(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

cin: Oh dear! It must be so stressful for you to have to deal with this situation. I feel sorry for your maid. Imagine not knowing whether or not one's family is alive. I think the maid agency is very unreasonable.

mudpie

the best gift for hb is yourself!! hahaha!!
buy a sexy bunny suit n hide in a box n put it infront of the door. then when he opened the box, u jumped out shouting "SURPRISE!!"

btw, your ex p/t still work?can pass contact? if i get my own place i want to try using a p/t 1st to see if i can cope. i thk shdnt be a prob cos hse so small n i am sahm. i dun like to have stranger in the hse. present hse diff, need a maid cos there r 4 adults n a baby. the only hsework i hate is IRONING my hb's work shirts.

the way u describe abt cooking n u as a head chef is sooo funny. hahaha!

my aunt was telling me last weekend that to keep your hb's heart is to cook his favourite dish. mine is easy. he only like fried stuff!!but sooo unhealthy!!the cleaning after frying is terrible!

chatty
yah, its very stressful for me. that is why i am releasing stress by msning, fb n forum while titus is sleeping. i cant bear to scold her cos as a mother i understand. just leave her alone n dun even dare to ask her do anything. i try to console her but she seems so daze. we r not in her shoes, can understand her pain. we r so lucky in spore.

nining
yep, u r lucky u got a transfer maid from frd. usually nobody like to take a transfer maid from agent.

Cin/Chatty,
my maid told me that in jakarta during the so called "training" before the maids get sent to Spore/HK/wherever, they were housed in some short of shelter, which I think not humane, cannot go out cos the maid agency scared they will get lured in by competitors, and everything must buy via their people, including soap etc, which price is double than outside. Like a jail in movie, where convicts will pay the jail warden steep price for cigarettes,... Then the price that they are indebted and paying in Spore in term of 8 monhts no pay, inclusive of full board in that shelter, but the food provided were very meagre and some more not always healthy, there are cases of food poisoning on weekly basis.. my maid was lucky her sister works in jakarta, she came to visit her daily and give her food and her needs.. realy really like jail..

Transfer maid from agent usually are the reject cases ya?

Cin,
When people are desperate, they resort to things like stealing.. And if they're uneducated, it's really really difficult to make them understand how complicated things are, cos they think it's so easy just get on plane and go home..

Cin,
u naughty naughty bunny!! hahahahaha.. I bet you ever did that stunt to your hubby ya!! did he get heartattack? hahahah...

ooops I just remember I havent ordered flowers for my MIL for mother's day!!! quick do.. lucky it still can be delivered on monday so am late by a bit only kekeke...

Nining: Yup! Very inhumane. But not giving maids any off-days while working here is just as inhumane...just spoke to a maid agency recommended by my hubby's boss, and the lady who answered the phone told me that most Singapore employers do that so that they don't have to look for alternative childcare arrangements on their maid's off-days. Right now, I'm getting frustrated coz I've been calling the Singapore Polytechnic CEL office regarding their inactive Employer Orientation Programme website, and no one's picking up the phone!

Nining: Its still Sunday night over there, so if you make an order now, u might just be in time

Chatty,
yeah for me I gave every sunday off cos we also want to have privacy at home.. but the result is on sundays our home is like a wreck hahahah.. but the maid will clean up once she gets home at abt 5 or 6pm.. My hubby usually will scold her told her to wait till monday cos it's still her sunday off and she said she likes doing it .. hahaha..
The EOP, u still can register and do it online right? the website is down now?

I've just ordered from norfolkflorist, luckily they still will deliver on the EST monday hehehehe.. so not too bad..

ning
i only good at giving ideas. hahaha! u want me to help u with that? but i do miss playing pranks at work.

yep u r rite. transfer cases from agents r usually reject cases. but sometimes if u r lucky, u might get a good one. but i still thk that if u r good to them, they will be good to u to.

hey even in myammar, the training is quite inhumane for them.their so called teachers r harsh to them n they have not enough food to eat in their training centre too.

i really find that we r so lucky in spore esp our children's generation. my maid was telling me her children when they r babies dun eat food being blend from blender. their caregivers' mouth r their "blender"! yeeks!!!! each time when titus cant finish his food, she will say he is so lucy n i really felt bad abt it. each time her got a new toy or clothes, the envy from her eyes is undescribeable. she said the toys her children play r made from flour. the clothes that they wear when they r babies r cotton cloth, like the cloth nappy type.

chatty
its up to u. if u want to give her, by all means go ahead. she will appreciate.
why do u have to call spore poly? regarding what prog?

u getting indo or philipino? i prefer indo though might have comm prob initially. but nevermind can use hand n legs for gesture. n they cook well.

