(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

Wiselyn: Nope! Been at home all morning, though I'll be going down to Isetan and Wisma Atria afterwards...not sure about Taka though as I seldom shop there. Why? Is there a baby fair there now?

Happie mothers' day to all mummies in this thread! - from baby Chloe Pang

*pics taken when she was 1 day old and 3mths +

1413134.jpg
1413135.jpg

Jaclyn Low: Welcome! I think there are 2 mummies who live in Bt Batok, but they seldom come into the thread nowadays. I live very near Bt Batok but I'm not a SAHM...

an_gal,
thanks for your concern.
my fever has finally subsided today.
have never been so sick before.
think about it, it's been many years since i had a fever. but this round is really serious...

woof,
ya, i'll let nature takes its course too.
have to let my body recuperate after falling sick. felt really weak and lose 2 kgs in 1 week leh.
sure, we must tell if either of us strike okie!

irene, ur yan dao kia so handsome...i esp love the first pic, n he look so smart in tt last outfit...oh my..i tink he can grow up to be a model / actor etc ...realli very gd looking bb..

give birth to more ok???

Happy mummy's Day. Hope all had a good day.

an_gal, your Melcolm is really so cute.

chatty, hve replied to your sms right? Hope so, seems like my mobile knows that it's 2yr life span is up, kept giving me problem after I start looking for a new phone. Next week no prob, let me know which day, sat or sun. Tks so much.

As for maid agency, we went to Labour Express at People's Park, can look for Rosie. Tel: 6535 0805, think they hve a branch at Bt Timah. They allow you to change your maid within 2yrs time frame, unlike other agency, they restrict to just abt 6 mth or 1 yr.

welcome, Jaclyn

bliss, do take care, lots of people falling sick. Takes lots of vit c.

dear mummies
happy mother's day to all!

haiz...got maid issue at home.my maid is from myammar n now that her country has got problem, she is in a dazed everyday. friday she n mil had a big fight n she just packed up her bag she disappeared at night! then the next morning she reappeared at the gate asking us to give her back her passport. i thk she is very worried abt her family, so going to send her home tomorrow night.sad to see her go cos has already formed a friendship with her n she knows my habits well.

mudpie
bad news. there r total of 13 cases of hfmd in jg. the last case is from titus's class.we also mia from the class for a mth n last tue is the first time we went to the class n on thur, the teacher said that the gal got infected on wed. the poor mummy is in her 1st trimster. really hope she is ok. i thk we will not go for another week n see how.
we have a total of 7 replacement class n was told by the receptionist that we have to finsh by this term. crazy.. meaning i got to go 4 times per week now that term is going to end. told them i cant n its so silly n inflexible. so fed up with their take it or leave it attitude. thinking hard that i shd just forget abt the whole thing.but on second thought the class is so fun n titus loves it. its silly to give up bcos of their management. what say u? going to continue next term?

hi all new mummies
welcome!!

leooh
congrats!!! yeah, how abt new year eve baby? going to be sahm after that?

snowwy
how u dear? can teach me how to train bottle n fm?

ah gal
melcolm so cute! does he always sleep like that? his hair long n makes him look grown up.

we r moving to cck next mth. any sahms stay around there can meet for kopi or my place once we have settled down.

gold piggy
u want to buy helium cylinder for baby's bday?

chatty
u getting a maid? not putting james in infantcare anymore? actually whichever agency u go is the same, its really luck to find a good maid. i feel that if we r nice to maids, they will be good to us. there is quite a number of maid agencies at bt timah plaza which is near your place. u can take a look there. good luck.

cin,
ur place is at cck? i worked there...i rem a few mummies live in cck but den dun tink they are sahm...
so will ur maid return after she visits her family?

bliss,
wah..lost 2kgs...take care ok...will let u know if i happen to bingo..keke

hey woof, now i rem u r a teacher. my sis teaches at a pri sch there. u happen to teach at a pri sch? maybe u n her r colleagues.

no lah, she very unstable. dun thk we dare to keep her. she said she want to die with her children there. we gave her an angpao to help her out. she asked for ten kg of rice to put in her luggage.

next to the mrt, i dun know the street no.

yeah!!! i found a kaki. lets meet up when i have settled down ok? : )

cck got wet market? i love to go market to buy fresh fish leh.

