(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

totoro_bb,
Really not easy for you. If you are not adversed to Yao Lan, I suggest you try letting baby use it. I too have a difficult baby and the yaolan saved my life. As for lengthening feeding interval, how abt increasing his per feed intake so that it'll hopefully last longer?

Blueskye,
So heart pain!

Wah bena, your boy sounds "violent" ... haha ... grabbing your clothes.
Mine will just hold on to my bra.

How come your boy drinks so much but weigh only 5.3 kg? 210 ml is alot leh! Mine drinks 160 ml my friend already said alot ... that's why I didn't dare to increase. He only started rejecting milk lately leh ... hopefully it's just a phase. Anyway he was already 6 kg last week so I guess he should weigh more now. 3 days never see him just now saw him I find his arms and legs much more bah bah than when I saw him on Sun (though he didn't drink as much as before).

Bena,
Wow... 150ml to 210 ml... my girl cn only take 120ml.

Blueskye,
Haha, Talk to them... (baby cannot reply)... Talk with them (should be a two way com style) :)

hi ladies, need urgent help.

since monday, left breast feel v sore, a section engorged. tried massaging real hard, pumping frequently, latching as well to clear the lump. tried cold cabbage leaves to relieve the pain.

today, had warm shower while massaging the engorged area and expressing. today is the fourth day already ! the lump still refuse to clear

any more suggestions ? anyone know if i could see my gynae for any form of medication to relieve ? i am scared it would become mastitis coz i came down with fever as well on monday and GP gave me some antibiotics.

Hi <font color="0000ff">atinarin</font>..
I am using this lotion too. I find it a bit sticky, especially after a few hours when my baby sweat.

Agree that it is very sweet smelling....

To mummies out there,
I saw in motherhood website that Pampers Active Baby is having 30% discount, but I'm not sure until when. Do stock up if you r using Pampers.

Hi <font color="0000ff">blueskye</font>..
You r wrong. Baby can communicate with us with their own language.. they may give u a big grin, a chuckle, a cry, kicking with their legs etc....

Dun underestimate them.. hee hee

Oh no bluesky, what a waste! You think maybe your baby Jordan not drinking so much coz different ppl are feeding him? You have 50 bags!!!??! Wah really stocked up well lor. Lucky you have so much milk otherwise it will be more painful to waste the 8 bottles!

Hi Totoro bb,
Babies need to be helped to put to sleep - so you need to figure out a routine you want to continue - whether its carrying/patting, using the pacifier, swaddling, or rocking or using the yao lan. You probably have been carrying and patting her to sleep and she's used to that. So everytime she needs to sleep, she needs you to carry and pat. My girl is like that too. If its time for her nap or she starts to yawn, my routine goes like this - I swaddle her, carry and pat her back till she closes her eyes and starts to breathe slower, then I will put her down on her bed. This usually takes abt 10-15 mins. Sometimes faster if she's really tired. Cannot put her down too soon or she'll start crying again. When you go back to work, make sure you tell whoever is looking after your baby to follow the same routine.

I find that swaddling my girl to sleep helps her to sleep better, she also instinctively knows its bed time and settles down immediately after being swaddled! I read that at this age, its good that we swaddle the baby so they feel more secure.

Also, I read we shouldn't let them 'cry it out' now until they're ard 4 months old. When they cry now its because of a reason - hunger, diaper needs to be changed, needs a change of scene, sleepy, or she's gassy. If its not any of those, she probably just needs a cuddle. If we let them cry, they'll just continue, coz they don't know any other way of communication.

Re using a pacifier, I think its ok to use it sometimes since it comforts them. I think a pacifier would help satisfy her need to suckle. I'm breastfeeding and bottle feeding and I use the pacifier sometimes when nothing else stops her crying. She doesn't have any nipple confusion.

Phoebe,
May i know which branch of Amore u r working?
I also hv the membership at woodland branch. Think expired in June 07,can u help me check whether can i extend my membership too?
My membership no. is WL3534..
Thanks a lot...

Hi Bena,
I'm so happy when i finally latch him successfully last night with his eyes closed
but this morning same thing happen again & i was like half way struggling with my boy when he was crying so loud until i give up

I notice he's very impatient, anxious & suckle very fast when the bottle reach his mouth & can finish his milk in less than 15min. So i wonder is it nipple confusion (used to the bottle) or my milk flow is slow???

