(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

oh yah, talk abt purees...mathias can finish more than 3/4 jar of puree (baby food jar). Sometimes he even finishes up a whole jar! Is that too much? and when I give him porridge he eats almost half a rice bowl.too much? I have not frozen any puree yet cos hb says since I can make fresh ones y must freeze? so I've been sharing food with Mathias cos its so weird to make such a small portion...

An_gal,

I think if melcom doesn't nap as much on the day, it should be ok. No need to particularly bring him for massage.
But I think the massage helps the babies to calm down
so no harm trying, coz I saw lots of very small babies there, their parents told me they are going there just for the sake of bringing the babies for massage, and the babies all look so enjoy :p hehehehehe

Ivy,
I have the blender, it's quite easy to use and easy to clean as well. Have been using it for the past few weeks also. But i think when meg is about 8 months, we will try to let her have porridge, by then the blender would go into my "museum" aka kept! hahahaha

zhuzhu,
yep! I only add the seasoning after I scoop out his portion..heehe! Hope Tricia feels better soon..I remember when Mathias had fever for abt a week...poor fella was so inactive and clingy..he became my Koala Bear and I was his tree...

Mel, you are so funny.... i can't stop laughing after reading your post.
I also want to make fresh 1 but i lazy liao.

Choco.. i also dun noe lei..
Extracted from the super baby food book:
"Baby's Food should be only moderately warm
Note that i have been using the word "thaw" here and not "re-heat". You want to just take the chill out of baby's food, you don't want to make it hot. Never feed you rbaby hot food. Your baby's mouth is much more sensitive to heat than your mouth, and food that does not feel hot to you may burn your baby. Baby's food should be only slightly warm, about the temperature of the body, like breast milk. When you touch the food, it should feel neither hot nor cold."

adeline & rc_cola, so it's a good buy loh.. the 1 i bought is $39.70, same?

An_gal, i thought you bought liao.. so i quickly go and buy...

wow, the thread flying again..

ytanhn,

I just checked with other mummy and know how to use the Munchkin, put food into the blue bolw then turn the green handle..will try out when I hv time..

Mel,

the snack bar story really make my day!ruoxi also sometimes will release the nipple and look around when she hear someone else talking, I may use yr method later see how she react.haha.

Ivy,

Ya, I bought Braun Blender last fri..it's easy to use but need some amount food, so wasted if not freeze the left over..but I found tomato not easy to thaw after I put the whole bottle into hot water for several mins.only fruit puree is easy to thaw..

Re thawed the puree

What i will do:

1. take out the frozen puree and dig out the ones you want to feed your baby
2. put it in a small pan, leave it for about 15 mins so that it is softer and melted and heat it up under small and slow fire
3. yummy puree for your baby
Remember: Feed only when it is getting colder (i will take each spoonful and dip into water then feed her)

Just sharing...
hope it helps!

mummies: if only tricia wud eat frozen puree.. haiz. I have to cook porridge for her, somemore i go market buy ngoh fish for her to try leh.. picky eater

just share what i do for the puree...i will just put inside the fridge to thaw in the morning, after work, will take out, put in hot water to warm it up.

jang,

me also using the indivual cubes....but me lazy, so never use warmer...haha

zhuzhu,

clement will says hor...u "starve" tricia for a few days, eventually she will eat frozen puree...

re: warming puree

i will either thaw it inside fridge or room temperature, then use warmer or hot water to warm up the puree. If the puree add into porridge, cook the porridge then add in the puree lastly.

zhuzhu,
nw i oso every wkn go market buy fish for Melcolm, veri tedious hor.. but fish is gd 4 them so if they can eat, eat more hehe

wiselyn,

i thought using warmer is the lazy way. how did u do it then?

i took out straight from freezer and dunk it into the warmer...

jang,
Me also doing same method as Wiselyn. I will take out 1 cube from freezer then thaw it in the fridge. When ready to eat will warm it with warm water.

Trio Centre Trial
Cost: $100 for 3 trial lessons (jap, english and mandarin)
Date: A sunday
Max. per class: 6
1) Misch
2) Xman
3) Rc cola
4) Alsie
5) Adeline
6) Gold Piggy
7) An gal
8) Rainy5

An gal,
It depends on individual bb if they are ready for such classes. The trial class will be a good time to assess if they are ready/interested. I intend to start my girl when she turns one if she responds +vely to the class.

Adeline,
You want to let your boy attend trial too? If yes, let me know his dob I'll check with them too.

Xman, Adeline, rc cola, Alsie,
PM received. Thanks!

Mel,
Your posts very hilarious. It made my day!

rc cola,
I finally had an answer to my girl's symptoms. Brought her to pd this morning and he said it's bronchiolitis. According to the clinic manager, there seems to be a trend of bronchiolitis recently. There is phelgm in her lungs, plus the fact that she's teething, she's super cranky, wants to b carried all the time, sleeps late and wakes up several times in the night. She used to co-sleep with us as it's more convenient to bf but having fallen from the bed 2x we dun dare to take chances now. Sianz... As i type, I'm holding onto a wiggly bb who's rubbing mucus on my t-shirt.

