(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

Hi Mummies, so long i did not checked the thread. just came from our Japan trip...was very cold! but we did enjoy =) now SG seems to be v hot..hehehe!

Mel, congrats! so decided to be SAHM? i also want to be SAHM, but tough times, need to earn earn.

Selvi, rc_cola, there was once i also screamed, due to frustration, but not directly screamed at my son, but then my hubby got angry with me..hay! says dont scream...so now dont know how to release stress.

an_gal, i think you can try giving melcolm karihome sweets, now he is old enough to be able to eat...but make sure the 1st time you give him you observe if he can chew. i have given steve karihome since he was around 14months and he doesnt choke on it, he knows its sweet and he chews. also its nutritious better than candies.

re : toilet training
we havent started toilet training steve, but now he is aware when his nappy is wet, he holds it, and when he wants nappy change he actually 'patpat' his nappy for change. when he wants to poo, we tell him to sit on his potty chair, but most of the time he stands, guess he is used to poo while standing...hehehe. maybe ill try the 'reward'-thing for him to train him.

wow the thread is alive again, hooray!

Re: Toilet training
haven really started yet. super lazy mummy. Actually really don know how to start leh? with 2 kiddos, meaning gotta run to the loo double times?

Ref : Hair cut
have tried at junior league at united sq and hua xia at punggol plaza. JL cos $20, HX cos $10. But JL cuts better

Ref : Screaming & terrible 2
I also scream everyday. Maybe SAHM scream more la! I think my gals terrible 2 starts early? Or I myself getting more impatient? Do u gals only scold them or anyone will bit them? I do bit their hands n legs leh, but after i cool down i will feel guilty!!! HELP! I cannot tahan them fighting, my elder one even bite her meimei!

Ref : Food
usually will have bread for breakfast, porridge for lunch and rice for dinner. But after CNY,they start to reject porridge. Maybe eat too much junk food during festive season?
I have tried peanut butter on bread, so far no allergy. will try out honey soon.

Mel,
Congrats, take care!

Mel,
congrats! take care!

adeline,
chloe looks sweet in her qipao..

zhuzhu,
why suddenly u ask the qn of whether we take fish oil during pregnancy?

glee,
wat makes u decide to switch formula?

Mel,
Congrats!!!

Adeline,
I've changed my blog to private viewing. Give me ur email add here/PM or via SMS & I'll add u in.

Mel
congrats.

an_gal
paige has been eating the goatmilk sweetie for a long time, even when she only has 2 teeth. i used to break it into 2. i got it from bp but found a shop in rivervale plaza that sells it for the same price. they also sell gain (think is $50.50 for the big tin) and mamy poko quite cheap (only start from L so i cant buy yet). so good melcolm can eat nuts, paige is allergic to nuts, so even dry cereal also must buy the plain ones.

re:toilet training
started and stopped cos paige was rejecting the "training". most people tell me 2 so i'll just wait until she's ready.

choco
glad to see the alphabets are helping ivan learn his name.

gosh, this thread is really flying!

mel
congrats! so envious

rc_cola
wow, time flies, yr tummy is visible alrdy .. preg any diff 2nd time round? hope u are getting better
i was just down with gastric flu last wk only better now

nining
i checked out the towns4kids u posted -- seems quite gd but its kindda far for me otherwise i'd hve been quite inclined to join along too. we r now gonna try little neuro tree. class starts next week. how is ike with his swim classes?

adeline
chloe looks nice in peach
she looks real busy working at the hairbands ...lol

re: potty training
we started & it worked then prob was we went on holiday and then it was not consistent ie go to toilet when pee or poo so now we are back to square one! faintz!

re: food
funny thing is only few months back, didi would not take chocolate or sweets, making a funny face when stg was too sweet ie cake etc etc but now if i say sweet, didi's face will light up then will say "I WANT!" i attribute it to perhaps the sweet part of the taste buds on the tongue having activated!! lol

Hi Mel, congrats.

cola, Shannon also doesn't like outside food. I have a difficult time trying to introduce her to those food. She only take outside porridge and it must be those non salty type. If she feels it's a little salty she will not eat.

wiselyn, Shannon loves vege too. She can eat all the veges and but not the rice.

Re: Potty Train
i'm not successful yet.

Jete, i also uses the Alphabet to teach S her name. She loves it and i will tell her Auntie Lena make it for you. Isn't it nice and she will smile.

Ivy,

ruoxi always watch the "ben and bella" and barney/mickey mouse, all kinds of DVD since she's 1 years old. everyday she request to watch leh, even if we watch tv she will pass the remove control to us and request we to switch to dvd. if we reject her she will make noise and cry, so far think she watch more than 2 hours per day leh.

