(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

chatty,
ya lor...my hubby said use "di lam" oso the same thing mah....actually, now we do selective purchase lor..a lot of things are hand me down one like playpen & stroller...we din get a cot as bb sleep currently sleep wif us and we haf an extra queen size mattress in the bb room...the bb room doesnt look like a nusery rm at all!

so the high-chair, izzit worth buying?

Woof: Maybe I should

Woof: Highchair - dunno leh...Actually when I was pregnant, my hubby was the one thinking of getting the combi highchair. H/w, I wasn't keen coz the thought of sleeping, sitting and eating in the same place didn't appeal to me (imagine eating on bed - almost same thing), that's why we didn't consider it after that. Now I'm interested but he's not...anyway, its quite expensive for a chair that can't be used for that long.

chatty,
oh...if i show my hubby ur msg...he will sure agree wif u "anyway, its quite expensive for a chair that can't be used for that long."
and he would add on, how long each time bb is gng to sit...the most is sit and feed her when she grows older...

Woof: If you are using mattress in place of playmat, make sure that the mattress is the firm sort that the baby can't bury his face in. My mum told me that when my brother was a baby, she left him on the bed for a short while to go to wash her hands. When she came out, my brother was face down on the mattress and beginning to turn blue...the mattress was the soft foam type and my brother was just beginning to turn, but not strong enough to lift his head up...so you must be really careful. If you want a cheaper alternative to the playmat, then just get the ABC Alphabet Jigsaw foam mat, as it is very firm but still provides cushioning.

Woof: Your hubby is like mine - very practical. Hence, some discussions are not meant to be heard by the men in our lives, otherwise no need to get anything nice... : )

chatty,
ours is seahorse one lor....i like hard hard mattress so we like seahorse brand...
ya, mite get ABC foam mat lor....

Woof: Maybe if you really want highchair or bumper playmat but do not want to pay full price, do what Jete did. I saw a WTB post by her for a 2nd hand new high chair. Not sure if she got one through this method in the end, but there were a few responses to her thread. I also posted a WTB thread for a Ameda Backpack and got a response that very night. Quite a good buy.

chatty
some times the discount at the outlets can be very significant, like 40% off. the prices are already lower than the retail store then on top of that, the discount can be another 20-40% off. i'm not sure how the lady doing the spree can get the discount but coach retail store do not discount, whether it's beginning of the season or end of the season, that's what the shop sales told me. the only way to get coach bag at a discount (excluding outlets) is wait for a sale at dept store.

personally for that little diff in $ (ok $15 is still money but when you're talking about a $300 bag...) i will go with asking a friend. then you're 100% sure where the bag is coming from and there are no surprises. ;)

more posts to catch up, maybe later when paige zzzzz. today we came back late and she didn't get to nap in the evening so she's on the cranky side. fun!

Jete: Thanks. My thoughts exactly...US$15 is nothing much for a $300 bag, at least friends can be really trusted...Actually I told my friend to get me the bag only if its from factory outlet, otherwise I don't mind waiting till next year, coz by then it may be 2 seasons old and further discounted in the outlets. One of my friends got a very unusual small handbag from Coach factory outlet for US$20...after the sort of double discounts you just described...

Doddie,
its walkable from boon lay mrt or lakeside mrt , abt 15 min walk. but you can alight at lakeside mrt, then take bus 154, 180 or 187 , stop at the 2nd stop before fire station, cross the road and head to the bus stop opposite where u alight, gimme a call and i can send my maid down to open the rear gate for u

Woof,
yes he was playing with it to find out how the naration can match the pages.. he is a geek kekeke..

Leooh,
okie i note it..

chatty,
i hav been sleeping on seahorse brand a few yrs back.i rem the first pay when i start working full time, i bot the single mattress myself...when i pak tor wif my hubby, his first reaction is "wa, so hard?" but aft tat he like it a lot...the price is oso nt very steep...
re: high chair, bumper mat
tks for ur suggestion..actually i do always look thur the WTB and WTS thread to see any good buy..bot a bumbo seat from WTS thread recently at almost half the price...