I think i'll check with Mrs Wong this Sat when i see her. Hope i can relatch him again as i really dun wan to give up breastfeeding & the bonding between us.

Irene,
Don't give up.. I'm sure you can do it. Maybe you can start latching baby when he needs comfort and when he's not too hungry..then maybe he'll not be so impatient

Ssmummy.. think I might have overfed my babe. But dunno how to restrict him.. he's too hungry and angry when so..
Hard to keep up as my supply is not so much.

Blueskye, ya he is very strong too. Almost dropped him a couple of times when he wrestled with me in my arms.

Wa.. i 1 night never log in i see the thread until my eye pop out =p
Sorry if i miss any question hor...

Magoo, I work in Bugis branch but i can check for u the pkg. no worries =p

atinarin, My son just took 6in1 Hep B is inclusive so no need to go for the 1st mth jab...

blueskye, I understand how u feel.. nvm la.. think in such a way.. u are giving ur bb the best so u rather throw then to cause any infection to ur bb. You are a wonder mum so be happy.. Anyway u have 50 BAGS!!!! tat is alot!!!=p
Btw, ur bb sounds like colic leh.. try giving colic drops from the doc.. might help...

Irene, I think maybe is nipple confusion le.. I believe Mrs wong will be able to help. Dun stress..

bena, 150-210 is alot leh.. maybe can check with ur PD. they will tell u if it is too much for the bb.

Emily, Tiny,
For C section u can start exercise like aerobics or gym from 8-10 weeks onwards, but some exercise that involve abdominals should be avoided like sit up or crutches till later. if u dun feel comfy then check with gynae, My gynae say i can restart anytime le... Maybe start of slow lor.. =p

My PD said the reason why sometime bb eyelids doesnt show is becos of water retention. For my son, he like to slp right side so his right eye dun show double but his left eye show...
As for bb's head, try to turn the bb's head to the other side when he is in deep slp to prevent his head to be flat on 1 side.
Hope this info help =p

I am gg back to work tml and i am already missing my bb... Sob sob

phoebe, i also guessed tat her left eye's double eyelid is so obvious is cos she sleeps too much on her rite liao.. so i'm rite... hahah.. so better start to put her on her left..

Phoebe,
Ya it's alot. My mum says all her children were drinking this much of formula at my baby's age. I think if I don't pump out but latch baby directly he'll probably be drinking even more as he'll only stop when he's satisfied.

I'm still trying to get over my sadness over those discarded EBM ... sigh! I didn't have the heart to do it so asked my hubby to settle it.

Actually this incident affected me quite abit. I somehow feel quite sick of pumping milk now and today I only pump every 6-8 hours instead of my usual 3-4 hours when I am not working.

Hope I can brace myself up again soon!

On the other hand, I weighed my boy again today. He's already 6.4 kg as of 9 weeks now. His arms now look like a lotus root and I think he's on his way to become a Michelin baby soon.

Blueskye,
get over it soon. :)

Phoebe,
How's the package like? Is it ex??

Bena,
My pd says that for 6 wks old... it's about 120ml, up to about 150ml. My girl is taking in only 100ml, but she'll cry for milk every 2 hours- 2 1/2 hours. Been trying to train her to take 120ml so that only need to feed her 3 hourly.

ssmummy,
Maybe you can delay giving your baby a feed by using a pacifier for a while when she cries? Weird - my PD says at 6 weeks, baby should be taking abt 90ml..

Good morning, everyone.
Finally it's friday today!! YEAH can't wait for 6pm to arrive

Hope everyone had a great day today & enjoy the weekends ahead cheers

Hi Bena & Phoebe,
I'm glad tat i managed to latch my boy for a while last night though he's not hungry. Hope this will continue...

good morning mummies,

check wif you... do u hv 'super-huge' appetite when breastfeeding? i nv eaten so much in my life or when i was pregnant.. always need 2 servings of rice and gets hungry very easily.. normal or not ah? at tis rate, dun thk i can shed the excess post natal weight leh.. still hv 6 kg to go... very sian.

waah Bena,

your boy looked so fit leh!!! looks big for a 7 weeks bb

hw to get the right amount? my gal 9 weeks now. but only taking 100ml.. enuff for 3 hrly interval leh. but i suspect if direct latch she taking more cos interval longer. but i duno hw much

Seems like its quite quiet these 2 days... Today Metro and OG r having 20% sales storewide.. Going down for shopping later... wan to buy some toys for my son

Hi <font color="0000ff">Bena</font>,
I love that "super contented" look of ur son after his feeding! Wow, he must have had a full stomach & a good burp!
Can send this photo for baby contest leh..

