(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

then its a dilema for me lor... although she's drinkin alot at 200-240mls.. but she's only drinkin like 4 feeds per day... then if i dun die die give her 4 feeds then it will only be like 600-720mls per day... then she's also startin to reject milk lor... then scared tat she's not takin enuff... although she's on solids liao, but its not enuff lor... aaaaahhhhhhhhgggggg.... bena... wat to do?!?!?!?!

read somewhere on feeding bb, thought its good and make sense to mummies (like me ) fretting about bb not tkg enough.

its basic instinct for babies to make known when they are hungry or full. they will show signs when they are full and don't wish to take in more. so we should NOT force feed them when they do not wish to take more. our job is to provide the most nutritious food. so to remember we are the food provider, not the food police ! heehee guilty guilty

If you are interested in the Shicida Class, you can check out this TV program for an introduction of it.

<font color="ff0000">My Perfect Child</font>
Ch 5
10 March 08 (Monday)
7:30pm

I heard that the number of students are growing and you need to place $300 deposit to secure a place there.. wow!

shicida is really expensive, wonder if its really useful..? hmm..
some of my colleagues have send their babies there...

Mummies who got the ice cube trays,
are the lids able to snap shut, eg, no water can flow out if held upide down?
I got an ice cube tray yesterday, with the lid, but the lid juz loosely covers nia.

Pinkyj,
Aiyo.. I also dunno leh.. I understand your dilema.. we as mummies always worry our babies are not taking enough. Is she able to finish 240ml per feed? Actually even if she can't I think it's alrite bah since 600-720ml is still within the minimum 600ml Angel mentioned?

Faith seriously look bigger than Zac the last time I saw her lor.

Mummyfaith,
Actually I also still have a white bleb permanently on my nipple, though I think it's cleared (ie I can see milk coming out from that bleb). But it reminds me to massage at every feed because it is the remant of a blocked duct which gave me extreme pain, cost me S$300+ and made me lose 2kg. Every now and then, I feel that that duct is hard when I latch Zac (machiam milk is stuck there) and I'll keep massaging and massaging towards the nipple while he suckle.. Sometimes really "cheu very sng" and really very tiring. If you latch Faith lying down, be careful. Sometimes milk is not emptied properly when we nurse lying down. Gotta alternate positions so that the milk ducts are drained evenly..

bena,

i started her 240mls think on mon... she has been finishin until y'day.. leave abt 30-50mls.. most of the time i'll make sure she'll finish her bot... so if i drop 1 feed by increasin the amt she takes it will be the same amt tat she's drinkin when she's on 180mls.. so shld be alrite hor....

Bena,
Yay! Play date is still on!
What's wrong with ZAC? Must tell him alot of girls coming to see him then he will get better!!!
Heehee...how come all the girls going only huh?

Blue, Em, can you make it for the play date? Come and balance up the sexes please!!

Bena, my hubby not coming coz he's overseas but I will be there with my helper.

Pinky,
Wah your Faith has been ahead of the feeding game since she was born!!! She had 4 feeds/day since 1 month old if I can remember correctly, while most babies were taking 8 feeds/day or more!! Actually 3 feeds is the ultimate goal lor...so if faith can achieve that now and still take the minimum of 600ml it will be SUPERB won't it!! Why not? Maybe you wanna check with your PD to be safe

Re flash cards,
Me bad mummy stopped flashing liao...lazy to do it. I think partly because Jade also got bored with it...she'd turn away or would rather look at her feet. Planning to try again soon.

Want to see "xiao he shang" then why not you bring Jade come pay a visit to him some day? You all said my house alot of toys right? Then come and play lah! Haha!

HI all mummies,
wah... mummies here all very happening, few days only, and i missed out on a lot... took me quite some time to follow up...
Anyway, where's the gathering? my audrey 6 months old can come? but gal also leh...
pinkyj, justme and mummyfaith,
my gal don't like to nurse lying down.... haha... she like to finish her milk and then go back to sleep on her own. so far, my gal has shown no signs of seperation anxiety though. she's very happy to go to places with lots of ppl and see lots of actvities. she takes a while to warm up to you, ie, will just look at you until ok already then smile. but passing her ard to be carried so far ok, unlike my elder daughter. clingy to the T. :T

yoki. really... i finally found some one who's bb is born on the same day as Ryann. cos the labour rooms in MA was full when i registered myself. =p

Blue,
dun so stress ok.. i also same as you gg thru a hard time... work is bad.. lots of work to do piling on my in tray yet i have to be extra careful becos there are those 'small people' in my company who is very nosey.. i didnt slp at all on mon and tues as ryann is so cranky and refuse to slp keep crying .. nothing can pacify him... i dance and carry him, he slept but the moment i put him on his bed he woke up crying and put him in the stroller drive him around the hse still refuse slp.but cannot take leave from work so still go to work like zombie. you should be thankful that your hubby is still very supportive, mine totally dun care at all.. not even a word of concern knowingly that i didnt slp at all. becos of this gt so upset and cry while during msn with vone. So lets just rejoice with what we have and give thanks to what we dun have cos these thing happen to make us a stronger person. we will always give you the support you need here =p Jia you.

