(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

lilyn/jete: I see, guess we just gotta hang in there. Everyone reminds me that eventually they'll outgrow all this and we'll actually miss having them as little babies. And then we'll have No 2 - argh!

Yolk sac,
Haha.. What is Emily trying to do? She is sure strong enough to do that

Yeap, That is what my friends has been telling me. Soon enough they will be growing out of all these and by then i will even miss it. But now i am like argh.. I cant train her to be on bottle and sleep alone. She does not want anyone except mummy. I feel that sooner or later i going to be a zombie.

Snowwy
Haha, she loves to climb up her exersaucer - instead of sitting in it. As you can see, no part of her body is touching the ground. To get into this position, she crawls to her exersaucer, then holds on to that light blue toy that's sticking out of the exersaucer, pulls on it to stand up. And then just for fun, she decides to put one foot on the bottom tray of the exersaucer and wiggle the other foot in the air!!! all this while happily chewing on the exersaucer....sigh.

Nining
Wow, that's great pricing. Emily's Evenflo Three-in-One Exersaucer cost abt USD100, her uncle brought it back for her via SQ and paid for it (it was her Christmas gift).

Yolk Sac,
Wa, yummy exersaucer!!!!

jete,
I have to check what is the brand. I only opened 1 bag to taste, aft a sip, i drained away the tea bcoz i not used to the taste. Still have 5bags with me, mailed a few bags to Ocean and our triplet mummy last time. Donno it does help or not.

hi all...
long time neber log on liao...howdy.. =)

yolk_sac
emily is SOOOO cute...haha...

xman
yah. i heard abt the shichida too. very ex leh. 3mths abt $800. a parent must sit in for the class and supposed to do homework as well...haiz...dunno if it is i sending my bb for class or i going for class. haiz. but my mum say must send leh... i see first lor...

there is already a waiting list for bb born in second half of 07 for classes in jul.

an_gal: shop and save is ex leh.. after use the voucher more ex den my medicine hall leh

woof: sigh.. u know la

choco: u r right! my hubs to my surprise practiced timeout with my girl and he chided her for being notty and she din wana look at him.. then he put her in timeout.. i mean like 'wow' he is practising from Jo Frost leh

feel like giving Emily a nice big bite...

Nining, Chatty,
how to dress the kids in cold countries? Never been out of asia before so i clueless

zhuzhu,
haha....dun feel bad lah..tat's part and parcel of life...live wif it!

yolk,
now everything looks yummy for the babies

nining,
wish i m in US...those toys are dirt cheap!

xman,
the rotating part can be remove so it can act as an activities station when baby turns toddler..ya, i complained to her and say tat itz my bday and not hers..haha

xman, an-gal,

My boy have been with shichida since he is 20mths old, he is still with the programme at the moment lor. If U all are interested, thy have a open house every term, can sit in to listen what thy have on their programme before U registered.

nining,
wow, realli veri cheap ! tempted to buy rite :p

zhuzhu,
no leh.. i bought frm shop n save after use voucher is $31.40 leh.. cheaper than ur chinese medical hall rite..

PU/PD mtd
Hi Jiang, I'm facing the same situation as u. My DS also needs to pat & dance to sleep. He even refused to let me sit down & pat.

I'm a SAHM. Being the sole care taker, feel hopeless when I ve to take care of him & do housework & cook. Like today, ve to pat him for nearly 2 hrs. The moment I put him down, he starts to cry... My MIL has been complaing tat i dun let him sleep in sarong, that's why he needs to be carried around.

After reading de posts written by Yolk & Lilyn abt PU/PD, I also intend to try it out. Let's work hard tog. Good thing is i'm not staying w MIL, she surely dun let me do it. But jus hope that I'll not be too soft-hearted.

Bad Habits of my baby
Can anyone advised me? I desperately need help

1) My baby is 6mths and still refuses to drink from bottle, regardless it's formula or ebm, I even dream feed him but he will wake up crying. Also, he refused to drink water fr bottle, but using spoon ok.

2) Refusing to sleep on cot, wat to do? He's co-sleeping w us.

3) Magic cup/Spout cup, how to train bb to drink fr it? He will only bite the teats.

4) Patting/Carrying to sleep. Will try the PU/PD.

My hubby suggested sending him to infant care to train him wor... make him more independent. He thought it's an army camp meh.

Yolksac, your girl is really cute and so..adventurous...is she 7 months ++?

Actually are the classes useful? My hubby keep saying that babies are still young - might not really understand and to put him in class only when he is older..haiz...* argh*

Help, my FIL just called saying my girl dun want to drink milk or have her meal!!
For today, she only drank once in the morning, 120ml, how?
She love the white bread though, has been finishing 2 slices.

How how very worry ler, will all babies go through the stage of milk strike?

rc_cola: yes. Tricia went thru this stage during 2mth ++.. just leave it. Afte sometime they will be ok. Is a growing phase according to my pd. If they r still active and healthy den ok liao.

baby_doll: if u r nursing ur boy and wana bottle feed they will surely go on hunger strike but eventually will give in one.. so take ur pick. I went thru this too at 1mth +

Baby Doll,

1) My boy doesn't drink from bottle, i direct latch all the time.