Nining: Just managed to do it online. Paid by credit card, then cannot print out transaction ref...sigh! Let's hope that when the time comes I'll be able to sit for the course...I also intend to give my maid every sunday off. I think its only fair. I hope she doesn't get into trouble. My mum's last maid got pregnant...

Cin: Apparently if you are a first time employer, you need to attend the FWD Employers Orientation Program, on-line or in class. Costs $30...I think its some sort of test...So now waiting for Singapore Poly to process my application for the course. No course, no work permit application allowed by MOM. Just learnt of it 2 hours ago when I called the maid agency to check on pricing.

Hmm...any pics of you in your jap schoolgirl costume ? :p

cin: I heard that Indonesian maids are easier to manage...not sure. My mum has had both, and generally except for the one who got pregnant, the indonesian ones have been okay.

oh i see.

private n confidential. cannot post the picture here. :p

chatty n ning
hey u gals got facebook? go n create one. how come both of u free at this time? bosses not around?:p

chatty
if u have older folks at home, indon maids are better. they can take the older folks nagging. they r more tolerant than the other 2 nationalities. many many many years ago, we have thai maid. she is soooo good in her cooking till my mum caught her coming back from off day always drunk n she stole my dad's hard liquor.

Chatty,
do u get an email from their system providing you with some codes to attend the EOP online? I think I got mine like 8 hrs after the online registration..
If you want, I can ask my maid if she can recommend one of her friend who wants to be transferred from current employment.. One of her friend early this year was transferred to Meita by her recommendation too and Meita is very pleased with the maid.. my maid will not recommend if she thinks her friend is "funny" if you know what I mean.. My maid in her sundays she attends english course, or go see her friends at Woodlands area, cos my friend used to live in woodlands area by the american school there..

It's been so long since my last post (except my mother's day message) although i'm still lurking in the thread. how was everyone's mother's day celebration y'day?

Oh ya, the most recent topic - Maid
FINALLY... I've decided to send my SAHM (Stay-at-home maid) back in July after she repays all her o/s loan to me. she is overall average except that she is really really really slow in everything, show blackface when chided and wouldn't go out with us in car cos she said she will vomit.

Haiz... the last straw came when i discovered by chance that the inside and ring of the teat of chloe's sippy cup was filled with molds which can't be removed even though i tried very hard to, (these molds are the type which 2 wet items are in contact for a long time with no proper drying). i asked her, she said she did remove the teat to clean it and even tried to scrap the molds away. in fact i think she dun even know that the molds existed! then i told her she should at least tell me so that i can get a new one, she said she forgot. she still tried to defend herself until i asked her "will u use it to drink water if it is YOUR cup?", she kept quiet. i said to her, "u didn't even dare to drink from it, let alone u let a baby drink water from it!" i think i had enough of her, sometimes i even rather bring chloe out than staying at home to see the way she work and vomit blood.

i'm glad we have decided to send her back but of cos worry about the new problems we will face with the new one. wish me good luck...

nining,
you are so lucky having a good maid.

cin,
it's true they will be good to us if we are good to them. too bad for my case, me & family really treat our maid very well, she eats whatever we eats - cheap or expensive, my dad gives her extra allowances every week. she only needs to do housework while i take care of chloe totally by myself yet she cant fulfill the simplest expectation.

any comments on indo, phil & Myammar maids? i dare not get indo cos of some negative remarks i heard and myammar cos of language problem. hb wants to get a phil one but of cos they are smarter too.

Hello Mummies!
Happy Belated Mother's day to all of you! Wow!! THe thread has been moving!! Dont know if I have time to keep up..I have not come in since last Weds..haha!

Mathias has been having a fever since last Sat..over 38 degs and I only brought him to the dr today *bad mummy* but the thing is that I didnt know that was a high fever cos I thought I saw on the Braun instruction book that 38deg is still normal temp!! only today when e PD told me he was having at fever at 37.6deg then I found out that anything above 36.5 deg is a fever..luckily I sponged him and pasted the cooling patch and gave him paracetamol during the weekend (thinking that it was a slight fever)

I just came into work at abt 2pm after seding Mathias to my parent's place after seeing the PD so now gotta do some stuff..will try to catch up on the thread later

Cin,
Titus knows how to use dtraw already? I just bought Mathias the Mag Mag cup with the spout cos I thought they wont know how to use straw yet..looks like I should have gotten the straw top instead!! As for my race..1/2 chinese, 1/4 filipino, 1/4 spanish ;)

Haha!u so funny, megan and become Rc's mommy!!!