Hi, my baby was sick also like i mentioned that I went to Yuguo. Today was the 2nd time. It's a long distance to Kembangan. Each mrt trip will be 1 hour. Then have to wait there no matter how early i always am. Baby don't really enjoy the massage but we have to let them play some things so their attention will be diversified.

Don't know why but i still feel that my son is not really recovering well. Anyway, thursday going again and hope by then he is cleared of those phlegm. He is starting to cough a bit too cos i suspect because there's so many sick babies and children all flooding Yu Guo. Such a small room and so many sick children, sure become worse?

Gretel, i understand you. I am a full time working mother, at night have to rush to pick my son and early morning have to reach my MIL's house at 7am so i won't be late for work. Son is 7 months and 2 weeks. He have never slept throughout before and have been co-sleeping with me and hubby all the way till only this 1 week when i am now training him to sleep in his own cot bed. But it's not easy.

He wakes around 4-5 times for night feeding. I am very tired too but i always tell him to quickly drink cos mummy need to work the next morning. Then recently i think he is sucking for pleasure and routine so i decided to give him pacifier and it works! So maybe you can try?

I do beat my boy when he makes it angry but it's those gentle beating, the type to tell hiim that if he do that action, he will be punished.

But do relax and tell yourself that you are giving your baby the best. Stop breastfeeding anytime you want to. This is solely your choice. No one can influence you. Baby are young and they will get used to whatever they are trained to have and be. Cheer up ok!

hi gretel

when i read abt your post. i really can understan your frustration. my son is a latch on baby. its been 7 and a half mths since i ever have a straight 8 hrs sleep. i am grateful if i can sleep 2 hrs in a row. i dun have support from anybody except my hb abt bf. i cant do the pu/pd method cos i stay with in lawsa. they will interfere if baby cry and i know pu/pd method is tough for the initial week.

recently i put him onto my bed n he can sleep longer. but today solution is tomorrow's problem. now he does not want to sleep in his own cot! he still wakes up abt 5 times at night. i though after he start on solids, things will be better but apparantly its not. but the good thing is he can sleep immediately after that. in the past, after nursing him, he will wakes up once i put him down into the cot n i have to rock him for 30 to 45 mins each time. the worst record was he woke up at 1230 n refused to sleep till 5 am!!

yes u r rite, sleep deprivation can cause u to be a monster. i nearly went into depression in my first mth cos i really have not enough sleep n he needs to be latch every 2 hrs. bfing has indeed brought me alot of challenges, but i have grown to be a patient person in the process.
i can see the result of bfing. my son has been very strong. so far no flu or cough, only constipation, jaundice n uti since birth. my body is so used to him waking up so often that on good nites when he doesnt, i will automatically wakes up.

but the joy of seeing him smiling at me n the tenderness when i bf him just melts the frustration away. this bond is undescribeable. anyway i just tell myself once he wean off, i will miss this closeness! : )

btw, u can try the method that jang n sunbloom uses. to nurse him while u n him lie on the bed. i cant! cos my breasts not that big. cant reach his mouth if i were to do that! hah!
cheer up gal! i understand what u growing through.

Hi, i bought the Healthy times jar food. The glazed turkey and one complimentary jar of the pear puree. Do i let my son eat it like that ( out from the jar ) or do i let him eat with brown rice cereal or porridge?

I asked my hubby about the Trio class and i haven't even finished talking and he said 'you very exaggerating, son only 7 months and you want to bring him for class'. then he went to take his bath - so irritating!

talking abt beating our children, i just did that on titus's hand last week. he suddenly found out he has got a penis. when i bathe him, he uses his hand to pull n tug his birdie. i thk he find it strange to have that extra piece of flesh down there. so i gave him a smack on his hand n he has stopped eversince.

cin, my son also like that. but i tell him not to do it and he still did it. Then everytime i change his diapers, his hands also automatically go and touch it, shit or no shit...aiyo....

hi gretel
talking abt no support from people abt bfing, i have encountered a bimbo mummy last week in his class.
this mummy asked me what does titus drink? i said bm. she seems so shock. keeps telling me that at his age must take fm cos bm is like water once they reach 6 mths. and bm has got no dna, blah, blah, blah which is not good for his brain development. she is so dumb but i do not want to debate with her.
then she pointed to a black spot on titus's cheek n asked me whats that. i said its a scar left by the mosquito's bite. but it will heal as the days goes by. then she told me its becos titus never take fm. i was so fed up with her stupidity that i told her its becos i have eaten "orr see you" (black sauce). she kept quiet.

hello yolky

i am fine. saw you in facebook, haven reply u yet. i am lazy to upload his photos. i will do so soon. hey your facebook account is amazing. so many pictures. so sweet to have a gal. hopefully i will get a daughter next time. love the single photos of u and emily. : )

jg is fun. but i thk there is alot of snobbish mummies. not as friendly as the aquaducks mums. our class has got mummies that go to the class in coiffered hair n high heels. they refused to let their bubs play with waterplay or painting cos they scared they will get dirty. the cars that they drive are even more ompressive, cayane, merces, beemers n lexus. i go there with my steady pom pee pee "peg perego" pram.hah!

