(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

zhuzhu,
me also tik tat,
cos ethan also quite skinny
n my hb keep sayin tat he nt tat fat fat, chubby chubby loh..
so sad..

n nw i dun hv my ebm fo almost a mth..
he keep askin me to give him loh..
haiz..

jete,
Reading abt u not being able to go for your friend's party make me miss me pre-baby life
Used to go for tonnes of parties and events adn mingle...now, only can go to places that are baby friendly etc...and even if HB let me go I also feel bad leaving mathias at home..hahaha!! Dilema...

zhuzhu,

yeah! When i was feeding him EBM earlier on during the first month, he drank 900ml per day! can't imagine the amount of $$ spent if he is on FM. He could probably finish 1 can in less than a week?

Wiselyn,

aiming to BF till one year old.. hehe.. i'm scared by then i'm the one 不舍得 to stop..

bf is the only thing that allow me to eat ice cream and chocolate daily... and also indulge on donuts... whahaha

Ya but actually BM also not say very cheap leh. And its so much more work. Everyday go office pump pump pump pump then go home wash this wash that, sterilise.....lots of work but still it's satisfying la.

But night feed thing FM worse, got to wake up go kitchen and make milk...

Wiselyn and Mel, you both lucky, for babies i am in charge of everything and my hubby i put him in charge of playing with boy cos i don't really know how to play with him.

jang,
How much milk does Jaeden drink now? Mine drinks 180ml every 4-5hrs..yesterday the Dr weighed him and he is only 7.85kg and height 71cm..doctor say his weight is on the 50th percentile...HB want me to fatten him up..but I dunno how to do it leh...

that day one aunty touch Mathias and ask me whether I giving him porridge already I say not yet cos he not 6mths yet and I only give cereal then the aunty say " no wonder your son's flesh soft soft not tough.." then after that my HB ask me y cannot give porridge etc..hmm...now I dunno if I should just skip the puree and just go straight to porridge...

Mel/Jete,

i, too missed pre-baby days! yesterday, i only went out for mani/pedi for 2 hours, jaeden cried for 2 hours! *faint* I came home, hear him cry till sniffle sniffle, heart pain.

I'm gonna have to skip my coming graduation ceremony because of this. Imagine i'll be out for 4 hours and he'll be pitifully crying out for me for 4 hours.

Mel,

Jaeden is total latch-on since 2nd month. I totally have no idea how much he is taking now.

I think its up to Mathias to decide how much he wants to eat. if he doesn't want, also hard to force feed him. He is at a rather good weight.

Believe me, if u were SAHM like me, totally taking care of Mathias by yourself, you would rather he weighs lighter..

regarding porridge, i don't believe eating porridge will make the flesh tougher. Jaeden's flesh is tough from drinking BM only.

Yesterday my manicurist was giving me a recipe on having kids with firm flesh. She has 2 kids, 3 and 4 years old. She told me to make beef stew with brown rice, carrots and i think got potatoes also. give them once a week. Her PD taught her this recipe.

wiselyn/clement,
thanks for borrowing me the First Food book and nice meeting u again yest nite. Clara can oso look at ppl for veri long hor haha

chomecc,
i already order a few items on birthday direct haha.. super KS

magical,
SAHM now rite.. more time to play with bb n watch him grow..

ytanhn,
haa oways slp late cos update blog leh.. so veri tired.. mus try not to update so often n slp more.. had been feeling rather unhealthy ever since i start work

Sinkor had emailed me she's interested in my Friso 1, however, i mayb staying 2 far frm her so not sure she still 1 or not.. u 1 me to get Friso 2 sample for u? giv me the number to call.. hee

mel,
me oso bought the Heinz teething rusks but haven let Melcolm try yet..
btw, i started with puree 1st then mixed the puree into porridge.. n indeed, Melcolm's legs is hard hard n firm firm 1.. haha, he oso take brown rice cereal known as bigor once a day.. last time i used to wori he was skinny, born oni 2.3kg.. now i'm not so worried liaoz.. i tink his size is ok..