Lilyn,
when my MIL stayed with me, I also couldnt stand in when she barged into my room whenever Mathias cried at nite...thank goodness she does not live w me anymore..but last week she stayed over one night and I also shoved my breast to Mathias with every slight whimper cos I didnt want her to think Im suffering without her..I thk u all remember what happend between me and her right?

Re: hubbies
Hmm...sometimes I also get very irritated with my husband abt not helping out in the house..for him, once he comes home, he plays with Mathias..one thing good is that he'll shower him, play with him,put him to sleep, feed him etc...but when it comes to sterilising, doing the laundry,washing the dishes etc...I'm the MAID!!! He has become so lazy after having Mathias..then I'll have to nag and nag then he'll help..

But one thing is that when it comes to showering Mathias he'll go into the bathroom with my naked boy..then after that he'll shout for the towel...then ask me for the diapers, ask me for the creams, ask me for the pyjamas..*faint*

ythanh,
I think both lucky heheheh cos we also dont demand much from her, since when we employ her, she's to mind Ike when we're at work. when we're home, Ike is with me or hubby 100% unless we're in teleconference at home..
I think no matter what nationality is, all maids will have their shortcoming if we have high expectancy on them. Best is to really spell out what we want them to do, if necessary daily.. They're working standard or expectancy standard will be different with ours so if we let them decide, of course there are things they short cut, cos honestly if I have to be SAHM and keep Ike's companied, fed, clothed plus run the household plus cooking dinner, I'd be dead in few months hehehe.. I can do for Ike, but the house won't be taken care of, laundry will not be done and we all can eat tapau only unless hubby will cook every dinner time.. He used to do that before Ike's born, but now we both prefer him to play with Ike than slaving himself in kitchen..

muddypie,
your MIL so good to your maid, want to celebrate her bday?? SO far I thk ppl usually just give a gift or by a cake..just simple simple right?? unless the maid is really very good and work for u for long time already then maybe u treat her as part of your family then I understand..but the thing is that if u and hubs dont even celebrate your own bday, then celebrating for maid is abit odd..

jessel!! for some reason I seem to see some similarities in your boy steve and my mathias!!haha!! Anyone sees a similarity??

Muddypie,
For the sake of your own sanity, I too hope u dont have to live w your ILs..cos in teh past, My MIL and me used to be buddy buddy type//we could even go shopping together, talk on the phone, cook together etc. but once she started staying w me after I gave birth, thats when all hell broke loose! Its just the diferent upbringing/beliefs/habits etc that cause the rift and I still feel irritated just having to see her face..cos Im a very straightforward person. I dont pretend to like u if I dont like you..but in her case, I have to pretend which totally sucks big time!

nining,
i love tiramisu too but difficult 2 find nice ones hehe

cin,
ur maid is realli desperate now.. stole titus rice, faintz

ytanhn,
so getting a new maid.. i finally spin the cover n show melcolm but pls wait for blog cos no time 2 update haha

mel,
hope Mathias get well soon

adeline,
haha chloe is back to her chubby chubby self..

Mel,
i traced back thru the thread to see mathias pics...yes, i can see some similarities =) how old is mathias now? he seems big in 1st sikh new year clothes.

Hope he gets well soon.

an_gal, woof,
ya 2 kg is alot, bobian 1 week like never eat anything mah... i look so weak and frail.
i rather be healthy and be on the "ba ba" side.
lucky now my appetite is slowly coming back
and i'm back work liao

doren's 2 other top teeth are popping soon.
then he'll have 6 teeth liao...
happy that i can bring him home to or or already! yeah!

Adeline,
Chloe is still michelin as ever!! Since I give Ike FM, his milk intake is much lesser, luckily he eats a lot for the semi solid...

Mel,
Mathias poor thing.. Fever is really bad for babies, be very careful... cos fever is like cooking babies' fragile organs if too high..

Bliss,
wow Doren is really progressing.. Ike just got 2 more teeth so total now 4, 2 bottom and 2 upper front.. the upper ones really cute, they're really like bunny teeth hahaha..

An_gal,
hehehe for me anything sweet can oredi kekeke...

Hi Jenny,
Welcome! I'm also new here.

Ember,
Yes, my boy dug out the keys in my laptop. Sigh...

Chatty,
If you have no time for the maid test, your hubby also can take it. Its transferable btw. husband and wife. That's what I did.
cin,
Thanks for assurance on maid. Hope you solve your problem soon.

