(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

pst,

i went into e link n actually called up selfix at tiong bahru plaza which is near my place..which size did u buy? is it e pigeon brand one as shown in e link...cos e salesperson at e store told me there are various sizes.....so wanna find out from u which is e appropriate size...
tks!!

inu: my bb weighs 5.7kg, nurse said my bb is average though bb is on the 25th percentile.am thinking izzit my breastmilk contains less fats hence bb not taking in enough fats....*SIGH*

alsie & Settes,
if can do 24 Nov and 1 Dec 11-12.30 then our baibes will have 2 hrs rest before the gathering.. Else we can ask for 24 nov and 8 Dec.. I havent called B&B cos by the time I got the chance, they've closed..

Nining,

I am ok with 24Nov and 1st Dec. Btw, I won't be attending the gathering as I have something on in the afternoon. Will attend the next gathering.

For the massage, we can bring our babies together to practise the massage on the spot?

Can I join in the BP?

A lovely book of nursery rhymes. Its one of those big, thick books filled with colourful pictures and nursery rhymes that we can read to our babies.
The normal price of the book is $24.50.
After discount, the book will cost: $22.05
BP will close on Wednesday, 22 Nov 07, at 12 midnight. If you are interested, please indicate below:

1) Chattypheyling
2) Muddypie
3) Jete
4) Tulip
5) Melia (Jul Mummy)
6) Nining
7) settes
8) Jang
9) Alsie
10) Magical
11) pst
12) gold..piggy
13) Nielle

woof..ya i saw that u ordered the leg warmer too..hee i ordered 2 somemore. they really look quite dun they....

cant wait to get the dream bag, cos recently when i swaddled jaelynn she always kick until the swaddleme came off. can no longer keep her still inside. need something to cover her legs to keepp her frm cold. these few days, weather quite good..

inu,
really? i onli saw u order 2 onli..so many designs duno which to choose..i like the pink poko dots too as well as the cotton candy but den 1st time buying, din dare to buy too many leh....

inu,
really? i onli saw u order 2 onli..so many designs duno which to choose..i like the pink poko dots too as well as the cotton candy but den 1st time buying, din dare to buy too many leh....

settes, both jete and I got the minifridge model http://www.fridge-to-go.com.sg/ftg_1200.htm same as the one in the picture, except that mine is with the shoulder strap instead of the short hand-carry strap in the picture. Can't recall jete got which, think also shoulder strap. I also use it to transport EBM to my MIL's place. Works well for both EBM in milkbags and EBM in bottles. Shoulder strap is good coz usually we have many things to carry. Like this morning, I strapped the FTG across my body and carried baby in my arms. The minifridge is better than the pigeon ftg coz the minifridge has the coolant panels on all six sides. Think someone bought the pigeon FTG before and didnt like it. Can't recall who.

woof
thanks for the list.

jang
wow! u got a big n tall baby. is your baby on fm or bm?he can be a basketball player next time. hah!

ning
i am interested in the massage class if only its held on the weekday or if my hb can join me on wkend. do let me know ok? thanks.

talking abt the tmc massage class, its soooo cock up!! the line is so difficult to get through. its either engaged or voice message. anyway judging from this thread, they seem to give us all diff info n dun know which one is rite. the gal told me the class is held on 2 sats ( i was told previously it will be held on one sat on the 24th only). and she told me it will not be a hands on. only one baby will be borrowed to do hands on, the rest just look. BUT we can have a one to one lesson with this woman called mrs wong but pay $115 and its a 1 hr lesson only. as the gathering is held on the 1st, i dun thk my baby can last that long going out the whole day so i will be giving it a miss.

ah gal
regarding the bumper seat, i have one too. but frankly speaking from my own opinion, its not useful. it can be used for baby up to 10kg only n i dun find it safe even though if the baby can support his neck in future. it has got not much of a back support. even though my baby is 7 kg, i have to push his thighs into the seat. basically it just look cute when the baby sits in it but not that useful. if u want, i can bring the seat to you during the gathering.

talking abt gathering, any one of u use sling? i have one but dun know how to use n adjust. can someone teach me on that day?

i have bought a pacifier for baby but he doesnt how to suck it n it keep dropping.

qns
someone recommend nuk teats in this forum before.
do i need to buy nuk milk bottle esp for it or i can use my avent bottle n cao cover?

just an update on what happen to my baby today.

he has been esp colicky n cranky since last fri.he does not sleep in the day from 0700 am to 0800 pm!! only catnaps of 15 mins in between. doesnt want to drink from bottle n latch on either. keeps burping n has got lots of gas. i can see that he is hungry but the moment i latched him on, he cried after less than a min. i bey tahan, thought he got gastric reflux or gas, also he doesnt drink much for 3 days in a row, so i called up pd n saw him in the afternoon.

