(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

Hi ivy

Re: Making porridge
1) double boil in this case means I hv a big pot & I put water in it. Then I put a metal stand in the pot. On tat stand I will put a porcelain bowl where inside is the powdered rice. Tatz hw I will do double boiling. Taught by my PD. He says nt 2 use slow cooker. Although food cook tis way is tasty, bt all the nutritions all boil away liao since it's cooked for several hrs.
2) I dunno whether can use the si sen powder or nt, coz I never use b4, so can't advise u.
3) Yes.... I will normally sun it. Bt last few wks the weather a bit funny. So I put in oven at low low heat 2 dry it. Then use a blender to grind the rice in2 powder.

I'll do the same for the ikan bilis

Jete & CHatty,
happy belated bday for Paige & James..

Lilyn
kiddy palace laaa.. it's the thermal suit one, size 2

An_gal,
peck on Melcolm bump.. will be okay soon I am sure, babies are fast healer... Ike slided through the bed cover before and landed on his bum, wasnot very pleased with that and screamed although he had a super soft landing.. I guess it's the natural fear for falling..

Woof,
see u there

xue,
do you mean i should blend with warm water ah? will the blender b spoilt ah sine rice grains are like harder than purees?

loh,
ohh maybe thats why mt stock is like tasteless,i should put less water

ohh has anyone give peas to your babies? i want to ask where i can get fresh peas instead of the frozen ones and is it the same as snow peas?

chomecc,
so far my blender is blending as usual. no prblm with it.
wen you blend at least must add water. as wad those old folks said, can only add hot water. No to tap, cool water. i add hot water to the porrigde as well wen i boil.

chomecc

i use sweet bean (bought from NTUC), suggested by one of the mummy. after steam is sweet sweet one.
then i will blend and mix with rice cereal

i cannot find frozen green peas lei in NTUC. only house brand which i dun wan cos a lot of the peas is black black one.
i cannot find other brand liao ;(

paige is running a fever from the jab, cranky baby is such fun! she refused to drink any milk after i make her take the med. *argh*

------------------
muddypie,
Happy 8 months to Aidan!

chomecc,
haaa i'm ok lah.. i guess this is 1 of the growing up process hehe

for snow peas, i bought the fresh sweet beans vege n took out the beans inside, steam then puree then add into porridge, is veri tedious, oni tried once

nining,
haa thks dear.. i m better already.. but yest nite was so shocked wen heard frm my mum.. so long he is still behaving like normal it shld b alright..

jetty,
oh no.. ur nitemare started again

chatty, same loh, me also dun dare to buy clothes. I ordered from mayuki once, the clothes still quite okie. I ever ordered from other online store, .. OMG.. quality is......

Goldenpiggy, the websites you can check from this Bulk Purchase thread.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1327999.html?1207295831

Woof, Shannon is very fussy abt wearing clothes. She love to bathe but i will sweat when i try to put on clothes for her..

Tulip, thanks for the answers.

ivy,
i ordered from mayuki before too. from the pics, clothes looks nice. wen i rec' so so only. made quite alotsa purchase online. some clothes quality is quite gd. bt forget from where le.
shoes dun dare to buy. scarly cant wear waste the money. somemore shipping for shoe quite ex.

Thanks jete, yah, Aidan is 8 month old today. How time really flies. And Happy belated 8 month to Paige and oh yes, not forgetting James too.

Ivy/chatty, abt the clothes, ke..ke... just placed my order. Thought I order 1 pc and try first.

Btw, mummies who are looking for a toy box for your little ones. I've bought one frm Isetan, Sassy toy box, pretty useful. Here it is.

1337877.jpg
1337878.jpg

Paid abt $80 plus, it was during the Isetan sales. I put him in the box, so can hve a better idea on the size.

hi muddypie: I didn't bring my gal to class today as she had had a temperature earlier that morning, but the HFMD case is confirmed. You can read abt it at the "Health" Section of the www.juliagabriel.com website.

BTW, where did you buy your playyard from?

Yolksac: I organised a Aug Mummies Haeniem BP 2 months ago, and Muddypie participated in it. We ordered from Cheong Choon Store. Price has gone up significantly since then.

muddypie,
nope. for quality, have to depends on which spree u get from. eg, mayuki, looks nice. wen wen u try it on only average. somemore the stuffs there quite ex.
if im not wrong, there's a spree called taiwan cutiepie? the tops there quality quite gd and cheaper then mayuki.

Hi Yolksac, yes, my hub just went into the website to check, and you are right abt the case, it's an 18 mth old bb frm 9am class. I've been monitoring my boy very closely, and also will see how's situation, before deciding whether to send him to class next Tues.