Muddypie,RE:bday cake options
got this list from another thread.
Strawberry Shortcake Bakery
http://www.e-shop.com.sg/index.php?cPath=54_45&osCsid=ed40bba7879f9ad58c6f56f58219cc37

Glad Cake
http://gladcake.blogspot.com/

Ecreative
http://www.ecreative.com.sg/index.asp

Emi Cakes
http://www.emicakes.com.sg/

7th Manna
http://www.7thmanna.com/

Room for Desserts
http://www.roomfordessert.com.sg/

Hotfuchsia.
http://www.hotfuchsia.com

Sweet Secrets
http://www.sweetsecrets.com.sg/cake.htm

Pine Garden
www.pgcakes.com

cherylshuen
http://www.cherylshuen.com

Cake Avenue
www.cakeavenue.com
(artistic charge is $20, they sometimes charge $25)

The Patissier
http://www.thepatissier.com/

Cedele
www.cedeledepot.com

vivian cakes
http://www.freewebs.com/vivcakes/

BALLOONS:
http://www.twinkleballoons.com/
http://www.bezballoons.com
http://www.grefio.com.sg

All mommies,
Any suggestions on how to make baby's 1st birthday special? ?Do share your plans

hey nining,
let me collate the no. of interested mummies den i let the person-in-charge know so that we are entitled to 5% discount..

RE: ECreative cake
1)woof
2)nining

bliss,
glad to hear tat u are better...take care..

muddypie,
wow...u will be much busier when aidan knows how to walk coz u'll to chase him ard..haha

adeline,
woah...chloe is so bubbly

ytanhn,
i tink everyone will haf problems wif maids juz the matter of whether how serious it is...hope tat the next one will be beta..as for nationality, i tink tat's nt the matter..it really depends on luck...good luck!

cin, can understand your frustration, but at the same time, can also understand how your maid feel. Now that we are mothers, imagine if our child is not with us, and we found out that our child is in danger, we'll definitely behave like her. The agent is really terrible as to not let her go back and even want to transfer her to another employer, think it's really very irresponsible of them. They know that she's so worried sick abt her family there, whr got mood to work her, so in the end, the new employer and the maid will be the victim. And the cycle goes on.

As for my ex p/t, will sms you her details. So far, I think she's reliable, cause a couple of times we actually leave her with our keys and go out, she'll finish her work and lock up, return the keys to us the next time she returns. Of course, I feel we as employer must also play a part by making sure we keep all our valuable belongings, at least no temptation.

Abt cooking, aiyah, I'm really bad, learn all frm my mum. Usually will prepare 1 meat dish, soup and vegetables, sometimes another egg or something. My favourite dish, soy sauce chicken, steam salted chicken, steam egg, steam fish. Am still trying to master the deep fried stuff. Don't seems to be able to make it crispy and crunchy. Anyone has got any tips? I usually mix a bit of corn flour and self raising flour, still ok lah, but to make it ike the tempura type, how to huh?? Add egg??

Haa..haa....you very funny,our you and your naughty idea. Can't fit into my shool uniform alrdy, too fat.....

nin, the way you describe the condition of the maid's training, so horrible.

Transfer maids, yah, reject maids. But not all are bad lah. There are some employers, are really very demanding. I've got a friend who's got a transfer maid, but she's quite ok, got transferred cause she was taking care of an elderly and the elderly passed away, that's why were transferred out.

nin, you're still in time for Mother's Day, quick.....

Off days for maids. Mine don't hve off day. I know it's bad, but it's really no joke when they go out to mix around with bad company or even just simple things like chit chatting with friends and make comparisons. And that's when some get pregnant or start to steal frm employers. I think it's really scary, esp my hub travels quite alot, it's quite scary hving to live under the same roof with a stranger alone with bb.

nin, must say you're really very very lucky to hve a good maid. At least, she's very discipline.

chatty, yes, now you need to go through the test, but it's quite fast, we got the cert within 2 working days.

ytanhn, if you really cannot get a long with the current one, yah, should just send her off, cause it's realy very stressful.

As for nationality, was told by agent, phil are good and no language problem, but quite cunning. Myanmmar, very stubborn, they like to tell you their rights. Indo, language problem, but most of them are very fast learner. That's why in the end go for Indo. Anyway, that's their perception, whether true or not, I guess it's very individual.

Mel, I agree with regarding b'day celebration for maids, unless they are very close to you or work with you for long time, otherwise, no need such elaboration.

Adeline, your lotus roots looks yummy.

jang,
read ur blog and realised tat jaeden starts crawling...congrats! u will get busier with ur eyes on him..hehe

Muddypie: Did you do the employer orientation program on-line? I've spent more than 2 hours doing it, and the system is sooooooo slow. I could read the whole thing in less than half and hour, but on-line, it takes a few minutes for each slide to come up and then it keeps hanging...really frustrating. I think its faster to just go for the class. 2.5 hours later, I'm still just over the half-way mark...haiz!