Woof: One last thing before I Iog off for the night...everytime you buy furniture, you're pretty much stuck with it for life...unless you can bear to sell it away (most people can't, esp. when its something as sentimental as your baby's first chair or whatever). Furniture takes up space, and storage can be a problem. It becomes an encumbrance when you move to a new place...just my thoughts and experiences lor...

alsie,
so sorry to hear that.. hope he'll get through it soon! u hang in there too ok? must be very difficult physically n emotionally for you right now..

hi woof!
aiya what sweet voice i had already destroyed by my students already liao loh.. must be some bugger who saw my number somewhere lah..luckily my hubby sound fierce .. haha.. kena frightened off liao..

my hubby is usu ok if i buy anything for his precious son.. n anyway i dont even bother to ask him.. hee.. for the bumper mat i just placed order n paid deposit..then i told him. n the leappad is just called n reserved then just told him i'm going to collect 'something' from robinsons. haha.. he asked me what, n i said its a toy for baby, can learn lots of things. both he also just said 'ok'. but i didnt tell him the leappad is pink! hee..

RE. combi chair
if yor baby likes it then its worthwhile spending. if he doesnt like it then even spend 10 bucks also wasted.. jereth didnt like his combi high chair n its been vitrually untouched since we bought it.. only used it a few times.. he prefers his fisher price rocker n can sleep well in it during the day

jete:
sorry i took so long to get back to you.. wanted to let jereth try it out again this weekend before deciding if should sell it away, but i fell sick n couldnt take him home so havent tried it again yet..gotta wait til next week to try.. anyway read from chatty's post that u have a WTB thread, hope u can get one at a good price!

Woof: Hmmm...it never occurred to me to use my first pay to buy a mattress...a worthwhile investment though. Is seahorse the brand that customizes mattresses to suit any size bed, eg. baby cots etc.? I remember there was a discussion on one of the threads earlier this year.

when do i need to make payment for the milk bags?

Who should i PM for my details as I did PM and included in my real name..was it to Woof?

Chattypheyling, when do i need to collect the leappad and to put it under Sarah, please..

Chatty & Woof,
add my hubby to the bunch, with the exception of gadgets and dive gears, he is very practical :p

magical,
ya,tat's my concern too....anyway, will KIV tat lah...coz as wat chatty mentioned, i do agree wif her...

Gold..piggy,
itz me tat u nid to PM the details..anyway, u PM me liao

chatty,
izzit? we did discuss abt customise mattress? however, i tink they do but dunno for baby cot haf or not...can try asking them if u r interested...

chatty,

tks so much for calling me abt e blue leappad! really appreciate it!

re coach spree
i saw a kate spade diaper bag on tis website www.ilovebags.com.sg n thot of buying then stumbled upon coach bags.. seems like a good deal! mebbe if u guys keen can go in n kpo kpo!

jang
yeah, S is a bit big for her now. i should have checked with you before i put in the diapers cos i have fitti in M too.

chatty
not sure if you saw my earlier post. i got the slimming gels so your friend can collect any time. also learning from experience now that i've exchanged diapers with jang, would you like S or M or a mixture? i had put S in but can easily change it to M if that's what your lil one is wearing already. Paige just upgraded to S not so long ago so I keep assuming every baby is wearing S.

adeline
chatty found a good deal for us at robinsons so this two days we've been coordinating the purchase from robinsons.

nice meeting you on friday. we are really not very far from each other.

nining
i was thinking when i finally get my hands on the leap pad, hubby will be the one playing with it! haahaa

magical
maybe this will make you feel better. my fren has 2 cameras, one panny and one canon. her panny camera has problem so she brought it down to the service center for repair. drove herself there, got a q number and waited patiently. when it came to her turn, she went up to the service counter and gave the guy her camera. the guy took a look at the camera and told her "i'm sorry, i can't help you." my fren was so surprise and asked the guy "why? is it beyond repair?" the guy tried so hard not to laugh and told her "cos this is the canon service center." my fren was soooo malu.

leooh
angel wipes can be quite annoying. some times 3 will come out and then the "chain" breaks, so you have to stick your hand in to pull out the next one. not very convenient when you have a big poop situation on your hand.

haahaa, very long haven't had the durian pancake already. ;)

chatty
that coach baby bag is not big enough for me when i have to bring ebm out in the fridge to go, plus hot water to warm up the ebm. can you imagine the petshop bag i bought is even bigger? feel like i'm bringing my whole kitchen out when i bring ebm out.

i agree with you, everything i've bought is for baby. haven't bought anything for myself for a long time.

alsie
think the fever make him very tired, add on the med, he'll just want to sleep. hopefully come morning he'll feel better and the fever will go down.

woof
you're thinking of buying the combi chair is it? i posted a WTB a while ago cos i am looking for a preloved one to put at my mom's, but most of the replies i got was either super expensive (like $10 off the retail price, might as well buy new then!) or not combi brand at all.

