(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

Happy Belated Birthday to Paige & Titus!

Happy Birthday to Chloe, Shannon and Samuel!

The weekend was the busiest ever...I attended my neighbour's little girl's b'day party on Sat night, and then we had Jame's B'day bash for family yesterday afternoon. It was fun but exhausting, with almost 40 people in my house and garden. The kids went amok over the cats, all of whom are still recovering from the excitement. James loved being the centre of attention. He was clapping his hands and laughing throughout both parties : )...Everyone loved the food from Neo Garden and commented how fresh it was, esp. the butter prawns. I had almost no left-overs, even though I catered for exactly the number of people I invited. People also loved the chocolate mousse cake I ordered from E-creative. They said it was not too sweet or too dry, but just right. For an extra $6 per cake, I highly recommend changing the flavour from choc sponge with blueberry filling to choc sponge with chocolate mousse. I'll share pics later : ).

Muddypie: I love your cake! Sooo cute! Are the dolls made of plastic or marshmellow?

Goldpiggy: Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your cake. I've not yet had a chance to taste the lychee martini, but over the weekend I spoke to a few people I met at my neighbour's party and my own friends as well, all of whom had tried it before, and didn't like it. However, it seems that most people on this forum love it. I guess taste is very individual...I will try to buy a slice next time I go to AMK, so that I can appease my curiosity.

Tiny Voice: One of the guests at my neighbour's party was raving about awfully chocolate cakes...he said that he doesn't like cakes, but he became a convert after eating their cakes...sounds good eh?

gold piggy,
last time i went star cruise wif hb, v bored, not much to do. WE went to watch the topless show, got ah-pek fall sleep also...hahhahah

cola,
we went for snorkerling, me v tanned now, my hb only red, he will not turn dark one.
Tioman is nearer, Redang takes double the travelling time

Chatty, actually i agree, the cake's really up to individual taste. But i was really pique with curiosity to when everyone in the forum said cake is nice, anyway, my final verdict not nice..haha...its ok abt the cake cos overall, my event turned out to be a success.

Nining, i was so super busy with the party etc and my boy and entertaining my friends that i didn't really whipped out my camera and took pictures so now am waiting for my relatives to email me those pictures before i can upload - am anxious to see the pictures but cos its a monday, will wait patiently else i kena scolding cos they are now at work..hee, will update once i have it..

awfully chocolate cakes are great for chocolate lovers but me a strawberry lover though...

rc_cola, forgot to tell you that i made pasta with pureed carrot for samuel and he liked it. I made a lot and he finished 3/4 of it and he didn't finish not because he didn't quite like it but my hubby scared he might be too full...haha

Loh - then i better change idea and anyway, now am thinking of childcare for my boy liao..now that his birthday project is over...

Goldpiggy,

So glad that samuel likes it
i think most babies like that rite?
I have bought some sweet potatoes already, but this weekend we are not in town, so i think must wait until next week then prepare that for her again.

Loh,
Snorkelling must be very fun!! Hehe u are tan now? :p wondering how u look when u are tanned.
I also wont turn dark one, will just turn red only..

Topless show yet ah pek fell asleep, what kind of show is that... hahaha
Bored to death show huh..

cola,
haha, topless gals dancing lor. In the begining everyone eyes big big, but aft a few songs, ppl start fall as sleep liao.

Goldpiggy,
Oops almost forgotten! Happy Birthday to smiley Samuel

Now i'm getting v excited with Liz's bday, still haven placed order with the caterer!
PG: i have only tried lychee martini and black forest, preferred the latter.
But have to admit that the lychee is quite a special flavour which can't get elsewhere?
I have ordered my cake with aimummy long time ago due to kiasuism, hope it will turn out well

Will be getting extra cake/pastry bites from PG.

Loh,
have u been to perhentian? I went to perhentian besar, super super nice beach.. but so loooooong trip.. same distance with redang I think..

glee, thanks and samuel was really 80% smiley and 10% cranky and 10% sleepy..haha

neo garden can give good 15% discount...donno leh, i don't want to comment further on pine garden anymore, cos it won't be anything good..hee

when is liz's? its like planned for such a long time and just a 1 day event, machiam like wedding..haha but we enjoyed ourselves thoroughly...how little kids make us feel young and my friend was saying that me and my hubby are non-grown up kids..

Glee: Neo Garden gives 15% discount for 1st Birthday catering. You need to give them a call to inform them, and then select your menu on-line, fax in your baby's birth cert, and you will get the 15% discount. Their presentation is pretty nice too.

Chatty,
okie done the change hahaha.. paid $6 via transfer.. such easy and painless change, hope it will turn out correct on the day!

chatty: yes..i had a 6" All Chocolate and a 6" Chocolate Banana cake for my birthday in Feb!

