(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

rc_cola,
ya i think zz is right, dun think your fil is that bad la..

zhuzhu,
charlize also likes to scream (in a friendly way hehe) at other children, some are scared of her while there was one who covered her ears and scolded her "so loud!"

Glee: Yes I agree cos they are so young and they are so curious of everything. Tricia has a tendency to wanna play with any kid she sees.. overly warm I think. hahahha

RE: gpa
My dad does a good job with Tricia not as in well-being but the playing part and training her motor skills plus speech and learning. He is tricia's fav person. When she is home she will ask for gpa.. gong-gong?? when she goes my mum's place and when my dad is not in she will go: gong-gong leh???

Zhu zhu
Ya FIL used to be like that, but now he seems like a changed person.. the best is to take care of kids ourselves..

An_gal
Ya every day i reminded her "dun be naughty later gpa scolds you!" i hope that she just sleeps more.. coz these days she sleeps til 11am then at about 6pm i am home already..

Xman
Ya there are different ways of disciplining kids.. hope my girl would be guai guai always then wont get too much scoldings and punishments...

cola,

Meg slept a lot leh, my gal never sleep after 8am, always wake up at 7am or at most 7:30am.ya, just take it easy, think at this stage it's not easy to behave guaiguai, they all start naughty liao.

cola: am so shocked to hear what your FIL did, i thot all along he is very 'ci xiang'. Could something else triggered his anger and vent it on your girl? Best is ask your hubby to find a chance to talk to him lor. I think your girl also very confused, 1 hand you all potty train her, on the other hand she's confused how come still need to wear diaper, dunno where to pee.

Tiny
Now I can only "ren" til i deliver n MIL comes, after that i really really really must just stay at home and just take care of kids..
Ya i guess she will also confuse regarding the potty trained.. but i have told fil many times that her pee area red red.. and sometimes have rashes.. maybe not used to wearing diapers already by now.. but yet he is the sole caregiver.. so?!?!?! *i cant say anything*

Xman
Ya tts y i never do any OT, no outing with colleagues or frens, etc.. just want to stay at home and spend time with Meg whenever i am not working..

jete,
haha i don stay near there.. but thks for the info cos at least i know there's a mcd there keke :p btw, i cant reply ur email cos opic blocked the site.. i don need to order anything thks.. i downgrade to use cheaper wipes for melcolm already, like kodomo, pureen :p

rc_cola,
"Ren" lo, wat to do as he is the caregiver, say too much may lead to further conflicts and argument..
for me, usually i will use soft approach, like treating the nanny better, eg buying her cakes and giving her vouchers etc, thou i cannot be sure that she will in turn treat my gal better but she probably will treat my gal worse if i were to reprimand or question her when my gal has bruises..
usually i will tell her that i hrd on the news or from someone that some child was beaten or knocked his head or etc etc so better watch out for eg the windows, the doors, mosquitoes, strings, plastic bags..many many
haha now u reali know how paranoid i m

Glee
Ya can only "ren" same i use the same method as you lar.. news said bla bla bla.. colleagues said bla bla bla.. so better bla bla bla..
Oops.. dunno if fil browsed this website.. faintzzzzz anyway i just want to pour my heart out here, as we are all mummies..
Tts y i always feel i am very xing fu compared to my girl, coz last time my mum is the main caregiver.. and she always tries to give us what she thinks is the best as a mother... although my mum cane us, but now that i am a mum i know she loves us more than anything in this world

whoever who kanna my mum as a caregiver or nanny is lucky. She loves kids.. she used to be a nanny for 3-4 kids. The last one was my nephew who was borned premature with part of his liver removed. When he left due to Tricia, he was a BIG and TALL boy.. kekekek

Zhu

Will your mum consider part time nanny or not, just in case next time hor.. i am alone with 2 kids and without helper, and am almost go mad, i send 2 kiddos to your mum's plc for couple of hours to run errand.. can? hehe.. i want to have a back up plan mah haha

rc_cola, xman:
Apologies. In Oct, my mum will be even more busy with my sil delivering. So she will already have 2 on her hands including Tricia or 3 if I get lucky.
Anyhow she stays in Queenstown.