chatty,
thks for helping us get the items.. will chk my mail n tt 2 9.. tis opic realli terrible, cant use any personal email

pooh,
after 6mths can giv fm liaoz lah or mixed.. ask jon no need insist bm lah

thanks mummies for sharing, cos dun know what is the correct milestone for sitting...

will be starting my boy cereals on sat...so excited

yest, my bro-in-law future mother-in-law say that should intorduce 'cao mi' which i reckon is brown rice to baby as it will help to strengthen their leg and keep them warm...dun know true or not but no harm trying.

i believe someone asked before but i did not take note then.so pls forgive me for asking again. where to get brown rice? NTUC?

jang,

me also trying to bf until Clara is one....lets work towards that togather...

900ml for the first month?? That is what Clara is taking now....but she gaining weight fast also...put on 1 kg in abt one mth...current standing at 8.1kg...

Mel

You are the mummy of mathias, so u should decide when and what to give him...dun get pressure by other people in your decision...

mummies who is interested in tumbletots class at punggol plaza, i had called them up and i need to know roughly how many of us are interested in order to know whether we can form our own class or need to tag on to the current class..

Currently, the saturday classes start at 4:30pm, if we were to form our own class, it may start abt 6+pm (not confirmed), dono isit too late for mummies here..

Pls add on to this list for those interested in the class then i will call tumbletots and check again..

Mummies interested in tumbletots class at Punggol Plaza....
1) an_gal

an_gal,
nw i totally got no BM liao..
1.pump until no more liao..
2.ethan refuse to latch on anymore..
n my Bm reduce until no more...

nw is all FM liao..
but he cant even finish 150ml n still hv like 20mll left..

dunno izzzit due to e puree n porridge tat i give him.. make him cant finish e milk..

Gold_Piggy: U're welcome : ). I've replied u.

an_gal: U're welcome : )

Zhuzhu: James also skin and bones, and he's been on partial EBM all along...maybe its genetics or maybe I'm not feeding him enough? I notice babies who are TBF grow faster and seem to be physically stronger.

Jang: Doctor told me that baby will be firmer if he takes more protein and good cholesterol. The stew you mentioned has meat, hence, lots of protein and cholesterol, I guess. Doctor recommended starting baby on egg yolk for protein and cholesterol, and we've been hardboiling egg and mashing a bit of the egg yolk up and mixing it with rice cereal, for the past week. We do not give egg white, as this can cause allergies.

i thot we were only supposed to give eggs alter on?
i'm planning to buy brown rice and cook rice prrodge for yee heng this weekend..then slowly add sweet potato, umpkn etc into his diet..excited, but apprehensive as well..hopefully no mroe allergic reactions! my mum was so SUPER anxious now i've told her her dear grandson has allergy..bit naggy..but guess its just cuz she's concerned...:p

an_gal,

the friso 2 sample is out of stock, has to wait till April!! just called them awhile ago... i'm passing my friso 1 sample to mesh, thought of getting the friso 2 sample for her too..

hi mel...we as parents make the final call on the child...but will like to take this chance to say also...daddy and mummy must be same stand hor...if not daddy and mummy urge...the child knows...then the whole wide world also know...then the 'friendly' advices start coming in...scary!!!

speaking of pre-baby days..and what we miss, i think i miss my sleep most of all!
can't remember what it was like to sleep 8 hrs straight..actually took MC yesterday cuz i was having a terrible headache and difficulties concentrating..had a 2 hr nap and felt HEAPS better!
hmm..other than having the luxury of going out and having "me" time for shopping and mani/pedi, i also miss having a nice glass of wine (since preggie and not cannot cuz BF)..!