Ivy/Jete,

ruoxi doesnt know her name yet, she just request to "拿名字“when she saw the name, but when u ask her which Alphabet she want, she will tell u "企鹅名字“ or "大象名字“,she recoganize the alphabet by the animal on it. haha.

woof: someone told me that it causes ADHD in kids.

mel: no allowance?? tell your hb u r WORKING at home.. have to clean, cook, teach, manage the family..
how can?? must go and dig the article about how much a sahm shld be earning in a month

Morning mummies..

Thread flies again!

Jete, Ivy, Twinkle,
Dun worry just take your time in potty training.. if they are not ready, then just wait a little longer.. i think when they can speak it is really much much easier..
My dear girl wetted 4 pants yesterday.. always say want to pee last minutes, in the end, few drops have dripped, and have to change the pants for her

More challenging for twinkle tho haha.. coz got 2 to handle at same time.. but thinking of savings in diapers, i think it's quite worth trying twinkle hehe!

Tek Koh
Note much different in both preg, but this one seems to be bigger and more tiring.. Besides having to handle Meg, I have to cope with the difficulty of squating and picking meg up.. coz she has been very sticky to me...

Ivy
I had hard time thinking for Meg's food whenever we go for holidays, this is the only cons.. so envious to those babies who can eat whatever (ie wanton noodles, etc etc) so when the mother eats, the baby eats.. tho not very healthy haha!

Jete,
I have stopped teaching Meg ABC haha, stopped at G for sooo long.. now even lazy to read story books for her, she was the one who always initiates me to read by taking out the books that she wants me to read for her, the she would guai guai sit beside me and listen till i fin the whole book... lazy mum!

Re: TV program
I dun really refrain her from watching TV, in fact, thank God if she can sit down for 15 mins watching cartoon (which never happens).. i guess they are still too young to be TV fans..

Mel,
no allowance? hehe.. it depends lah.. as of now, even i am working, i still get marginal allowance from hubby per month :p so he was telling me if i am a sahm, the allowance that is usually given to his parents for taking care of meg will be mine haha.. so total up i still get the earnings :p anyway, being a sahm is not a matter of whether gets allowance or not rite,but it's about who should be taking good care of our kids.. and i believe as parents, we would know what is the best way to teach and discipline our own kids.. I always think, we can always come back to work force once they grow up/need to spend less time at home..

Maybe we should ask other sahm in this thread about the allowance matter? haha..

Jete, Ivy, twinkle.. and who else... do u all get allowance? hehe

Ivy,

u mixed the rice with soup??maybe the rice too hard...difficult for her to chew or maybe she prefer things like bee hoon,noodles?? I tried giving Clara bee hoon soup at home and she loves it too...Can be abit adventurous if we are cooking for our child...but outside food is still 90% of the time no no for Clara.

Choco,
Yah, my hubby say that he will pay for everything but he wont give me any allowance
I tot SAHM should get allowance? Am I wrong?

Zhuzhu,
There's actually an article abt how muc SAHM should be earning?? Can help me find?

Cola,
Actually the only reason why I want allowance is so that I can continue to give $ to my parents as per normal...not really for my own spending or anything...

mel, zhuzhu is right, you are still working even when yr at home. all the household chores - more difficult than sitting in the office. plus yr preggy and you have yr son to look for.

re :TV
we do allow steve to watch TV. he loves hi-5 and from that he also learn new works and he even dances and sings while watching. i think watching TV is ok, just make sure that what yr child is watching are educational programs.

re : food
steve is soo into food (like his mummy!) he takes mostly anything now. when we were in japan he takes the different noodles and dishes that they have. we just make sure that all the food are well cooked and not canned. i think if we give our kiddos variety of foods then they wont be too picky when they grow up. just make sure that what you give are nutritious.

Mel: It was an article in the strait times sunday last year. I try my best to google for it.
Most men feel we are holidaying it at home which makes me pretty pissed off. I got that when I returned from my maternity leave when someone came up to me and asked how was my HOLIDAY! so insensitive I glared at him!!

Personally, i find working a holiday and staying at home more tough lor

regarding my fb comment: it's not me being preggy lah.. is my sil

woof,
we made the switch when she refused her milk. So far she can finish 180ml 2-3 times a day after we changed to Gain

rc_cola,
charlize likes to watch commercials and those nursery rhymes and baby can read vcds

tek_koh,
ya ya they are ever changing their preferences

ZZ
Thanks for the article.. Mother is priceless and cannot be quantified with the dollar value.. oh I love the article, have forwarded it to hubby :p

Mel
Then the allowance for your parents should come from hubby..

Glee
Meg recently loves her milk so much, she could keep asking and asking for it.. drink about 5 - 6 times per day ranging from 120-180ml..

