(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

Golden piggy,

hihi,bear in mind that the glenn doman only teach parents but not teach kids. we mummy are the best teacher to our bb, so they only selling the materials to us, and give us free training plus the time table then u just follow that time table to teach bb, anytime has any questions just call to ask or go to their center. I'm like free spokenman liao.haha.

goldpiggy
haha. ur boy juz like mine leh. when he gd mood, he will smile and wave hi and babble to anyone or everyone. then hor now i machiam speak to anyone in the neighbourhood. having a baby really improves ur "bonding" with others. =D

cola
thanks! =)
u take care yah. rest more. maybe will feel better. =D

cola,

poor dear, u must be very hurt, sometimes ruoxi's head also knock my mum's gum and she said her mouth inside got hole after the hit and very painful, but ruoxi is not doing it purposely so can't blame her.hehe.

thanks for the compliment, ruoxi's face changed from bb time, now more like a big gal liao.actually I still miss her bb look.hehe.

Glee,

haha, I bu4 she3 de2 give most of the cloth that I bought from spree or BP, only sold some of them that I not really want to keep for my #2 to clear wardrode space, else really no space to put liao.

golden piggy/miaon,

yr boys all so polite, my gal never say byebye or call outside ppl, even my tenant she never call them in front of them, but then the moment they turn their back my gal call them "jie3 jie3" and say byebye to them. faintz, dont know she shy or what. always like that.

xman,
my hb also said the same thing when i gave those away.. he wanna keep for 2nd bb.. but i'm not v keen to have a 2nd one haha

ytanhn,
There are 2 types of Jing fong san...when I went to look for it, I only found the ones that have to be taken orally so my stepmom went to get for me instead.she says the ones that come in powder form (which u need to make into a paste) have to be bought at those old chinese medical shops...

Glee - am watching the 'Love Exchange' and very nice show. Got Miao Qiao Wei and Anita Yuen..and i haven't watch Jia Hao Yue Yuen - that's the sequel to the 1st part where the father died is it? Can't recall name of the show liao..

I watched until 1.15am last night...ORH BAK KAK today..hahaha

xman - the glenn doman we have to go for the class? only 1 time is it? Then do we need to buy anything? How much you paid for and what item?

My boy made me make lots of new friends...males, females and old uncle and aunties alike...then my hubby will tell my son 'talk only to the not so good looking guys' else your mum will be talking to handsome guys, don't give me that chance to know another guy...

My boy did a somersault last night from the bed to the floor and i really mean SOMERSAULT, those athletic type and his body was straight and he dropped down on the head and i thought he's going to cry big time but he then sat up and looked at me STUNNED..haha

goldpiggy,
hehe i've finished "love exchange", the twist is quite expected.. Rem to watch jia hao yue yuan, v nice and dramatic!

Glee,

I very keen to hv #2 but then no one help me to take care, plus I want to study so very sian, may have to posphone the plan till 3 years later then I'm quite old already.

Gold piggy,

yr hubby so funny, I tot he want his son to talk to pretty young gal then he has chance.haha.

the glenn doman only sell the flash card and ben and bella dvd and books, they come with english kit, chinese kit, math kit, and ben and bella dvd, all different price, as long as u buy any one of the set it's free training for 2 years, but u dont need to every week go to the class, as after 1 or 2 class plus the excel file showing the time table it's very clear liao. u only need to practise at home. u can go to that web to check for the price list. I bought english/math and ben and bella, about 1.7K plus in total. I know someone bought all it's about near 3K gua..

morning ladies!
long time no see..*wave*!! yee heng has bene terrorising me with many many night wakings so been super tired lately...

yee heng still hasn't started walking yet..no signs of him wanting to walk but he is kinda crusing now...prefers to crawl tho, he's super fast..am kinda envious of you all who have walking babies, but then again i know i'll have major headache once he does!

speaking of friendly babies..yee heng is like that too! smiles at EVERYONE, even ppl he doesn't know at all..esp salesgirls at the shops...
have any mummies began child-proofing your drawers? yee heng loves to open and close cupboards and droawrs now but i think he's likely to pinch his fingers..went to ikea but don't like their drawer lock cuz it needs to be screwed in..what alternatives are there?

xman - its so expensive? my goodness...cannot buy then circulate and share? then can share cost also mah..haha

lilyn - mine like to pull my fridge door and my fridge is the fisher and paykel type so freezer compartment on the bottom and I am so worried about my meat and his frozen milk..need to buy those locks soon so meanwhile what i did was just put a chair to block him from going in using his walker...

