(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

leooh,
no lah...i said something tat is impossible and nining play along wif me..
as for the blender, haven get it leh...will try to hunt for one this weekend..how abt u?
i cant rem how much u bot ur bamboo chair...can tell me again?

winnie
can i have the enfapro milk powder? would like to pass it to a fren who is now a single mom. i live in punggol so collection from punggol plaza is not a problem. thanks!

lilyn
it was a dr that paige saw on sat at the ER but she's quite young so i'm sure she reports to a more senior dr on monday who then reviewed the xray and decided they need to followup on the case.

zhuzhu
other than the fever today, paige has been ok the past few days. the hairline fracture should heal by itself. if she has no symptoms that are worrisome then should be fine. but of course we're still worried lor.

cin: hey gal! haha, I'm a temporary tai tai and definitely not a lawyer lah
yah I share your concerns...since Ems (and Titus too) are very gung-ho, I am slightly worried that we will just be doing the same ol' thing again and again in class (with maybe more intense swishes!?); there's only so many times one can sing "the wheels on the bus"! bcube's joined the 5:30pm Tues class that I'm in - in fact, she was the one who told me they had started the new class.

as for ems, yes, we've started letting her put her head underwater a few weeks ago after reading Teach Your Baby to Swim by Douglas Doman(erm Adrian said not to tell him if we did that, but the lady coach saw me do it on Tues and just smiled). I feel she can progress a bit faster than Aquaducks is allowing her to at the moment, but I love the heated pool so...will stick to it for now. How many more classes b4 this term ends btw?

JG (Evans Rd) - the programme is really really well-run, I was so impressed the first time I went! The playnest is for babies/toddlers from 6 - 18 mnths. They have Mandarin (min 3 x a week) and English (min 2 x a week), each session is 1.5hr. Very grown-up stuff! First 20 min is playtime on the mat/gym equipment - teachers come round and interact with the bb in Eng/Mandarin and give vocab tips (eg: "See the crocodile, it's a crocodile"). Then they launch into welcome time and songs, followed by a drama skit by the teachers (with costumes, props etc) to teach the theme of the week (in Mandarin PN this week, it's pink, so the skit was about the little lamb who is attending the little rabbit's birthday party and has to wear something pink and bring a pink present for the rabbit). Then out comes a "magic box" with something that's associated with the theme (eg: pink chalk) and the babies use the item for art and craft projects later. There's also a puppet segment when a hand puppet associated with the theme (eg: pink pig) comes out and interacts with th teachers. Then the babies do either swimming (in shallow tub), water play (toys etc in very shallow area of water), sand play or playground play, depending on the week's schedule. Then it's snack time (fully organic snacks) and plain water/juice - the babies/toddlers all sit together at a table - soooo grown up. Then it's goodbye songs, bubble time etc. You get to take home your baby's artwork etc. These are pics of Ems at PN over the last week or so:

Snack time
1257521.jpg

Playtime
1257522.jpg

Chomecc; I have both the bumper playmat (Pooh & Friends) and the LG Prime Playmat (Alphabet Pooh), and they're pretty much the same. Certainly very useful, as my baby is able to sleep and play on both.

Nining: Agree that the Parklon post is a bit wierd and unprofessional... as for the divorce stuff, well, I've actually worked on cases where both parents are expats here, but got married overseas, sometimes divorce handled here, sometimes in home country and sometimes in a 3rd country...from what I've seen, nationality is usually not an issue, though of course it would be more difficult to handle legal issues in another country and subject to that country's laws...according to books I've read, even in the US, the custody laws etc can differ from state to state...so I guess really hard to generalise.

Cin: I called to book James a place in Aquaducks, but guess what? There's such a long waiting list that they said unless someone drops out of the current classes, there won't be a place next term : (

hi jete, no prob. i jus live ard punggol plaza. when can you meet me? But i might be overnight at my mum's place tomorrow nite. Perhaps you can drop me an email on the details. [email protected]

gg to oink oink liao. NIte NIte to all mummies. zzzZZZZ.....

nining
i know he feels bad lor. i always buckle paige in no matter what position. that's why when i saw he didn't buckle her in, i told him to and he can tell me no need it's flat some more. now she is in the upright position more cos of the semi solid, he forgot since he never made it a habit. after i recover from the shock of seeing paige on the floor, she was already in hubby's arms. i turned around and saw the buckles untie, immediately i knew what happened. i think i may have smacked hubby on the arm and screamed at him that he didn't buckle her in. :p

now the more i think about it, the more i realized how serious it could have been. in the upright position, she could have so easily launched forward and went head first. i dont even dare to leave her in the combi chair unattended any more.