Twinkle2,

I do beat Rishi and after I do I feel very guilty esp when i see him sleeping like an angel. I guess as SAHMs we are more impatient with our kid's progress and growth as it wears us out. I just cant find a way to be more tolerant bec he actually understands my instructions. And when he dont listen my temper hits the roof. Very annoying but at the same time its a bad habit to beat them. I try very hard not to beat him. Sometimes I am successful sometimes no...

Thanks for the complements...

Ytanhn,

I hv sms you my email address.

Gosh...my twin sis just sms me, her water bag burst at home, rushing to TMC now, she suppose to be due end of this month but hv arrange to go for C-sec on 24 Feb, seems her little boy cant wait to see this world...don't know how is she now...c-sec or natural cos already burst liao...any mummies experience this before, if water burst already still can c-sec?? She opt for c-sec as gynae intsruct cos she have high blood pressure.

Re:Watching TV
Nowadays I tend to let Mathias spend his time watching his Sesame St VCDs at home cos thats the only way I get to rest...I feel bad that I may be too encouraging abt letting him get glued to the TV but I really cant help it..thats the best way I can take care of him at the current moment..a good thing is that he doesnt watch other stuff..so even if the tv is on but its not sesame st, he wont bother watching
I agree with jessel that it should be alright as long as its something educational..

Cola,
I guess different hubby different cos my hubby already told me that I should just tell my parents I wont give them allowance anymore if I become SAHM and that he wont give to them on my behalf.

Zhu zhu,
Actually my hubby dont give me allowance Im ok lah..cos he buys me things I want...like I wanted a wallet, he buy for me, my hp spoil, he buy for me, I want wristlet, he buy for me..etc..so thats y he say what I want, he buy so y he need to give me $?? yah...and my hubby knows how tough it is being at home cos now I dont lift a finger at home anymore in terms of housework..I just leave the dishes in the sink etc..I dont even pick up after Mathias..if hubby at home he take care of everything 100% then I just lie in bed the whole day to rot...so my hubby knows how tough it is lor...

Re: Food
Mathias has also started to TOTALLY reject porridge. Now he will only eat if we feed him the food we are eating...and it cannot be put in his plastic bowl.he wants it to come from the same kind of plate/bowl we are using and with our utensils...

Zhu zhu,

I just read the article! hahah!! I dont think any hubby will pay his wife $23k a month unless he's salary super high lah!

mel: depends on individual lah. I dun like to be asking my hb to buy me stuff all the time. Also I wud need to depend on hb to give allowance to my hb which I not used to it..

Twinkle ,
tough job potty training for 1 kid, for 2 someone gotta be a super mom like you!!

Jessel,Bundle,
I too raised my voice several times altho not to the point of screaming cos I dont do that anyway to adult hahaah.. but yeah I see Ike's face change when I raise my voice so I think he understands my frustation.. but sometimes these kids are in the pushing boundaries stage, so they will try see how far can they go?

Mel,
IMHO all household does their financial arrangement differently... for us (me and hubby) its all one basket, for others they prefer to have separate arrangement and 1 common fund.. If giving to your parents is critical to you , best to find time to talk about this toroughly with your hubby.. IMHO when you become a SAHM I dont think it is correct anymore that the monies is only hubby's monies and that SAHM gets stuffs the hubby buys for her.. THe agreement to be SAHM is decided by both so the income regardless who actually go to office, its the couple's monies, not just the hubbies.. Cos wife is the "enabler" for the hubby to be able to go to work everyday.. With this, also comes responsibility with financial arrangement that the wife too, treat the monies and spending as if she "works" for it too and communicate with the hubby what they wanna spend on, or have spent on (if little) but this is just IMHO.. cos I just did the same discussion with hubby re- parents allowance cos my dad just got retired last year and we agree we dont want them become too thrifty and end up unhappy.. after all, they've given up so much for us their kids..

lilyn
the potty book I read say the reward for potty training must be special one so he can relate the job faster hahaahah.. I tried stickers as it was recommended by so many potty experts, but then those dont work on ike, maybe for older kids.. but when I rewarded him with karihome, he really does his job better!! I guess its like working in the company some co rewards with cash or stock or others with more training, different ppl prefer different rewards hahahahaahah...