For those mummies who r confuse abt how much they shld give their BBs.....got tis info fr Mrs Wong BB book...

0-1 wks--> 30-60mil --> 7-8 feeds per day

1-2 wks--> 60-90mil --> 6-7 feeds per day

2-4 wks--> 90-120mil --> 5-6 feeds per day

1-2 mths--> 120-150mil --> 5 feeds per day

2-3 mths--> 180mil --> 5 feeds per day

3-4 mths--> 210mil --> 5 feeds per day

4-5 mths--> 210mil --> 4 feeds per day

5-6 mths--> 240mil --> 4 feeds per day

above 6 mths--> 240mil --> 3 feeds per day

I use tis as a guide for my gal feeding... hope tis help...

phoebe,
Thanks for ur help..
Amore is gg to hv another branch at Thomson plaza huh?? Good.. then i can go there b4 go n fetch my girl n boy..

Bena,
I like ur bb look.. hee..

Emily: i find the lotion is fine, not sticky leh.

anyone mixing BF and FM?
Is it ok to BF then give Fm or is the combination not too good?

Hi Atinarin,
Its ok to mix FM and BM...anyway go into the stomach mixed up is the same lor. I was asking my PD how to introduce FM to my girl next time, so he say sometimes baby will not like FM straight away coz it tastes different, so must mix first. He suggested first mix like 3/4 BM and 1/4 FM in a bottle for the feed...then if she's ok then next day mix 1/2 bottle FM and 1/2 BM. Then next day 3/4 FM and 1/4 BM, then slowly eliminate the BM altogether and give the full bottle of FM.

I dunno izzit ok to mix BF n FM....I did tat sometimes if my BF is nt enough...seem okie so far... ;p Sometimes oso give BM 1st then continue wif FM

Hey you gals take photos with flash on or off? Safe for the little ones' eyes?

I mix Fm and BM int he sense that i try to BF first then my supply so pathetic right so i then give her FM.

I give my bb BM first followed by FM. Usually, all ready liao and by my side liao... so once BM finish liao... i just pop the bottle out of his mth immediately and pop in another... so as to try to continue the flow of milk as smooth as possible.

Think my bb bullying me!! *sigh*. With his dad, he can tahan 4hrs feed drinking 160ml each time. With me, he can only tahan 2 hrs feed with 110ml.

Me waiting for 6pm...

Once hb back from work, we going shopping with bb. Want to drop by Metro Paragaon (for the 20% sale) n Taka.

Anyone going there tonite? Haha!! If yes, i try to look out for ladies with bb....

pheobe,

my sis use to work in the Bugis branch many years ago. Dono if u know her,... Her name is Janice..

I started my 'strenous' exercise yesterdae. After 1 yr never cycle, went to East coast and cycle the whole east coast non stop for 2 hours and nw having leg pain....Then after tat bowling and hand pain aso... Haha...

My baby now 11 weeks drink at 120ml for 8 feeds.. Giv her more she cannot finish.,..san nao jin..i aso wana stretch to make it 5 feeds aso..

puppygal,
u went exercise, then ur bb who look after?
How u wish i can be like u.. go execise for a long time..
Now i want to do anything also need to plan very long.. cos i not only hv ONE but TWO!! Sian...

HI Phoebe,

Thanks, my experience with my bb is that she does not like being swaddled, she will struggle to free her hands and end up crying if she can't. Hiaz, will have to carry her till she fell asleep. I also read books on sleep training, but somehow, duno how to apply the training. Luckily that happens in the day, at nite she can sleep better.

HI ANgel,

I agree, better let BB have her feed first before bathing. My CL has been bathing her at around 7-8am, so I tried to follow her and give BB a bath at that timing. Now I learnt to follow BB feeding schedule and decide to bathe before feed (if it is still about half an hour away) or about 45min after her feed.

I have not started giving BB a night bath yet, still thinking when I should start. Night bath is part of the sleep routine though, from the books I read. I give my girl a wipe at ard 6-7pm. But, same problem, I juz start to wipe her face only, she cry liao. Unless her daddy is around to play with her and distract her, if not she will cry through the whole thing. *><* headache...

Sale: Robinsons is also having 20% sale, anyone going? I am going to see if there are toys for my girl.