(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

coolzy,
congrate! Aston is so cute. I can't wait to see my bb!

Me having diarrhea since last night. Went to see my gynae this morning. He was so cute to tell me: No milk, no curry and no indian rojak!

About maid stealing, my last maid done that also...when they steal they are very clever, I try to search her stuff secretly after my MIL complain to me that she have been loosing coins in her pocket very frequently...end up I found lots of coins in 1 of her pouches...I never confront her, I check with the agent if they have given her any $$ before she was transfer over to me, the agent told me "0"... so obviously she did steal lah...indirectly I told the maid that my sis's maid steal and end up got send back to agent...guess what, my maid felt guilty and try to clear things up with me, she never own up lah...but she ask me to check her things...so indirectly she is trying to own up, when I ask her how come she hv so many coins, she told me is the balance pay she got from previous employee, I told her off that if she steal the god will know it...and she started crying, I ask her why and she jz refuse to speak up, this shows that she is being guilty liao....from there on, I told my MIL to be more careful with all her valuables, and I keep all her coins up and stop her from further stealing...I keep her cos she can cook, do housework and take care of my boy well....

Its true that, it all depends on luck when come to hiring a maid lor...

Coolzy,

Congrats, take care of yrself ok?? Have more rest as much as possible, its not easy with another baby. Aston is so cute, kiss him for me...muak...

choco
have to check the store and see if they have the hello kitty egg shaper thing i saw on my fren's fb. so cute. she said it was from a shop in chinatown, maybe it's the same one.

ade,
wahlao so drama ya ur maid.. ya in that case u keep all her coins so u know if there is more missing if really she won't admit she steals , difficult leeh..

Jang,
Thanks... but I think Chloe might be too shy to go on stage.

Nining,
Ya.. in fact I am more upset that she is smart to plan than taking the money. I used to think that as long as we are good to them, we wouldn't encounter any problems but sad to say reality are not like tat after experiencing it myself the past 2yrs.

An_gal,
Yalor... especially I can't probably stay at home 24/7 or ask maid to go out with me so often. Sianz...

Cola,
Better dun see the clip... I cried after watching it and I wonder how can a human being do such a thing to a child. I wish she'll be treated the same way and hang to death.

Tiny,
Thanks for the info. Will check it out from Singtel.

For those with maids:
May I ask what are the things that you provide for your maid other than the necessities?
For my current one, her monthly salary $360 and I provide her EVERYTHING which she requested eg toiletries, haircut, sanitary pads, phone calls home, postage stamps.

miaon
previously i bought the ricos from bp. now found a wholesale pl that sells it but haven't called them to see if they will sell to public. only problem is they sell in bulk so definitely must find people to share. the big bag i bought from bp lasted a long time (freeze well, can keep 6m), this place sell that same bag x 4 but of course cheaper lah. for a lot more cheese, it is around $30.

you want to try the taste, buy from 7-11 to try. exactly the same one. in fact the bag is for use with those kind of machine.

xman
not sure about the GV one, havent been to cinema for a very long time. like i mentioned to miaon, you can try the 7-11 one and see if that's the same one as GV and if you like it.

jete

should be the same store.

i have bought the hello kitty egg mould.
can't remember did i order pooh egg mould. but i did order pooh rice mould.

choco
i think the kids learn at diff speed, all are diff. P learn to tell colors around 13m but she didn't understand those are "colors". only 2m ago the she understand what are colors.

coolzy, you have a handsome boy!!

Loh, Woody is so humorous.

Toiletries for Maid

I provide everything for this maid but next month onwards she is drawing full salary, i will ask her to buy her own toiletries. Reason being so that they will feel the pinch of having to pay their own and won't anyhow mis-use the things we provide.

ythanhn,
I learn dealing with maids from my mom kekekeke.. so I know ppl are ppl, we can treat them nice, if they're thieves they're gonna steal anyway, we can't make them be not thieves. But that doesnt mean we should go low and be mean too, what's the point.. Heck even country leaders, not hungry, not in debts still can steal from own ppl.. even charity CEO can also steal..

my maid's pay is 400 now and I gave her $70 allowances monthly on top of that, $50 for her personal needs such as phone calls stamps, toiletteries, pads etc, and $20 for her transport to her sunday classes, she is taking classes at indonesian embassy. and I follow my mom's houserule lah re benefits, 13th month salary plus return ticket home plus angpaos on bday and hari raya.. also 2 weeks paid leave. on top of those we give her sundays off cos we sunday also jsut wanna be with family..