cin,
hahah....yea, u can go teck whye, yew tee or limbang wet market. need loop bus to go there. Quite near, but still need transport. I stay nearby mrt too...hehe

woof,
thks.. he's doing fine today but still with runny nose.. luckily no fever till now

pinksunnysummer,
thks.. happy mother's day to u
enjoy

bliss,
oh.. u sounded u're quite sick..
lose 2kg in a wk.. tats alot man.. u veri slim liaoz.. no need to "jian fei" :p

muddypie,

cin,
he don oways slp like tat.. usually he will play n play inside the cot until he tired then fall asleep with all his funi pose.. his hair is long.. lazy mummy haven find time 2 cut for him yet.. hehe he veri little hair, "bu she de" cut away haha

loh!! we r neighbours then. hahaha!!

ah gal
i ENVY u. what?? sooo good!! how to train? u mean he can play till fall asleep?? TEACH MEEEE.... or ask melcolm to teach him!! how long does it take to make him tired n then sleep? also how long is the nap? how many naps does he take? sorry! so many qn cos i am AMAZED n JEALOUS... hehehe

cin,
Who is ur sis? wah...10kg of rice? tink she really desperate for help!

loh,
keat hong oso got wet market rite?

an_gal,
glad to hear tat melcolm is on the road to recovery..

mudpie
there is something that i wanted to tell u but keep forgetting. r u the one that said u put aidan at the centre of the bed n then u lined with pillows? better dun do that now. if u have to do that, then better sit within his sight. at this stage, they r so active, they can climb over the pillows. very dangerous cos titus nearly did that the other day n luckily hb caught him on time.

woof
she teaches at cck pri sch. if u r from that sch drop me a message in fb, i let u know.

yah, she is quite desperate. we tried to let her call home but no line. she can see pictures from st n she watches cna. sad for her too n also dun know if her children r alive. so decided to let her go home. it will be cruel to keep her.

something to share, my elder twin just show me her new "skill" she suddenly clap her hands right in front of me. haha. I was like in shock, staring at her for 5 secs before praising her, silly mummy. i wonder where she pick it up from, never teach her before lah?

my gals r born on 4/8/07, any same day mummy?

twinkle2
She can clap? Wow! All my boy knows how to do is to destroy stuff. Am typing on a laptop with 2 keys missing-courtesy of him

cin,
Your poor maid. Now I am worried. My Myammar maid just arrived in Spore. Picking her up next week...

an_gal,
pei fu! Your son falls asleep by himself! I have to rock till my arms gonna fall off.

On SOLID FOODS
Am quite desperate. My boy rejects solid food and his milk drinking is going down. Have tried porridge, cereal, fruits, potatoes to no avail. Anymore suggestions mommies? He hasn't gained weight for ages!

Cin: I didn't realise that Titus was born on the same day as James! Was Titus born in TMC too? As for maid issue...James will still be going to infantcare. He enjoys it there and they take very good care of him. We decided to get a full-time live-in maid because the PT maid agency has increased its price so much its not worth it, plus with the baby, the house needs to be really clean, and the PT maid can't do much, so no choice...sigh! The FT maid's job will be purely housework with no or minimal childcare.

hi chatty
is it? james also born on the same day?: ) he was born at mount e.

good to hear that james is still going to infantcare. its better since he enjoy it there n there is interaction. initially when u said u going to get a maid, i thought it was becos of the hfmd issue so u decided to keep him at home. but isnt your maid going to be very free since nobody is at home most of the time n also yours is such a small family?

really p/t maid agency has increased price?my plan was to get a part timer to come in once a week next mth. actually dun need to go through agency for those part timer. can ask around to look for those free lance kind, its cheaper.

pinksummer
not to worry abt your myammar maid. mine case was different. cos she has 3 kids so she is worried abt her children. also she n mil cannot get along well, that also makes her want to go home. something to assure you, these myammar maids are very clean n polite people.

Cin: There are lots of things to do in my house, so maid won't be so free...I've had free lance PT maids for many years, and generally they are quite unreliable...sometimes they just don't turn up, or they don't do a proper job. When I use a PT maid agency, whenever I have a problem, I just go through the agency. The agency also has insurance for the maid and will compensate for any damage etc. It used to be a little more expensive, but now its very much more expensive. If I have the part-timer come in twice a week, its equivalent to getting a full-time maid.

Hi, I am new here. Can join you guys? My girl, Kai Qi, was born on 28 Aug 07. SAHM at Woodlands. Any Woodlands mum too?

