(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

lol
zz
your red alert was e 1st thing tat caught my eye! tot sthg happened!
.. gd tip - going to buy it later this evening

re: self feeding

does everyone's toddler self feed already? mine still depends on adult to feed leh
if she is given bowl of food to eat herself she will play wth food and flick bit ard! dun even think abt letting her wrk on noodles & soup herslf. cant imagine e mess

rc_cola
my sis is also preggers now in fact i tink she is abt 1.5 mths before me so my feeling is mom alrdy gearing to help her more bec its her first but my 2nd. e assumption is more experience so need less help. so confinement is touchy issue. still tink good reliable confinement nanny may be e best option for me now lor

an_gal, zz
both yr tummies look gd but an-gal, dun know if it is your blouse yr tummy lked a lil bigger than zz's. mine is early days yet so nothing to see except leftover pouch fr #1 still *lol*

Tek Koh

Meg is self-feeding herself.. but yeah sometimes she messed it up.. coz we gave her 2 bowls – 1 rice + vege (dry) and 1 bowl of soup..
On good days, she will scope the scope and wet her rice up bit by bit, eat by bit by bit.. on her messing up days, she will pour the soup to the rice bowl.. and pour to and fro 1 bowl to another.. but she can finish everything up averagely about 15 mins..

Normally dinner time, Meg and I eat together in the dining room.. when I finish mine, she will finish hers.. save our times :p

I have to tell you mess is expected! (for my Meg).. I know last time sil’s daug never messed things up.. hehe

Tek Koh
Congrats.
My boy can self feeding too. His self feeding pattern is similiar to Cola's Meg. Initially can be quite messy. But now getting better.

tek koh

my boy also can self feed...although when he is bad mood he wants to be fed..

for soup, he will not scope up using his spoon, he will take the whole bowl and drink...copy my hubby...i will hold a tissue at his chin in case he spill himself...but the luckily he knows how to control the tilting so no mess

maybe u have to keep telling her that is not the way to eat..ask her to see how u eat so they can imitate.
dun worry abt the mess, she have to start somewhere...just clean it up..not a big issue
be firm but dun scold that what she did is wrong.
its not going to be a 1 day or 1 week thing..so be patient

or u try to let her hold a spoon for her to self feed while u feed her with another spoon..of cos the mess will still be there but at least she can try to eat herself and yet nt drag the feeding time too long

Choco..

Yes, i also started off with meg holding one spoon and me another spoon..

tekKoh

Try that method.. and prepare a piece of tissue/wet cloth for her. tell her if the soup drips onto her chin, wipe it.. if her hands are dirty, wipe it.. in that way, they will learn to keep themselves clean while eating..

talking abt noodle

i have not let ze used fork to eat cos worry he will anyhow poke he face

till now i still cut up into small peices to eat with spoon

choco,

i guess plastics fork should be quite ok..those ikea type...Clara is using Ikea type of fork, but she prefers her hands and if she can grab hold of one, she will want to use chopsticks

choco,

she is trying to feed herself using the chopstick, but not successful..so the easiest way for her is to use hands.....haha..she is always full of different kind of stunts

Wise,
I think Clara is still neater kakaka.. Ike eats his nooddle chopped in short string abt 3 inches and he will eat using hand too.. he tried chopstick but of course failed.. do you think those training chopstick will help?

Ike uses forks for other food, but sometimes whne too hungry, he will take with fork then take from fork using hand hahaahah..

Nining,

was thinking of training chopsticks for Clara, but daddy says no...he says looks like so difficult to use....i might as well let her us the normal chopsticks...haha...

Clara when hungry everything also uses hands....haha

i have called the distributior BID trading

leave ur contact with them and they will call once the protector is in next week.

will have to go to baby hyper store to collect together with the stroller

wow, most todds are already self feeding. tink better not let her be fed anymore! imagine now being fed by adult she takes 1 hour to eat. if feed herslf duno if will be longer or shorter ..

rc_cola
i hve alwys admired how meg is quite indpt quite early on. but to finish her food when the adult is done. its like my gold standard i'd like to achieve, if possible
that is fantastic!

choco
u know wat? e funny thing is she has been showing signs she has been ready to self feed bec she takes spoons to spoon food into her mouth BUT bec everytime i find she plays more than she eats so i hve not let her self feed in e end & left it as adult to feed.

also my worry is i suspect she'll only pick food she wants to eat and that wld be prob only RICE! then duno if will become malnutritioned in long run? sigh ..

coolzy
thks for congrats
v happy too
how long did yr boy take to progress from messy to not-messy stage? i m just wondering how long & whether she will be in time for prenursery self feeding come Jan, if we start now!

wiselyn
thank you for your link, will read & take notes

nining
i tink training chopsticks too advance for our little ones at this stage, u tink? funny thing is i wonder, how did i use chopsticks last time? cant even rem how i started when i was young? i just know when i was little dun even know training chopsticks exists!

have u let ike try any sort of spice alrdy? i might also copycat the short noodles with fork technique

cola

there are not recalling the stroller from singapore.
they will issue the hingh protector for free.

but have to go to kakibukit collect lor

tek koh

ur ger like rice ah?? my boy will only pick the 'liao' to eat lor...skip the rice...which explains y he is not putting on weight...faintz

maybe u try to let her feed herself, if she only pick rice, then u use another spoon to feed her the 'liao'...or u help her scope the liao and rice into her spoon

tek_koh,

the link is actually my blog, showing u how Clara eats her food....just to assure you that it is okay for them to be messy.....