he said baby is teething!! these r the signs of teething n the tooth will appear ard 8 weeks after thses signs r shown. by then my baby will be ard 5 mths plus. wah!! i got stress, i asked if he is going to behave like this for the next 8 weeks n he said it all depends on the baby. i didnt know teething can be so tough on the baby cos i can see he is very hungry but cant drink. in the process of latching n unlatching, he swallowed more air n got even crankier. he was given teething gel n it cost me $98 for that appt. soo ex!! therefore if your baby is like that (hope not), no need to see pd. just buy teething gel.

also as my mil was with me during that visit, i purposely asked the pd whether its a good idea to carry n rock the baby to bed for an hr each time. he said NO, bad habit. wahahahaha!!! u shd have seen my mil's face. she loves my son n likes to carry him so much, therefore created such a bad habit for him which was tough for me. on the way home i can hear her telling my son, "baby, doctor say ah ma cannot carry n rock u to bed. u r a big boy, must learn to self sleep on your own."
but now i dun know how to do it. pd said put him onto the bed when he is semi sleeping n let him sleep on his own. hopefully it works tonite.

I would like to get 1 too

A lovely book of nursery rhymes. Its one of those big, thick books filled with colourful pictures and nursery rhymes that we can read to our babies.
The normal price of the book is $24.50.
After discount, the book will cost: $22.05
BP will close on Wednesday, 22 Nov 07, at 12 midnight. If you are interested, please indicate below:

1) Chattypheyling
2) Muddypie
3) Jete
4) Tulip
5) Melia (Jul Mummy)
6) Nining
7) settes
8) Jang
9) Alsie
10) Magical
11) pst
12) gold..piggy
13) Nielle
14) wttee

cin, I also use the same trick! I always ask questions to the PD that I want the PD to answer and for my hubby to hear from himself! hehehe always works coz whatever pd says is worth more than what we say. usually hubbs is fine, it's what my MIL 'worries' that I usually voice. Like last time, she say cannot let baby sleep on his front, say will crush his lungs. So I purposely ask pd if sleeping on the front is ok, whether will crush bb's lungs. of course the answer is NO. So hubby hear already, feel better, and so at home, we let bb sleep on his front - without letting my MIL know of course.

hehehe pst, u used that trick too? it does help rite. but my knees shiver when i thk of what is going to happen the next 6 weeks. very diff to look after if he is going to behave like that for the next 7 weeks. going to pray against it!

hi sunbloom
so sorry to hear abt your hb's hurtful remarks. u must have felt hurt abt it. could it be his work that is stressful n caused him to behave n talk like that? but to thk at the bright side at least he cares for the little boy? i used to have issues with my hb too. attended marriage workshop from church. i realised have to have open communication. alot of resentment then at least now so much better. so cheer up gal, talk to the one up there. : )

pst, tks for e model no...hope to get it by tis week...if only got sale, then wld be beta!!

nining,
if only one of us allowed for e massage then may not join in..prefer hb to be participating too...

jete,
could b they move to amk hub tats y so disorganised.

ivy,
tats a gd idea... can go ur place try 1st.. i tink ur house hav alot of bb tings 4 me 2 try hor :p bb shannon so clever, oledi know wat is "monday blues"..

woof,
received ur class list, thks so much for consolidating

cin,
me not going 2 the gathering leh cos too far liaoz.. anyway, i haven buy the bumbo yet, still considering.. mayb if i go Ivy house i let my bb try it out hehe..

Xman: Rota Virus checked with my PD just now. There are two types of Rota Virus jabs. The 2 dose jab uses the human strain. The 3 dose jab uses the Bovine (cow) strain. The 2 dose jab is the original vaccine for rotavirus and is more popular because its only 2 doses. The 3 dose jab is having a more difficult time breaking into the market. I asked him about Oceans remark about which jab was purer, and he said no such thing as purer, just that the human strain is probably more suitable since its derived fromhumans : ) for humans

Bliss: Your boy boy is really cute and huggable!

Alsie: Looks like Jerome is really enjoying himselfhmmmust persuade my hubby to drive down to Punggol Plaza one day so that we can let James try the hydrotherapy outdo we have to book in advance or just pop in?

Choco: Pampers Sale I took advantage of it already. Cant remember how much I paid, but quite worth it

Sunbloom: So sorry to hear of the near accident. Im so glad your sons fine. Must be very difficult for you to tahan all this nonsense, and I must say I really admire your restraint. If I were you, I wont be able to hold back. Someone really needs to give you an award for being such a wonderfully tolerant wife and mother. Hang in there, K? Hugz!