Glee - really the Jia hao yue yuen so nice huh...hee, will go and rent that...you really HK serial addict also..haha

I like Miao Qian Wei, he very handsome leh, very matured looking and so manly..haha - kevin cheng, also i like...

Thanks everyone, yeah, I hate having flu..
hopefully will get better..

Meg learns few new words again.. baby, cicak (indo - means lizard), enak (indo - means delicious), and banana, but she cant pronounce 3 syllabus yet, so she said nana nana hahahaha

Goldpiggy,
Is sam okay or not, sommersault to the floor....

Lilyn,
Yeah, those drawer lockers have to be screwed in hehe.. one easy way that my MIL did, tie 2 strings together tightly between two drawers hahaha Meg cant open and we also cant either..

goldpiggy,
i like miao qiao wei too! he's my type hehe who's kevin cheng? i oni know adam cheng haha!

xman,
how bout make babies first then study? better to have babies when u are younger, and the gap between the siblings will not be so far away too

yep, ON now having 40% off. I found a spree having 10% off on top of 40% (good bargain!) buybuy till its cheap =)
i try to join spree that have collection venue near my home or work place, or even my hubby's work area.
else i go for reg post for big/expensive items.
for small ones, i sometimes go for norm post - SG postal secure enough, i havent lost any mail yet.
xman, u've lost a mail before? really? first time i hear of such in SG.

re walking.
steve can only take 2-3 steps, and every time he does it on his own he is sooo joyful.
smiles from ear-to-ear. my mum uses harness to hold him while he practice walking.
with harness he walks very fast, my mum having difficulty catching up. told her wait till steve is able to walk on his own. hahaha!

rc_cola, steve also can only pronouce 2 syllables. Banana he also pronouces as nana - he loves that fruit.

mel, for the Jing Fong San powder, just tell to chinese medical shops?
cause sometimes they dont understand if its not written in chinese chars.

btw, anyone of you experience your baby doing "head-bang".
steve always does that now adays. I think he saw one of us doing "head bang" when calling some one (you know like when calling someone - "come come" with head nodding)
but now he does it everytime, and im afraid that it will be a habit he cant control.
or what if one time he bangs his head to a table or something.
we say to him "No No" then he will stop, then after sometime do it again.

Thanks everyone, yeah, I hate having flu..
hopefully will get better..

Meg learns few new words again.. baby, cicak (indo - means lizard), enak (indo - means delicious), and banana, but she cant pronounce 3 syllabus yet, so she said nana nana hahahaha

Goldpiggy,
Is sam okay or not, sommersault to the floor....

Lilyn,
Yeah, those drawer lockers have to be screwed in hehe.. one easy way that my MIL did, tie 2 strings together tightly between two drawers hahaha Meg cant open and we also cant either..

Jessel,
Meg is another baby doing "head bang", but hers is the back of the head bang against sth, so dangerous!
That y she always got scolded by us by doign that..

Xman,
Jia Yio for #2.. haha since your mum is strong enough to take care of #2, quickly!!! at least when they are 3 yrs old, u can send to day care already rite?
By then u can also concentrate on your studies..

Good morning everyone!

Its been a few days since I came in here, coz I've literally been buried under a pile of work...

Just like to seek some advice from those of you who are experienced PayPal users:

1) When you use Paypal to pay for on-line purchases, does Paypal charge you for it?

2) Can you use Paypal to pay for goods from stores which accept Paypal but not credit cards with foreign billing addresses?

3) Have you ever tried to send money to people overseas using Paypal? Is there any charge incurred?

Reason why I'm asking this is because the Paypal website isn't very clear...

Gold Piggy,

U let sam watch olympics huh?hahaha!!!

Lilyn,
Mathias opens drawers,cupboards,doors..etc..I just leave him alone after a few warnings and when he his fingers get hurt and he cries I just tell him "see? mommy told u not to do that right??its your fault so Im not going to sayang u" then he'll just go away...hahah!!

