(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

Ivy,

Haha. Thats the funny part right! i'm sooo amused + amazed by how these little minds function

zhuzhu,
u are rite...at times, we wan to stop her from crawling on the bed den my hubby and I will hug each other and say "sayang sayang". She got so worked up and crawled twd us and wan to get involved too..haha

an_gal,
the real fun is coming soon

glee,
yeah, my girl too..all kinds of tags...even labels on the new clothes. if u dun watch her, she will put it into her mouth.

Lilyn,

My boy buttock really got thorns lor, cant sit still one!! My parents always said if my boy sit still w/o moving for 5min, im going to tio 4D liao!! hahahaha He belong to those active type lor, very bo c tiam one!

Not only all ur daughters hor, my boy like those white tags too, like to suck sia... faintz...

<font color="0000ff">Glee</font>, i'll order from Kellie. I like her fondant cake designs, also price is just right =) and her cupcakes are also nice, ill be ordering as well. oh, and she delivers as well, so hassle free.

<font color="0000ff">Ivy</font>, on potty training...my mum bought potty for my boi and he loves sitting on it...hehehe! more of chair than potty.

<font color="0000ff">Garfield</font>, you're right, this thread really is fast! difficult to keep up.

for mummies who will be going to expo motherhood fair for tomorrow and friday, inform us if its worth the trip. we plan to go this weekend, but if no good buy then might no go at all..so need your comments. thanks!

Ivy,
not to worry lah abt the head bumpa/.. I think hoor I will glue in on Ike kekekekeke... I gave one to my sis and her son took it well.. so I think it depends on the baby..

I'm back. Just got back frm Sydney last night.

Chatty, thanks once again for those items. Hope you enjoy your holiday. But with so many of you going, I'm sure you will.

Most of my trip was spent with Aidan alone, as my hub has to work. The tiring thing was, I have to walk most of the time cause has Aidan with me, the stroller and his bulky bag, cannot take any public transport other than the ferry. The cabs won't take me because of Aidan, they hve this very strict regulation abt bbs in carseat, it is a must, no carseat, no bbs. So, only cabs with carseats will take us, and sad thing is, not many cabs hve carseats. Remember we were walking with my hub and one of his partner along the street waving for a cab, one cabby wanted to stop for us, but the moment he sees me &amp; bb, he pointed at me and signalled if I'm also taking the cab, when I nod my head, he immediately wave us off and drive off. In the end, we took a bus back. But when alone, just couldn't possible take a bus. The worst part was, the hotel is located at the top of a slop, so, when going back to the hotel at end of each day was a dread.

Other than that, the trip was ok, nice &amp; cool temperature, think Aidan likes it but due to dry weather, his face started to hve cold rush and one side even developed fungus, but good thing brought along medicated cream.

Flight going was smooth as it was quite an empty flight, but coming back was back wasn't so good, cause it was quite a full flight, not sure if it's because it's the A380 that's why. Chatty, do remember the masking tape to keep James busy during take off. We didn't have one, so during the take off, Aidan was screaming away.

As for feeding, we bought this sterilising pack frm Mothercare. It's a package that comes with tablets and bags, all individually packed, 7 days' supply. How it work is, you fill the bag with normal tap water (cold one will do), dissolve the 2 tablets given in the pack in the bag and then put in the bottles, teats or what have you that you want to sterilise, tighten the bag, leave it for 30 mintues. After that, take out the sterilised items, and just rinse them with normal water (I rinse them with boiled water), and it's done.

Of course, you can also do what nining suggest, put it into the kettle, but the kettle provided by the hotel we stay in was kind of small, so we have to resort the tablet method.

Anyway, am glad we are back.

speaking of bday cakes, i've bn searching for non-egg cakes to trial b4 i make it for yee heng's birthday..anyone has ideas?

Wah Ike also only like real tags, real remote, real phone, real CD/DVD.. buy him the fake ones he knows.. worse still, gave him the real but spoilt one, he also knows!!!

Jang,
just managed to find your post re-your maid's detail hehehe.. thanks..

Mel,
I think am gonna have to setup flea market too, all my winter clothing cannot fit oredi..

Lilyn
if u wanna purchase a seat on SQ website, just click under the child (2-7 years) cos only 2 years only required to buy a seat, and only up to 7 years are eligible for child fare, under 2 years can be lap baby.. usually the cost of a child seat is 75% of adult tix.. If flying SQ with lap baby, the cost for lap baby (no seat tix) is already 35-40% so i think getting a seat at 75% is more sensible..

