(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

choco,

total cash i paid is $4884.
the total bill (for C-sec with epi) includes 6D5N hospital stay for both me and baby for single-bedded
and includes docs' fees, all baby's tests, phototherapy, etc.
if i exclude my gynae fee (2600), anesthetist fee (700) and PD fee (642). i fork out cash of about $942.

zoo- yeah the waterplay area is quite big and Liz had much fun that time.. we wanna go again soon cos we missed most of the shows when it rained after lunch

birdpark- has anyone brought your kid there yet? did the kids like it there? any play area?

an_gal,

haha, really unforgetful memory, did u wear swimming diapers for Melcolm?I'm thinking shall I buy one for ruoxi if bring her there. last time at WWW I just let her wear the normal swim wear, normally if she poo in the morning so I wont worry as she only poo once per day, else I'm very scare she poo inside the pool then very jialak.

Bliss,

u stayed in 1 bedded?the hospital charge should be quite high for ME.

Glee,

I brought ruoxi to birdpark when she was only 5 months, she was too young to enjoy it. but I think it's nothing much, not fun compare to zoo and sentosa.

xman,

thanks for the advice! you are really so strong to persevere in breadtfeeding your gal given the difficult start.
this morning i manage to get 140ml.
the nurses said my boy is bigger in size so need to drink more milk.
now he drinks 100-110ml leh.
my boy can latch on and bottle feed at the same time.
but for latching on, it's painful cos the nipples are already so sore and need him to open his mouth wide enough to prevent further trauma to me.
when he latches on, he will suckle, pause for a few seconds and suckle.
didn't really fall asleep. if he does, i will stop him and wake him up.
sometimes thought he has enough but when he wakes up, he'll cry for more milk.
Darius is more impatient than Doren.
he cannot wait for milk, will cry angrily!

did you totally latch on after your gal is one month plus? or did you pump more?

xman,
ya, single-bedded has more privacy and better rest for me especially mine is a C-sec.
the service is very much different from double-bedded in my opinion.

bliss

wow..thats quite a lot...

i need to start saving now if i want to have a 2nd baby...

the house reno + hk trip totally wipe out whatever savings that i have

bliss,

ya, yr boy bigger size so need more milk,ruoxi only 3.8kg when she's full months, so drink 90ml at full month sounds normal for her.

breast milk is very easy to digest that's why bb always want to drink,it's normal they drink every 2 hours or even every 1 hours in the first month.but later when they drink more it will last them longer time. I always sms my friends during maternity leaves to get encourage and advise to help me persive on breast feeding. esp me not many milk no matter how frequent I pump or latch on.

ya, I fully latch on after ruoxi willing to latch on, I dont hv sore nipple problems, but last time I use medela mini electrical in the first month, that pump is too strong and no stimulation of bb sucks, so everytime after pump my nipplie became so big and painful, while after a while it's fine, after change to AVENT ISIS IQ DUO i dont hv any problems.

for me latch on is mainly to get more supply but seems it's not working on me too, then 1 week b4 my maternity leave ends, I start pump and only latch on ruoxi when I back home from work, as she used to bottle feeding at first month so there's no problems for her to accept bottles.

choco,

ya, reno is very exp.last time we just married and not working for so long, hv no savings hv to take reno loan from bank, but lucky clear the loan within 1 year as the interest rate is much higher than the house loan.

bliss,

ya, this time round I take single bedded too, but mine is TMC, ME is the most exp private hospital.hehe. TMC is the 2nd cheapest among all the private one, that's why quite popular.

an_gal/Glee,

jialak, like that seems swimming diaper also not that safe, I better choose one day that ruoxi poo in the early morning then only bring her to zoo, else just let her wear the disposible swimming diapers.

A lot of postings here

Bliss
Glad to know that you are coping well.. This time round u didnt ask for glass bottles?
Single bedded + csect in MtE are so exp, especially u stayed there for so long!! But the food in MtE is really yummilicious!!!

I opted for double bed, coz no point staying in single room just me alone, hubby will sleep with Meg at nite at home.. better for both of them, and hubby doesnt like the idea that kids are staying over in hospi.

Xman
Diff in room rate between double and single room in MtE are not much actually, my gynae showed me the list before, i think about S$400 different.

Glee
Charlize is also enjoying herself in zoo! Last time we went with Meg in Sept 08, the waterplay is not ready yet.. One day must bring her there.