An_gal: If you really want to buy the bumbo chair, go and buy one of those mothering magazinescant remember the magazine name but I know its not Motherhood, Mother & Baby or New Mom. Anyway, there is this huge card on it with all these discount coupons for you to cut out (youll see it when you see the mag), and one of the cards is for 50% discount for kidzloftKidzloft is the distributor for the bumbo seatI won't buy it though, as I'm not so sure its really that good for baby and its too expensive an item, esp when it can be used for just 2 or 3 months...You were also the one who wanted to buy the Foam mats for your babys room right? Toys R Us is having a sale now, and 4 huge pieces of large foam mats costs only $14 instead of $29. Very worth it.

Jang: The good news is that with baby growing so fast, youre sure to lose weight really really fast too! : )

Muddypie: Nice meeting you too!

I like your idea of getting a few books as samples. However, I dont think Ill be dropping by either Thomson or AMK these 2 weeks, unless it is to collect the nursery rythme bookswill you be going near these places anytime before 1 Dec 07.

An_gal: Like Muddypie, I found the class rather disorganized but quite useful. The seating arrangement could be improved as welloverall, I thought it was a pretty good class, and almost all the babies were relaxed and asleep by the end of the session. However, like Ivy said, 2 hours was way too long for the babes.

Cheryl / Wttee: Welcome : ) Glad that you want to join the BP

Inu: Statistically speaking, Average range = 25th to 75th percentiles. Strange right? But true.

Nining: I would also like to see the sitnstroll right now trying to convince hubby to get a lighter stroller, as the Graco our friend gave us is wonderfully sturdy but too heavy for me to manage alone

Settees: I was the one who bought the Pigeon FTG. I like its size and shape, as my two Ameda bottles with Funnels can fit inside nicely, with room to spare to at least 2 capped Ameda bottles. Problem is that the blue ice panels are too thin and melt really fast, so Im lucky if it lasts 4 hoursactually, if your room temp is higher than 24 degrees celcius, it wont stay cold for the full 12 hours, while the regular cooler bag with thick blue ice block will last 12 hours or more. Recently, I did some on-line shopping at Playtex store, and read their description for the single bottle FTG, and it states only 4 hours cooling time! That about describes my Pigeon FTG! At least Playtex is upfront about it! Pigeon puts it in teeny weeny print that the FTG stays cold for 12 hours only if room temp is 24 degrees celciusin large print, it actually states 12 hoursNow, I have to put my Medela blue ice block into the Pigeon bag, in order to keep it cool

Cin: Hope your baby will feel better soon. Nuk teats are pretty good. Their nipple rings are standard size and can fit Medela and Ameda bottles. There are even special NUK teats which fit the Avent nipple rings. Dont bother buying the Nuk bottles though, if youre going to use bottle for FM. The mouth is so narrow that when you try to put milk powder in using the scoop that comes with the FM, the powder goes all over the place.

pst: Same here. I used that trick on my CL : )

woof
i'm also interested in ordering the leg warmers. not sure if they are thick enough since this is the lightweight version. my bb is scare of cold, thinking this will be easy to put on her when we go out to somewhere with strong air con.

an_gal
many places all selling bumbo seat at $69.90. I saw it at that price at Taka, Isetan, Robinsons, mums and babes and kiddy palace.

sunbloom
glad your boy is ok.

i cant believe your hubby said that! how about he be part responsible for his own kids and watch out for them too instead of just expecting you to be solely responsible and blame you if anything happens. *sigh* must be so hard on you, i wont be able to take it.

jang
now we know why jaeden looks so much bigger than paige when i last saw you. heehee. i weighed paige yesterday on the bathroom scale and she's about 5.5kg.

muddypie
mrs wong's nagging can get quite mean, dont know how her staff can take it. i'm interested in the mummies and babies class if it's a bit later on and dep on location. after the baby massage class, find that baby at 3m a bit young still to be able to handle such activities.

settes
hopefully they'll get everything figured out so the mommies who signed up can be informed properly and in a timely manner.

nining
i think that is a great baby massage class to do. max 3 is very very good. i would jump at it if i didn't already wasted the money on the parentcraft class.

baby's weight
i am taking paige to the PD next monday, will find out exactly how much she weighs then. by then she will be 16w+ already. yesterday i weigh her on the bathroom scale and she was 12.5lb, so right around 5.5kg.

ivy
we were not following the class very well. had to stand for half the class cos we couldnt even see what mrs wong was doing. i really dont like it that she'll walk around the room and goes "next we do rolling pin" then she bend down and demo on the nearest baby, how can we see when we're across the room??

