(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

ivy/mel
this week meeting up? how about friday? i think muddypie would like to join us too if she can make it.

ivy
for puree, i try to do it on weekend and freeze in cubes. i put the cube in the fridge a little while then put it in avent bottle and warm in warmer. then either mix with cereal or porridge.

misch
i can see her ribs yet her cheeks are so chubby. i dont think she'll be happy with the chubby cheeks 15 years from now. ;)

karen
my girl was sick a few weeks ago and after that she was super sticky, even now. at least it's getting better but she just want me all the time. cannot be out of sight even. the worst part is she stop sleeping through the night, a combination of the sickness and teething. to think she has been sleeping through the night since 7w old and can sleep 10-14 hours without feed. just a few night ago, she got up 8x in 2hours. i was sooooo tired.

choco
paige only learn to sit recently, maybe 2 weeks ago. and she is turning 8m next week already. dont think you need to worry.

cola
paige is still not sleeping thru the night after she felt sick. miss the time when she just sleep thru without waking now. now she'll wake up in the night and cry. sianz. i tot of bringing her to yu guo but hubby not keen. let me know if it's good.

woof,
Carene so cute!
kao_love.gif
I mean, the way she doze off, isnt it adorable? Hehee..

Btw, thanks for offering on the booch.
Can I have the heart shape one if still available? Looked so sweet.

Jete,
Such a cute little bunny. The pics was really well-taken!
Hmmm... that's remind me tat i had a piggy suit and a leopard suit that i had not let BB Gracia wear yet. Think i better quickly try on her b4 it gets too small.

Ytanhn,
Thks. Saw the pooh wear. It is really sweet leh!
I love that as well as the well which is a fake 2 pcs dress in red. So adorable. Thanks to you and Chole!

Am now handpumping EBM.. really tiring... Hubby asking when i going to stop... Urghhh... me struggling to at least till Gracia's 8 mths old... which is abt another 2 weeks...
But my target is 9 mths leh...

Abt Leapfrog Read & Write and Littletouch System
The read& write (R&W) is more for older kids from 4 yrs and above (recommended age), while littletouch is for smaller kids from 6mths to 36mths. So if getting for our BB, should be littletouch more appropriate.

For me i had R&W cos my Jie jie Cherish is 3yrs, better save and buy this for her.
She really love her R&W. System work by using the pen to touch the book and also using the pen to write. Recently, the spree that i organised, it worked out to be less than S$50 per system including shipping. But too bad, the price had increased now...

Still the cheaper i heard is from An_gal or Adeline, whereby the shipping is only S$9.80... Oh... so cheap!

As for littletouch, heard that it can sustain tear and bite and silvia
from BB as the book r in better quality paper.
BB learn by touching. And now Leapfrog is selling at US$19.99 and thus for shipping cost of abt S$25 to S$30, think it will work out to be S$60-S$65 per system. But it all still depend on how leapfrog pack the items.

Chatty,
See u today at 6:30pm for the Leapfrog book.
Really wanna test out on the mike.
Thanks for organising! It is not easy to do a spree!

hi Misch

i would like to take over if there is any mummy wants to drop out from the trial class. thanks.

Trio Centre Trial
Cost: $100 for 3 trial lessons (jap, english and mandarin)
Date: A sunday?
Max. per class: 6
1) Misch
2) Xman
3) Rc cola
4) Alsie
5) Adeline?
6) Gold Piggy

Good AM

My gal really has food allergies. I'm going to stop all food for a week till the rashes subside, then start all over again to see what she's allergy to

My gal abit 'tham jiak', hope she can tahan with milk only.

Misch,

Ok, I'm in the list for the trial class, let me know when will the class be, sunday will be better as my boy have class on Saturday, he has been with Shichida since he is 20mths old, by the time he finish up for next term, he has been with them for 2.5years.

Trio Centre Trial
Cost: $100 for 3 trial lessons (jap, english and mandarin)
Date: A sunday
Max. per class: 6
1) Misch
2) Xman
3) Rc cola
4) Alsie
5) Adeline
6) Gold Piggy

Have PM U my details.

Good morning everyone,

I finally managed to get a good nite sleep

Meg was sleeping thru the nite from 9.30 - 8 (when I came out she is still dozing). She felt better already after the massage and the medicine from Yu Guo.
Really hope that she could recover soon.