Playyard, yes, it's through chatty's bp.

xue, didn't see this taiwan cutiepie bp, I ordered frm blissfulmummyworld. Anyway, only ordered 1pc, so it's ok lah.

jete,
what jab was it? poor thing.. Nowadays Ike is like hyperactive just before bedtime, and then slept and refused his night milk.. wonder if he's now can retain that much to last him 9-10 hrs without milk?

chatty/muddypie: Thanks for your replies. Ah Haenim! We've been using a rented VeeBee for the past 6 weeks but we have to return it, so we went out and bought a Superyard XT which my SA at Motherswork has been recommending. Will set it up tmrrow. The play yard takes up a whole chunk of space in my living room but my bb has loads of toys so at least the yard keeps them safe from my dogs!

Xue, Mayuki design nice hor.. agree wif you quality not super fantastic but compare to other online clothes i bought this consider okie coz at least i dare to wear out ...hahahahhag.. others i don't even dare to wear at home....
So you also like to purchase online.. i started purchasing online when i preggy... but buying online can be quite disappointing... still prefer to try before buying....but now don't have such luxury liao.

hi all!
thanks for the tips on cooking porridge!
i feel so guilty.. all your methods are so lovingly catererd to your babies.. me, i just dump everything in for convenience sake!

maybe'll try n see if other methods work..

btw, we took jereth swimming yday .. i didn't change into swimming wear but just waded along. jereth was so excited and practically did all the 'swimming' himself in his float. got overzealous and he tipped himself over into the water. hubby was distracted by some other kids playing and he wasnt looking so poor jereth did a 360 degree turn underwater! freaked me out man! i was too far away to fish him out and hubby didnt even know he fell in until i shouted for him to DO SOMETHING... my gosh.. i swear the next time i'm gonna be RIGHT beside, in the pool. good thing is that apart from being a little startled, he was okay and continued playing as if nothing happened.. my legs went numb when i saw him doing that turn.. he was underwater for 2 seconds but still...

and then before we came out from the water, we put him lying on the float to snap pics.. i TOLD hubby to watch him coz he'll for sure stretch amd try to get out. n voila, he did exactly that and tipped over again. this time he got angry and threw a tantrum.. but dunno if its coz he fell in again or coz we took him out of the pool after that..

hubby said 'relax.. relax.. its ok' .. so i said, 'yeah if we switched places u would've nagged me from jurong west to pasir ris' .. and that coming from a guy who kicked up a big fuss when jereth konked his head on the floor when he fell over while crawling .. hmph!!

ivy,
yeah...me too...she always wans to move abt when we wan to put on the diaper and top for her....itz a tedious job!

muddypie,
aiyoh, itz so cute! juz like jack in the box but urs is aidan in the box

jang,
tat's cute!

magical,
jereth could be a diver in future!

Haa, now I hve a little more time to log in, hvg a helper is really good, I can now spend more time with Aidan without hvg to worry abt the mess in the house. Now the whole house is so clean and tidy, I'm slowly going to offload the washing of aidan's milk bottles to her too. I must say this helper is really very fast learner. In the past, sometimes I didn't let Aidan play with his toys, cause didn't hve time to clean them, but now, the maid cleans them every evening before going to bed and clean the mat and playyard every morning. I feel safer letting Aidan put the toys in his mouth now.

zhuzhu, thanks, will try the porridge next week. I'm so lazy, will usually brew a big pot of stock and then pack them individually in the freezer. Didn't know the our bbs can take fish alrdy. Will go buy fish at the market tomorrow. Btw, you mentioned Ngoh fish, is it threadfin? Can someone confirm it? I like ngoh fish also, my all time favourite. But now, cannot eat fish, so can only watch hub and bb eat...sob...sob...

woof, you're right, it's aidan in the box....ke...ke... But I really like the toy box, it's really very good. The material is soft, so don't hve to worry that Aidan might knock his head against it.

jang, the pic is so interesting.

Ivy, yes, hve ordered one pc to try, will update on the quality.

nining, I think bbs now shld be able to sustain the whole night without feed. What time is his last feed? Aidan's last feed is between 10pm to 11pm, it last him till the next morning 7 plus.

Yolk, I agree that the playyard can help keeps the toys in place.