Re: diaper for swimming or waterplay
Meg never wears diapers whenever she is swimming haha.. good thing is that she never poop inside the water.. now that she can tell when to poo, i need not worry i guess :p

Jang
Meg has a harness "giraffe backpack" but we didnt put the harness belt on her at all.. most of the time we will tell her to hold our hands if she wants to walk. If she doesnt keep her promise, then she cant walk around, but carried!! hm.. not really a good idea to let jae walk around in HK, coz the places tend to be overcrowded. You wont want strangers to bump into Jae.. so i would suggest to ergo him.. or use stroller, but if you are alone, hm.. HK is not stroller frenly place at all!
2299319.jpg

zoo- waterplay
if i rem correctly, its a requirement for toddlers below certain age to wear diaper, but not sure if they are strict abt it

cola
my boy oso has a harness like tat! his is the bear one. he loves the bear so much that he will want to "carry" his bear once he sees it.

jang
i oso had the same idea as u thinking tat it was quite "sad" to see my boy being "chained". but come to think of it, it is better to harness him especially he walks quite fast when he gets excited. but i only used the harness when we went overseas. the first and only time was in bangkok early this month. back home here, i juz make sure he walks nly in large open areas and 1 person keeps an eye on him at all times. i got the harness from isetan at abt $30 i think...

Miaon
Hehe.. that backpack is chosen by Meg, actually I didnt want to buy that for her.. but she kept wanting the giraffe while we are in centrepoint, so we let her carry it around and tried to distract her attention so that she could put the thing on floor and we can put it back. She never put down the giraffe at all, even tho we brought her to toys dept.. in the end we bought it.

Jang,
We were around your house yesterday, went to the temple for praying. I told Meg, want to go find jaeden? she replied me: "Yes, lets go find jaeden" hahaha!

cola,

the girrafe backpack is cute, Meg love it so much ha?so far ruoxi never seen anything that so attractive to her leh, when I bring her to toyrus, she get something and let me buy but after she hold it for less than 2 mis, she will let me put back say dont want to buy liao.

cola
haha. think we underestimate our baby's concentration. i intended to buy for him already sine we travelling and i let him choose design between 2 choices I prefer. haha. he hugged the bear and refused to let go after tat... haiz.

zz,

haha, the twice I go all b4 I pregant, but think it's same as when u travel to other places, when u in cruise, there's more than 3 meals per day, a lot buffets,sure can get something that suit for tricia, while when off the cruise to other places, u hv to bring some food for tricia, like cook some cereal and store in the termal jar?or just some busicuit and milk?

an_gal,
my feel is that single-bedded is $800-900 more ex than double-bedded.
No my MIL is doing the confinement for me

xman,
good that your nipples were not sore.
mine are cracking and bleeding. very painful
after pumping also quite painful still

cola,
i dun find the food at Mt E good.
not sure about other hospital, maybe Mt E ones taste better comparatively.

Xman/Miaon

If we bring her to choose toys/rides, sometimes she can be quite hesitant, ie.. want to write on big bird or barney, she will stand there for sooo long, before finally telling us.. "want this" (pointing to the things she wants)..
Normally for those miscellaneous stuff that she has, she chooses herself. Have been training her independency by letting her to choose the things she wants. She gets to choose her own bowl.. if she wants an orange bowl, that means she has to let go off her suction bowl.. until now she knows she can have both at the same time

She likes the giraffe so much, there are few animals actually, i cant remember what else haha! but she chose the giraffe, until now she is still into the giraffe,the giraffe must sleep in the same room as hers :p she got so much dolls inside her cot, so i told her to put giraffe to sleep on the floor.. everynite, she knows she has to tell giraffe "gdnite giraffe, sleep here okay" (put her on floor and give her a kiss) then she climbs to my bed hehe..

cola
yah. i try not to giv my boy too many things. he gets distracted...so i usually only giv him 2 choices to choose from, if he gets any to choose from to start off with. =P
limited choices for him. =)

bliss
juz saw the pics of darius (did i spell the name rite? sorry if i spelt wrong)...SO KAWAII!!! =D

zhuzhu
wat abt fruits or bread? this can easily bring along during travel? anyway vists during cruise are quite short ones right? at most let her have milk if it really coincides with her feeding time?

xman,
so far melcolm had been wearing swimming diapers when I brought him for swim, definately no problem is no poo.

bliss,
haa last time my tmc bills oni need to top up cash around $1.5k. Furthermore I stay TMC for 1wk. Tink cos i opt for 4 bedder and auto upgrade to 2 bedder kekeke..

zhuzhu,
wat abt instant porridge? Pigeon sell those..

Mummies: Tricia always eats her lunch and dinner porridge home-cooked style. Then she takes her milk 4x a day. Thus milk is NOT enough.. tats what I'm worried about.. mafan!!

