(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

ytanhn,
My bb got eczema, so i will continue using those ex brands, mustela, QV, cetaphil.... Now I am using neem lotion on him

re: busy buddies

that time when i attended the trial, there were only 3 babies, so it was a little boring.. hehe.. but overall the program is not too bad.. the place was nicely done up. when i was at the trial, one of the mummies recommended Rhythm in Me, also under GraceKids, have yet to try it though.

chomecc,
my maid can take non-halal food as long as pork is not added on the food she's eating. she also ordered from chinese stalls when outside.
thanks for including my frd.

zhuzhu,
grossss... cant imagine wat she did to the undies if realy stolen by her.

pooh,
ya, keep trying till he holds. chloe also refused to hold her bottle, i tried everyday for quite some time and now she 'automatic' hold the bottle le. when eating things like chwee kway, toast, eggs, she'll feed herself using fork.
sigh... but she's still lazy or timid to try walking. only cruising nia.

an_gal,
for her body and hair, i usually used more exp like GAIA, sebamed, california but am thinking of switching to cheaper ones like J&J but duno will it be too harsh on her skin.

ythahn / an_gal
i have been using J&J tip to toe (think that was the name) since his birth leh. prefer this to any other brands coz still think J&J soap smells good for bbs. no prob leh. i only use the CB creams which is more ex for him to ensure his skin is not dry. think shd be no prob if bb no serious enzema bah? =)

ytanhn

how do u prepare the toast and eggs?
u cut into small pieces? eggs lei? how do u prepare such that chloe can eat using fork?

i also want to start my boy on self feeding, but i am lazy mummy lei, i scared of the cleaning up

now that bb 1 yr old liao. issit most things can eat except nuts? i still dun really dare to let him take any citrus fruits like kiwi and strawberry leh. but seems like a lot of bb no prob? yet to let him try full cream fresh milk tho.

choco
me oso yet to let my boy self feed leh. he will only make a BIG mess. haiz. dunno whether right or wrong to not let him try. =P
he only self feed biscuits nia.

oh ya.. ytday someone was talking about stupid mistakes made by maids, right?
mine is a funny one - she shifted the ancestor's urn and tablet to one side when she was cleaning the altar which we never tell her to do so. my mum almost fainted and burst out laughing when she came out from the toilet.
another from a friend - her maid put ice cream in the storeroom.

Hahaa... boring day so think of boring things to post. Am thinking of where to bring chloe to after her nap, running out of ideas.

miaon

sometime i pour the gerbers biscuit into a bowl and let him self feed then he will stuff all(eg 10) the gerbers biscuit into his mouth
they know nothing abt choking, mouth too full....so much be watchful...

i think self feeding can be quite fun but must really be prepared of the mess that they create

now must take some tips from ytanhn since she has sucessfully let chloe self feed

re:holding bottles

must be pesistent and try every day...
i started with catching his hand to hold the bottle, although he will let go but dun force.

then the next feeding try again.
took a few days but now once the milk bottle goes into his mouth, he will hold

choco,
toast - just dip in beaten egg and pan fried with olive oil.
egg - omelette or scramble eggs.
I just cut into bite size before serving and help her poke the food with her fork. she will feed herself and passed me back the fork when she's done.
i'm using combi fork with soft edges, that's why i dare to let her try with fork.

miaon,
my gal is lazy, didn't even want to self feed with biscuits until recently cos this mummy here keep trying and trying and trying...
i've let her try most of the food except nuts. once i even let her eat my fried rice with curry gravy, she asked for more. of cos, everything in moderation and her own food is priority.

choco,
it's only recently that she started self-feeding and with certain food using fork only, so cant say too much about tips. i'm still helping her to poke and the bowl is away from her.
the next step - self feed porridge/rice with spoon. this is a challenge. can't imagine the mess then.
oh ya.. with alot alot alot of praising and encouragement. i always find it funny to look at her 'ya ya' look when she's being praised and she will do it even more.

been MIA for quite some time liao, so much happening here, haha.

