(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

Tulip,

Okie, let me know which design u want, i shall order for u

chatty,
u definitely need a trolley bag!
i can't imagine how u manage with so many barang barang! esp since i know how heavy test kits are! i remember lugging just 2 kits around to another building which was just a 5 mins walk away (one IQ and another dementia one) when i was preggers and it was terrible trying to make sure i didn't drop anything!
u can tell ur hubby the bag allows u to work better..
and think of all the $ ur saving on formula! kekeke...another excuse to spend..

when i return to work i'm planning to pump in my cubi, but to block access/view to it with a dark cloth...or i'll use my BF shawl to cover whilst i pump...any mums doing that? figured its easier since my desk has connection points...

Angeline, Muddypie,

brought bb to see doc last night regarding his constipation n lesser bowel movement.
Doc said it's very normal and prescribed a strong syrup which will induce water production to soften the stools.

ask him whether it's due to the milk powder, he said not necessarily and to my surprise, he said no point giving him more water in-between feeds cos the amt bb drink wont be enough to make the stool soft. instead he recommended alternating normal feed and diluted (1/2 the amt of milk powder) feed so that he gets hungry faster and thus consume more fluid. can continue this until the constipation gets better.

that puts me at ease now.

by the way, he mentioned not to force bb to drink water cos nowadays bb are so smart that they like to associate things according to their likes n dislikes. they learn n pick up things very fast!

he also said bb associates with mummy by her touch n pitch of voice. they will know it when mummy is angry from the tone of voice.

gold piggy,
*sayang sayang*..its so tough when we dunno what bb wants and keep crying...it was like that for me for most of the first month of yiheng's life..NOT pleasant...is he on any routine at all? the EASY routine that was mentioned earlier helped me figure out what yiheng's needs are..i.e. i know if he's been up for 1 1/2 hours he needs to go to bed n that's why he's fussing and unhappy..i watch the clock like a hawk now cuz he doesn't tend to yawn when he's REALLY sleepy, and also cuz he escalates really quickly to screaming if he's overtired, so if i want to avoid that i have to make sure he's in bed for his nap on time....

put it this way, at this age their cries generally mean one of a few things: i'm hungry/i'm tired/i want a change of scene/I'm gassy..
i found that thinking like this helped me, cuz i saw crying as a form of communication, and not of how i was a bad mum for "making" my bb cry..

Hi chattypheyling

my baby cries so angrily, did try applying the RUYI ointment for him but he still cries. I hope that was only yesterday and it won't happen again..

angeline,
where do u take ur bb for haircut? i'm thinking of letting yiheng shave botak, but i'm afraid i'll nick him if i DIY!

lilyn

i can't really understand the EASY concept cos now bb is with my MIL from 7am till about 7pm and i find it hard to monitor baby cos u know old ppl, u ask too much then they will say we lor soh and last time they raise kids also like that...blah and blah..

but when at home, i put him to bed around the same time...

in short, how do i really follow the EASY programme and is there a book which i can buy to read up on?

could he be crying cos he don't want to sleep so early? cos when his father brought him to the tv, he was so alert...brought him to the room and he cried

i know this discussion was held before, but i just wanna bring up the issue of cradle cap again..yiheng's doesn't seem to go away! i put olive oil and leave it for about 2 hours (rub it in on all areas that has the cap, massage with a brush/little hanky), then i wash it off with baby shampoo (just bought cetaphil, tried it for 1st time yesterday)..
its fine for the day, then the next day or 2 it comes back! n his poor lil scalp is reddened too..dunno if its cuz of mummy's brushing and agitating the skin there further....?? anyone has any pointers tt can help?

lilyn

Buy the Dentinox cradle cap shampoo for Yiheng - i bought for my son and after 2 washes, its gone

Don't hesitate - go buy it

I tried olive oil for 1 week and it didn't work so i went to buy dentinox cradle cap shampoo from guardian - $10.45

yiheng slept thru most of the nite yesterday..YAY!went to sleep on his won (no pacifier) at 8.30, and all the way till 4.30! tho he only took 1 oz during his 1030 dreamfeed..didn't wake up for his 2am feed..i'm a happy happy mummy! (been just giving him pacifier last 2 nites when he's woken up for the 2am feed)...fingers crossed that he will persist like this or stretch his 4.30 feed to 5/6am!

Why babies don't drink water nowadays? Mine also leh and my MIL said its because from day 1, i didn't let him drink so as he get older, he won't drink
haiz..

lilyn,
I use the mustella shampoo foam, it says its for removing dried scalps due to craddle cap.. now Ike is much better..

Bliss,

Huh, im surprised too! Always tot that if give them more water den the wont be heaty, thus stool will be soften! Aiyo, wrong concept sia!

