(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

sounds interesting. i want too! BPs are evil..

Mini BP for "My Nursery Rhymes Collection" Book by Parentcraft
------------------------------------------------------

1) Chattypheyling
2) Muddypie
3) Jete (to confirm)
4) Tulip (to confirm)
5) Melia (Jul Mummy)
6) Nining
7) Tulip
8) settes
9) Jang

Please include me as well, Thanks

1) Chattypheyling
2) Muddypie
3) Jete (to confirm)
4) Tulip (to confirm)
5) Melia (Jul Mummy)
6) Nining
7) Tulip
8) settes
9) Jang
10) Alsie

Ocean,
U'v got a mail.

Ivy,
how come mrs wong do that to your baby?sounds like terrible, supposed they are the expert to baby and we trust them so much that's why pay and learn from them..hope your gal is fine now..

Re:rotavirus

today called my PD to check about the rotavirus, she confirmed the rotavirus is 3 dose, and 70$ each, one month once, I asked why other PD give 2 dose and each dose is around 90$, she said theirs are the new types.. jialak, for the new type I paied 10 to 30$ more..seems me quite unlucky in choose PD, it's either too exp or the doc impatient..since I already give my gal first dose of rota there, so have to continue..the rest of the jabs I will go to GP as other mummies do...

Today, after the massage class, Mrs Wong Boi Boi, introduced us to a lovely book of nursery rhymes. Its one of those big, thick books filled with colourful pictures and nursery rhymes that we can read to our babies.

The normal price of the book is $24.50.

Some of us who were there asked Mrs Wong if she could give us a discount if we bought the book in bulk, and she said she would be able to give us a 10% discount. She did not state how many books we would have to purchase.

After discount, the book will cost: $22.05

I tried to find a picture of the book on the internet, but was not able to.

This BP will close on Wednesday, 22 Nov 07, at 12 midnight.

If you are interested, please indicate below:

1) Chattypheyling
2) Muddypie
3) Jete
4) Tulip (to confirm)
5) Melia (Jul Mummy)
6) Nining
7) Tulip
8) settes
9) Jang
10) Alsie

ivy
i'm so so sorry you were so upset. I had no idea. baby shannon was doing so well before mrs wong carried her. you were massaging her and she was looking around (mostly at the little aug 8th boy! i might add
) it was like shannon got spooked after that and really started crying hard. I didn't know what was going on inside the room when you were inside with mrs wong. *hugs* why do you need to feed baby standing up?? now that our babies are getting heavier, it's not easy to carry them with one hand, plus they are more active and must anticipate sudden movement from them, much safer to hold them with 2 hands. next time we'll get together and practice the massage.

------
tulip, chatty, and muddypie
nice to meet you ladies for the first time!!

------

honest opinion about the massage class. i feel that spending that much money learning to massage my bb, i can deal with, but did i learn enough to warrant spending the money? no. i'm very disappointed with the organization (before and during the class) and the actual class. most of the babies got unhappy and tired cos the class started so late (due to miscommunication between the staff and mrs wong, mrs wong thought the class starts at 11am when it should be 10am), you cannot expect babies to tahan for 4+ hours. we're supposed to feed the baby 1 hour before class, so i fed paige at 8.45am. Got there before 10am and by 10.30am she was hungry again and class havent even started. At no time did the staff ever tell us why we're waiting. then during the class, the demo was not done properly and half the time i cant even see what mrs wong was doing. even though hubby and i stood up to try to see for half the class, we still cant tell. imagine mrs wong holding the baby, the baby's side facing me. how can i see what she is doing on the baby's back??? she can stroke the baby's back straight from neck down the spine or criss cross on the back, i can't tell. all i can tell is her hand travelled down the baby's back.i think that instead of sitting in a circle, we should be sitting in rows, then she can show us what she's doing in the front of the room.

unfortunately i didn't think it was money well-spent. Not cos the material was not worth learning but simply cos the class was not well conducted.