Mel,
re Matthias behaviour towards meal, Ike has done that since 2 months ago.. no separate food, and even if same food but in his bowl when he's not in the mood he will refuse.. and will ask from my or hubby's plate by saying " try -- try" in bahasa
hahahaha.. the other night he insists on trying soup from his dad's bowl and he already told him it's still hot but he insisted and screamed, so hbby dipped the spoon a little in the bowl and touch it to ike's hand, he now understand what hot means hahahaah!! when we say its hot, now he will wait..

mel,
congrats!! hope the MS passes soon.....agree with nining's points about money being put in a common pool, as he is only able to work because u are staying at home n his mind is at ease..it is an exhausting job tho!!

re: TV
agree that its ok so long as its educational..yee heng used to really like this kids concert dvd we got him and could watch it on loop, but not anymore! not keen to buy other things like hi-5 etc, cuz i'm not sure what he likes (no interest in elmo on tv, like barney sometimes)..how do u guys figure it out?

re: discipline
time out works best for yee heng..we learned that yee heng would hit us back if he does something wrong..and screaming wise, he gets this stunned look and then cries even louder, so i don't think he learns either....

mel

just a thought

if ur parents are not working, ur monthly allw to them could be very crucial in paying their mthly bills.
if ur paretns are working, maybe can consider giving them a nominal sum(eg,50-100) to express ur filial piety

IMHO, they are ur parents, they raised u up.

Zhuzhu,
a lot of men in my office understand how tough a SAHM job is.. in fact, many of them agree same thinking with me that working in office is actually rest time for them cos once they're home they can't stop till the kids stops hahaahah.. and most of them are like me, once they get home, the kids will stick to them.. only those men who doesnt play and spend time with their kids thinking ML is a holiday!

re: food..
i'm not yet giving yee heng soft-rice cuz he tends to choke...still having porridge..but i'll give him "extra" things from our meals..like veg and tofu..he can't seem to chew meat yet tho, only has one molar! is that normal? have already let him try nuts (in form of peanut cookies/peanut butter) but not whole nuts yet cuz worried about choking..prawns also not yet, cuz his dad is allergic and he's got eczema so we're waiting till he's older

nining,
thanks for the tip! don't think yee heng will "work" for stickers either...maybe we'll do the karihome sweets or just raisins, but is the sweets hard? worried about choking...

Lilyn,
for Ike, what we did was we turn on for him disney play house from the cable, then we learned he got excited over thomas train, elmo, mickey , pocoyo, winnie pooh bear and dibo.. rest of program like bunny town etc he doesnt care.. so we buy him those dvds..
those all are educating, in term of hard tools like numbers and alphabets / words, and also socializing skills like empathy, help, share etc..

Raisins sound like a good choice too! The candy is really small and they will tend to chew it to bits.. Ike has never choked on it even the 1st time (touch wood!!)

Mel
Yeah, i think the decision to become sahm should be made by both sides.. with hubby's agreement and support.
Regarding financial arrangement, i think wife play a part as well, as you need to manage the household expenses wisely so that every end of the month you have extra to save.. with the savings at least when you want to buy something for kiddos or during rainy days, these funds can be used..

I think there are few things to consider before the decision is made (i've done a lot of researches on this topic hehe):-
- how is your spending lifestyle currently?
- how is the segregation of household expenses currently? hubby pays all? or share? if share, then come to next question:-
- is single income sufficient to cover all the needs?
- if yes, are u able to adjust the spending habit? that means only buy those u need and not those u want, unless there is extra...
- able to cope with kids and housechores at home? some ladies prefer to work than stay at home

Lilyn
when he pee pee or poo poo, make sure u say "OK you're gonna get a sweet for the pee pee or poo poo" then make sure when you give thr reward to him you say " this is for the pee pee welldone" then he will remember that.. once he get used to the rewards, there will be time he ask for it even when he didnt do the job , i.e he goes to the bathroom but no job done., you gotta be firm not giving the sweet to him, else he will do that again next time hahaah.. make it a special potty rewards, and not for anything else..

Nining,

Yeah, she just call me a moment ago...delivered already a healthy 3.22kg boy at 37weeks, she go for c-sec as she can't tahan the contraction pain, infect the gynae ask her to go for natural as she is already 5cm dilated at the time she arrive hospital....well...well...that is the pain we have to bare as a mummy...

Mel,

agree with nining, my family same as ning's, our salary are all controled by one person which is me, I decide how the $$ to be spend and saving and distribute to each parents. That's why I know very clear one person's salary is not enough to pay all the bills/insurance/allownce to parents/support kids etc. so hv to continue working esp now the economy so bad, only be SAHM if kena retrench.

today or tomorrow my company will be famous, as this morning got one engineer suicide, police have came in to investigate liao.

rc_cola,
charlize loves her milk but we hardly have more slots for milk time cos she is always eating: meals, fruits, snacks, snacks, snacks

Discipline,
i tried not to scream at her, but stared at her angrily, but she found it so funny that she was giggling. ironically, my anger subsided and i played the staring game with her and she was so happy

Xman,
Same here, hubby and I also agree now just keep working since we're old already, only got few more years to earn $ for Ike's education.. then if one kena retrench in this econ situation, the other can still earn and pay bills while waiting for better opportunity..
Wow suicide in the Plant??? scary!!