Jete,
I would say, no harm trying for Yu Guo massage, Meg enjoyed the massage.
FIL will be bringing her there today as the doc recommended to massage her 3 times :p

An_gal,
Ya think will let meg try eggs only when she is about 8 months or 9 months.

jete,
seems like sweet bear mat more popular with bbgals, wonder y i bought tis design, i tink cos is the cheapest among LG mat haha

cola,
is the massage realli gd? recently my Melcolm like day time don 1 2 slp.. wondering isit normal cos he's older now.. however, at nite he will knock out all the way

Any mummies here sign up with the Pix n Portraits package? I signed up the new born package with free 1, 4, 8, 12th mth studio pics. But when I want to call and make appt for my bb's 4th mth pic, couldn't get them at all. Keep going to the mailbox for 3 days already. And when I found a hp to call on the brochure, the gal Val says she's no longer working for the company anymore. After which she hangs up her phone when I call again. DID THE COMPANY CLOSE DOWN? Anyone's make a appt with them recently? Or did anyone pass by the shop at Novena Sq and see that they are open/closed? Can PM me if you know anything? Thks! So sad, was looking forward to take my bb's 4th mth pic.

March 25- March 27 Jshopper sale - any amount purchase free shipping and handling costs. Anyone need invite - i can send via email

Misch,

Any website that i can browse to find out more about Trio Centre?

Rc_cola & gold piggy,

I bought Javier to Yu Guo yesterday too but i was there in the afternoon. Tonite im bringing him there again for tuina.
Javier was given yao bao to put on the tummy too.

this is one of the rare times i chat in this forum, but am really feeling depressed i need a channel to vent out. pardon my long-winded email.

i'm a aug mummy, bb is coming 8 mths and still waking up every 3-4 hrly every night. have tried all methods - cry-it-out, give plain water, pacifier and other transitional objects, switch clock (delay his bedtime)... you name it, i tried it.

all didn't work. he's v persistent. want to latch on means want to latch on. can cry from 1 - 3am if he doesn't get wat i want. bb is on total bf. many times i feel like weaning him off but persevere cos i really want to give him the best. i feel so misunderstood or 'under-understood' when families keep pushing the blame (whether directly, indirectly, intentionally or not) that he's waking up cos he's not having enough milk.

i've tried to explain so many times it's not. pls lar, last feed 11am, still wake up 1am... now my mum says it's cos he's not having enough solids (he doesn't really enjoy solids, prefer bm best)...that's why he's 'hungry'.

i'm the only one who bf in the family, my own sis doesn't bf. she says no need, fm good enough. i feel lack of support whenever i need a listening ear she put me off 'you're the one who insisted on bfg!'

tat's is the last i want to hear, not much support.

why is that all the blame always come to mummy?... i'm getting really resentful. i called mrs wong ytd and she suggested i wean bb off but smearing bitter gourd + lemon juice on my breast at night, to tell bb mummy's breast sucks at night. i'm rather reluctant to do this. cos it might put bb totally off the breast - which is not wat i want. i't not i enjoy latching on, but cos it is the best stimula...

in fact, i hated latch on. more and more dislike. tell hubby i feel like a prostitute. he tinks i'm crazy. even offer to drive me go geylang see what a real prostitute is! haha silly. but i really feel awful. whether i like it, in the mood or not, bb demand, i'll have to lift up shirt and he'll laugh out (ya!) and get so excited over it.

it's supposed to be a personal bonding 'saint' moment, but i begin to hate it. it disrupts my life, my work, i've no energy to go on but i still wan to...my whole life seems to come to a stop. feeling so depressed.

haiz... sorry, just want to let it out.

gretel,

I'm also a total latch-on mummy. bb was previously co-sleeping with us, so, even if he was waking up every hour, it doesn't matter to me, as i only need to wake slightly, latch and goes back to sleep.

recently, we've decided that he shld be sleeping in his cot and not nursing to sleep anymore. Now, we are faced with up to 10 times of night wakings. reasons being: 1) he has the HABIT of waking up frequently, not hunger, 2) he is used to co-sleeping with us. I'm just hoping that he'll pass this phase soon.

I do enjoy the latching on process, especially when i see and hear the excitement from him just before the nursing. There are times i've ever thought of weaning him because of the night wakings, but i also persevered, wanting to give him the best. At times if he is teething of unwell, the boobies are the one giving him the best comfort.

