(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

serene
yah. i oso agree with choco. u ot to avoid ur mil, but u miss out a lot of time with ur bb as well. give the method a try. who knows, she may FINALLY get the hint and give u more time to bond with ur bb, which is very impt.

sorry gonna take it out here. i hate arranging parties. at first only want a small party for my gals at home. now both side relative add up to >50pax. cannot tahan. so cannot invite friends liao. help? i am going crazy thinking.
really don want to do it outdoor la, lazy.

minnie: pd says ok. Cut the FM by half.
I guess tricia one not very serious cos she say her diahorrea is mild morever she's a constipated baby

an_gal: NO! my parents oso dun like... oops beta keep my mouth shut in case she oso come inside this thread den see den i die liao

twinkle
opps. i oso dun like arranging for parties. but after thinking, we found it more convenient to hold the "party" outside leh. but we doing it dinner style. coz both sides family add up to almost 60 pax. now machiam like arranging for a wedding dinner like tat...haha..gotta arrange tables... =P

if i hold it at home, gotta do 2 days catering and not to mention the cleaning up after loads of children *rolls eyes*. if hold outside, then can eat and then let "others" clean up. costs come up to abt the same leh.

twinkle

is it possible to have it lunch and dinner?
that also mean u need to have 2 cake lor

if not, cut cake once then the other gp just eat buffet

u staying in big house, then i think should be no probelm to have all 50 guest in one session, HDB 5 rm, i think also can but the chairs will spill over to the corridor and lift foyer.
HDB 4 rm(especially those new flats) i think will be hard to have all in 1 session

last time my friend gal 1 yo bd party also in her 5rm flat. the buffet person actually prepared the refill food b4 hand, and put it at the staircase, so when the food finish,1 of the friend will help to top it up.
but when sing bd song, of cos all cannot sqeeze into the house but she will have group photo lor. like wedding like tat.

but 1 thing to note, there was too many ppl there, moving ard the house and all wanted to see the bd gal, so the bd gal was very cranky the whole day.somemore could not have a good nap cos noisy.
so i think u must take this into consideration lor

nining
thanks for hosting yet another gathering. glad paige got to see ike in the end. ;)

too bad we came later and didn't get to meet many of the mommies.

leooh,
finally we met. no need to classify you as the only mommy my hubby has met but not me.
only got a peep of enci since she was asleep. next time must bao bao. hee

woof,
think paige and carene dont remember their kindermusik meeting already.

cola,
my hubby keep saying your girl so dainty and sweet.

Hi Karen, welcome. thread is open to everyone. feel free to post. I think some here also not Aug-mummies, but still its fine. so feel free =)

Hi twinkle, think you must consider before party you need to clear your living room to make room for chairs and guests. Then imagine if there are several food dropped on floor or your furnitures then you still need to clean those after the party. quite tiring, right? i think it would be better to celebrate in void deck if you dont want to rent function rooms.

twinkle,
i staying 4rm flat and holding it at hm for 1 session.. house is cramp but no choice lah.. i don 1 2 split into so many sessions, lazy.. i will place all my chairs outside corridors, tink most guest will eat at the corridor..

loh
i dont think we met last time at the first gathering did we? sorry, cant remember. it was good to see you this time, and ivan too.

cola
once i open the cereal, i will immediately pour and keep in lock lock box. this time once open, all bugs inside. dont know how long they were living inside. maybe hatched inside too. eeeee

glad you got your hp back.

the xplory is US$900. if you are shipping back, it is not worth it as it is very heavy. only if you bring it back yourself then prob worth it. cos of the weight, it is actually not a good stroller to be bringing around/traveling. crosscom (suntec) is selling S$1950. they offer much better service than motherworks in my opinion. i went to motherworks and they didnt even want to do my biz, give me the you-cant-afford-this service. some bigger mothercare also sell the xplory.

Jete: I saw ur stroller leh.. heehee.. y so expensive huh? I previously saw at mothercare was like $2k... i thinking who will buy something like tat so ex!!
So does Paige enjoy the stroller?

crystalgal,
I fed my boi salmon once, but he not keen.

Jete,
We met during 1st gathering. Anyway, there are so many parents and babbies around during the first time compared to last sun. So u got gel paige hairs on Sunday? Only the top part standing up..heheh

cola
i tell my hubby he cannot quit, cos his co pays for most of our benefits, including 90% of any obgyn expenses for me.

crystalgal
i tot the nachos were pretty good. same as the one for sale at 7-11. you can buy and try first then decide if you want to buy.

zhuzhu
paige had bad tummy upset for 3w. this past sat then recover. at first i didnt bring her to pd cos she was active and eating well, after 1.5 w then brought her and pd said why wait so long. her system quite messed up by then so will take longer to recover. pd said either infection from food or from her putting her fingers inside her mouth. she took med and we were told to give half diluted fm or soy milk. it took another 1 w then suddenly recover. she can poop 5x a day.

I just came back from meeting.. gosh it dragged until now then finish.. so sleepy!
This meg woke up twice again!! Tho it is for short time (prob abt 5 mins) but I am used to sleeping all nite long, rather tired have to wake up halfway.

Jete,
Thanks for the praises for Meg. She is rather devilish recently,super naughty!
Hope this is just a phase. Paige is so cute, oh ya I had to checked with your hubby if i spelt "PAIGE" correctly haha.. so scared if not, you will get angry, I stil can figure out how to pronounce PAI - GE ehehehehe
Her hair is standing! so cute, she didnt smile at me ler.. Btw are you still BFg her??

