(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

Re: transfer of ebm from fridge to freezer

i read from somewhere tat it is recommended to cool the milk first before transferring to the freezer. that is why i always cool my milk in the fridge before i transfer to the freezer.
general thing to note for all mummies is tat: always give bb the freshest ebm. Hence, I will only freeze excess milk that is already >4days old so that my bb will drink the next freshest stock. for example: today is 28th oct. i have 4 packs of 24th oct ebm and i pumped out 4 packs of 28th oct ebm. i will freeze the 24th oct & not 28th oct. cos will give 28th oct to my gal to drink cos it is the freshest mah. nutrients will be lost if freeze the milk, so i freeze only the olderst milk so as to minimize wastage. not sure if u all understand the logic. i find it a waste to freeze current date's yield when u have old stock in the fridge. hope u all understand wat i am trying to say.

Re: Using scotch tape to tape Avent milk bag

I will fold down the opening of the Avent milk bag several times (abt 4-5x) leaving some space for expansion for freezing, then fold in both the right and left hand corners of the foldings inward and use scotch tape to tape round the folded area. Then will freeze with the bag lying flat.

Re; Engorgement

To be honest, I dun suffer from engorgement except for the day when i was discharged from TMC. That day was when my milk started to come in. Afterwhich, I dun suffer from engorgement. Initially, thought that my milk ss is low that is why no engorgement but later i realise not all mummies will experience engorgement. another theory tat i learn is that engorgement does not equal to high ss. In fact, for mummies who used to breastfeed their elder children, they tend not to suffer from engorgement as their breasts are used to the vol of milk in the breasts. i think that is why i dun suffer from engorgement unless i dun pump for at least 6 hrs which is seldom cos my pumping interval is 4hrs now. If i go out, the max is 5hrs interval.

Actually wanted to ask abt the S thing,but abit paiseh.. since we are openly discussing it now..

I was actually quite scared of the "first" time after delivery. It really felt dry and painful. I think the pain was even more because i felt very tense. But i think, once you get through the first time, it should be back to normal. One problem, its not as "tight" as before due to the 4kg baby, need to do more pelvic exercise.

since we on teh S thing..goodness it was so painful..i do realise i am very dry...and i am c section. i cant imagine those with natural birth..must be very painful

hi jang,
if u ok, then i opt for postage, if i am the only one who take postage, think might be quite troublesome for u to go post office to do it...then i go city hall take fr u la. if postage, let me know the cost and i go do transfer for u. thx

jete,
haha, i m jus trying to get some attention

as for the baby bjorn, where did u get it n how much did u pay for it?

chatty,
i know the function of the discovery circle is the same as playgym but den i was attracted to it coz it can be use for both sides and they are really colourful...afraid tat i buy liao, my girl dun like it and i haf to use it myself? hehe

jang,
i felt tat way too..easier to use carrier than sling...where did u get it n how much did u pay for it? if i rem correctly, itz at mothercare rite?

pst,
the problem is tat my hubby dun wan yr end babies..duno hw to solve the problem..

xman,
my hubby no double eyelids leh whereas i haf...hope tat her double eyelids will unhide themselves as she grows older...

chatty,
my BIL and his wife have double eyelids and out of 3 kids, the last boy does not haf double eyelids which looks like my hubby..haha

jang,
so expensive har...i din sign up for FBI leh...can i haf more details like can use up to how many kgs etc...

my girl sleeping routine is really different every few days. Like last two days, she has been super sleepy....and sleep from morning to late evening.....only wakes up for milk, and a very brief wake time (bath, less than half hr wake time).....did anyone of you experience that?

jang,
how abt the price? btw, muz get the card from u or juz ur particular den can get the entitlement..

woof,

forgot abt the actual price.. approx $100.

not sure if can get discount using my particulars.. u can try..

i going to entertain the naughty boy.. tomorrow den logon le

hi just checking how long your baby sleeps in the day? My girl changes every few days. Last few days she super sleepy. Slept from morning till late evening...only wakes to drink milk and brief moments of wake time (bathing, half an hr of awakeness)

garfield,
my Ike also has the same hat as yours!! a colleague gave it during 1st month as new set of clothes..