hubby thinks it was more fun as baby socializing time. *roll eyes*

mommies who are signed up for the class but didnt get a call. check with parentcraft asap. it is my understanding that there are no class next week, something about mrs wong traveling.

i signed up for the class a couple of weeks ago and heard nothing. then i saw some mommies post about the change of date and called parentcraft, couldn't get anyone on the ph for a couple of days. last thur i called and called the whole day and just got voice mail, by the end of the day the mailbox was full.

friday afternoon, i got hold of a staff and told her i signed up but haven't heard anything yet abt the change of class. she asked me for my name then told me "oh yeah, you're on the list. i had to call everyone and stop at the last 2" well, guess i AM one of the last 2 huh?? mind you this is the day BEFORE the class. i told her i tried to call on thur but no one answered, even the voice mail was full. she told me "yeah i was out photocopying the class material, i had to clear all 20 massages" i never did get an answer on why i was not informed.

the mommy sitting next to ivy in the class said she got the call on sat morning at 9-ish in the morning. she must be the last on the list after me???

to me that's not reasonable. to call someone and said "your class next week is moved to today, it starts in half an hour"

wow, so many negative feedbacks abt the massage class !! my frend who went for the class last few mths at tmc said is good. At 1st thought of bringing Melcolm there next mth, now can 4get abt it..

ivy,
big hugs.. hope u r feeling better now.. haven arrange 2 go over ur place, mayb in dec hee..

jete,
hope u r oso feeling better after the class, hugs..

yesterday went to buy Bumbo Seat for Doren at Robinsons.

Here are his reactions...

1077342.jpg
1077343.jpg
1077344.jpg

10 mins later... haha!
1077345.jpg

looks like i can't let him sit in there for too long.

after buying then i realise the seat is for babies of 4 to 10kg. but Doren is already 8+kg.
hopefully can last till he's 12 months

bliss,
i 1 2 buy the bumbo too leh.. but dono Melcolm likes or not.. oni until 10kg? thought it mentioned can b use until abt 14mths??

haha!
we let Doren try out at Robinsons. he was happy in it. that's why we bought it for him. u can always let Melcolm try out first before buying.

it states till 14 months but the weight is till 10kg only. hope Doren's butt will not grow too big to fit in it. haha!

re massage
seems like they r veri luan themselves, not v well coordinated...tink i beta call them tmr to confirm e class next week....if cancelled they shhld inform us in advance lei....tks jete...
when i went for e antenatal class last time, e instructor nurse chong was telling us dat baby massage is useful cos one of e babies kept smiling n remain so happy dat he appeared on tv in one of e baby documentary...so i was like wah must bring my bb for massage too...

bliss..
haha! so cute!
i tried seating jereth in his bumbo 2 weeks ago but his head was still a little wobbly.. so i took him out.. will try it again soon!

chatty,
pls include me too!

If you are interested, please indicate below:

1) Chattypheyling
2) Muddypie
3) Jete
4) Tulip (to confirm)
5) Melia (Jul Mummy)
6) Nining
7) Tulip
8) settes
9) Jang
10) Alsie
11) Magical

cin, yeah! we were also so adamant about total breastfeeding and books all say babies have 3 days reserve... so that's why I posted such a long post on it... wanted my 1st time mother-to-be friends to all learn from it...

Jete, if your hubby like baby socialising then he shd enjoy the coming gathering! hehehe...

Sorry to hear that the massage sessions were not well organised and conducted. Good that you guys posted your honest comments on it.

haha Bliss, ove your before and after pix of Doren in his bumbo

A lovely book of nursery rhymes. Its one of those big, thick books filled with colourful pictures and nursery rhymes that we can read to our babies.
BP will close on Wednesday, 22 Nov 07, at 12 midnight. If you are interested, please indicate below:

1) Chattypheyling
2) Muddypie
3) Jete
4) Tulip (to confirm)
5) Melia (Jul Mummy)
6) Nining
7) Tulip
8) settes
9) Jang
10) Alsie
11) Magical
12) pst