but i must say the class activities is good n fun.alot of diff activies that amuse him everyweek.

u going bk to work soon? can bear to leave ems? but u r lucky to have so many people to help out.

geez yolk..

i saw the photos in jul thread. wah!! so pretty. how u get hold of her attention? i thinking of going to studioloft who did my pregnancy shoots once titus can sit up properly. but cant use your idea cos he is a boy. maybe just get him to be a tarzen boy. hahaha!!

btw, sorry for being so kpo. saw your facebook n u r from cambridge? so brainy. what did u major in? since u study so much, i thk u better coninue to work. dun waste your education. but then, since u r bringing up our next generation, u better be a sahm. haha!

xman/trish,
i find it farni too...din expect her to doze off juz like tat

ocean,
pls PM me ur address...i sent u both lah since the postage will come to the almost the same

ocean
it's all for the fun of it. the bunny is prob her least fav, refused to smile. santa suit she still dont mind.

mel/cola,
i guess she muz b real bored and not tired..coz since birth, even thou she's tired, she doesnt fall asleep like tat...

an_gal/jete,
ya man..din expect tat too!

an_gal
is the back of your mat ABC? i like the ABC but mine is the height chart. my fren helped me buy this in korea so i think it is the bigger version in the same design.

cin,
titus is still in the exploring stage, so everything will be curious to him...mine is a girl, i bet if she is a boy, she wud do tat & worst of all, aft exploring , she would put it into her mouth if she can..haha

mel
i dont mind anywhere. yours or ivy's or mine. i won't get offended AT ALL if you mommies want to be at either of your place, cos we have pets. esp when ivy is scare of dogs and you are scare of cats, and we have BOTH. haahaa.

maybe can start earlier around 12.30pm/1pm? i hope it doesnt rain!!

is it ok if we decide where then i ask muddypie along? she mentioned last time she would like to join us if the timing is right for her. then 2 boys 2 girls, shannon has another choice boy boy to grab. hee

it is hell. we're spoilt that she slept thru the night from quite young. really not used to getting up sooooo many times a night. no choice, baby is the boss.

gretel
i feel your frustration. i cant say for latching cos i never succeeded in latching but i do not enjoy pumping at all, and i push on day by day, even now when my ss is dropping like crazy. we cosleep for the first 8w, then move the baby to the cosleeper then crib. we were lucky she started sleeping through the night at 7w old. i got up and checked if she's still breathing, cos she just went to sleep one night and didn't get up until 14 hours later. she got sick in mid feb after she fell from her high chair and from then on stop sleeping through the night. omg, it is soooo tiring. i get soooo cranky. i cant imagine doing that since birth.

there was one night i got so tired that i told her if she only takes 2 30 mins nap a day and keep waking up at night, mommy dont have the energy to take care of her any more and she has to go to infantcare. so cruel right?

if hubby helps, i feel bad. if he doesn't, i feel he's not helping. it's not easy being hubby/daddy too. hormonal wife are not fun to deal with.

hang in there. sooner or later it will get better. we're here to listen and support you.

ivy
will check tomorrow. dbs website seem to be down. crashed my computer. argh.

i completely forgot about shannon's hankie. :p

yeah, paige has no schedule too. i am just hoping she'll be awake at the time we arranged to meet. i tot shannon sleep is quite fixed? changed again?

i am using the braun blender too, it is good for making batches. if i'm making a bit (fresh) and not to freeze then i use the all in one steamer/blender that chatty helped me buy a in dec when she had a coupon. i think cin and muddypie also have the same machine.

ivy,
hahaa... attracted by chloe's cry? that was only her fake yan-or cry. ohhh... tat day to/fro cab fare cost me $35 *expensive man*

woof,
hahaa... very tired carene! so cute!

jete,
adorable bunny paige.

zhuzhu,
ohhh... chor-loh tricia, same same chloe.

mel,
yeah.. was so 'busy moving' during the tumbletots class, think i'm more tired than chloe. hahaa..

ocean,
ohh.. the red dress, i like that too. bought from bangkok for less than $10 & wore twice only
i have another brand new fox jeans for gracia liaoz. bought b4 CNY, y'day let chloe wear but is too tight for her. urgghhh... i like it very much too... sigh... next time must buy at least 2 sizes bigger for her liaoz. btw, remember to inform me on ur next LF spree. i intend to get the littletouch, tks..

mel,
i also have the habit of letting chloe tastes all sort of food leh (unless those realy prohibited food). just tasting only, I just want her to 'dirty eat dirty grow' (hokkien phrase) and not picky in food cos i seen my nephew being brought up in a strict eating habit and now at 2yrs old, he only eats rice, soup, fish, bread.

zhuzhu,
oh no... hope tricia recovers soon.

mel,
hahaaa... urs is mac delivery 24/7. btw, chloe eats 1 bottle baby food and not enough for her, witnessed by woof & ocean. porridge, she took 1 bowl leh. sometimes i scare i overfeed her too but if i stop giving her, she will cry for more.