I know that u don't really hate latching on, you are probably saying things out of desperation. If its really too tiring, i'll suggest you co-sleep with baby (i know many feel that its a bad habit). With sufficient sleep, you'll find yourself to be able to enjoy the bonding with baby.

You are definitely not at fault. You are only trying to provide the best for your darling. Do persevere and talk to everyone here. You are not alone. Do take care ...

gretel

i only bf for 3 mths so i cannot fully understand ur pain

but pls dun feel resentment of bf, every baby got different pattern

do come in to chat, although i cannot give u much advise but i am willing to lend u a listening ears

anyway, u should try to get him to eat more semi-solid food, cos as they grow they will need supplement. is the food u prepare not tasty thats y he dun like?

gretel
i understand, my baby still wakes up too. hubby is well, going thru menapause (driving me nuts) like jang, i feed him lying down, so i turn baby to his side and latch him. he will drink while i sleep. I learn to turn deaf ear. too tired already. no choice...

thanks mummies, your support brings tears to my eyes! really, tink i'm in this v vulnerable stage now sigh. bb co-sleep with us. yes, mrs wong says it's a HABIT, not tat he's hungry. i know tat too... it's affecting us so much tat my hubby beat bb that day, cos bb screams and yells and fusses persistently non stop for hours, in the WEE hours like 1am to 3am plus - really hard splank on the butt. next morning of cos heartpain and guilt plagued us... never intended to use 'violent' on such a young infant. but now i understand why some parents will 'harm' their own flesh and blood, when seriously sleep deprived, lack support and desperate... you lose your sanity.

i will persevere... to give him the best.

tks again mummies ;)

Hi gretel,

I understand your frustration.

It is really very very frustrating to have a baby wake up in the wee hour and be cranky. It must be really heartpain for both of you to spank baby.
I know the guilty feeling.

For me, last 2 weeks, my girl has been quite unwell due to her flu. That makes her couldn't sleep, kept waking up and can't go back to sleep. Though she was not crying or cranky, but she kept wanting us to accompany her, in the wee hour, which drove me mad and I screamed at her.
Though I didn't spank her, but I know it was wrong to scream at such a small baby, they probably won't understand, but they will be very sad for sure.
My hubby was quite patient, he will say like "Come papa carries you to sleep, and dun make mama scold you."

I am quite short tempered, I must admit. However, after reading thru some posting about baby didn;t sleep through nite, I feel my girl is really much much better than others, and she is just a baby, I shouldn't be so angry with her.

My hubby did beat my girl, but that is only on her hands when she kept scratching and hurting her own face and ears. She likes to scratch until it bleeds.
Anyway, that is just a beat on the hand, which I think it is fine to stop her hurting herself. She didn't cry anyway, and it should be painless.

Be presevere k. Baby will go thru the phase, there is no way to force them. Remember that she is yours and hubby's precious, she doesn't deserve the scoldings coz of crankiness, it is the way she expresses her uncomfort, she can't talk yet. So she will just cry and cry and cry. Do comfort her..

Lastly, she is just a baby...

Jete,
Friday's good for me..what time? Cos I gotta leave by 4plus to start getting ready to meet hubs in town by 6pm..(going for a wedding at Fort Canning

Who's house we going? Ivy's? Mine? Yours? Im alright either way
If come to my place the kids can have the whole living room floor to themselves cos Mathias owns it! Most of it is covered with mattresses and ABC foam mats!! madness!!

rc_cola,
glad to hear that Megan let u sleep last night..and it also means she must be feeling much better now.

Jete,
I know what u mean when u say that Paige can wake up 8x in 2hrs...its pure hell isnt it?

Trish,
hope ur girl can tahan just drinking milk..Mathias also very tam jiak..now after reading abt what happened to u and Rc_cola Im starting to worry..cos my hb has the habit of leeting Mathias taste things..