Loh
hahaah I bet now lots of ppl avoiding indian rujak hooor..
really I wonder what cause the probs? 2 death plus 1 misscarriage already.. sounds way more serious than food gone bad?? hope not someone try sabotage that stall and put some chemicals, that will be really terrible..

Anyone has idea where I can rent/loan Ergo carrier (if any) for a few days? It can carry up to 15kg right? Going to cruise next mth w/o Hubby so think it might be useful when going for land tours.

Tiny,
computer class every other week, and senior high school equivalent classes every week.. she wanna take diploma in culinary or hotel management when going back so need to pass high school..

Nining,
I think your maid should be very happy having an employer like you.

Jete,
Your memory sure is very good, that Crystal Jade thingy happened more than 6mths ago and tat was my #2 maid.

Coolzy,
Congrats... handsome boy!

zhuzhu/ytanhn,
I think vice versa leeeh.. I only gave her allowance to go for her school cos she performs her job well.. its like a pay raise in different form, in a way that benefit will disappear if she cancels her class.. and she's been honest when she got no class she will tell me then no $5 allowance lah..

btw zhuzhu,
my japanese friend's maid I think is the luckiest maid kekeke.. she's been working for the family for 20 years, now her pay is $1000 nett!!

Nining, wow...your maid has good life and employer. The only concern i have with maids going for such classes, they may end up mixing with wrong company and bad influence. My friend's sister maid went to attend such classes, after that made alot of friends and exchange nos, and then they sent those 'chain mails'sms around and the maid is very scare if don't entertain such mails, something bad with befall her. So everyday is so wary and distracted, housechore std also drop.

tiny,
like spam emails ya? I actually educate my maid on spam emails and smses hehehe.. told her its tricks played by some irresponsible ppl who may benefit from so many ppl spending $ on sms, such as a minority of phone provider's stock holders who has kids mentality.. told her I ignore those emails and spams and there's nothing happens to me like what the email/sms said..
I think maids must be educated how to think.. last time my maid also very simple thinking, quick making decision etc.. I educate her looor.. told her also if unsure must ask me.. like she wanted to help one of indo maid she met in school that maid told everyone her boss withold her pays even tho the debts to agent already clear.. Then she wanted to help her report to MOM.. I told her that maid is allowed to go to sunday class, surely she can contact MOM herself and her boss not jailing her.. told her she shouldnt intrude unless really its a matter of life or death, there is always 2 sides of a coin, told her not to put herself in such situation..

nining: I tink cos u can communicate with your maid in bahasa indonesia.. I think all the SIN vomit blood cos like duck talking to chicken.. hahaha

Tiny,
my japanese friend actually dont need maid already, but they just keep employing her cos she's like part of the family already.. I asked him what's her pay he said dunno, wife arrange.. then during chitchat with her wife (singaporean lady) she told me $1000 now, but she doesnt have family back in philippine so never send $ back or go back at all..

nining,
wow...ur jap friend very generous neh....$1k, itz a lot..urs oso very lucky!

coolzy,
so sweet to see Aston sleeping soundly!

ytanhn,
jia you....at least give chloe a try..hehe

re:indian rojak
read TODAY newspapers yesterday or the day before.the lady who gt miscarraige went for her checkup in the morning. doc said tat fetus nt doing well. hubby bot rojak to cheer her up..dunno izzit coincidence or really food poisioning tat cause the death..haiz..so sad!

xman,
I think the most humorous person in this thread are cin and Mel, but so long haven heard fr them liao.

tiny,
aft i heard wat he said, i kekeke on the bed, but he never smile.....cool man

nining,
yalor, dunno wat mutant virulent bac/viruses are so strong, can course death

an_gal,
my friend also just recovered fr food poisoninig.
Luckily i hav no fever

woof,
the lady already 38yrs old

coolzy, congrats on yr baby! so cute

nining, y & yr friend very generous with yr maids. give trainings and pay $1K for maid. but i guess now adays, maids know computer, as i know some maid from phil graduated from college, and they know how to surf net. but better inform them dont give true identity when chatting to those they dont know, else they might be in trouble, and specially if they give address - even employers might be introuble.