Finally finish reading and abt to post... n my gal crying... Urghh..

O, btw, our gel is here. Anyone wanna collect on Tue at Raffles place at 6:30pm?

If not i collect all and arrange for another collection.

leooh,
show off!! hahahahahaahahah.... I can understand how u feel tho, I feel like shopping myself, making excuses that my wallet is old, my bag is scrumpy etc etc :D

Woof:

I thought you liked the Discovery Circle because it has a rim. If youre talking about double sided Playgym, I think one or two of the ones I have are like thatI havent opened them yetstill trying to decide what to do with them. Everyone tells me to recycle them as gifts

Asf: My baby tends to be super drowsy like yours when he hasnt pooed for more than 1 day. No idea if drowsiness is connected to pooing or whether its just a coincidence. My aunt says that sleeping is good cause it means baby will grow faster. The book by KKH also says the same thing. So maybe the bouts of sleepiness is just part of the growing process.

Leooh: Very nice bag. Even nicer baby : )

Garfield: So nice to see such a cheerful baby : ) !

Nining: I think giving the Disney Clothes sets for 1st month must be very popular coz Ive got 2 sets of this.

Ocean: Thanks! Will need your help to collect geldid Jete order too? If so, can pass mine to her, as I still need to collect other stuff from her. If not, then can I trouble you to post to me please? Ill transfer postage cost to you. Thanks.

Jete: Hope you dont mine me tompaning the gel collectionbut only if you're getting it too. If its too troublesome for you, its okay.

Nining: Ike is soooo cute in his sleeping bag! Cant wait to get my dreambag : )

nining,
i ever took up to 6 capsule of fenugreek a day but oso no effect

cola,
my hubby opp, he don like to go out now, he say veri troublesome but sometimes we still go nearby lah, if not i m so bored. mayb u can get hubby 2 help take care of bb n some housewok then u wont b so tired..

lena,
oledi remove the mittens and bootees during day time long long ago, u mus cut bb nails in case they scratch themself

xman,
finally saw ur bb foto, she veri cute! poor u, gota wake up so many times at nite. try to feed bb fuller during day time so nite time they can sleep longer..

leooh & garfield,
is it ddifficult to shave off the babies' head? I wanna do cos I see Ike's hair is not gonna grow without shaving.. but scared I'll hurt his delicate skin..

enci and garfield's babe are so adorable too!!

Chatty,
this is the cheap sleeping bag I got from john little, from lucky baby.. only < $20/pce kekeke

An_gal,
I took 3 caps x 3 times a day previously and supply increased only when I have enough food to go with the caps hahaha so I suspect it was also the food, not just the caps.. THe tea and the fenugreek seed gives better result for me..

nining
hi the pillow ike is using - does it help with enabling bb's head to be evening round? i ask bec my baby's head is slightly flatter on one side bec she has a preferred side she slps on so i m now flustered as to wat to do to make her head round again. (PD said sarong cannot)

Nining: not sure if it is difficult to shave bb's hair a not cos i never try to shave it on my own. My bb's hair haven't shave yet but will ask someone to shave it for me when bb is 4 mths old

chatty
you had me curious about my own math and i went to look at my spreadsheet. paige is drinking about 18-24oz a day. i'm pumping about 22-24oz so some days i can top her need and if she takes 1 feed of FM (if we're out), then I will have enough to freeze every few days.

if my pumping is ard the same time as her feed, then i will pump before her feed and immediately feed it to her. save me the trouble of heating up the ebm while she screams! if not she's taking whatever i pump out earlier in the day.