Bena, my leave not approve leh.. sorry cannot join you all le... looks like my balance 3rd month maternity leave maybe no chance to clear le.. forfeiting soon

pinkyjac, your faith can finish 240ml at 1 go!!!!!feeding ryann 150 already need to split to 2-3 times and still cannot finish!! still an angel bb to me compare to ryann... recently reject milk...

ytd i tested on ryann to see if he is ready for solids that's why reject milk. plan failed.. he give the 'no nice face' he still doesnt open his mouth and reach out for food. so i guess there is a reason behind the rejecting milk.. yet to find out why. and Ryann dun like to be fed milk in our arms recently.. like to be fed on the bouncer or bed supported with pillow in lying position. anyone encounter this??

for those mummies who can donate milk to the bb at nuh, the mummy currently have enough milk ss as she power pumping and drink papaya soup.. Thanks for all the offers.. she will inform me if she still needs them.. thanks so much.

wa. the postings here like flying one leh. i read every day aso find it tough to catch up. =P

ben can flip liao! so happy! he flip machiam like nobody's business since 2 days ago. aso glad that his rgurgitation is getting better. was so worried if he flips, then er a lot of ni how. but now, very happy!!!!! took some videos and pic. 4 months and 27 days to flip. lol. my mom say slow liao. then now she say see he teething how. aiyoh! so many milestones de. now i so scared he teething very challenging. anyone share share?

Hi Bena &amp; Angel..
I cant find the previous post on the timing of the play date. Can you let me know?

I would love to meet up with all the lovely mummies here + cute babies..

Count me out for the soup cos oredi stopped BF for many months...

Thanks to Bena for organising this.

Hi Ben Mum,
Once they noe how to flip, they will flip everywhere - on the bed, pram, bouncer n even car seat!

Yesterday evening, HB fetched Edison from infant care and then came to my office.. on the way, Edison was trying to flip on the car seat &amp; wan to get out.. HB was angry n scolded him, then buckle the seat belt so that he cannot move.. Then Edison got angry, showed him his sour face n' turned away from HB.. He looked at the scenery outside the car window n then fall asleep...

Funnie, imagine a 5 months old baby can get angry too and turn his face away!

hi bena, got ur email + blk no. ya confirmed me + hubby + bb (jia hui- gal). see u 2mr at 3 tks for organizing it. yes i need the soup cos supply low low very jia liat.

intend to cook the soup myself too 2mr, so very kia su, will hv twice 2mr to boost up the ss.

emily: lol, its funny to see baby exhibits such "adult" traits hor!

ben mum: im looking forward to wormy flipping too though from here, can see a lot of headache involved too when they start to flip hee...

phoebe: why cant u clear leave!? ur 3rd mth maternity leave balance is ur entitlement should try to clear as much as possible to accom ryann?

dont be sad over ur hubby.. have a good talk with him or mayb let him take care of ryann alone sometimes so he ll know ur situatioN!

I m an avid reader of this thread and I got a lot of useful info from all your comments

I never post comments though...but I wish to get some comments from you ladies about feeding solids...

My baby gal (born 29 Sept) is 5 mths old now. she's a FM baby since two mths old..My mum has started feeding her solids since last week..

What I meant by solids is : porridge with bits of spinach,carrot, pumpkin, cod fish and meat!...she use the slow cooker and cook them them until very soft and gluey..she will only fish out the meat before feeding her...

She has been having this type of porridge for a week now, 2 times a day (lunch and dinner) and everytime she eats about half a bowl..of coz, my mum gave her lots of water during feeding..

She still gets hungry 3 or 4 hrs after her solid meal and we will feed her milk...

Her poo looks ok..only slightly harder than normal...

But after reading so many posts, I m a bit worried that my gal is overfed or fed with 'adult' solid too early...

Shall I ask my mum to stop adding so much stuff in the porridge? Or feed her less?

Hi epipsy,
Its inevitable or difficult to discourage our mums or older generation care takers from giving our bb solid food before the appropriate age.
Perhaps you would like to visit this site. www.kellymom.com.
It has good insights on introducing solids to young infants. Actually many organizations backed by numerous researches and proven studies advise solid food to babies only after 6 months of age.

alamak,.. sarah almost fell out of bed TWICE this morning when i was brushing my teeth!... I shrieked out and then only my hubby managed to grab those chubby legs... head first lei!! SCARY...

Emily ur hubby very gung ho le bring Edison out alone , drive to come fetch u from work. So far.. my hubby dare not drive alone with charlene beside him.. he scared charlene gets cranky, cried and he loses his concentration

Phoebe i know how bad the feelings is guys are like that very insensitive and buay zhi tong one .... actually i feel that mummies always need to do more for our babies one lor that seems to be the case most of the time but i do see men who get out extremely early to take care of their babies on weekend just to let their wives sleep longer.. so sweet right

So busy these days no time to read all the posts above..

Was pissed off with one of my colleagues who just went on 3 days leave without informing me!! No time to mentally prepare myself to cover her loadwork!! Urgh!