gretel,
My boy wakes up all the time too! esp when we put him to sleep in his own cot. Its really less tiring when he co-sleeps with me cos I just have to "open shop" and let him suck then both of us just go back to sleep together. Most of the time its not cos he's hungry..he just wants to smell me and suckle I guess..haaha!! But I dun feel like a prostitute lah..I just call myself the snack bar..hehhee!! When he sleeps in the cot its tiring cos hb/I have to get up to carry him and put him on the bed..I guess Hb's support is the most impt. Most of the time my hb will get up to Carry him.pat him for awhile but if it really doesnt work the he'll pass Mathias to me and say "time to open the snack bar"..haha! I guess its how u see it..for me it can get tiring, it can get irritating (esp when he wakes up every 1 hr) but Im used to it already.. I actually find it very funny and cute when he's crying for milk and I lift up my top in front of him and he sees my boobies and get so excited cos he knows he's gonna get some..I really thk its all just a matter of having support from ppl around you and not thinking so negatively. Cheer up! Come chat with us whenever u have time. It'll help u feel better to have friends who can relate to what u are going thru

Mummies:
Yesterday was a busy day.
Mrg time went to work but hb called to say Tricia felt warm and took temp. 38.1 deg, brought to mum's place and took panadol syrup.

Afternoon: Temp went down slightly nia den maintain at 38 deg.

3pm: Bring to TMC pd. No cough, no cold, no UT, no vomit or diahorrea.. Only fever!! Doc also dun know y.. duh!! Says monitor tmr.. given cold n cough medicine just in case it develops into one.

Evening: Big Rain!! Temp went up to 39deg after taking medicine.. huh?? how come? Sponge her, temp went down..

9pm: Temp went down. Today very fussy and keep looking for me.. Mummy. Keep wanting me to carry her.. but still active and crawl here and there but she looks abit tired

10pm: Sleeps..

1pm: Take medicine again..

This mrg: Still feels warm, temp btw 37.6 to 38 deg.. haiz.. dun know when the temp going down officially leh.. wats is wrong man!! hb fetch Tricia to mum's place..

Just now: mum say she looks better but still feels slightly warm. active as usual..

Zhu,

Hope tricia recover soon. Shld be viral fever since there is no other signs...few weeks ago, Chloe also hv this bulk of fever, it lasted for 4dys thn settle, jz need to gv panadol.

Zhuzhu,

Hope Tricia recover soon!

Javier's cough is better now, now left with the stupid phlegm, hope it will clear soon too!

Adeline,

wow! didn't expect so many replies and so fast! such an active thread hee ;) yeap yeap will definitely join in chat more often for support! thanks all!

mel, guess you're right, i mustn't tink so lousy, think end of the day it's really perception... hmm, i must try to tink positive. and yap, rc_cola, he's just a bb, other then the sleep issue, he's angelic most times and i'm thankful i've him. nothing will change that and i'll not exchange him for anything else - having him is the best thing that ever happened to me;)

Hi Mel,

Not every baby is that allergic. but it is better to be careful to what they eat because their digestive system is not mature enough to digest any foreign object.
Better be ware than sorry, hor...

Gretel, can use Mel's method.. instead of thinking yourself as "P" just think that you are a snack shop.. At least make yourself smile and feel happier...
Mel good 1.. i really laugh when read abt you opening shop...

Mel, Jete, & muddypie,
Friday shdn't be a prob for me but timing !!!! Now Shannon's sleeping time is super unpredictable.. i'm trying to get her back to a fixed schedule.

Jete.. thanks.. already transferred $$$ for the wipes..

Mish & Jete, thanks for the info on how to keep and use Puree..
I read the Super Baby Food book, it says to thaw and not to reheat puree and i'm sure i wouldn't want to give cold things to my baby. That's why post here to ask for adivse...

An_gal, i read abt your postings on Braun Blender and last sun i went to buy liao. Hvn't use yet, you lei? Good?
Xman also boought rite? Started using?

ivy

i did not read the reply by mish and jete but can we reheat?

cos the ice cube tray i buy is those long type so after thaw i will keep for 2 servings

i will put in fridge then will reheat.

so can reheat or not?

Ivy,
u thk the opening of nack shop is funny..wait till u hear this..

sometimes when Im feeding Mathias and he cant concentrate cos he knows Daddy is nearby and wants to play yet wants to drink, he'll suck few times, unlatch and look around for daddy and play for a few secs then turn back to me, suck few times, then unlatch again...this will go on for quite awhile and when I get irritated by it i'll say "Mathias, if u do not drink your milk properly mommy's gonna close the snack bar!" and after a few warnings, I'll cover my boobies and thats when he'll cry then the bar will open again then he wont want to play with Daddy cos he knows the bar is not gonna be open 24/7!hahaha!!