Thanks the xplore is really cheap there, i saw it at harbourfront mothercare.. expensive.
Will tell hubby about this :p but i am just thinking whether it is worth buying such an expensive stroller or not..
Perhaps get him to buy another maclaren :p keke

My HT oat cereal finished this mornign. Tomorrow onward Meg only have the adult oat to eat...
Dun plan to buy another box after the bug thingy that I heard.. How could such things be allowed, should report to the authority.
How if some mummies poured a bit let bb have it, and the next day when they poured out more, they then found it??!!??

zhuzhu
yes paige likes her stroller. she likes being higher up, can see more things so more willing to stay inside. also she can face us or face out. it is also convenient to be able to use the stroller as high chair.

loh
haahaa, no leh, never gel. she did get her first hair cut on sat night, keep moving so her fringe slanted one.

cola
exactly, if moms keep the cereal in the box, may not know got bugs. but i doubt it, cos these bugs were trying to get OUT. that's why half an hour later, so many in the ziplog bag flying.

no lah, wont get angry. spell wrongly is nothing compare to the pd shouting out her name as pai ge. how the pd said it? eh.... she said it like pie (english) ge (like you say song in chinese)

she is still on 50% frozen ebm. no longer pumping, once she finishes the frozen stash then no more. i stopped pumping the day after she turned 10m. got enough to last her until 1yo and some, good already lor.

the xplory can sit util 45lb. paige is about 17lb now, so hopefully can last her for a while.

Jete,
Wow.. its very nice of your hub co. May I know if your hub is working as a lecturer or sth like that?
My hub co also paid for outpatient expenses, but restricted to polyclinics. for ob/gyane expenses can be paid thru petty cash allocated to each employee.
However, normally he claimed our travel expenses from the petty cash hehehe

My hubby will never ever quit his job, coz he is deeply in love in what he is doing.. some more with his busy studies, he still can tell me he enjoys it.
Imagine, after work go lecture, come back at 10pm, study and do assignment til 1am, wake up 7am go office, work, class, etc...

cola
my hubby works for a pharm co. he is in cancer research, drug discovery. he can claim our medical but not 100%, still better than nothing. Dont know why the obgyn deal is so good. he needs to get promoted, then it will be 100%. :p

if your hubby likes what he does, then he will have satisfaction doing it, regardless of how hard he works. when my hubby was doing his grad school, he worked very hard. go to work in the lab at 9am. come home for dinner then around 10pm go back to lab again until 4am. i used to go with him when he goes to lab at night, if not wont see him much.

Jete,
Ya pie-ge is so funny :p
So paige's tummy gets better? nowadays meg also poos like twice a day sometimes.. and super smelly one!
I can see that my Meg is so small compared to other bbies in the gathering ler.. Paige beefs up a lot. Meg eats a lot, poos a lot!

An_gal,
Very brave of you to hold celebration at home!

for buffet catering, u all usually order according to the no of pax u invite? or less?
did anyone ever had not enough food for guest, then how? sorry ah, cos last time organising was like 7yrs ago (my wedding) haha

Jete,
I think when we are deeply into what we like to do/achieve, we wont feel the tiredness.
Luckily,my hubby likes whatever he is doing.. not like me ler, everyday i go out to work with no passion coz keep thinking of Meg at home..
This mornign she cried when I said bye to her..

twinkle2

I ever host buffet for above 70pax for my 1st boy full month, we break into 2 sessions, 1 lunch and a hi-tea session, as hubby is SAF regular, so have many people he invited as they contribute gifts mah... Its was tiring lah...but no choice, we set up all the stool outside our corridor lor..most of them eat outside lah than some come inside to chat only..so still ok lor!! At the end of the day need some cleaning in the house for sure...

This time round for my gal, we only intend to invite a few good friends + relative..will come to around 30pax also...but guess that is ok lor..

Jete: wat paige had sounds like wat tricia was having! She seems better now. Poop once this morning but still marshy. Waiting for her poop to solidify into 1 tube like form den will let her drink her usual amt again

hi all, if i want to give celery as snack for my boy - do i need to steam it first?

I haven't even started on my boy's 1 year party - my goodness! Wanted to do fidgets but went there for recce and now don't think so, its not like what i expected it to be like...so just a normal one will do.

Goldpiggy,
Are you sure want to give yourboy celery as snack?? It smells so wierd and tastes as wierd ler.
In my opinion, he might get phobia to the celery ler.. Y not let him bite on carrot stick? raw one also okay, at least it is not as strong as celery.
This is just a piece of advice.

Btw, I didnt know if celery needs to be steamed or can be eaten raw..

Ro_cola, haha, but i read from the web to give celery as its a healthy snack and its crunchy also. So if i give carrot stick, he only have 2 teeth and then if carrot is hard then will his 2 teeth break? haha

cola,
at 1st thought of chalet, but chalet oso so many tings 2 bring so decided 2 hold it at home

twinkle,
no need order exact lah.. not all guest will eat and don 4get u still hav bday cake

been so long since my last post.

The gathering pics make me drool, so many cute babies, everyone must had enjoyed urselves.

jete,
grossss.... u must have freaked out by the bugs, imagine if those bugs were not hatched and ended up in baby's stomach. OMG! so hv u made any complaint so far?

an_gal,
happy 1st lunar bday to melcolm *kiss*.. so fast right? today is chloe's 1st lunar bday, same thing eat mee sua, red eggs, drumsticks, wear shoes, choose items and *shame shame* pick 4D. Heheee...

zhuzhu,
so how's precious tricia? hope she recovers soon. gastric flu is so unbearable.

jang,
which outlet u all gg tmr? kallang or dempsey? just went to dempsey on sun, chloe was not so adventurous
lazy bum