Btw, my dad smokes..

rc_cola: U shld try looking for nanny nearer to your place. I can tell u ur area, esp havelock road got many aunties. U can recee ard. How some pple do is by asking ard or putting in pamphlets in letterboxes to look for 1

Zhu

A paranoia like me hor.. can't bear to put my kiddos at stranger's place (esp those from phamplet ones).. but this is your mother, different mah.. anyway i might only need few hours of baby sitting haha.. maybe on those days when i want to just cool down by myself.. or going for quiet dinner with hubby..

My parents are not here, in laws are also not here.. no place i can put them for a little while ler.. how how how..

Wah...many days never come in, thread flying fast leh...

Xman,

The Taka Baby fair ends 29 Mar, so you still can go, its just that the additional 10% discount for Taka members is over as Sunday is last day to get additional 10% discount on top of sale price.

I was there on Saturday while my boy have his class, I bump into Bliss, Doren and her HB, the 1st person I saw was Doren sitting on his pram with daddy pushing and next I saw Bliss...kekeke...she can't recognize me, maybe seldom see me on the thread. Gosh...her tummy was big....heard that she is going for her c-sec this Sunday...hope she hv a smooth delivery.

rc_cola: I dun know how to advise u but during my mum's time this was how they found her.
U need to sit thru interviews like go site survey or something.. My mum can't handle so many kids at one time. She will become anxious.. ;)

rc_cola,

i got mine thru an agent.. but i feel its better to get thru recommendations from pple u know

there are day care centres tat provide drop-off services.. but i dunno any la

rc_cola: it's a shame tat PLAY-DATES are not popular in Singapore. Otherwise can drop ur kids off at someone u know who have kids their age. They can play den next week is your turn.

Cola,

haha...too bad I am too far away from you, or else you can drop Megan to my place and she can play with Chloe...guess Chloe will love to have a play-mate....

Adeline,

I see, 10% is a lot if buy big items like pump or stroller.

so fast bliss going to give birth liao. feel excited for her, the next one after her is xue or cola?

zhuzhu,

i see, it's quite far from me anyway, I'm trying to find one around my house area but so far no clue yet, like Glee I prefer through friend recommendation but not by agent. but if really no choice then hv to go through agent and do a proper interview with the nanny.

An_gal
Haha i dun dare to approach the neighbours for help ler.. coz i only stayed in that estate for 2.5 yrs, dunno the ppl there well..

Adeline
Ya meg would love to have play mate as well.. coz i just msn my fil asking what is meg doing.. he said meg is playing with her dolls..

Glee
At least you found a good nanny rite?
when are u gonna send her to childcare?

Xman
After bliss, there is coolzy.. then xue - me - mikiko... this is according to edd...

Zhu
Luckily your mum can help u if you get preg.. good lar.. always feel very safe with our own mum.. coz we were brought up by them.. for me i dun think i will let my mum take care, coz sure she will spoil her and then tis Meg will become a brat hahahaha... even my mum and dad also admit that if they really take care of her, sure this Meg will turn out super naughty liao haha!

rc_cola,
i'm thinking when she is 2 years old.. either childcare half day or but if cannot get a place in AUg then gotta wait till Jan2010

For sometime my boy refused his porridge. Then since now i am back, I thought want to try porridge again. But this time i added indian spice powders. And he loved it. I did not have to blend this food also.
Hope I succeed this new attempt.

choco,
icic, are u getting the bassinet for the flight?
actuali i m confused, is the bassinet placed next to our seat or in front of the seat?
can give me tips when u are back.. its my first time bringing Lizzy out of the country..
have intended to try out cruise first, even booked during CNY, but we were sick and had to get my cousins to replace us :s