Re:Headbanging.
Mathias has been doing it for a long time..Im immune already..if he dun feel pain, I also just leave him alone
Cos the more I tell him to stop the more he'll continue

Jessel,
Yah..Just tell the shop Jin fong san.THey will know but must tell them u want the powder/paste form and not the one that has to be taken orally..its actually ok to take the oral one but I prefer not to cos dunno if Mathias tummy will take it well...if the person dunno what u r talking abt just tell them its for the baby u got scared by something..they will know..

headbanging - ya, my son do that too and he very funny, 1st time on wall, super painful then he cry and then the next minute, he slowly put his head on the wall and rub against it...

i think children all the same - will do the same thing within the same timeframe...curiosity is getting them...

cola/Glee,

my mum will back june next year, so no one will help me if I have #2, that's why I headach,by that time ruoxi is near 2 years old and I can send her to child care center then study, but if have #2 dont think I can cope 2 bb and study and working at same time. so regret never study when i was young.

Jessel,

ya, never lost normal mail until recently lost one from BP, $18 gone.so wont somehow buy and through normal mails liao.

Gold piggy,

I love miao tiao wei too, when he's young he's not that charming, but now he's old and looks so charming, I prefer mature and handsome man since young, but who knows I marry a young look hubby. so fate is hard to predict one.

the glenn doman card is not cheap but if u think this way that u can use the card for #1 and #2, it still worth, some more no need send bb to those enrichment class can save more than that, shichida one term is $900+ and only once a week and u still need to teach at home and buy the similar materials from shichida which is exp too! can't share the cards as u need to mark the date behind the card. so I prefer buy rather than shares.hehe.

xman,

Can ask your mum to stay a bit longer? hehehe your own mum mah, maybe u can ask her wats her opinion rite? :p

haha what do study do you plan to do? i hope to be able to get a master next time when my kids are bigger, but i am not sure whether i will ever get a chance for that

Chatty,
I use paypal over ebay purchases only, but I will think it's OK to use for other online shop.. no charge from pay pal, I think they bill the seller, not buyer..
#2 & 3 I am not so sure, but I use it to purchase stuffs over ebay where seller will only ship local.. I dont think seller will know our billing address, only paypal will cos you will login to paypal using paypal userid and password..

cola,

want to get a master on chinese lauguage, then can teach diploma later. more secure job, not like engineer old liao no one want.

my mum very stubborn,she said here is not her own house, so she can't always stay here, just help me 2 years more than enough liao, and my gal now too active and she feel she's old and can't cope liao, she's 60 years old this year but she feel she's very old already, I can't force her as already beg her so many times liao also no use so can only let her go back.

nining - ya, wondering the same as Cola, pregnant huh?

rc_cola - you pregnant already?

xman - is it tedious to teach? i mean do you usually do it on weekends only cos me working and only time is weekends. and his attention span very short

Thanks Nining for the clarification! I called paypal's hotline up just now. I think they outsource their call centre to China, because of Chinese accent of customer service guy. Anyway, I asked Question 2, and got a "Yes, but you must also need to ask the seller if he wants to do business with you first, then if they want to you can pay with paypal etc etc etc..." ??? Guess he was just trying to be helpful...

Your nice, short answer is infintely more helpful.

Gold piggy,

no, u better teach everyday, only spend less than one min as only show 5 cards per category, for working mum show 2 category per day, and 2 sessions per day, so total time for one day is less than 10 mins. not tedious just that u need to catch bb's attention for that 1 min when u flashing.

Xman,
Wah master in chinese language.. very chim keke..

Nowadays, I am very lazy to read to Meg hahahaha, but everytime she sits on my bed she will auto point to her books and say book = bukkk, so I know she wants me to read to her, then i read to her all the 5 books.. *lazy mummy*

Can I join? My son James is born on 21 Aug 2007. Have been reading this thread from time to time but didn't have anything to post.

I need some advice from those who are FTWM and still breastfeeding. Anyone? Recently, I've been having problems pumping, there still is milk in the breasts but the pumps I have can't express it out. I'm using the Ameda electric pump and the Medela Mini Electric Single. Both are in good working condition. I bought the medela about 8 mths ago. I just find that the suction from both pumps are all not good enough and I end up having to use my hands to express.