Nining: U tried the Chocolate rum & cherry? I must try 1 of these days...next b'day mebbie, haaahaaa!

Loh: For sunblock, i swear by SunPlay SPF130! It's really power..i wasn't burnt nor tanned when i went Redang few yrs ago!

Glee: i also prefer PG Black forest to lychee martini.

Jang: don't expect fantastic design for awfully chocolate, i guess best is provide them ur design and let them 'copy' haahaaa. I flipped thru' their catalogue of their past customers' order, wasn't impressed at all. Anyway, am just doing a simple #1 cut out shape plus simple base design before topping up with my sesame street toppers.

Before i forgot...happy birthday to all aug mummies! Sorry can't put bb's name to mummies, cos' haven't met any before except nining and Jang

Tiny,
if ur guests mostly adults it make sense to just worry bout the taste kekekek.. awfully choco cake design is like fudge cake only.. nothing fantastic.. they focus on the inside.. I had the banana cake all the time cos thats my fave..

nining,
u noti noti...
Heard og perhentian, but not been there b4. Actually there are a lot more islands at east coast of M'sia tt worth to go.

cola,
so envy, u got good skin

Chatty,
I was told by them that the 15% discount is only applicable if the celebration is within 1 wk of the birth date.
I shall celeb meg's bday on 17th instead of 26th on her real bday. How to go about this chatty??

Talking about food make me so hungry, stil remember the gathering food at nining's place...
oh my tummy makes noise liao.. i everynite feel hungry especially after 11 pm.. i have to gulp down a cup of milo before i go to bed or else I will have tummy full of wind hahaha

sarah,
it was Star Virgo, 3D2N, KL-Melaca cruise. We got the balcony class, so can go into sauna and stim bath. I enjoyed the food there. Once went to their Itali restaurant, took us 3hrs to finish the whole course, the most longest dinner tt I took in my life!!!
But now, star virgo is in HK. Heard coming back to Singapore in Oct (one of tt mummy here said)

TinyVoice,
I put sunblock, but never top-up once outside the resort...hahaha

Loh,
if taking the train, can take the sleeper then stop at tanah merah malaysia then can get taxi to get u to jetty.. but hooor over there really must be super patient, ppl soooooo rubber timing.. the train can be 3-5 hrs late, some more the taxi late abt 1 hr.. then boat lagi late.. the one least late is bus from kota baru but loooong sitting hours makes my butt sore!

Loh,
No need to envy me lar, i once had bad pimples as well, but luckily all cleared up.
Nowadays so lazy to take care of skin, coz busy with meg.. must remember my weekly scrub, lately my face is oily...

Last Sat, we went to CCK, and walk around in lot1, how i wish i could bump into some aug mummies there hahahahaha...
so silly of me rite?

Nining: Yes. I hope it turns out well for you too. Almost all my guests had seconds, so no more cake left...I had the same cake design as what you ordered for the last gathering.

rc_cola: Hmm...I think they are quite strict about it. If they won't give you 15% discount, then you can use still a $50 voucher. Not sure if I still have any left from yesterday, coz some of my guests took the vouchers. If I have, I can mail it to you. If I don't maybe Nining or someone else might still have it, left over from the gathering.

Chatty,
Oh really? Thanks Chatty.
If some mummies have left over voucher, can pass to me?

I believe only 1 voucher can be used at one time rite?

Thanks everyone for the birthday wishes.

We celebrated Shannon's birthday yesterday at punggol park, bliss garden restaurant. Tomorrow will be her actual birthday but no plan for her coz hb is working. He had been on leave for 2 weeks liao so cannot go on leave again

BTW, ecreative cakes not that bad after all lei.. i was telling my relatives and friends, cake look nice but don't taste nice hor.. I order it because i like their design, in the end most said the cake taste okie .. I taste it myself, not bad
i had a big pc to myself... heheee.. other than the fried rice from the catering, this the only thing i eat.

Anybody tried fish spa? Where the fishes will nibble away your dead skin, am going to try out next Monday at Qian Hu Fish Spa. hee hee!

rc_cola, i have the vouchers, i can pass to you.

Ivy - i was telling my hubby, if i knew the PG cake don't look pretty and not nice, i sure order e-creative since it looks pretty but not so nice..haha, cos initially i was facing this dilemna to choose between both of them..haiz - anyway....