with regards to toiletries for maid, we also provide our maid. so she can keep her salary and send to her hometown. for phone cards, 1 card per month only so she can learn to use it well and dont call every often, i know the card can last for almost 1hr, so she if she talk so long and 1 card not enough then she buys her own. but from past 1 card enough for her, she also dont want to call often cause she says when she calls all she hears is problem in her family.

jessel, my maid said she don't want to call home so often else the mother will keep asking for money, she got no money, hee hee.

Loh: think Mel is preggie too right?

Jessel,
I think lots of SIN employers also generous.. today I went to Indo embassy to vote (general election today) and I saw lots of maids accompanied by their sporean bosses leeeh.. they chat nicely and the bosses drove them there..
I am very very strict regarding phone and address, told my maid she must ask my permission before giving my address or home # to anyone including her family hehehe.. she knows I meant business when I say these kind of things.. But yes, if they wanna learn compie, they will learn anyway so I rather be open with her.. but told her not to touch my home PC, she can learn using my old laptop (the one I currently using) already 6 years old, not fancy one, and no battery. She will ask my permission to use then I turn on for her, when she finish she will tell me. My home PC is the full frills one hahaha.. so that one I cannot afford anyone to touch except me and hubby.. So far (more than 1 year) still good, she still practice the same thing and I dont find weird stuffs in my PC when I checked the history caches..
Re toiletteries and personal need, I can't be bothered with buying other ppl's personal needs kakakakaak.. I am lazy to buy for my own nevermind others.. so give her allowance to buy them works better for me..

Jessel/Tiny
My maid is close to her family, her mom is not very poor, they got land and rice field and her mom never asks for $$. Her brother sometimes does tho.. so I always advice her how to deal with those.. THe sister is doing well in jakarta, a secretary and hubby is a foreman, they dont need her $, only her bro.. When she first worked in SIN, some of her friends back in kampong tried to "borrow" her $$ but at that time her salary was held by her prev boss (my friend) their agreement is that her saaly paid to her in quarter basis directly to her bank acct.. then she moved work for me, I taught her to open mysavingsacct with POSB, that one cannot anyhow withdraw, so now her monies already accumulated nicely.. her brother asked for $2000 as if she is earning that in a week, I was so pissed off! told her to tell him that I hold her $ kekekee..

woof/jessel,
I think for my jap friend, its payraise over 20 years leeeh.. the wife said she started only 250 last time.. so u count lah how much pay raise annually hahahahaha.. They really treat the maid like a family member, take her to family treat to genting and give her angpao for gambling also hahaha.. She can invite all her filipina friends to the condo and do bbq party even.. I was very surprised.. I actually wanted to kapau her from my friend before I knew she was paid so much but he said the maid old oredi, cannot chase toddler anymore.. but in the past, when my friend's kids still tods, all his inlaws dropped their tods to his house also, so the maid like running a child care for 5 kids!! cos the inlaws also found no luck in employign maids..

an_gal,
wah..den i can consider to become a maid in japan..hehe

nining,
the maid muz be excellent..if not ur jap friend wont keep her for so long.

loh,
cin muz be busy with her "bananas" tat she mentioned before..

An_gal/woof,
I think cos in japan he knows all must do himself and its a privi to be able to afford maid here, he and her family treasure loor..

An_gal,
my jap friend's mom now old already, he looks high n low for a paid person just to come by everyday run her errands, also very difficult.. now even crisis, its still ex to have personal assistant to run errands for an old woman.. he said can hit like S$3K just to come for 4 hrs or so eveyr day excl sundays..
We also look for one for hubby's dad in the US, same thing.. the one got experience, all above US$3.5K just for 4 hrs job daily.. if no experience, dont think can handle cos my FIL is huge!

Woof,
one of my indo friend actually still stays in US after school , took business school but then now work to take care of elderly, 4-5 hrs / day, got US$3K leeeh per month.. of course tax is high after tax she got nett abt 2K