Anyone have experience? Will an Avent manual pump help me? Am trying to continue expressing until my son is 2 yr old.

rc_cola: Thanks! I'm so "sua ku" about this...

Hazel: Welcome! My son is also called James! I'm no longer BFing, but I remember Jete mentioning that the Medela Lactaline is more powerful than the other models available. Unfortunately, because its so expensive (about $1400), most of the time people only rent it. You can try Mums and Babes at United Square, as they rent / sell the Medela Lactaline. Manual pumps will never be as powerful as electric pumps. If you will want, invest in a Medela PIS Advance or Avent Isis Duo.

wow, cola,

congrats! no wonder u kept saying u r lazy.haha, must rest more as it's not easy to handle a toddler when pregnant.

Hazel,

welcome, maybe gold piggy can help u, I stopped pump 2 months ago, but I use avent isis iq duo which has the stimute bb suckle function, so more easy to get let down, but why I stop bf also part of due to less and less milk, I did feel that not easy to get let down than last time, so just stopped.

Hazel,
welcome.. before recently, do both pumps serve you well and only recently your SS declining? if yes perhaps you have recent lifestyle change i.e. your working hours vs. pumping timing; your diet; your rest? cos if the problem just recent and before the pumps u have served you well, then perhaps changing pumps will not be the solution..

CHatty,
hehe.. sometimes these technical helpdesk are really hopeless! my co outsourcing the IT technical services and the internal IT team now focusing on development of IT instead of trouble shooting.. but now it's difficult to get a trouble shot within a day!!!

Xman,
The reason I am very lazy is because they are the same old books, I can memorize almost all hahaha but Meg is still very very interested in them :p which is good, she is very looking forward to the reading time :p

I cant say I am preg yet, coz went gynae cant see the sac yet ler, he told me probably it is too early (abt 5.5 wks), but he stil congratulated me..

Chatty,
You are most welcome :p i didnt help much tho..

hi nining & xman

ya both pumps have served me well until the last 2 weeks where it is just increasingly difficult to get a let down. as for lifestyle, it didn't change much except that my menses came when my boy is exactly 1 yr old. i guess that affects the supply somewhat. have been trying to up the supply by eating those foods that have helped increase my supply, however, I feel that the problem is more about difficult let down than really the supply, because after hand expressing, i still get about 16 oz of milk per day. it just takes a lot of time and energy to do hand expression.

Cola,

Congrats! Reading so many mummies getting pregnant makes me want to get a second one too. My husband has been wanting since Kai Qi was born.. Just like how he wanted a baby the day we got married.
But while I want a second one, I also want Kai Qi to drink more of my breastmilk and get more attention before I get pregnant cos I'm scared she will wean off breastmilk. I'm lazy and cheapskate to feed her formula milk. hehe...

Jenny,

Thanks your hubby sounds like my hubby, he also wants a baby asap when we got married, and true enough, i got pregnant in one month after marriage.
Then this time round, we plan to have a #2 after Meg is one, so we tried in Aug, and so far succeeded...

Btw, I told hubby, so easy get preg, next time if dun want to conceive have to really use protection hahaha..

rc_cola: Congrats! Your wish came true! Dun worry about your Masters. I'm sure that if you really want to do it, you'll manage someday in the future. Right now, just focus on your baby

Congrats cola!

Welcome Hazel! For me I also ended up had expressing when I was at work and just latch Mathias on when he's with me..hehe!! Hand expression is tiring but for some reason it was difficult to get the milk out using my pump..

Cola,
hehehehe I let go your "cat" kekekeke...so big mouth!! ooops..

Hazel,
hummm rent the avent duo from TMC and see if it works better for u?

rc_cola - CONGRATULATIONS! You are the number how many mummies already? When will be my turn huh...haha, i really wonder..but not trying at all..hee..

I think the next should be Mel cos she and her hubby very active one lor..

Me and Xman same same not very active...

Hi Hazel - I am still breastfeeding exclusively and pumping during work. My supply dropped when i have my menses and am going to have menses, those kind of period. Eg. like today, my 2 times of pumping only came to 150ml...which normally should be 250ml...everything is as per normal except that it really dropped today..

I am using the medela pumps from day 1 and the pump work well for me. While expressing, maybe you can massage at the same time? It will definitely help loosen up and how many times you pump or maybe you can start pumping more often to release those stuck ones?