(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

choco,

my boy can't sit too. when he is placed on the sitting position, like do yoga, can reach the toes. then he'll fall sideways after a few seconds. he is 6months old tomorrow.

ytanhn,

its normal for your hubby to be surprised. nobody will believe Jaeden is only 6 months old. *faint*

btw, you've done a good job with Chloe's haircut. From now on, u can cut for her. save money.

Jang,

I am sure you are counting down by the minutes till tommorrow...haha...i think you can wait to start jaeden on semi-solid...but you have been doing a good job on feeding jaeden

Wiselyn,
It took me quite a while to discover that Clement was ur hubby!
I was thinking who is this Clement, so late still not sleeping, and which bb he "belonged" to. Hahahaa...

Woody's mummies: I think i'm supposed to go this month? Not sure wats it's for.

Jang: u EBM is reli nutritious. Look at Jaeden know liao.. keke

Regarding learning new things:
Tricia loves to stand now.. she holds onto the sofa and stands wobbly.. but she cannot sit properly yet..

Seems like everybody is having a great chatting time :p
Really busy at the moment and couldn't catch up on the posts.

Re: sitting
Would like to check with mummies, can we put our babies in sitting position, say on a sofa and we make her sit with cushion around her?
My girl can sit straight on her stroller without toppling backward or forward, but sitting on bed or on sofa, she can hold her back straight with her hands on the surface in sitting position.
My mum was saying not to put babies who can't sit yet on the sitting position, coz it will make the babies become hunch, dunno how true ler?
Is it true??

Ocean,

you are soo soo cute....Clement belongs to BB Clara...haha...or the other way round?? Anyway he usually sleeps later then me cos he is settling Clara last feed and in charge of putting her to sleep at night...unless Clara looking for me (actually looking for my breast)...haha

chomecc, sinkor applejuz and dorami

called the BJG, the girl i talked to on MC today. but i asked another girl to try to confirm with me the sat class by today..so if i get a reply i let u all know.

Chomecc: No prob. I just e-mailed you URLs of items you want, for confirmation.

Chomecc, Magical, Ocean, Goldpiggy, An_gal:
I'm evaluating the best option to minimise cost. I'm actually thinking of paying for the insurance rather than track and trace, coz without insurance, if package gets lost, no way of reclaiming money, but track and trace is useful information but doesn't help find lost package. Of course we could pay more for both insurance and track & trace. What do you think?

Assuming package weight of 20lbs (Right now its 17lbs already, but we're expecting more orders...):

http://postcalc.usps.gov/IntlMailServices.aspx?Country=10378&M=2&P=20&O=0&sd=1

Priority Mail has no tracking. Express mail has tracking. Insurance is quite cheap at just a couple of dollars.

Wiselyn,

yeah! finally going to start semi-solids. then i can join in the purees discussion. hehe.. but gonna start on friday. tomorrow is sister's wedding, too many things going on, have to shelve the cereal day!

clement,
so secretive abt ur age ah hehe..

xman,
ur rouxi so pretty, sure veri fast bcom not available 1..

choco,
my son 7mths+ liaoz still cant sit veri well yet.. sometimes will topple in front or side ways..

ivy,
aiyo.. hold hand oni mah.. y ur hubby scold shannon ahha.. hold hand now veri common mah.. not "kiss" leh hehe..

Nining,
Thanks. Was thinking of renting, instead of buying and buying. in the end all the toys are left lying around. my boy gets bored playing with them after a few mins. *sigh*

i think if the toy u rent all plastic one okie can clean easily.. just dont rent the one with cloth/fabric materials laaa

Question:
Anyone been to Shanghai? Will be going next mth. Not sure what to expect. What is the air quality like? A friend told me its quite polluted. Wats the most easiest way to bring fm?

bundle,
Chatty taught me, use milk bottle liner such as playtex liner.. put the FM portion into the plastic liner and fold, then tape it a bit to secure. Do enough of this for the outbound/in bound trip, then just insert the liner into the feeding bottle/nurser if you have one, measure water and pour the premeasured water into the plastic (which is already insde the bottle/nurser) then fix the ring/nipple on it. Shake as needed to dissolve the FM.
Playtex nurser and liner can be bought at www.shopbug.com

Shanghai - Polluted on the road, but not in the shopping streets like nanjing rd kekeke.. but yeah if you walk to the road where cars/etc are, then super polluted like bangkok or jakarta

Thanks Nining. But i was thinking maybe i can fill a air tight tupperware with Fm and bring in the luggage. and as for the plane, i'm sure they would provide hot water, so can bring the FM in milk containers.