ETA
ok, just saw your other post. i wanted to get the combi chair before baby was 1m old, but hubby wasn't keen. 4w later than he wanted to get it cos we were having problem having our meals when baby refused to sleep. with the combi chair we could have her at the same level as our chair and she can see us. the rocking also helps to keep her from fussy. a lot of time she'll fall asleep in it half way through our meals. we really like it, so much so that we are thinking of getting one for my parents' place.

chatty
combi high chair should be able to use for some time. can just put it upright and use as a normal high chair. the sleeping function may not be able to use as long once baby outgrow the length.

magical
no problem, i'm in no hurry. if you decide to sell then just let me know how much you're asking. my WTB was from quite a while ago, before i even bought the combi chair we have now, which we bought new.

chatty, thanks for reserving the leappad for me. I have collected mine!!!!

The funny thing is my hb didn't know it's so expensive until he rec'ed the receipt. He showed me the receipt and say wow so expensive huh. Then i told him, must be good stuff, it's selling like hotcake u know and thanks to chatty if she did not reserve for us you can even forget about buying this thing. All reserved for SMF Aug mummies liao... Finally, he say it's a good buy lah since got 20%+5% discount.
Because of the discount, he bought 2 other things for my bbgirl too!

RE: Spree
Hi mummies, pls be really careful when you are buying things from the forum. I always try to avoid branded goods and expensive customised items. I ever read abt complains about Polo brand & customised flashcard.

URGENT!!!

Goldpiggy: Please collect your leappad by today, Sunday, as the sale ends today. Its already reserved under Sarah since yesterday.

If anyone has Goldpiggy's hp number, can you help to alert her in case she does not log in today. Thanks.

Jete: Thanks! James is still wearing S (3 to 8 kg), which is the size I've given to my friend to pass to you. However if Fitti S is 3 - 7 kg, then it may be too small for him (though he's only 5.7kg now). Hence, M size may be more appropriate in that case. I've informed my friend already, and she'll be contacting you soon. However, on Fri she was down with flu, so I guess she's been resting at home.

Sinkor: Robinsons has storewide 20% discount, and it applies to the Little Touches Leappad too. If you are Robinsons Card member, you get an additional 5% discount on the balance amount. So call Robinsons toy dept (either Centrept or Raffles City) to reserve first to avoid disappointment. Sale ends today.

Jete: I'm not sure how large your coach diaper bag is, as pictures can be deceptive...the one I like looks much smaller in the picture than in real life. I think it can hold Pigeon FTG, one large tin of Enfalac, diapers, change of clothes, leap pad etc... guess it must be much larger than yours...right now I'm just using a large Bass backpack to hold everything...

Jete: Speaking of petshops, I saw petstation selling the lucky baby child safety gate yesterday! However, if you really want, buy from the dept stores during sale, still cheaper.

Jete: Yup! I like the Combi High Chair because of the height...a bit pricy though...

Woof / Jete: There's currently a Combi BP going on. Includes the high chair. Not sure how much cheaper though, as I've not done a price comparison.

Ivy: You're welcome : ). I agree with you about being cautious when buying branded goods over during sprees and BP...

Re: Bottle Insulator & Holder
Hi mummies, anyone know where to get this.

The reason why i'm getting this is because whenever we feed our baby in the aircon room, the milk will turn cold before she finishes eveything. So this insulator cum holder will help to keep the milk at the desired temperature for a longer time.

I tried to look for it at kiddypalace, robinson, mums&babe but i can't find it.

If you know where to get it pls let me know, it does not need to be exactly like the posted pics but must have the function. Thanks.

Otherwise, i might have to organise a BP on this.

1065965.jpg

PODEE Gimme-A-Hug BOTTLE INSULATOR & HOLDER
The Bottle Insulator by Podee is made of neoprene material that helps keep the baby bottle warm or cold longer during feeding. Fits 8-oz. baby bottles. This insulator has a built-in hookstrap to make it easy for parents to attach the Podee baby bottle to a stroller or car seat. Insulators come in red color with a soft, beautiful, and detachable small teddy bear.