Woof, thanks for getting the discount from ecreative for us. It's a really good deal

I saw u mentioning abt Shannon's Blog, i will send u a link soon

Gold..piggy, i was also in a dilemna 2 in the end i choose design.. i was thinking, after awhile ppl will forget abt the taste of the cake but design is going to stay with us forever in the photos.

nining,
wa, long traveling time! Must ask ur hb sayang sayang ur butt liao..whahaha
Sometimes M'sia v slow in services, i always impressed wif the service attitude in S'pore!

cola,
haha, me away fr s'pore, and i believed cin is hiding at home to 'yang tai'!!!

tiny,
any idea aimummy's cake how much? i oni get to know after my son bday but seen the blog and the cake designs looks great.

tiny voice,
CCK MRT nearby there got 1 fish spa, $15. Think Qianhu is abt $8-$10. S'pore flyer there also got 1

Goldpiggy,
Liz's is 24aug a sunday, so no need to take leave.
Ours is a simple affair, prob only 30 guests. Shld be managable.
I'm jus worried that she'll be cranky. She hasnt outgrown the separation anxiety and she's still v wary of strangers..
she cried when she was at her enrichment class last sunday! It took us abt 10mins to get her to settle down, luckily she had her fun in the remaining hour.

rc_cola,
wah, wanted to go cck last sat, but weather's too hot, so didnt go in the end, if not might have bumped into u and lovely meg

Star cruise.. jus to share, mum told me, a auntie won a few hundred thousands from one of those slot machines

Goldpiggy,
Thanks, I shall go orchard and pick up from you again k... oh hubby on half day leave on weds, if you dun mind can bring the voucher to work plc? keke..
Then i shall ask hubby to pick up from you.

Loh,
Yah hor.. haha glee also stays there rite?
Cin, really MIA liao ler.. perhaps "yang tai" ya ya ya hahahaha

Woof: Thanks for organising this BP : ).

Ivy, Same here. However, I decided to join the BP in the end because the price was really reasonable, esp. since I was ordering 2 large cakes, and I didn't want to spend a few hundred on cakes. Turns out it was a good choice after all, both taste-wise and price-wise, so no regrets at all

Gold_Piggy: Nevermind lah...there are more b'days coming up, so you can order from all the other cake shops...

Nining,
What dishes from Delihub taste good? I'm thinking of catering from them cos I need Halal Caterer...Cos I remember u ordered from them for our get-togethers right?

Mel,
wah I dunno exactly which one is good.. I just order based on "chef recommendation" symbol next to the dish hehehehe.. that gathering was the 1st time I order, but delihub and neo garden are same same, they're just different halal or not only.. I think they share recipe lee..

Cola,
u can have my voucher, but u must spend $300 excl delivery to get the $50 discount and cannot be high tea menu if am not wrong.. let me know ur mailing addy..
I myself order from an Indonesian friend Indonesian tumpeng (nasi kuning) ala javanese, plus es teller, plus somay ikan plus risoles, kroket and lemper.. drooling yet? kekekekeke..

Ivy,
hehehe I remember Cin also said prefer the presentation than the taste kekekeke.. where's our preggie now?? I miss her bimbo comments she call herself all the time kekekek..

goldpiggy,
If u wanna go for the taste, and dun mind spending abit more, you can consider The Patissier, Canele or Bakerzin or even Gelare's icecream cake

Chatty, good choice hor..

Gold_piggy, now u can try other cakes. The next cake that i'm interested is from aimummy. I'm not in time to get it this time for her actual birthday.

Glee,
Yeah, we shall meet next time probably hehe..

Tiny,
We went there last sat, hehehe.. quite okay, but we went there a bit too late, crowded in the afternoon, the other round we went earlier, it was okay.
Meg likes to see the fishes.. She is not scared at all with the fish in the spa pond, she put her hands in and splashed the water, very scared she might squeeze the fish kekeke..

An_gal, aimummy price will differs for more detailed designs and no. of figurines increased.
I have checked with her for a round cake 8" - abt 24 serving =$100.

Thanks for the wishes..!! And Happy 1st birthday to James, Paige, Titus, Aidan & Shannon...did I miss anyone else?? I'm a bit late but still want to send the best wishes...finally Chloe birthday party is over yesterday, it wasn't a big one, just about 20-30pax, guess what, the 3kg 2 tier cake from PG were all gone after the party....isn't that great?? Did took some pics of the cakes, wait for hb to upload than I will share here. After the party thn we notice that we never take much pics...sigh...was too busy handling the guest and the 2 of them, Chloe was extremely scared to see such a crowd, she cry most of the time...jialat man...crying baby in the party, and she refuse to eat also...guess too scared, after the party, she doze off immediately...

Today is Chloe actual birthday, but we nver celebrate le.....cos hb at work mah...

Jete,

Nice pics of paige, hope her baluku recover soon...