2) Mine was also co-sleeping with us. I decided to eliminate the co-sleeping using PU/PD

3) Mine also biting the sprout. I didn't really start training him. Maybe just keep trying to offer the magic cup to him?

4) Mine needed to be nursed or rocked to sleep. And wakes up every 1-2hours and wants comfort nursing. Going through PU/PD right now to eliminate this

If you send to infant care, i think they'll end up letting him cry it out alone. Why not use PU/PD and train him yourself? Its tough for us to hear him cry, but at least you are by his side to assure him.

Two nights into PU/PD, i'm not a pro yet, but quite surprised by the results last night. The first PU/PD took only 15mins, but he woke up in 30mins. The 2nd PU/PD took 2hours non-stop crying, still didn't stop, i latch him, and continued another 1 hour of crying and he managed to sleep for 2hrs 15mins.

The subsequent PU/PD only took 10-15mins where he slept averagely for 1-2.5hours. There were in total 5 wakings. On a positive note, i didn't latch him until 6 hours later which was a huge improvement.

Be wary of the sleep monster. I had coffee at 12MN and slept at 3am last night so that i can stay awake for all his night wakings. I'm currently a walking zombie...

If you need to talk, feel free to email or call me.

yolk/lilyn,

thanks for your advices! i will persevere..

lilyn,

read in one of the many books, it says that naps and night time sleep can be trained separately, something gotto do with the left brain or right brain thing.

besides, i can't do it alone for the whole day. I'll probably start with the naps next week when hubby has more free time to be at home with me. i salute you for doing it all by yourself for the past 6months!

an_gal,

ya, the shichida thing so exp, dont know if really works..

miaon,

I heard the weekend class is more than 1K for 3 months, 800 is weekday class?I have no time at weekday leh..so exp..ya, I heard it's not easy since need to do homework at home..stress leh..

Adeline,

do you know we can start send bb for the class since how old?1 years old can liao?I sent email to enquering for the trial class but no reply yet..must see how it goes first b4 register since not cheap..

Thanks Zhu Zhu, guess ve to force him to drink fr bottle somehow, I feel like stopping bf cos baby also comfort nursing, feel so tired, but my PD suggested to persist till a year on bf...

Jiang,
Thanks so much for ur reply. At least I know i'm not alone facing the problems

Yap, my bb also comfort sucks, will wake up every 2/3 hrs at nite for comfort nursing, find it really tiring, 6 mths haven't been sleeping throughout the nite liao.

I will ask my hubby to sleep in another room, cos he surely will ask me to nurse him to sleep lor, he can't tahan the cries.

I'm thinking shd I start on the days than nites, need a lot of energy to do this. Will ve coffee to stand-by.

Take care Jiang
I can feel how tired u r now for sleepless nites. Pls preserve, few more days to go

Just came out from meeting, will go home soon.

Gold piggy, zhu zhu,

Thanks. My FIL said she is alright and dun seem to be hungry, but she has been drinkin gvery little ler, like 4 milk per day with 120ml each, and 2 meals, lunch and dinner (1scoop of milk + 1 scoop cereal + 1 ice cube tray of vege puree -each meal).
She is very petite ler, that's why I am so worry.

Sunbloom: There's another thread somewhere that talks about buying baby clothes for cold climates. Basically such clothes are available in places like Mothercare or Cold Wear or John Little. However, since its spring and quite chilly but not freezing, I would suggest using the layering method. 2 tees and a cardigan, babylegs and pants over babylegs. OR try to borrow from someone. I intend to borrow winter clothing for my baby from my ILs in US, when I go to the mountains in Colorado in June, as its super cold up there

Baby doll,
Im in the same situation. In fact for whole of last week, she is willing to take bottle. I thought i have suceed but dun know what happened she sudden reject bottle all of a sudden.

MIL also commented that she dun sleep long because i din allow sarong. But the thing is i do not want her to have this habit. My M's place does not have a sarong so it mean she dun have to sleep everytime i go back la which is twice weekly affair.

Im also a SAHM who do everything from A-Z in the household. Initialy find it terrible draining but it become better after inter introducing a routine for her. So now she know that by that certain time, she will have to nap. Im still trying for the night wake thingy.

Jete, i was laughing non-stop when i saw the pics, your hb really very creative lei.
Nowsaday babies are so smart... she knows that when you pump her milk supply will be here. I can visualize her excitement...

Baby Doll,

If hubby do not support letting the baby cry at night, you better get ready ear plugs for him.

By right the BW encourages starting the PU/PD at the first nap of the day and continue all the way to the night. For me, i'm only doing for nights only first. I guess different mum can tweak the idea a little here and there to her own comfort.

I had ever thought of weaning too! But i still want to try to persist till one year old. you do persevere too, k? Who knows, maybe he can kick the habit of comfort sucking and regular night wakings, i may continue breastfeeding till he self-weaned!

