathing in the evening. dont know why...catch cold? but then we sleep in air-con room whole night what..same thing right

Hi Angel i only pump the milk as & when i feel full no timing at all, & latching on my mum always sd my milk not enough to full bb so i only breast feed bb at nite cos my gal don't burb so easily & mum don;t like to bottle feed her at nite. i will try ur method tks 4 the advice but most probably when go back work think milk will be less liao

Hi Emily,

Same here, everyday on the dot i just leave office liao :p

In office i will keep viewing my baby pic thru my hand phone hahahaha.....

Irene,
You are working at Suntec? same here i am at tower 3. I did plan to go to suntec nursing room to EBM. Currently i am doing it in my office meeting room.

hi phoebe, tks...will wait for your good news on the extension of our membership.
Before Emily delivered, there is a chart updated by her and wiselyn...after that...nobody update as we're all so caught up with taking care of our babies and nursing.

phoebe, cos' my c-sec wound got infection so it takes longer to heal, during my 1st mth, i had to do weekly review, now next review is next monday.

Tiny, Extention is not a prob. no worries. =p You better take care of ur wound. avoid seafood, and i heard cannot eat Yam and bean stuff..
Do take care.. hope u can join me for classes soon... me still gt 2 more kg to lose to my usual weight

cookie monster,
Baby will cry alot if bathe when hungry...and will vomit if right after a feed, so try to time the bathing in between feeds, at least half an hour after her feed.

I bathe my girl in the late afternoon ard 5pm...coz its so hot in the afternoon...sometimes her hair and back is wet from sweat when she wakes up. If bathe in the morning, afternoon sweat then dirty dirty the whole day and night leh. Some books I've read like the Gina Ford and Tracy Hogg books also recommended bathing in the evening, coz it helps the baby wind down for the day and forms part of the bedtime ritual which helps baby learn that its time to go to sleep.

hahaaa..wiselyn...u so popular eh, goldfishy never met you yet can recognise you, or rather maybe Clara so popular,goldfishy recognise Clara since we pose bb pix here.

Phoebe: waaah, 2more kg to lose only...so envious! Good lah...am sure juggling with work and taking care of bb, you sure be back to your pre-preggie size within a week after you start work.

Yes. I recognise you from the pictures from your blog but I cannot be very very sure. Almost wanted to call out to you but scared paiseh if get wrong person. Were you with another lady in grey and you were carrying Clara and a TMC bag?
Your girl girl very cute.

I am in red. Saw you on level 3. Not sure whether you saw someone "staring" at you.

Goldfishy,

yes, i was there lor with a friend...you still can see clara's face ah? u not alone right? with someone else also?

Cannot remember leh cos we kept switching about.
Hands very suan..
Think so lah.... So do you have any recollection of how I look?

OIC... hmmm.. nvm. Now that I can recognise u, I will call u next time if I see you again.

How did you manage to keep Clara upright? I don't dare to use the sling to carry my bb leh. So I use only hands. Very suan ah!

YA! I stay in Bishan. Just 10 mins walk to J8.
OKIE! We shd meet 1 day!!!!!

Keep me inform when u r going there again
I am most likely going this Thurs morning cos holiday.

goldfishy,

her head quite strong already...so can put her in the carrier...just started using the carrier last sat..so now i confident in bring her out on my own

Hi Shirley,
Yes i'm working in Suntec Tower 4. I find the nursing room at Suntec not bad cos there's a sliding door for u to close it when u r nursing or expressing milk inside & there's a power point some more

I'm very sad & feel so depressed as my boy reject my breast when i try to latch him earlier & keep crying non stop
dunno wat happen to him & he nearly cry until no voice like tat. I wonder is it nipple confusion as we normally feed my EBM thru avent bottles but we've been doing tat since my boy was only a few days old. I told my hubby i feel like crying but he console me & ask me to express out instead of latching my boy
I hope my milk supply won't decrease bcos of tat.