goldpiggy
you didn't see after the blanket swinging thing, she came back her eyes are red already. another few more secs she would have cried out loud.

angeline
no lah, just talking about the Tumble Tots class. punggol plaza has a branch so i said next time maybe can all do a trial class tog. an_gal said she's going to call them.

jang
that's one of the reasons why i haven't invested in the ergo, cos paige loves to look out (face out). i'm afraid she wont like facing in.

hi yolk
wow! jg sounds fun. but what is the objective of the class? will they show flashcards in chinese? i dun want to expose titus to studying yet, too young! just want to let him go to classes n play/interact with other children since i have yet to find an informal playgrp for him. i strongly believe children learn through playing. i have read your review on the toys u have bought for emily in jul thread. its really very educational n fun, will check that out.

hi chatty
is it a weekend class that u r enquiring? maybe u try a weekday trial n waitlist for weekend class? the thing abt infant swimming is they got to start young cos they can still remember the feeling in mummies' womb. once they r older, they will be scared of water. its really fun for the babies but for us mummies, alot of logistics just to prepare for the swim.got to pack bag, feed them, change them, rush down, take out diapers b4 they swim, bathe them n then drive back just for a 30 min class. but seeing titus enjoying n kicking in the water makes me feel its worth the trouble.

helo jete
what happen to paige? i will read the achive later. is she ok now? titus fell from his pram before cos i forgotten to buckle him up. my heartbeat stop for 5 secs when i saw him falling forward when we carried the pram down the steps. luckily he fell into the cover of the pram which acts like a pouch. but that was really a wake up call for me then. thank God he is ok, if not i dun know how to explain to my hb, fil, mil,mother n father. i realise titus is not just my baby. he is my whole family's baby!

hi yolk
how many babies r there in the class? then what do we parents do? can we disappear for that period? 6 to 18 mths? does that makes emily the youngest in class? but titus cant stand on his own, so how can he participate?evans road is just walking distance from my place. i didnt realise that there is a jg there. i thought there is only one hich is at forum. how much do u pay for the class? who is going to bring emily for all her classes once u work?

yolksac,
wow!! i like both the picts... especially the one which she looked stunned with the balls around her. Is the class at JG very big? yea i think i will call them for a trial.. hope that waiting list is not that long for trials.. how long is a term of aquaducks?

chatteyphewling, oh thanks for your feedback..
was thinking of getting the yellow bear or sweet bear but don't know if I should get the LG prime or the normal one.. is the normal one thick enough to cushion falls? kedric was trying to sit on the alaphabet mat and he tumbled so he was crying..

jete, how is paige's fever?

hi jete
i thk your hb learned his lesson. he must have felt very bad. i thk he will buckle her at all times. just like me. hope everything is ok with your baby. u too got to take care n rest well. we will miss u this sun. but if she is better, can u all still come? anyway sun is still many days away. : )

hi yolk
one more thing b4 i logoff. i am really impressed by how u train emily. she can sleep on her own, stand on her own, hold her breathe in water, drink water on her own n potty trained!! can i bring titus to u n u help me to train him on the sleeping part? the rest i will jus let nature takes its course. hah!

hi chomecc
sama sama.. hope its a passing phase.u working mum? sorry i have not been catching up the thread for past few days. u r new here? welcome!! : )

Hi cin,

thanks for the warm welcome. Yea i am a working mum.. now really zombie... hehe.. crossing fingers.. hope that tonight will be a better night. How about you? are you a working mum?

chomecc: hmm...I think it's 10 weeks long, one class per week. For me, it cost abt $20 a class excluding a one-time registration fee of abt $25

cin: she doesn't sleep thru any more! teething really set us back! sigh. ok now let me answer your JG qns:

- Objective: I think it's exposure to the language thru play. No flashcards at all. Just hearing the sounds and intonations of Standard Chinese thru play, normal chitchat, drama skits, songs etc. Basically what I would do with her at home if I spoke Mandarin with a beautiful accent... which I don't

- Class Size: Abt 10-15 bbs in a class, 3 teachers (2 assistant teachers and one lead teacher)
- Parents have to help look after the kid and facilitate play, can't just leave them there for 1.5 hrs
But some working mums have their helpers or the bb's grandma do it.
- Will get my mum/MIL to bring her once I go back to work
- Cost is $960 for a term - works out to $20 per hour
- Yes she's the youngest in the class, second oldest is one month older than she is
- She can't stand by herself either so she just crawls around or I help her get from one place to another; no problems with participation so far
- But yah, I think they get more utility out of it when they are a bit older (maybe 10 months +), I'm starting early cos Ems really gets ZERO Mandarin exposure at home so I think this is a good way for her to get some stimulation and do it in a language that is thus far foreign to her

The thread really flies... Very difficult to catch up and now at a loss.... Hmm... a pity i cant join u all for the gathering...