I only experienced sleeping through the night once and that was when he was less than 2 weeks old!

For me, i'm not expecting the PU/PD to solve the issues within a few days but rather looking at every little improvements made.

Jia you!! keep me updated on your progress, k? There is definitely light at the end of the tunnel
I've started the night early today and he is already sleeping now.
*fingers crossed*

Woof, WOW, you really splurge this time round. I also wanted to buy this initially but hor i have been buying a lot of things liao if i tell my hb abt this i think he's going to faint.

Last sat, Shannon had her pnuemococal jab, our PD try to let her stand but her leg was wobbly, so PD suggest we get a walker to train her legs. Her legs can give very powerful kicks but just don't know why she can't stand properly.. But after 2 days, 20 mins of using the walker, she can stand with support already wor.... PD mentioned don't put her in for more than 20 mins.

miaon + babydoll
Thanks, but she's a bit of a monkey lah - as is evident from the pic!

loh
Yeah, we love it - it's a pond theme. No complaints so far, save that the paint can come off sometimes if Ems has been chewing on it.

woof
Yes! She puts everything in her mouth - always have to watch her like a hawk at Julia Gabriel (they are understandably strict abt toys not going into bbs' mouths for fear of disease spreading etc)!

ivy,
ya..very surprised rite? i was surprised myself too as i m willing to pay for tat expensive toy...hehe

yolk,
ya, i oso dun like my girl to put things in her mouth but den cant stop her..she's faster than me..

hi lilyn!
haha.. i think he doesn't know if he should bang his head against the wall or bang mine whenever i have my blur moments..

gold piggy,
me n hubby are 1981 babies.. =)
after we got together we realised that we were from the same neighbourhood when young and were in the same kindergarten and also were born in the same hosp. also his bday is one day before mine.. =) that's why i always feel we're meant to be.. but maybe its just coincidence lah..

yolk sac,
wah.. the exersaucer must be real yummy.. ! =)

woof
Haha, I know exactly what you mean! I wonder when they will outgrow this "taste everything" phase.

magical
Wooowww so jiao ah! wow, looks like you guys were really meant to be! Hb and I have the same birthdate - we think it's quite cool. Yah, my little one finds all her toys very tasty these days.

choco/wiselyn,
yah, the sea current that day was too strong..haha!

Jete,
Has paige turned into a little bunny?? That'll make a great Easter photo!

Gold Piggy,
If the motherlove pills really work then I dont mind trying

Jete,
Wanna share the pills and see if it really works?

xman,
haha veri happy hor.. the tampines sales is a super gd buy

cola,
if ur gal is still active then shld b alright pa.. hopefully tis is jus temporary, if they r hungry, i believe they will still cry for milk 1..

ivy,
any idea which walker is gd? i still haven got 1 n dono 1 2 buy or not for melcolm.. haa

zhuzhu,
the term used by supernanny is Naughty Corner..

Woof,
When I tell my hb I was stupid thats y I married him he'll usually retort with "too bad" or tickle me or say "I know u kena hook by me right?" etc...all these funny things...

Re:teething

I need to know something. Mathias 2 bottom teeth have sprouted out and now his top 2 teeth are sprouting out but problem is that its not the top 2 FRONT teeth..it the teeth on the left and right of the top 2 front teeth..is that ok? I have no idea y his 2 side teeth are sprouting out when the centre 2 have no sign of growth yet...do u thk i need to ask a Dr?

chatty,
Can you post the link of the thread that talks about buying cold wear for baby? Just to check with you, I will be bringing my boy to melbourne in June. Heard that it's cold. Should I buy winter clothings or layer him? How many layers will I need? First time travelling with baby and to a cold country. I scared he will catch a cold there.. rather worried.

Jete,
Paige looks very cute.. like a bunny!

Xman,
My boy is also in the waiting list for Shichida. I have asked for weekend classes, so not sure when he will have a place. Just wait lor, not in a hurry to enrol him. But heard that alot of babies are in the waiting list although the course fees are expensive.

Semi-solid
Jerome finally can finish two spoonful of cereals! Told my mil not to force feed him if he doesnt want. Will try to introduce porridge again. Can we put chicken in while cooking porridge to bring out the taste? I think he does not like things that are too blend.

woof,
just read abt your mom wanting to buy u a stroller for ur bday..haha! THe same thing happened to me for mine..I gave birth my birthday was a few weeks after I gave birth and everyone wanted to biy me baby stuff for MY birthday

SUnbloom,

what we did for Ike when the temperature is below 15 degree C:

1st layer - normal romper and bbleg or stocking and socks
2nd layer - sleepsuit or long sleeve+pants jumper
3rd layer - jacket (fleece) with hood and fleece pants + booties/shoes

WHen outside we always carry him using the patapum and I wear my jacket on top of that so his legs are sort of protected by my jacket..

If the tempature is circa 20 C then 1st and 3rd layers are enough, skip the 2nd layer..

do u want some fleece pants/jacket? I can look in carters this coming friday...