Angeline, yup kellie does cakes as well and her designs are very nice.

Yes, I can view the page with no issues. maybe some intermittent issue with blogspot sites awhile ago.

btw, Glee, i read from one thread that her cakes quite sweet, so you might want to tell her to lessen the sweetness...but to be honest many mummies also commented that some other cake suppliers also sweet, so i guess its really base on person who is eating...me i like sweet, so should be fine.

Ivy: No need to apologize. It was a great BP. Great prices and all. The problem lies with the fact that I never remembered to put any hats on James' head when he was younger, hence, he's just not used to wearing anything on his head...its like the carseat issue : )

Nining: Thanks : )...hope to hear good news from your maid soon : ).

Lilyn: SQ staff advised us to change birthdate of baby to that of at least 2 years old when booking seat on-line, as the system only allows children aged 2 years and above to buy seats. 2 working days after you've purchased seat on-line, call SQ up and have the date changed manually.

Muddypie: You're most welcome. Hope it was useful for you. Thanks for sharing your experience. I'm now desperately trying to pack James' stuff...there's so much, I can't help but wonder if I should just hire professional movers...ha! ha! Packing for a trip is worse than just staying at home...I'm so exhausted...

hi nining/chatty: tks for advice. Am not going to bring a carseat along, already dread the amount of items to bring along for 3wks trip to Canada, can't imagine another item carseat, bulky like anything!! Like i mentioned earlier, I bought a seat for my boy and will get an aircraft harness for him from here, http://www.kidsflysafe.com/index.php. We will be taking Air Canada, as it is a better choice as SQ don't do Toronto leg. I checked with Air Canada, they don't provide harness. In Vancouver and Toronto, I will be driven around by my friend and SIL respectively, so no worries about carseat.
They will provide carseat for my boy.

My boy is 75cm tall now, he won't be able to fit into the aircraf bassinet for sure by Dec.

Muddypie: what is this masking tape you were talking about to keep baby occupied? Sealed the mouth? hahahhaaa

tiny voice,
no probs.. your child should be 1 year old in Dec ya, so this kind of restraint seems safe enough.. But I won't feel safe using it for a < 1year old child.. cos they still fumble and stumble, when they sleep they still slouch and arch.. in this position the car seat will provide good support to their back bone..

Chatty ,
no worries.. Heh I usually pack a week earlier whne travelling nowadays..

Nining: yup, he will be 15mths in Dec when we will be traveling.
You're right, under 1 yr old child will not be suitable to use such harness.

chatty
have a good trip. hope james like paige's food recommendations! haahaa oh, paige likes the oatmeal, grits, and pancakes at breakfast, can try these food items if looking for food for james.

muddypie
welcome home!

a bit abt our traveling....
we originally wanted to use the sitnstroll for this trip but in the end decided against it since the majority of the trip will be on the cruise ship and it means one more thing to carry. we had to carry all the food that we tot paige will eat cos dont know what she can eat on the ship and nowhere to buy since we went from airport to ship. funny thing is we got off the plane and we ended up with more jar food than we brought. on each flight, we got 6 jars and paige only ate 2 the entire flight!

buying a seat for the baby really helps. we didn't get the bassinet cos it was already booked. for certain naps, paige will sleep across the seat, other times she slept on daddy.

our bad for packing last min, we forgot to pack toys in our handcarry. hubby kept paige occupied with whatever was in the seat pocket, reading the safety manual and DFS catalog. in tokyo, we bought her a hello kitty hp toy and she wasn't even interested and went back to exploring the material in the seat pocket. she also watched a bit of baby einstein on the tv. the plane had mini headset, so cute.

take off and landing was ok. didn't seem to bother her at all. i had pigeon little biscuits with me, just in case she needs help with the pressure.

i packed fm and cereal in little baggies in the amt of her per feed. those for the trip, i put in a lock lock box. for the flight, i just put in a bigger ziplog. brought a bowl and the combi spoon (with case). love the combi spoon. it goes everywhere with us even in sg. off the flight, i use the lock lock box for sterilizing the playtex stuff and warming up the instant porridge/jar food. we brought a travel kettle with us. could have used the coffee maker but we weren't sure if the ship cabin had one, good thing we brought the kettle cos the cabin had a coffee maker but the water smell of coffee. bought the pigeon bottle/vege cleaner, small bottle, nice size for traveling.

we ended up bringing a lot of things cos we didn't have any time to shop before getting on the ship and it's not easy to get things at port of calls in alaska/canada. if we're going to anywhere else in the US, we would not have to bring so much stuff.