Pst,
I had a birthplan which involved die die must BF Ike from 1st time, no supplement.. "Fortunately" or let's say it was blessing in disguise, that Ike had to stay in neonatal ward for a week, that allowed him to be properly fed and me to establish milk supply.. cos turned out my 1st 3 days, milk only came like 20ml for 2 hrs pumping!!! that is 2 hours doing pumping, not pumping every 2 hrs.. And the book I read said that baby may reject latching if first oredi bottle fed, but Ike was first tube fed, then bottle fed for 3 days or so, then only after 2 weeks of my ss establish I dared to latch him on with help of lactation consultant.. So I think, when the book said baby that is bottle fed will reject nipple, maybe it was a worst case scenario, not the common cases.. And also, at such young age, babies are still flexible and they have natural survival instinct.. if there's nipple they can, if there's bottle then they oso can

Today went to punggol plaza for lunch and happen to pass by baby hydrotherapy. Walk in and decided to let Jerome try it out. Ok, babies are natural swimmers.. The moment we place him into the tub of water he starts kicking and kicking.. now he K.O already.. hopefully can sleep through the night :p

Having fun in the tub
1077886.jpg

Enjoying his massage after the vigorous kicks
1077887.jpg

Alsie,
wow...another bb who went thur hydrotherapy..i guess he has recovered....

bliss,
i was amused by the fotos of Doren tat u post..same as magical, i let carene sit on it last wk but head is wobbly so i got her out...she was oso curious when she was on it..when i got her out, the bumbo was bside, she was like playing wif the seat..so farni..

Woof,

Its confirmed that Jerome has UTI, but its mild infection and antibiotics should clear the infection. Anyway tmr going to see his PD again to check if his infection has gone. These few days his fever is gone and he looks more active, thus decided to bring him out for a day of fun after staying at home for the whole week.

Is the baby massage class really not worth going? I wasnt informed that the 24th nov class was cancelled! If really not that good, than I don't bother to go already and can save money.

bliss,
is Robinson still selling the Bumbo at $69.90? wanted to buy it 2wks ago at Robinson but oni left with pink color tats y i didnt buy.. hehe

alsie,
Jerome is enjoying himself inside the water hor.. glad tat he is recovering well
i thought of going for the hydrotheraphy next wk if hubby back frm overseas trip... btw, need 2 make appt b4 going dw if is a wkn? isit veri crowded? hw much u pay altogether including the massage?

woof,
i let my gal wear leg warmers when we are out to air-con places. i think it's great cos we can remove it when we are out in the sun. convenient when changing nappies and i think it's beautiful too... i bought 2 during one of the BPs but not enough for me cos i prefer them to long pants. A bit ex, but lucky my SIL volunteer to get some for me from shanghai, def cheaper.

an_gal,
the hydrotheraphy is $25 (15mins) and massage $20. if sign up package is 4+1 foc.

mommies,
I have this new unused safety 1st portable bed rail. box is avail but oredi opened cos I was kaypoh... BOught it due to misscomm with hubby, I bought and he bought .. duh! so since he bought two and we need two, we use the one that he bought...

here is the pic, I paid S$44 ish for this, can gimme an offer or exchange with fitty basic M80 x 2

1078115.jpg

A lovely book of nursery rhymes. Its one of those big, thick books filled with colourful pictures and nursery rhymes that we can read to our babies.
BP will close on Wednesday, 22 Nov 07, at 12 midnight. If you are interested, please indicate below:

1) Chattypheyling
2) Muddypie
3) Jete
4) Tulip
5) Melia (Jul Mummy)
6) Nining
7) settes
8) Jang
9) Alsie
10) Magical
11) pst

an_gal,
ya selling at $69.90. On Sat, there were 2 blues, 1 pink, 1 yellow. the stocks are all out. I bought the turqoise blue cos it's most uniformly coloured. i like blue but there are white spots and patches, thot it looks old to me.

woof, magical,
i guess it's better to wait till baby's neck is steady then try out the seat. wont say Doren's is 100% steady, maybe 70%.

with his fleshy thighs, i have to hold on to the seat when i carry him out cos if not, the seat is actually stuck to his butt!

i waste more milk... my mom unknowingly defrost new packet of 250-300ml of milk. baby only drink 30ml, rest all down the sink...

she didn't know i prepared fresh ones, so she juz pop a new packet to defrost.

aiyah, i really throw alot milk

sunbloom! nevermind! treat it as you throw away your fats! coz we express out all these fats, and you throw the fats away - so you're becoming slimmer (or have less fat at any rate)!!! hehehe that's how I console myself whenever such things happen...