Re: trial classes
been wanting to send my gals for some of these classes, but really quite lazy to bring both out le, lazy mummy!

ytanhn,
let them self feed, really need alot of patience right? me still have try yet, thinking of the mess , hai !
tried let them hold biscuits, but they will squeeze it , already a mess.

ytanhn,
ran out of ideas? haha...bring her anywhere lah...

choco,
i m waiting for the VCD to be out...

pooh,
saw ur nick....yippee.."drunken" ethan can walk!

hello twinkle2, seldom see u...must be a handful trying to mind the twins. hee, both similar expression, and really can tell their size apart.

chomecc: u shld see my blog, the mee sua pix i posted is also the 'dry' type. hee hee!

ytanhn: so funny and silly, ice cream in storeroom, haahaaa! Maid hor, you can say they're smart but they also will do silly things once in awhile lor. My hubby asked my maid to boil some chick peas and drained the water away after that. At the same time, he asked my maid to boil some red bean soup. My maid ended up draining the water for the red bean soup as well! LOL! This one was instruction not cleared, so we didn't chide the maid but so farnie lor.

hey twinkle2, i tot initially its a duplicate of photo join 2gether...then i realise they are twins...

any mummies can give tips how to teach the little one to self feed?

voice..tomoro i am making the chicken soup...hope its drinkable~ i also wana make nice nice mee sua~

Glee,
It is scheduled on the 15mths, so another 3 months. I took the package 6-in-1. MMR is included.

an_gal,
I remembered ur yummy drumstick

an_gal: OH! You made for Melcom right. Next time invite Samuel to share Melcom's mee sua ok, heehee.

puppygal: won't go wrong lah. Just dump everything together and let it boil for 45mins to 1hr under slow fire.

Hi gals, didn't hv time to post here past few days.

Regarding sterilising bottles, I've asked Mrs Wong during my antenatal class at TMC, and she replied we can stop around 11 mths, but can continue to sterilise the bottles as they are deep. So i'm still doing that for bottles only. I use normal detergent for bowls, spoons and cups.

Seems like the maid issues are really a headache. Just rem to follow your maternal instincts to protect your little ones and don't take risks.

I'll be bring RY for his prevnar jab next wk, and doing his MMR at 15mths.

As for self-feeding, RY only knows how to feed himself Gerber puffs or small-sized food. I just started letting him explore the last spoonfuls of his porridge. the messy part!! teaching him to hold the spoon, to scoop and bring to his mouth. It takes lots of patience just like for any other training - potty, holding bottle etc.. frankly, i'm not consistent myself on the training, so not all the time succesful :p. Guess the trick is always to be firm and consistent.

Btw, for those who've signed up for TMC Junior Angels Club, this mths promotion includes free entrance to the Toys Museum. I've not been there myself, so not sure if it's worth bringing toddlers there :p.

Oh btw, may I know who are SAHMs here? Sorry to make you repeat again cos there are too many threads to read thru :p. And anyone placed your kids in Childcare, or intend to do so? Any recommendations for West area?

an_gal

i think i stay near you...
can my boy have free mee sua???hek hek

btw, just reply u here lah, i bought the promo pack that u have. i have the soapless foaming gel, sunblock, and moisturer...
i have been using the sunblock for many yrs liao, only recently then started the cleanser..but moisturer not yet start cos my old one not finish yet

choco,
ya u will stay near me after u moved :p

i tried the moisturiser and is gd.. can absorb veri fast n no sticky feeling.. i got a sample of their sunblock.. SPF50+ i tink.. mus b ex rite.. u know can go where buy their products which is cheaper?

hi babyspike,
i am a SAHM. me also thinking over the childcare matter le! few choices loh.
1. enrol them in playgroups like those 3 hrs kind, then continue to be a SAHM.
2. enrol them to half day childcare, find some part time jobs to do.
3. enrol them in full day childcare, go find full time job lo.
still considering, anyone any advice?

tinyvoice,
ya, very tiring. can't imagine when they start to walk, oh my god!

anyone brought your kids to public pools? do they need to wear swimming costumes, or t shirt can? haven buy yet le, expensive any a bit wasteful lah.

an_gal
wat is swimming diapers? use then throw like normal diapers issit? me have yet to bring my boy to go waimming leh. worried abt the chlorine. heh. kiasi mummy.

It is good to let ur baby wear swimming diapers in case bb poo inside the pool. Just as we like the pool to be clean for our babes, others will look forward to a clean pool too.

tiny/an_gal
swimming diapers can be bought in the normal supermarkets like NTUC? i really a bit the mountain tortoise abt it. pai seh. =P

hi miaon, not all supermarket will sell, so far i can't find in ntuc leh. Huggies Swim Diaper can be found in Toysarus and Isetan supermarket and Cold storage i think. Not cheap though...for a pack of 12pcs i think, it's around $15 i think, can't recall.

miaon,
i have yet to bring my gal for a swim.. even thou i've bought those things (swim diaper, sunblock, floats, coverup, swimwear X 3 as the first one is already too small liao) like half a year ago..kiasu as usual..
u have motivated me, perhaps we gonna realli do it tomorrow :p hope the weather will be good