---------------

i was determined that paige will eat normal meals, yeah crazy i know. we brought instant porridge with us for her to eat with jar food. troublesome definitely, but i'm glad she had her usual food, even tho it was with jar food and not homemade puree.

flight wise, some flights were good, others no. sg to tokyo, she slept from the start and was awake the last 2 hours. but the flight from tokyo to seattle, she was asleep only for 2 hours then up all the way. she wasn't bothering other people, made some noise here and there and was cranky cos she was tired but overall people commented on how good she was. flight back was not so good. RDU to cleveland she slept, good. cleveland to seattle, she cried and screamed the whole 4 hours. i cant even take it myself, i think most people around us want to throw us off the plane. seattle to tokyo she was sleeping now and then, somewhat cranky, worse is she threw up all over hubby and herself. she had a fever and we had to give her a dose of med. flight from tokyo back was good, she slept most of it.

maybe we should stick to going to tokyo only, since she was so good in and out bound to tokyo.

Chatty, think for our next baby we shd wear a hat on them to get them used to it. My hb also says we din "condition" her with it earlier

If not really very "xin tong" to see her fall down and knocked onto her head...

Jete, so going 1 place should be quite okie loh.. thinking of bringing her for travel, but my hb and sis against it
then i was telling her a lot of my forum friends already bringing their baby overseas... one of my friend even travel to US and on Cruise to Alaska...

Jessel, i'm also using the chair potty.. hmm.. mine is Fisherprice 1 but i find it not so comfortable but bobian lei.. bought this so ex 1 can't even sell it so hv to stick to it. I always give myself excuses not to potty train her...I feel older generation tends to potty train babies faster. Think they are more determine ba.

Nining, glad to know that your sis baby is taking it well. I feel head is so impt but i simply can't force Shannon to wear the head bumpa.. i tried using force and i tried talking to her nicely all don't work...

anegline
last time we ordered from cheong choon. above $150 free delivery. like mel said shopbug is cheaper when they were having sale, now not sure same price or not, i didn't check.

choco
i think rather than cio, maybe can try playing and distracting him while he is inside the car seat. or bring the car seat into the house, now and then sit him inside and get him use to it? some times i think cio it make the bb dislike whatever it is even more.

cin
yeah lor, hard to use stroller. always so crowded everywhere and we always use lift so double trouble. have to get her use to stroller, cannot forever bjorn her. hubby said he likes to bjorn her, i told him ok lor you can bjorn her until she is 18yo, :p

jang/choco
i think muddypie has the mirror thing you are referring to. teasing you mah, since jaeden grow so fast. :p

jessel
paige went from lying to sitting suddenly. babies progress so fast. paige just tried to stand last fri when we got home, she succeeded once on the ship holding on to daddy. came home, took her one day and she stands up every time. last night i just lowered her crib so the sides are at her chest now. previously she stand up, the side is almost waist level only, very dangerous.

nining,
i can help u to email and ask...by the way, can u recall how many pple interested to order from them?

wow Jete, what an adventure...thanks for sharing ur trip so that i know what to expect coming Dec. For such a long haul flight, am glad you bought a seat for Paige.

woof
i bought the vicks yest but havent tried. turned out the cough med paige was on did nothing for her and she had to be put on another med. after just one dose, her cough is better already.

adeline
thanks, hopefully the shoot will come out ok. hard to say now cos paige timing is still so mess up.

<font color="0000ff">Jete</font>, congrats to paige. steve needs to turn and from lying on his stomach can push himself to sitting. he is now trying to stand from sitting, but we're very scared for him so everytime we hold him...hehehe!

<font color="0000ff">Ivy</font>, steve's potty chair is from ikea...quite cheap...did not get him expensive one cause its only for trial...my mummy just want to see if steve can poo using it but still with nappy - ha!

<font color="0000ff">Chatty</font>, is that the case for SQ? but if we book 2yrs old then we have to pay for the seat, then how to refund? we plan to go to HK after his bday, i though just after booking online you need to inform SQ that you have infant travelling with you.

lilyn
paige also love bread. i am convinced it is what got her to start the chewing motion. before that she just swallow everything. now she is becoming a hamster, keep food in the mouth. she is 7.3kg at 10m. drinking a lot less milk now. last time can drink 23oz, past week only avg 12oz, one day was 7.5oz!! argh!!

jang
that's what is preventing us from getting a maid tho we could do with some help. we feel so weird having a stranger in the house with us, and like you said the flat now so small. try to do more housework during weekend. weekday just close one eye and do the bare min.