Tek Koh

It’s very normal for your girl to behave like that.. at initial stage, of course, Meg messed up more than she ate! Guess this takes time.. sometimes she will just mess around, and then end up I would have to bribe by spoon-feed her coz the food has got something which she doesn’t fancy.. It does happen occasionally..

I have started my training for sooooooo long… I guess since she was about 16 mths or so.. and now she is almost 27 mths that she can eat pretty fast and finish all the things.. I guess u just need to be patient.. they learn slowly, its not a day or a week or a month thing..

She loves eating mian xian, she can finish it within 5 mins for a bowl full of mian xian, and normally she will have 2 bowls of it hehe..
She also loves poh pia vege, MIL sometimes cooks that, so Meg will have a bowl of poh pia vege and some rice.. she will eat everything cleanly hahaha..
They are still very young, so do be patient to see the result..

gd idea choco .. yah she is the nasiqueen!

rc_cola
i got a mommy selling me her preloved newborn to toddler rocker for $40
its a bit early but its quite a gd price so i'll prob pickup e rocker & let #1 sit on it 1st .. tks for your recommendations!

Tek Koh

Just to share with you, if I feed her, my patience level is only up to 15 mins max! if she kept playing around I will just keep away her food, and told her THAT’S IT FOR TODAY! NO MORE FOOD FOR YOU. she will succumb to this method, and then guai guai finish all.. sometimes this wont work too, coz she simply doesn’t want to eat, then so be it.. if she doesn’t eat rice, she can only drink milk, no more snacks for the day..

If she eats rice, drinks milk, then we can accommodate her request of having snacks, candies or ice cream..

Tek koh

Yes it is a good buy.. actually mine is even better deal, i got a bn sealed in the box at S$75! hahaha from a mummy in forum :p outside is selling at least 139.90..

Choco

Ic ic.. it's very troublesome for me to go kaki bukit, so forget it.. but howcome the hinges can amputate baby's finger? the parents fold and unfold the stroller with the baby so near to it?
Kinda non-logical to me..

just managed to scroll up

Snnowy: cute cute pictures!!! but hoor, u should cover up the private parts in internet dunno who see hehehehe..

An_gal,
now tummy is easier to expand maaah, like a used balloon.. now I eat too much also can be seen like 5 month preggie kakakakaak.. hoepless.. should do more exercise to tighten it up..

Wise/Tek koh,
ya I think so training chopstick maybe tricky ya.. I see it also dunno how to use.. I think they will learn once their motor coordination is better

Tek koh,
Ike has been eating our food since he was like 15 or 16 months as full meal, not just try.. when we go out to resto he eats resto food such as udon or other simple dishes. He will finish 1 cup of chawanmushi too.. Now he is growing appetite for chilli!! but not so garang lah, just bit here and there eat spicy food.. then drink lots of water hahaahah..

Re: fork

I also don’t let meg use fork.. that day she uses her masak-masak plastic fork and chop it onto baby’s giant tight! And she said “Ah ma.. eat KFC..”
Luckily it is not sharp nor big..

tekkoh,
i oso dono y my tummy so big for #2..

btw, my son is nasi lover too.. he don like to eat "liao" 1.. he's oso another 1 who cant really self feed yet.. we can shake hands already...

cola

ya lor,according to the news, in US already got 12 children fingers kana amputated...

it happens when unfold the stroller, there is a 'bracket' at the side where it will 'lock' the stroller in place..
so those kids actually put their finger at the 'bracket', so when the parent step on the behind metal bar to lock it, their finger also got 'lock' together with the stroller

Cola,
I think it's common sense to make sure children are not touching the stroller when its being folded or opened, but when rushing we can forget specially if 1 mommy handling 2 rascals.. I think this is when accident bounds to happen..

rc_cola
yah $75 for brand new is really gd deal
most in forum are asking $100 brand new ..

nining
lol, at least ike tries chilli. he is quite adventurous in trying new food - that's very gd!

an_gal
i agree with nining. after having #1, my tummy has never been e same. it looks best in the morns when i get up. then by dinner time, after dinner, i also can look 5 mths preg! esp if i "just let it loose" - its quite terrible. sometimes i look at those slim mommies whom have several children and wonder wat is their secret? even my waist has sort of gone permanently coarser!

An_gal/ Tek koh,
Ike is noodle lover: spaghetti, udon, ramen, mee sua, whatever! as long as noodle he will eat!

Tek koh,
ya I think he is experimenting himself, he used to say pedas yuck.. (cos that's how I described it to him so he didnt ask to try my spicy food) and he cried when I forgot my spoon had touched chilli and I fed him with it hahahaha.. but lately, since few weeks ago, he has been wanting to get a bit of fried noodle from my plate (which has been mixed with chilly) and refused his fried noodle.. so I let him had a string, then he quickly ate and grabbed his water bottle , drank a lot then asked for more of my nooddle hahahahaa.. after few bites he then scratched his tongue said pedas pedas kakakakakaka..

wiselyn,
i m impressed by clara using the chopsticks to bring up her noodles....cool!

nining,
my girl loves noodles too....as long as itz long, she would love it.

at the mrt met this gentleman who could not confirm I am preg or nt but he keep looking at me. Until I rub my tummy then he stand up. Keke.

I took a pic of me at 16 wks using iPhone but cannot upload here

zz

thanks...looks fat lor...like not obvious preggy like that

i already got constipation liao..sometimes poo poo got blood stain on the toilet paper..so worried i will get piles...

an_gal

i remember last time, my doc also got prescibe lei..called obimin...does not matter i got anemic or not

but i not yet start...i think from 5th month...