Lilyn,

I brought Javier to my fren sil's shop in AMK.
She a mum of 2, so i very "fang xin" to let help Javier shave his hair

She's a thai but can speak chinese & english. Her shop located at Blk 347, called Shortcut.
I have been with her for many yrs already, going for my rebond end of the yr

gold piggy,
i got the concept fr the baby whisperer book, by tracy hogg..but it really emphasises consistency in there, and if ur MIL can't (or won't) follow it, its pretty hard for u to implement it too cuz its confusing for bb..

It's possible that he wants more activity,.,..but how long would he have been up by then..?? looking alert may not mean the bb is not sleepy..i found tt out the hard way cuz my boy is such a bright eyed lil thing, but then when i pat him for a bit, he's out and in ZZZzzzzz land in less than 5 mins!! the book recommends that for 3 month old, baby should probably be up (including eating time) for about 1 1/2 to 2 hours max..then down for nap/bedtime..i find that with yiheng, evening wise he'll be up for about 2 hours between 6.30 to 8.30, and i feed him twice during this time so he's nice n full b4 bed time..i swaddle him n put him in his cot by 8.15, switch off the lights and he's usually asleep by 8.30/8.45...i try not to overstimulate him once it's about 8 (no music, mobile or tv)

getting to this point was a lot of work tho..had to train him to sleep..

gold piggy
he may be crying angrily cuz he's overtired...in the book they say that the crying really loudly is a way to block out all external stimulation cuz its getting too much...
try the pat-shush method...i have an interview fr the author of the booked on soft copy..pm me for the file, i'll email to u? its too big to be uploaded here

normally he sleeps by 9pm but yesterday, he really dislike going to bed and always want to go watch tv...

will need to slowly talk to MIL after i read the book. thanks.

Remember buy dentinox cradle cap shampoo

Gold Piggy,

Not true lah, i start giving my son water while in hospital & he drank. But recently dunno y, he starts to reject water liao! Maybe that time, he cant tell the difference, so gong gong drink, now getting older liao, able to tell that plain water is tasteless one

Ya lor, my son likes to watch TV too! How come ah?? So young know how to watch meh??
Any mummies having the same problem too?? Normal anot har??? Can let them watch anot?

Wa from the posts realise my bb sleep so much later than the other bbs. maybe due to our sleeping habits also. hehe...

since 1 mth plus, bb has been sleeping between 11.30pm to 12am, wake up at abt 7am for a feed, then continue to sleep until 10am. sometimes he can even sleep all the way to 9am without any milk.

Angeline, they say its better not to let them watch tv till they are 2 years old. And they say like to watch tv cos of the colors and sounds though they can't see clearly.

My husband will say this is what i make him out to be cos when i am pregnant, all i do is watch tv after work..haha

Are you like me too?

Bliss, your baby really can sleep - mine is like me, hardly sleep, aiyo!

seems like mine also a late sleeper.. but not very consistent ley.. maybe coz we as parents also not consistent. if his last feed at 7 then he'll feel sleepy at around 8 plus, take a short nap then wake again at 10 for milk. then pat pat to sleep and he'll last til 3 plus or 4 am.. but if last feed at 9 plus he'll knock out and abt 3 am for next milk milk session.

usually hubby reaches home after work at 7 plus. if jereth sleeps at 8 plus then he wont be able to play with baby at all. n anyway we usually head out for dinner at around 8 plus. while we eat jereth will get bored and drift off to sleep in his stroller. lucky for us!

he also likes to watch tv eh.. i',m so afriad he'll end up with ADHD.. *hope not!* maybe the flickering light captures their attention. can watch until like that loh

1059709.jpg

n yday he became baby superman

1059710.jpg

Bliss,

Wah, ur bb superb leh! Mine cannot one, very siao on one, wake up on time for his midnite feeds ah!!
Sometimes he will sleep ard 9plus but these few days, he slept at 12midnite ah! Then next day he will wake up ard 9am. If i bring him home or stay overnite at my parents hse, he will wake up super early at 7plus am!! Always bully me, never let me wake up later!

gold piggy,
ya loh.. as if they understand and are following the story.. when i wave my hand in front of him he wont even budge..
dunno good anot ley.. but my friend says in this digital age, its almost impossible to keep such influences out of their lives..

i'm intersted to buy the leapfrog catridges n the books. if anyone of u mummies are organising the sprees, count me in too.

Gold Piggy,

No leh, i dun watch alot of TV, im always busy with housework rather than watching TV. During my pregnancy period, i oso continue to do housework till i give birth, not muct TV for my case. Maybe my son follow my hubby as he likes to watch TV & play games!!