Pink: why don't you try feeding using your hand? Give finger food like cheese (the cubes kind)which are nice, soft and salty! whet his appetite by eating yourself first. even mashed things like banana, roll into a ball and feed.

Or try "sinful" stuff like FArley's rusks (sweet), or Pigeon rice crackers just to start them off. For rice cereal, KQ didn't want the plain rice cereals so i tried the Nestle Gold Apple/cranberry. HAve sugar but i thought better to get her to start eating than nothing at all.

Wiselyn: He must have seen my evil twin...:} I have a common face, people are always asking whether I come from a particular school etc etc.

Jenny: Welcome!

Morning Mummies,

Hope every mummies had a great mother's day celebration!

Javier having sinus problem, couldnt sleep well at all for these few nites!
Keep tossing around & waking up to cry cos his nose couldnt breath, can only use his mouth! Poor boy!

Am thinking of bringing him to see nose specialist, anyone got recommendation? He inherit the sinus from me & his case pretty serious!!

Goldpiggy,

U start plannig for ur bb 1st birthday liao ah?

Tot someone wants to organise a spree for birthday stuff?? Anyone organising?? Please include me, thanks

cin,
jio me for coffee when u settle down. got new house there? condo? I heard myammar ppl v v clean! how much is their wages?

woof,
yup, keat hong market is called limbang market
u work at which area of cck?

pinksummer,
wah, 2 keys missing! ur bb dig them out?

chatty,
u sent james to BV Learning Vision? Kent Ridge branch always got lots of HFMD outbreak

cin, yah, heard abt the 13 cases. Wow, looks like you're gonna be so busy taking Titus to JG so often. Agree that it's really fun place and Aidan likes it there too. And the teachers, they are so nice, I'll continue for another term and see how, anyway, we can't backout now, or they'll forfeit our deposit. Not sure why, but when I went to the recep last Thurs to get a replacement class, she was quite nice. Maybe all these people got PMS mood.

So you hve a myanmmar maid, initially wanted to engage a myanmmar one, but the agent told me that myanmmar maids are more stubborn and they are always talking abt their own rights. In the end, got a Indonesian maid instead. But mine is good cause she's work in Arab and here before, 2yrs each. But the only problem with experienced maids are they are too smart and have got friends here, so will tend to use the phone to call friends when we are not around. Last week, accidentally caught my maid using the phone when we were out. The thing is, if she needs to use it, just tell us, we'll definitely let her use it, but when we found out and questioned her, she lied that she didn't, that's what make my hub very angry. The next day was her B'day somemore, so my hub was so angry that he told me not even to give her angpao, as she betrays our trust. Other than that, she's fast in her work and so far, very good help.

Anyway, cin, if she's so unstable, better send her home, no point keeping her, cause she is your responsibility, anything happen to her, you'll hve even bigger headache. And you moving alrdy?? Whr?

And abt putting Aidan in bed with pillows ard, don't worry, I'm always there with him, I'll usu sleep by his side and we lay the pillows around us.

Recently bought 2 books for Aidan, one "Peekaboo Zoo" and the other "Maisy's Nature Trail", he seems to like them so much, we place them at the side table at our bed, and everytime we passby there, he'll stare at that direction looking at those books. And when on the bed, he'll want to crawl towards that direction.

chatty, I used to hve PT maid, quite reliable, she charges $10/hr and has her own insurance. But in the end, decided on a live in maid cause like you, we wanted the place to be cleaner and tidier and also to assist me with the cooking. Now, with this maid, I'm like the head chef, just tell her what I'm cooking for the night, and she'll prepares everything nicely and I just need to cook and leave the rest of the cleaning to her, much easier for me.

Jenny, welcome onboard.

twinkle, yah, mine's a 4th Aug bb.

BB's birthday, planning to bake cupcakes, just got a mixer frm my MIL, will try it out some time this week.

An_gal,
my hb n Ike and myself have just got off the flu bugs.. I skipped the vit C for couple of day and immediately got the bug! Pls take the vit C every morning to ensure you're strong enough..

Cin,
ya I saw the news, poor thing the myanmar ppl.. somemore the junta won't allow helps flowing in easier, have to screen everything even those coming from UN, now the experts in disaster said bigger manmade disaster will follow cos no clean water etc, will lead to cholera and other deseases.. some of my colleagues also worry..