settes
i got the one that has the shoulder strap too. using it to bring ebm to my mom's place when i leave my bb with her. usually we leave bb there when we go to gym so we have a system whereby we bring ebm over to mom's place, put the ebm in her fridge, then put can h2o in the fridge to go and bring to gym with us. heehee

cin
i dont bring my parents to PD/dr's appt so must use the dr said trick. :D i always tell my parents "dr said... " if not they won't believe me. so far that has worked pretty well. :p

an_gal
the amk hub "branch" has been there for a while already. at the beginning of the class, mrs wong thank everyone for agreeing to move the class to amk hub, sound like it wasn't the norm, just something more convenient for her for this class. parentcraft can be so helpful and useful to many mommies, if only they can get their act together and do a better job.

hi ladies!
good news, yiheng is now accepting the bottle! i just didn't give him the breast option n kept feeding him ebm fr the avent bottles all of yesterday n sweet success!!..he took it without much complaint cuz he was pretty hungry but still in good mood fr his naps..think the key is to give when he's hungry but not upset! tho i wonder about how much he's taking tho..he takes about 3oz per feed only...sometimes only 2oz..he's 2 1/2 months now, shouldn't he b taking more?

just an update for the gathering:

Venue: Summerdale's Multi Purpose Hall, Boon lay Drive
TIme: 1 Dec 07 - 2.30-4.30pm

mime_msexcel.gif
Gathering Headcount
SMH Gathering.xls (15.4 k)</td></tr></table></center>

I've sms-ed Snnowy with regards to the schedule, waiting for her reply
Can't wait!!

hi ladies!
good news, yiheng is now accepting the bottle! i just didn't give him the breast option n kept feeding him ebm fr the avent bottles all of yesterday n sweet success!!..he took it without much complaint cuz he was pretty hungry but still in good mood fr his naps..think the key is to give when he's hungry but not upset! tho i wonder about how much he's taking tho..he takes about 3oz per feed only...sometimes only 2oz..he's 2 1/2 months now, shouldn't he b taking more?

have 2 say tho..peifu u mummies who pump exclusively..its so time consuming! esp when compared 2 just latching direct..wat with the sterilising, pumping, warming milk etc, it's double the tie i usually use 2 feed him le..but guess bo bian...must remind the lil fella about using the bottle so he's more flexible...i thot since i introduced the bottle when he was 2wks old it'd b ok, but guess he's older now n can indicate his preference!

cin,

remember? Jaeden is fully latch-on. wonder milk!

if its not troublesome, can you bring the bumbo to the gathering? i would loved to try Jaeden on it..

chatty,
so e pigeon FTG may not be dat good..tink prefer one which can last longer if i happen to go out..then at least got "peace of mind" dat e thing can last for 12 hours! tks!!

jete,
e FTG which u bot has to be kept in e freezer for how many hours then can leave outside for 12 hours? if i bring to office..can i safely leave e FTG at my table (with e bottled ebm inside), without putting e whole FTG in e freezer?
just called parentcraft abt e massage tis sat...they said slot not confirm yet..will definitely call me back to confirm...aiyoh..a bit luan leh..cos me also planning another outing tis sat..if massage confirmed led then i can at least do some planning!

cin, chatty, jete, yeah yeah! I also use a lot of the "doctor said:" trick with my PILs and my parents. Used it just last night! We were telling my MIL to place Isaac on his front sometimes, in the day, to let him exercise his neck muscles, then she protested, saying she's scared his nose dunno what. I say 'dunno what' coz before she could say exactly what, I said:" lao goong tah gai!!!" which literally means Doctor say one!!! hahahaha...

settes, the model number I gave you for the FTG is the hand-strap one. so if you want shoulder strap too, it's a different model number. Some places don't carry the minifridge model - was at Jelita, and Guthrie House, both shops dun have it. Eventually got it at Mums R Us at UE Sq. But I know MomsInMind has it, so if you buying stuff from there, can get it there too.

i'm MTB from dec 07 thread...would like to find out how was the bill like for mummies here who delivered at mount elizabeth?

Mommies interested for Birth and Beyond's infant massage.

Price - $110
Duration - 1.5 hr
Location - Tanglin Shopping Center, 19 Tanglin Road #05-18

Maximum 3 babies per class

Mommy and Daddy both can attend, bring your own baby , kekekeke...

I requested the lady , Irene, to look up for schedule (due to their room avail) as follow:

24 Nov 12-1.30pm & 1 Dec 10.30am - 12 pm
or
1 Dec & 8 Dec ; 10.30am - 12pm

Mommy who can join either of the schedule (Class 1):

1) Nining
2) Settes?
3)Alsie?

Class 2 (name your own schedule)
1)

Birth and Beyond's contact (call between 9.15am - 5pm): Irene - 67361636