BB down wif fever, his temperature was very high inmid night, then came down a bit in the morning but still 38.5 when see doc this morning. Doc said virus infection, might take 4-5days to recovered, aft tt might have rashes also. Only given panadol syrup. He in now sleeping wif the daddy while i am bc catching the treads.hahah.
Remembered some babies here also developed rashes aft the fever. Was asking doc whether bb is teething, but he said no scientific proved for linking fever and teething togather.

muddypie,
so cute, can play seek and hide inside the box liao. I already given Ivan to eat fish. Pitty him when he keeps swallowing saliva during our lunch time. Given him a few times liao. I fed him 'shi ban' fish.

Can baby eat Delmon banana?

Hi mummies, long time never post here. Hope you all still remember me :p

Btw, I want to sell my bjorn carrier air since I have the ergo carrier already. Any mummies interested?

loh,
sounds like it could b wat yee heng had..we're dealing w a slight cough at the moment too, but that's slowly going away..he had fever on sunday
(up to 38.9 celsius) and got a rash on wed evening...rash lasted 3 days and is visibly better now..we were told its a viral infection too, as a UTI was ruled out via bloodtest

magical,
wow, ur swimming story seems so exciting today.. u mus b freak out by the 360 degree turn

muddypie,
yeah ngoh fish is threadfin... happy fishing keke..

loh,
had given melcolm delmonte banana b4, is fine, but i bought the baby delmonte cos normal 1 is 2 big 4 him

tis morn was such exciting 4 me.. brought melcolm 2 do his assessment at GP down my place, GP say he's having undescended testis and wrote us referral letter to KK 2 c specialist n may need 2 do ultrasound.. say it may lead to fertility prob or testis cancer, faintz .. after tat i 1 2 get assurance n went to Melcolm's PD 2 confirm, luckily after he chk and immediately say nothing wrong n even tell us 2 feel his testis, realli sweat man... false alarm

jang,
Wow, so lovely photo of Jaeden in the mag cover!

zhuzhu,
Loves your recipe blog, really inspiring!

an_gal,
Luckily you went for a second opinion, that GP's diagnosis sounded so scary!

lilyn,
His temp was very high in the middle of the night, day time is better. He refused to put on the cooling pad on his forehead. Not success feeding medcine, vomiting everytime. So sad when see milk flowing out from his nose, poor thing.

an_gal,
heheh, of course, most of the delmonate banana goes into his parents mouth.

loh,
sorry to hear abt the fever.. u must be tired too having to monitor temp all thru the night!

jereth hates banana.. spits it all out ..

hey lilyn,
wanna ask u if u're a may 06 bride too. i posted earlier on but i think u might haev missed it. i went back the the old thread to take a look and saw a lilyn there too.. was it u?

an_gal,
yeah my legs went numb..!i was stunned at first when he fell in.. then he scared me further by turning a whole round.. i hope no water went into his nose.. u know when we are upside down underwater the pressure is higher and some water may go in? althrough he's his usual cheeky self so i think no major harm done ba.. the only harm done is to my heart..

aiyo, how come the GP said such scary stuff? but maybe its coz they do not specialise babies..
when i came down with fever last month, i had to see a midnight doctor and he told me to STOP breastfeeding coz the virus will be transmitted to baby thru BM as it is a bodily secretion! what rubbish!

Muddypie,
yep that's Ike schedule before the US trip.. after returning from US he had a week of jetlag, and now back to almost normal.. with feed at 10pm but won't take more than 100ml, then will fuss at midnight for another 100ml, then sleep through till 7am without further drink.. but before 10pm he will be totally active which exhaust me..

An_gal,
phew!!!!

an_gal, what a blur doctor. Better blacklist him and don't go see him again.

nining, at least you bother to get up to feed him at midnight. I'm so lazy, just give him his last feed between 10pm to 11pm and then go to bed. Don't think can wake up at 12 to feed.

mic,
yeah.. for tat moment i was quite stone by wat the GP had said...

ocean,
yeah.. luckily i went c PD

loh,
haha wah, fighting to eat banana with ur son :p

magical,
ya agree, GP is not specialise so sometimes cant realli blame them lol.. anyway lucky nothing wrong..

nining,
yeah....

muddypie,
ya lol.. hubby say in future no more going 2 tat doc unless is realli emergency..

just popping in to say HI, soooo tired. hopefully will get to come online again and catch up on the posts soon.

Paige was up almost every hour last night. *argh* I need some zzzzzz.

better weekend for everyone i hope?

Exhausting weekend for me, coz James went for his first Aquaducks lesson on Sat afternoon, and ended up sunburnt. He developed a fever on Sat night and was vomitting non-stop. Yesterday, he still had fever, and was drooling huge blobs of saliva, and screamed most of the day away. Turns out not only was he sunburnt, feverish and nauseous, he was also teething! What a combination! : ( Next time must remember to put sunblock on him before swimming lesson. Haiz!