mel,
think the muscle tone of the child is dependent on other factors as well as food intake...yee heng has always been quite lean and solidly built..whereas my friend's girl is much chubbier, and "softer"..so long as bb is healthy and happy, its all good

hi lilyn...same same...wiselyn nowadays...a slight wimp from clara...she jumps up...heart pain leh...last time can zzzzzzzzz...me still sleep like a pig lar...ahha

pooh,
the trial class i tink is $23..
u can refer to tis web for more info http://www.tumbletots.com.sg/gymbabes.html

hw many times u feed porridge n puree a day.. i still don dare to feed too much, oni once a day cos i noticed that his milk intake decrease oso.. now he oni drink 4-5 times a day ranging frm 160ml to 250ml.. depends on his mood haha

angeline,
the class is 45mins to an hr.. the 4+pm class is existing class so if we were to form a class ourself it will be 6+pm

jang,
at 1st my friso 1 oso reserved for mesh, but she say her bb move to stage 2 liaoz so no need oledi.. so now pass to Sinkor..

Mel, your baby is tall. Mine only 67cm but at 8.5kg. Tall good, am worried my son next time small size...

Brown rice buy from Provision shops or supermarket. My MIL bought from provision shop. SHe cooked for my son yesterday liao but i didn't see it cos he had his 1st porridge at 3plus while i was at work...wasted else would have taken video...

chatty - i also read somewhere can't give eggs but can't recall where i read from.

Thanks and trying to consolidate orders - think cherry will be busy leh cos i want to order vitamins also.

Jang,
900ml for new born!!!!
How u carry him to latch on now? since he alread abt 12kg....u must having strong arms..

silly mummy here...
Had blended the rice yesterday until powdery, put inside tupperware, smell v nice....passed it to the baby sitter, then she asked me how to cook....opssss...how to cook har?
Ladies here pls help!!!!
Issit cook like those commercial rice cereal tt available in NTUC like bellamy or heniz? Boil water/ EBM then add in the home make rice powder and stir?? Starting only give 1 teaspoon, so little, how to cook?

choco,
I bought brown rice (organic) , gluten free fr NTUC and make my own home made rice cereal for baby

Loh,

no problems latching on. i just carry the top part of the baby then let the rest of his body rest on my thunder thighs. another position is body lying on the bed side by side, my arm slide under his head to prop it up and den my legs on his legs like hugging a bolster..

Used to carrying 12kg.. muscles build up already.. that day gathering, i carried 7-8kg babies, i feel that they are weightless...

Wiselyn,

69cm shld be slightly above average? zhuzhu's Tricia had exceeded 70cm already, if i remember correctly.
at this age, boys and girls have the same growth rate?

Jaeden was 74cm at 5 months.

chatty,

thanks for the info! didn't know protein and cholesterol will make baby firmer. i also thought that eggs to be introduced later.. means now we can introduce egg yolks but not whites? when can we intro whites then?

an_gal,

i got the friso number from the other forum: 64198484

you may want to put your name down for the friso sample? they say will arrive in April.

Can someone advise on how to make brown rice porridge. My gal is 7.85 kg at 26 weeks & she can hardly finish 140ml/ 3 hrly......

Pooh Astro, Lilyn, Jang, Goldpiggy: I just give a little bit (not even a quarter of a yolk). Can mix with anything. Egg yolk is ok, because its mainly protein. Egg white is what causes allergies and other problems. My aunt said to give egg (yolk or white? Not sure as I can't remember) before age one, I think, otherwise when baby goes for one compulsory vaccination (can't remember which one), you won't be able to tell doctor if baby is allergic to eggs or not. This is critical info because the vaccine is made from chickens. I can ask her for clarification later on.

Wiselyn,

girls not tall is ok. boys cannot too short. i hope that somehow his weight will reach a plateau somehow. the rate he is growing is scary. by right, babies shld double their weight by 6 months, he tripled his weight.. *faint*

Loh: U know more than me : ) Thanks for clarifying that its the albumin that causes allergy.

Goldpiggy: To ensure proper separation of yolk and white, hardboil the egg, then separate. If you try to separate while its is still liquid, some of the white may get into the yolk, so you don't want to risk that.