Lilyn, must start to train baby take bottle from now till u work. U still got time. My son also refuses bottle. So tried everything, bo pian, have to use spoon.

Training
when not feeding - the caregivers give the baby pacifier to get him used to the teat.
Feeding caregivers use bottle and hold it there until he abt to cry, then use spoon. Can only give spoon in car seat cum rocker cos the head is tilted up and less likely to choke. Use a smaller spoon and pour it down at the side of mouth rather than direct cos baby still small need to get used to spoon.
Bottle teats buy the soft ones, pigeon persistent nipple or something like tt.

U must be mentally prepared, even now, baby will cry and drink, spoon sure have a lot of air, so must burp like mad.

Dunno other babies, I tried getting him to drink when hungry too stubborn, once he went on 8 hrs completely without milk. Rather starve than drink. Now Luke is on spoon and half bottle take spoon 80ml but bottle can only drink a max of 40ml. Not much but better than starving. He now v clever, when I tried to train him using bottle or spoon, he pull my shirt wanting breast. So when my mother feed him spoon have to hide away.

PD says shld have tried on bottle after 1st month. So now a bit late.

Ooo, need to share a piece of anger. I was carrying my baby and handbag, baby bag. I purposely leave my FIL at least 1 hand free to hold my older boy hand in carpark. When I saw 1 car moving slowly, I reminded him to look out for cars and hold his hand. Tol me loud No prob, I am here I turn my back to close the gate, I heard my FIL telling Shane, quickly go. In horror, the car almost knock my son now. Good thing is that he stopped immediately when I call out. Else I would have lost my son. Yes, the car is slow. But the boy is not even 3.

Best of all, tol my hubby to be careful with Shane when my FIL around, He can tell me off if anything happen it is all your fault, I will sure to blame u I was soo blind with rage that I stop all conversation and shut him off. If not , I sure to say nasty things and there goes my marriage.

Must complain, else this mountain on chest sure explore to volcano

morning all, i kenna masitis.really must take antibiotics ah? dun feel safe giving my son my bm when i am taking medicine though my doc said the medicine is safe for breastfeeding. can i pump more frequently, say 2hrly instead to clear the masitis?

bliss,
hee if got drop by town or kiddy palace with hubby, then will get the bumbo chair.. i like it cos can let bb sit inside while u feeding him semi solid real soon..

sunbloom, shocked about the FIL and hubby. the milk thru spoon, maybe you can get the medela soft-cup - something like a bottle into a spoon like thingy, might be less tedious for u guys to feed. Also, you shouldn't be the one training him, get someone else to do it. when he's in your arms, he only smell your milk and wants that direct.

garfield, yeah, the doctor will prescribe medicine which is safe for breastfeeding. You can try to pump more often to clear the mastitis. but actually, the best pump is still the baby, so they always advice to breastfeed latch on more often, as often as possible, so that baby can help clear it. And try to position the baby such that his chin is facing the hard/redden/painful part of your breast. So, for me, the painful part was the upper quardrant of the breast nearest the armpit. Lactation consultant got me to breastfeed baby, lying down, but baby face one direction, and me the other direction. so like "upside down" like that. coz supposedly baby clears the part of the breast best that is situated below his chin. hang in there!!!

pst.

good way of thinking abt pouring away milk.. the more milk we produce, the more calories burnt! i'm still thinking of what to do abt the frozen ebm in the freezer. read from july thread, got one mummy gave baby EBM bath..