Xman, Loh,
I use patapum but I bought Ergo too and Mel bought it over from me.. I saw both are exactly same function and same weight distribution. I chose patapum over ergo cos that is the one I opened earlier hahaha so the ergo could still have good new resale value than if I opened the box.. If given both choices, I may still choose patapum over ergo, cos I just simply like the streamlined design compared to ergo, plus patapum has 2 sizes, baby carrier and toddler carrier.. I use the toddler carrier since Ike was 6 months old, I used it again last night after 3 months never carried Ike long distance, phew!! very exhausted, he is now 12 Kg leeeh. Ergo and patapum baby carrier can use since newborn.

www.patapum.com

Glee/Choco
not sure if ur kiddos can still be comfy in the bassinett? remember that for SQ the bassinett seat is front row seat / bulk head seat, which means all the arm rests are fixed, not the one you can lift up to the side and make space.. If you want the child to be able to lie between your lap and hubby's (providing u buy them a seat) then having the front seat will make this not possible..If you're flying SQ, sitting on front sit also mean your TV screen and table are the foldable one, not very convenient if u wanna move in out to change diapers etc..

glee/choco
juz to add on the bassinet issue. I remember the max weight for bassinet is 10kg only. not so safe beyond that weight.

Cola,
I am guessing your FIL forgeting he's not the parents, prolly cos he feels that he is in charge of taking care of Meg when u and hubby are working.. SOme grandparents who takes care of the grandchildren (not just play with them) are like this, they act like parents but in their old ways.. so this is often when the problem arise.. maybe best if u can start sending Meg to playgroup, then FIL can have his 2 hrs break daily and they both can enjoy..

Nining

FIL will be going back soon, and switch with MIL... so if #2 is here, MIL cant possibly bring meg to playgroup everyday, while she needs to attend to nb.. tts y we only intend to enroll meg later.. say early next yr or so..

nining,
for SQ, if we are not buying her a seat, do u think we shld get the bassinet which means on the front row or change to normal seats but oni 2 seats with the kid on our laps?

An_gal
parents with bubs are priority so u can call them and ask , if u take SQ can do city office (paragon) check in 48 hrs in advance too.. THis will ensure u get the seats u want..

Glee,
if flying to Jakarta with Ike on the lap, I'd prefer to take front row cos got leg room for us. I havent experienced long flight with him on lap so cannot comment much, but I'd think I prefer front row if he is on lap, cos both me and hubby big ones, no matter how 2 seats cannot squeeze Ike in between us even if the arm rest is lifted up hahahaha.. But if u and hubby are slim, perhaps best take normal seat, lift up the arm rest and u got seating space for charlize.. besides I actually dont like the hassle of folded tray and TV screen for the front seat..specially if normal seat already give u enough leg room..

Nining, glee
I've never requested for any bassinet, normally meg wil sit on our laps, they would give her a buckle belt for kids, tts all..

Nining,
Thx for the patapum info.

Glee,
I will prefer more leg room. Imagine 10kg of rice on ur lap for 2hrs (said u and ur hb each share 2hrs)...numb v fast wor...

cola,
I will feel heartpain when my hb scolded my boi...kekek
Last time my friend's father will punish the kid to stand on 1 square tile. Cannot step out of the edge.

Nining,

I remember u bring back yr papatum from US, sg no retail for this brand, right?

choco/glee,

envy envy, in this thread is ruoxi the only one that never leave sg since born?

Ivan's 2 lower molars are growing. He will fuss in the middle of night. He slept on me for comfort last night and my hb said 'so sweet, he wants to hug u to sleep'...faint.

So so so sleepy today. Ivan will sleep at the nanny there tonight cos the nanny daughters having school holidays and they give me holiday too for tonight. hehe

my com cost saving, last time we can keep our anual leave for max 2 years, but now can only keep for max 1 year, I'v got more than 20 days leaves to clear by end of this year.may just use it after maternity leave, so I can stay at home for about 5 months after give birth.

nining,
thanks for the advice..
i have already secured the row 31 bassinet seats, which are supposed to give more leg room, and at first i thought she can sit on my lap and bassinet jus an extra "gadget" for her but now having second thoughts as the arm rest cannot be lifted.. but luckily my parents are coming too, so in case the arm rests are reali restrictive then i will swop with them