Bliss
Perhaps I am more "tham ciak" haha.. u know what i slurped all the breakfast, lunch, and dinner during my stay at MtE haha!
I find it xtremely nice!! hahaa.. i think coz last time during #1, i stayed with hubby only, and everyday eats tapao food, then suddenly eat so nice in hospi hahaha!

zz,

oh,forgot tricia wont take outside food, that's a bit troublesome, she wont eat bread all those stuff too?I didnt bring any food last time since all audults. U can check with the stuff in cruise if can bring bb food to the board.

an_gal,

u didnt caculate the $$ for deposite and also cash pay to yr gynae?how come so cheap?
I remember mine is near 3K, and me stay in 2 bedded room for 4 days plus 1 day in 4 rooms.

cola,

me too, last time after gave birth my appetite damn good, always feel hungry and can eat a lot, some ppl comments TMC food so so only but I feel quite ok esp the soup.then later at home the CL cook the stuff my mum said she can't eat as not suit her taste,but I ate a lot,maybe I too easy to entertain liao.haha.

xman/glee,
oh ya.. i didnt calculate the deposit paid to gynae.. i dono hw much liaoz oso.. paid n 4get haha..

re : tmc food
i find the food veri nice.. but some dishes abit oily

xman: She takes bread and all sorts but I always get the feeling she is reli full when she eats her own porr which she welcomes it very much.

RE: Eating after delivery
I was SUPER hungry after delivery that I finished all the food and even requested for Milo during the wee hours in the mrg...
When I was dc and went my mum's place to eat lunch, my mil commented I ate too much and that if I contd to eat tat much I will not lose weight... she keep commenting and commenting... *angry*

During the day I was dc, she say how come I deliver liao still look pregnant!!!!!!!!!!

Xman,
its for 2 parents and 2 kiddos above 3 years, under 3 years kiddos are FOC; plus 1 maid or 1 grandparent.. the card include family picture of the parents and the kiddos. And u can claim free parking too..

Jang,
I really want to use harness, same as u I was disgusted but now with Ike I can understand the pain hahaahah.. but my MIL oredi still disgusted even tho she had to manage 3 boys with 1 year gaps between them, so I paiseh using on her precious grandson hahaahahah..

bliss
that is good supply!!

re- forcep,
Ike was born unassisted, but horr during me pushing, one of the nurse said " where is the forcep?? can find me the forcep? bla bla bla" I got so worried and pushed some more hahaahah...

Nining,

I see, if every month go at least once then very worth the yearly card.see how after bring ruoxi to zoo, if she love it I will apply for the card,u get it at the spot or hv to wait and they will mail it to u?

u r so funny, maybe Ike heard what the nurse said also scared and faster come out.

zz,

got porridge in the chinese buffet I remeber, but if go out no way to cook porridge liao.

yr IL is annoy, after give birth not so fast go back to the old figure esp if u bf sure eat a lot.

xman: i think the entire forum knows tat my mil is nasty at the mouth one.. hahaha

some of the mummies every BP the nachos right? Nice?? Looks very nice to me leh!! but the BP owner din reply my mail.. i wanna COD at bishan today.. sianz and it's I'm abt to knock off soon

zhuzhu,
maybe she was obsessed or try sell u mary chia package hahahahahaha...

Xman,
yep if every month go worth it.. u get on spot.. no need mailing..

zz,

haha, u can bring yr thermal flask, so many ppl there, I think no one will notice. anyway bb wont eat so much.

Nining,

I see, good, will use friend's entry card to try out first then buy 1 pass if ruoxi love it.

zhuzhu
at novena. the pics look good leh. haha... actually been trying to buy to try but keep missing the bp. =P
let me know if it is really gd yah? *slurp*

jete
thanks for your input. it was touching for me to read how u got P in e end. but seeing u didnt get period after miscarriage and then 9mths later P was born. how did gynae work out EDD for P?

zz
someone did a BP a few months ago for the Zoo Pass basically 10% off normal price. she needed 10 persons min or stg like tat to get that deal, i rem but bec we dun go often so though i tot it was a gd deal i didnt sign up

xman
i also ate alot after i gave birth at TMC. actually i was so hungry for those few days i ate everything they pushed in! even finished my hubby's portion (he bunked in and we ordered for his meals too) when he couldnt finish! *lol* shocking hor?

did u take the western or chinese food?

nining
u had me laughing out loud when u mentioned hearing nurse looking for forceps, u putting in more Omphfff in the push

for me frankly i "didnt push much", it felt like then it was automatically coming out alrdy. dont know how to described but the pain was intense & all i could feel was like i didnt hve much control & my body was on cruise control on its own. I rem, gynae told me to hold back even bec I was tearing too much (sorry if i am too graphic)

just wondering if anyone actually went for prenatal classes & if it helped in e end? ie with the breathing excercises and all .. .. ..

tek_koh: I dun BP for Zoo Pass. My company issues free passes for zoo, bird park, discovery centre. Just need to ballot. April still got empty slots for birdpark.. i wonder isit becos not nice or wat

someone mentioned abt TMC service earlier,

my experience was overall ok EXCEPT for one evil nurse in e delivery ward.

when i was wheeled into delivery room to give birth i was really in pain and feeling lightheaded. when i was told to move from e wheeled bed to the bed to give birth, i tried but couldnt. the nurse told me, "Look, can you move your ass! I dont hve e bull strength to move u!"

Wanted to complain at 1st but in e end, we decided forget it