Hi low family..
Yeah, its not easy to drive alone with a baby.. What you can do, buy some toys that you can hang around the car seat... My HB put the car seat beside him, so that he can talk to Edison while he is driving.. Put some toys for him to look at &amp; play with...

There will be times when he will get cranky too.. That's what happened yesterday.. But most of the time, he is OKAY.. cos he enjoys looking at the scenery &amp; suck his own thumb... Anyway, the journey from home (Sengkang) to my office (Serangoon) takes ~15 mins oni..

justme: yah u scare us! cannot leave her unattended on bed now..can try putting pillows ard her?

eipsy: yah solids best introduced later from 6 mths onwards if ur baby still taking milk well.. so far the food u mention is still okie for first food to baby except for fish n meat. better to leave this to 8 mths n later. rice cereals is also better compared to rice grains (ir porriage)

eipsy, yup i think you should. reduce the porridge, and up the milk, since bb only 5 mths... milk should still be the main source of nutrition....

myinlaws also old school of thought on traditional porridge. so bought the First Foods book to share with them. in the book, it explained why traditional porridge is not as nutritious although we may buy very expensive good quality ingredients. reason being, the foods are being cooked for very long hours, nutrients greatly reduced already by the cooking. it worked well for my inlaws, instead of just telling them No, but not explaining why.

anyway, i am reserving porridge to probably 8-9 mths stage. gonna start rice cereals this wk or next. then slowly move on the fruit / veg purees. can't wait

pillow: my plan is exactly like yours! only will let baby start tasting food abit in his 6th mth.. think wil start with rice cereal + fruits+vege purees when he 6-8 mths old n intro porriage n meat only when he 9 mths old.

Hi Bena,
Thanks. I am a SAHM.

Now I am facing a dilema as whether to send my boy to infant care or get a maid, plannig to work soon. But I'm also scared of leaving my son alone with maid. My mum is working, MIL is taking care of her daughter's new born.

Anyone here leave the bb alone with maid? Though my friend wants to transfer the maid to me, as her mum always come around to help, but i'm still scared, esp w recent video of maid abusing bb.

Wish to hear the views fr you. Thanks.

Baby_Doll,

for me i think infant care would be a good choice...a few bb here are in infant care and they are doing well...my baby clara is also in infant care

my boy did experience a period of "milk strike", take only 3oz few wks back (around 4mths period). that leaves me thkg whether is i should consider introducing cereals earlier. but from asking around, it seems to be a phase where babies are more alert , they get distracted , refusing milk, etc. asked PD, whether to start earlier. she is more of the extreme type, say NO firmly. his weight gain good, stick to what i am doing.

true enough,phase over. since last wk, back to norm liao
feeding on his milk regularly.

ben mum,
congrats on ben flipping! now u have to be watchful where u place him cos he will be flipping everywhere. faith now super expert in flipping, can flip left right then flip back to lie on her back then also like to turn 360degree on her tummy and recently attempting to crawl liao. so far she can manage a few tiny steps already, even the bumper mat seems too small for her now cos she tends to flip out of the mat also!

bena,
tmr only faith and i will be going over, hubby need to work. tks for your open house, so excited to see you n zac and the rest of the mummies n babies!

re: solids
faith is now 5mths 1wk but have not intro cereal yet. hubby insist i shd wait till 6mths zhun zhun and anyway faith is still drinking BM well so no hurry yet. but looking at what some of you mummies have done to feed solid to your babies makes me nervous leh...seems like a lot of work. i think me lazy mummy will only give her rice cereal for start, vege/fruit puree later bah. nvm, tmr can consult angel the weaning expert liao

baby doll: i strictly believe that infantcare is better than maid alone. it s okie if there's another adult ard during the day to monitor .

Thanks for your advice!

Will explain to my mum..if she still insist, will suggest to her to give my gal just rice cereal mixed with milk or fruit/ vege puree instead...

Guess we are too excited to let her try everything ;)

introducing new foods

really want to be there to see my bb's expression tasting new foods... haiz. but i have to work.... does it mean i can only feed him during weekends ? sigh..... by the time i get back home during weekdays, already 7+-8pm already.

anyone feel the same way ?

My bb is turning 6mths in 3 days time. I ve started him w rice cereals, carrot &amp; pumpkin. He seems to like pumpkin more.
but hor, he starts to ve rashes around his cheek

1272342.jpg

Is it ok to start baby off with brown rice?

You know the one at NTUC in a cylindrical container?

I'm totally stoning out after a visit tothe Zoo with the kids yesterday...thiswork day will not end soon enough for me.

Hi Angel,

I tried to feed Zorian BM ist b4 using remaining for cereal as what you've suggested but he simply refuses to drink.

Zorian is still waking up for 1 feed in the night ard 3-4am but after 5am, he'll start to wake up intermittenly with eyes actually not really open and it really disturbs my sleep. Anyone facing the same problem? I wonder why? He tends to perspire during sleep and his pillow can get quite wet.. anyone's bb also like that? *Gee..