Yolk Sac
Ur bb very sweet, got big eyes staring so innocently at the camera. So cute!!

pengz.... today the thread realli move veri fast until i cant catch up in opic..

wiselyn,
i can oso advance booking 1st leh in case my 2nd bb is a gal mah.. keke

angeline,
hope u recover soon.. u going for the gathering??
we've talk abt organising a class at punggol plaza tumbletots..
btw, javier still hav probs poo poo, Melcolm oso on Similac stage 2 and he able to poo poo everyday liaoz not like last time.. hav u started Javier with semi solid?

xman,
rouxi so cute !

baby piglet,
ur ayden is quite michelin bb hor hehe

ytanhn,
yeah.. sometimes Melcolm quite stone wen suddenly the music n lights turn on for the jumperoo.. First Foods hav lots of receipes? considering whether shld buy frm Popular or not.. i scared i buy n throw 1 side at hm, waste $$

for the chicken n pork puree, u use handheld grinder??

pooh,
ur frend so bad, make bb drink red wine !!

josbaby,
after reading bits of your story, i realli feel sad for u.. pat pat.. jiayou..

chomecc,
i started my son with threadfin fish recently wen he turns 7mths.

ivy,
pengz, u so funi.. i will contact tumbletots soon n check it out..

mel,
will pass u the Promil Gold voucher

baby doll,
welcome..

jete,
hope paige will recover fast fast.. u mus b damn tired with the running here n there, rest well too

rainy5,
i target to go to tumbletots in March, once i contact them will update..

yolksac,
wasay, ur bb can go under water.. looks amazing !!

ocean,
com gathering leh... need u 2 make us laugh :p

josbaby
so sorry you have to go through this difficult time. i have a family member who went through a worse case than yours, now still fighting custody after 6 years. you need to get a good lawyer. hang in there.

leooh
i emailed you before i saw your post. can, i'll pay for you first. reply my email and let me know if there is anything else i'm collecting hor.

jete,
thats a feeding teether. u put a piece of food inside the mesh bag as a whole n then paige can chew n chew until its gone ...

an_gal: haha yes, best to start young lah, i think they are less fearful! love the pics of your baby in the bamboo chair, he looks so happy in it

ocean: thanks! but she is actually very fierce

woof

my MIL bought the bamboo chair at a provision shop near my place in ang mo kio.think its ard $40..but frankly now we let her sit in the lucky baby high chair instead,cos its higher,she can sit at the dining table with us and there's so much space at the attached feeding table so we can put lots of toys.

Good morning mummies,
Hope everyone have a great day ahead

rainy5,
I'm not very sure which stage at tat time only know tat it was blocked right at the bottom & there's no way for the bb to be deliver naturally. Maybe same case as yours but Woody never say much scared i worry ba.

Nining,
I got your stuffs liao & has PM you my a/c thanks.

morning mummies...this thread really flies!

Yolk sac, I have read on your response and went to the links you have got for me. They were really helpful to me. Thank you so much. planning to take leave to go down and see them at the legal clinic within either tomorrow or by next week.

Also, thanks for all the mummies support and advice, I will hang in there for sure. I will not give in to them so easily. I took pains to give birth to my 2 kids, how can i let them go so easily? both alsowent thru cesear, 1st baby is emergency case, cause i have diabetes during pregnancy, plus have low blood during first and 2nd trimester, then at last hot high blood pressure and lost control of my blood sugar level during final stage thus affecting the baby to shrunk in size, due to the low water bag level, I had to immediately take out my baby at the 37 week. My 2nd i thought of trying for natural birth de. My 2nd pregnancy although not that "sickly" la even though has very very bad backaches and numbness of legs very often but still at the final stage, during the 39 week plus, my water level was getting lower and lower, but cause my cervix did not even dialate by half cm still, so gynae told me I cant wait anymore and needs to go for c-sec. Then also no choice have to arrange for op next day after check up. i will not foget how much i struggled to give birth to them.

How can i give away them so easily?

By the way, coolyz, saw that you wan to give your enfapro is it? I am keen, can you bring down on sunday?

Thanks....

an_gal,

okay...i am sure irene will be happy to let u join in the queue for Jerald....Hope that you will get a girl for the next pregancy (i think that is what u wishing for hor)

Hi, Mummies

Actually my baby is also on enfapro. If any mummies wants to give away, can consider me too. cause right now also considered a single mummy le.