I didn't pay attention to the drowsy part, but i know she's more willing to talk and play after she finally pooped! if not she's very frustrated and will be super cranky.

pst/chatty
my hubby would love to try now. he mentioned it a few times already. he said we can be 2 under 1, when people are crying about 2 under 2. crazy! i'm not even sure if i want to brave a #2. if we do brave it, we'll have to act fast cos we're not getting any younger.

rainy
no problem, i collect for you from jang. will arrange with you later, you can come by and collect it any time i'm home.

xman
i dont think mums and babes sell Duo but if you decide to buy PIS instead, they do give 10% for FBI card.

Another place that sells the duo is isetan. if the pump is on sale, you can still use isetan card to get 10% off the sale price. my friend bought the duo during the sale (+ 10% from her isetan card) and it was a good deal.

my ob is ok if we want to try vbac for #2. she said wait 6 months can try but pref 1 year. she did recommend elective C though cos she thinks i will have the same problem delivery #2 as i did for #1. so to avoid a 20+ hour labor, she recommends scheduled C but we're welcome to try natural if we want.

woof
i got it at FFY at paragon. paid $150+, it was on sale, think the sale is the permanent kind. :p the same model, mothercare sells $180.

jang
the baby bjorn so cheap at mothercare meh? i paid much more at FFY but i saw it at mothercare and it wasnt that cheap leh, it was still $180 at mothercare.

ocean
raffles place is a bit difficult for me, can you pick up for me first then i'll arrange to pick up from you? or if not i'll trouble you to mail it to me, i'll transfer postage to you.

nining
i saw the sleep bag at JL. good price. didn't end up buying cos it's a bit too thin for our air con room. lke looks adorable in it! he looks very comfy on the boppy too, need to try putting paige on it and see if she'll like it.

chatty
i cant make it to raffles pl but will see if can meet ocean somewhere else. can see when/where, no problem collecting for you if can make it before i pass the bag to you/your fren.

Leooh. nice bag!!

Nining, told my sis abt the lobang, she kept pestering me to get the catelog for her! if she buys, i sure will follow suit! woahahahaa charge to hb's card? hm......

me finally back to my hm, hb came bk liaoz. Have been bulking at mum's plc for the weekend. home sweet home.

ng,
I remember u told me not to send to u even if I see u dying kekeekek...do u want to gimme ur sis' email instead? Meita doesnt accept credit card..

Jete,
Ike is an aircon baby, so he still ok with his sleeveless rompers if I let him kekeke.. so this thin fabric is good enough for him.. But yes I tthink the quality is at the low end..

Banquez suez,
this is a nursing pillow from mothercare. I think what you need is a neck/head U pillow which does nott allow baby;s head to move to one side and keep it straight.. BUt actually u dont need to worry.. my sis' boy also had weird shape head cos he likes to be on one side only when nursing or sleeping, but now that he doesnt nurse and now he sleeps on his tummy, the shape has changed to normal..

xman
Re:#2
I checked with my gynae before and was told that i can try natural for #2. I remember he told me and hubby to wait for 6 months if we want to have another 1. Recently when I went for my papsmear, I asked him what if I happen to get pregnant again before the 6 months, he said as long as is more than 3 months it should be all right.

cola
My hubby is opposite. Each time when I asked him to go out with me, he would give reason like this/that place is very crowded lah or he is very tired lah.... yesterday we brought bb to vivo city for only 2 hrs and he start to 'complain' again. I'm not so lucky cos I don't have a MIL to look after bb for me and I also don't have any family members who can help me look after bb so each time when we want to go out, we have to bring bb along. No time for er ren shi jie. Want to catch a movie also very difficult

So many posting, hard to catch up man!

Woof,

How's ur daughter? Is she drinking more now?

Mic,

Yup, our babies shared the same birthday! Today they are 3 months old!

Last friday bought Javier for his 2nd 6in1 jab.
His weight is 6.7kg, height is 64.8cm