Magical,

Wat is ADHD?

hi alsie!
yeah has been like that since birth. we didnt shave it for him, just took the tips of it off a little during his 2nd month coz was getting too long. think now gotta cut again ..his sideburns also very long loh..

hi angeline!
ADHD is short for Attention Deficit Hyperactive Disorder. Children who suffer from this are hyperactive, restless, find it difficult to concentrate and focus on a task. When they grow older, they'll face difficulties in their studies and may develop behavoural problems. more children from this generation is getting this problem coz of our advanced technology, tv, computers, handheld games...etc..

so i think its difficult to keep the tv away in this age so must make sure to supplement them with other enriching activities as well.

Nining: Yes, youre right, its Motherworks at Great World Cityas for Mothercare, only need to spend $150 to get their discount card, coz they gave me one when I bought my Ameda pump at $280.

Lilyn: Yup! 3 test kits nearly broke my back, esp since they were 2 IQ tests and 1 memory batterynever mind the rest of the paraphernalia thats required on top of these stuff

As for cradle cap, you need to use the new cleanser for a few days first to see if it worksAre you putting moisturizer on his scalp? I put it on my babys scalp, as it seems to help his dandruff. If you are, you may wish to change it (I use the Cetaphil moisturizer). If all else fails, then it might be an allergic reaction to his feed, so if hes on FM, you may want to change your FM. Do note that it may take up to a week to see any effect, esp if its a food allergy.

Gd to know that Yiheng is sleeping through the night at last : ) Im sure itll stretch longer over time. Mine is 13.5 weeks now and sleeping min 8 hours through the night

Gold_Piggy: Yes, its really tough to cope with angry babymine throws a royal tantrum at least once a day, but he usually calms down when I pat him (as in burping while in sitting position), or if I stand up and rock himeven after his problem is resolved, he will still do his grumble cry for a little while just to make sure we register his complaintmy hubby calls him the complain king. Its possible that yours simply isnt ready for bed when he cries at nightI think at this stage, they spend a bit more time awake and want to be stimulated

Re: Drinking water apparently its not advisable coz when babies drink water, they dont have space to drink milk, which is their main source of nutrition. Milk is supposed to provide babieswith enough water for their needs.

Gold piggy, Angeline,
maybe becos bb only takes several short naps during the day and at night he really rest and has deep sleep. as long as he's in air-con room, he can sleep quite well.

but during the day if he sleeps little or becomes very tired, he can be so grouchy that he refuses his milk!

I don't mind organising the leapfrog spree as I want to get some stuff for my baby in advance...just not sure how to divide VPost cost...I suppose it about splitting the fixed fee, and then weighing each item and prorating the fee for weight, right?

hi angeline!
yeah we have lots of such students here and they are more difficult to handle.. but i think its also coupled with bad parenting skills. If we're consistent and provide a stimulating and enriching environment, will still be good for them.

sigh.. how come jereth doesnt sleep through the night yet? he's already slightly more than 3 months!!

Angeline,

Sad to say horrh, my elder boy has this ADHD. He is now 3.5yrs old and super hyper lor...thn attention spend is very short. Thn never listen wht we told him, usually he do the opposite way...i always teach till I wnt to vomit blood ahh..

Goldenpiggy, cannot give bb water ah? I have started giving jerome to drink 10ml daily leh..I think I better stop giving

Magical
my bb also cannot sleep thru the night, and he is already 3months 7days old. In the day, he still drinks 100ml 2hrly, is this too much?

Bliss,

My son nowadays dun really take naps liao, the most sleep for 15mins den will wake up!
Wonder how he can stay energetic for the whole day leh??!!

Magical,

Har, this is bad leh!
Ya, must really provide stimulating & enriching environement for them!

Aiya, mine too lah! Till now my mum nor i never ever sleep thru the nite one, always hv to wake up to feed him! Hopefully after 6mths, things will be better ya!

Gold Piggy,
if ur bb is drinking water without any force, i personally feel that it is good and should be continued lor.

mine will just suckle a while and refuse to take more water unless i accidentally added too much glucose into his water (sometimes lah!), then he'll finish every single drop. haha! most bbs have sweet-tooth

I have a new set of Ameda Hygiene kit for sale without the tubings. Let me know if anyone is interested. The set come with 2 funnels,2 bellows, 2 funnel caps, 2 valves, 2 4oz bottles and bottles cap & disc. Selling at $85. And also a new set of Flexishield selling at $25. See attach pics...
1059933.jpg
1059934.jpg

Angeline,
mine too.
sometimes when bb starts to sleep, i was so happy cos can do my chores or rest, who knows he'll wake up like 15 mins later!

I'm trying to create a leapfrog account, but need the company's help to include Singapore billing address for my credit card. I've written to leapfrog...will let all of you know of the outcome.