Chatty/Muddypie,
yeah live in maid can really help us if they're good.. if they're bad or having incompatible chemistry with us, it will make our home like a war zone.. Best to settle the expectation first, then look for maid that can fullfill that expectation.. for me and hubby, we just demand reasonable hygiene in the house cos her main duty is to mind Ike when we're at work.. Since our maid worked for my friend before, we knew her before we employed her.. BEst to find maid through this way, cos agents can just say anything to get a business..
Muddypie,
I don't allow my maid to use the housephone, cos there's no itemized billing on it.. but I gave her the shareplus line from my starhub HP acct, she pays her own phone monthly costs, and whatever cost it incurred, I just provide her with my excess minutes that I dont use.. If my monthly minutes allowance exceed, she agrees to pay the extra. normally I always have more than 150 minutes per month extra.. So far I never found her using my home phone at all, cos the phones have last number track plus the timing, and it's always the last numbers me or hubby dialed..

Coolzy, I stay near Vista Park/Point.

28th Aug: yes, it's quite a popular birthdate. I had C-sect cos breech baby. So chose something easier to remember. At TMC. Admin told me more than 10 scheduled that day...

cin,
haha i didnt do anything special to make Melcolm slp on his own leh.. i tink is frm baby i let him slp inside cot and self entertain with the musical mobile and some soft toys.. usually he had 2 naps in the day time, 1 in the morn and 1 in the afternoon.. his nap time is not fixed, shortest is 30mins and longest is 2hrs.. he can play like 1/2hr inside cot then fall asleep

ur maid so poor ting.. can understand she of cos no mood 2 work now..

twinkle,
congras on ur gal new skill

pinksunnysummer,
haha i guess is training frm young i bo chap let my son play himself..

nining,
yes, i've been taking vit c daily.. tinking shld i double the dose.. haha n oso been drinking lots of water..

anyone interested to order cake from ecreative? will get 5% discount if we haf more than 5 orders..

nin, thanks for sharing, will discuss with my hub on this issue. Other than this, so far she's ok, just hope she don't give us anymore new surprises.

woof, I'm still trying to bake my cupcakes...

Thursday is my hub's b'day, thought of giving him a surprise by ordering a tiramisu frm tiramisutra.com, it's a home delivery service, was featured in one of the Channel 8 prog before.

Hi hi, another thing, just discovered that my boy can stand with his back lean on his playyard for support. He's getting more and more active and playful each day, can't imagine when he can walk.

muddypie,
no probs
sometimes maids take things for granted that your houserules are the same as their previous employers'which is not true.. , unless we really spell each items in details.. but heh if they smart , then can be manager oredi kekekek..

I loooooveee tiramisu, but hubby just hates coffee and anything that relates to it.. he can work without sleeping without coffee at all! just a can of coke..

Woof,
I am interested, but how to order? and it's still on 14 Aug, still another 3 months to go...

alamak, just went into the website to order the cake, but they hve stop operation till further notice.....anyone got any other recommendation???

arghhh...... very frustated now. call the maid agency up n they r soooooo unhelpful n rude!! my maid already said she dun want to work n want to go back to myammar cos she is worried abt her children. dun know if her village is affected cos no communication as line were all cut off. the agent kept saying she works less than 2 years, cannot go back even if we dun want her, they will transfer her to another family. this is not rite cos she has already paid her loan. and her heart is already not to work.in the end, hb got to go embassy n seek advice. decided to do everything ourselves by going manpower to cancel her permit n buy her a ticket.

it will take another 1 or 2 day before she can leave.but i told her yesterday she can leave today cos we thought agent will come n pick her up. then she is sooo stubborn n unstable, keep insisting she wants to leave today. this morning she is all dressed up n with her luggages sitting outside the car porch waiting. only come into the hse when she needs to use the toilet or eat. i am getting helpless. we r trying to help her n she just dun understand. cos in her mind now is going home. and keep pestering me for rice. i am also not sure if she can just put rice in her luggage? will it pass immigration. then she stole a packet of titus's organic brown rice. i just closed one eye.just hope by tomorrow all paperwork done then we can send her home.

Nining: You're lucky coz you managed to get a good transfer maid. I don't know anyone who would be willing to transfer a good maid. I agree with you on the "chemistry" bit...its difficult to live with someone you don't get along with. I've had some pretty good experiences and some very bad ones as well. Its all a matter of luck, I guess.

Didn't realise that I have to pass an "exam" before I can hire a maid...