As for the pollution. I have been to Bangkok many times so at least i have a good picture. Will be going to Shanghai and Bangkok next month.

cola,
my mum also says not to let bb sit for too long as their back are still not stable yet.

angeline,
our bbs are going to be 7mths, fast hor!

zhuzhu,
could it be routine checkup to see if our wounds healed nicely? i think mine is next month.

Bundle of Joy: Instead of using tupperware, you could put into ziplock bags (The small ones the doctors put tablets in). That's what I do when I don't want the hassel of measuring out the FM, or lugging boxes or milk powder containers around, and when I'm not using playtex liners. 1 bag per feed. I learnt that from my friends. This takes up less space, is cleaner, and can be discarded, so you can fill your bag with more shopping along the way.

bundle of joy,
i also use the very small ziplock bags. I think you can buy from provision shops which sells pots/pans or bakery items.

Anyone blend rice to make 'home make cereal' for baby? If blend, i shd use the big one or the small one (the chopper which come with the blender)?

Mic,

No need to rush them one, they will learn on their own when the time is ripe!

My son till now still toothless ah, some babies already got a few teeth! Take things easy ya!

Loh,

Wat cereal u blending? Brown rice?

xman,
hahah.. i think i have to get the leap frog stuff from chatty first...then on to myself.. what to do.. kedric more important. hehhe..

jang,
yea i think sooo too.. lets put up a voting table and also we have to start with all the themes parties.. went to take a look at birthday direct.. was drooling on everything

chatty,
i emailed you le..
yupeee... u got the right toys.. i am okie with any of the postage that the majority of you use..

nining,
can i check with you how long is the rental period? did ike like the execsaucer you got? think its a great webby

i have something to share, kedric showed a tinge of a tooth on the bottom.. my mil saw it and i can't wait for it to grow..

bundle,
you can also get the ziplock from supermarkets

I bought some Heinz jars today, can i check if you need to warm them up before feeding to the babies coz i was thinking of bringing them out when i go out..

at the same time, can kedric start eating teething rusks ah?

Hi chomecc,
Are you referring to those Heinz bottled puree food? No need to warm up. Can eat straight from the jar.

Hee... Kecia already ate the Heinz teething rusk. Very Hard, for them to scrap bit by bit...
Kecia dun like, she gets impatient easily :p

ivy,
i laughed out loud when i saw tat ur hubby scolded shannon for being so opened..

zhuzhu,
say happy 7th mth birthday to tricia on my behalf...

hi all!
sorry i missed the gathering..was to tired these weeks coz jereth keeps fussing int he night ..can be as bad as 2-3 times in an hour! plus he recently refused to sleep til 2-3 am n the night before was the worst! 4am! konked out! but last night he did sleep at 130 am n he took a super long nap this afternoon, so i feel more like a human again..

havent got time to read all the postings,

Re: frozen milk.
i take it out of the freezer and place the whole bag into a bowl of water. when its thawed i just transfer to bottle and place into warmer as usual.its a little yellow n smells horrible but jereth's still ok with drinking it. the bag i took was 2 month old and had to feed him twice frozen milk when came back from penang coz after 3 days no fresh store.

chatty,
thanks for herlping out with buying! n pls thank your in laws too!

chomecc,
i dont warm them up, just open and feed. so convenient! i feed him that when we're out too coz troublesome to thaw frozen cubes.. gotta keep asking for hot water!

Re; jereth's feeding schedule
7am, 12pm - 180ml BM
5pm, 9 pm - rice cereal + puree
11.30pm - 180ml BM

sometimes i give him baby bites crackers when we're but i break it off in small pieces coz he always messes up!

hubby gave him a drop of lemon tea for fun, but i think he doesn't like it.. ..

Re: turning 7 months!
jereth'll be turning 7 months this friday too! =)
so fast.. now its a nightmare changing him coz he's always so impatient and wants to flip before i even have the first tab of him diaper on!

he crawls like a caterpillar now..legs push, butt up, then flop forward. sits well without support but sometimes still drop to the side so gotta be around.

i think he's starting to make connections now coz once i saw him crawl to another end of his cot where i clip his pacifier chain, pull it off and stuffed the end where the pacifier should be into his mouth.
sigh.. isnt it fast how our babies are starting to be less like babies and more like little boys and girls already?

oh man, he just took my packet of lemon tea and stuff it into his mouth.. gotta go clean up liao, the drink spurted out when he squeezed the pack.. urgh!