(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

choco,
i spoke to a lactation consultant about ur prob..what she recommended is that u pump only 5 mins on one side every 3 hours, and then latch on baby on the other side..don't pump anymore than that, cuz otherwise ur brain is receiving the signal that u need to produce more milk so the engorgement cycle keeps continuing (bb should be satisfied with only 1 side since u have so much)..if u only pump 5 mins, let bb latch on the rest, then ur body will slowly stop producing so much..it takes a few days...can also try to use cool ice packs to relieve the pain on the boobs...GOOD LUCK!

alsie,
sorry to hear about ur prob w unhelpful hubby.....sigh, looks like u need to make ur hubby wake up his idea a bit n remind him its his kiddo too!..its tough being a mummy!sometimes i think we cannot act as if we can cope with everything..act a bit more needy and overwhelmed hubby will be a bit more zi dong also...

leooh,
yiheng has same prob..will sometimes drop out paci halfway thru then get very iritated and fussy..but depends..i think if he's very tired it drops out more easily, but then he'll need me to pop it back in for him..i only give it back if he's fussing tho..otherwise i just leave it

nining,
i think u just helped all us deprived mums with the shopping option! shopping=retail therapy..good therapy! hehehe...why do u think the BPs here are so active??!!
i just bought 2 bags fr BP even tho i'm in KL! can't seem to find things i like here, and its even tougher shopping when i want to bring the lil one out cuz he doesn't sleep for long in his stroller..sleeps much better in the sling but i end up having a super sore shoulder if i sling him..leave him at home with my mum also have to rush back after 3 hours otherwise boobs get so painful!

took yiheng out for seafood dinner with all my family last nite..kept rushing thru my food and just inhaling things down cuz worried that he'd wake for his feed and my fingers would be all dirty and smelly from the crabs and prawns i was eating! couldn't really savour my meal..jeez..welcome to mummy-hood!

chatty,
omigosh, how nasty of ur SIL! can't imagine what that'd be like...so picky of her! lil thing like that also much complain complain...wah seh!

The posts are getting real fast and its so hard to actually follow through.

Shall we all arrange for a playgroup since our babies are almost the same months? Mine born in August

mic; it might be cradle cap. u can use olive oil (not those cooking type but is the type for hair use) and spread it on your bb head abt 10mins before bathing. then wash away the oil during bathing and use fine comb to brush ur bb head. it will take some time for the crade cap to heal.

hi nining!
got it! thanks!
so tempted to get 3-4 items.. hee.. but cannot la..
will get back to you on your mobile no. given in the email when have decided on what i want!

hi garfield, do i need to use baby shampoo to wash off the oil on bb's head or just use water only after 10mins? Can i use baby oil?

not sure if can use bb oil. usually pple use olive oil, it is good for the hair too. i think the normal bb bath wash can liao, dun need to use bb shampoo to wash off.

leooh,
hee for melcolm, if he spit out the pacifier a few times means he reject it and he will start 2 suck his fingers..

chatty,
welcome back.. u can continue ur chat here.. i tink all mummies here are forum freaks liaoz hehe

mic,
u can use bb oil too for the cradle cap... i chk with GP b4 and he was the 1 who said that..

hi all out there, i'm new in this forum. gave birth 3.4kg baby boy on eve of national day. actually i have few questions to ask anyone here about baby;

1. how much formula milk do 9 weeks baby takes?
2. my baby shown sign of teething. is it possible at this age?
3. i having difficulty to burp my baby eventough after 10-15 min tapping his back. he do spit and vomit his milk after 1 hr of feeding. what must i do?

i really appreciate your time to answer my questions and thanks

chatty
this is the bag i bought.

1036958.jpg

1036959.jpg

1036960.jpg

the supershield and power plug do not fit in it. when i bring the pump out, i try to bring the bare min, too lazy to bring the supershield and usually running on battery, so this bag works to fit in whatever i need to bring with me to pump out of the house.

today is not my day. been having eye infection for 4-5 weeks, just on and off. saw GP already but no improvement. this morning finally drag my tush to see a specialist. must put drops for 2 more weeks then go back for followup.

come home baby pee a big pee and wet herself and her cot. clean her up, feed her. when she finished feeding, she pee and poop, both big volume some more, so big that the diaper couldn't hold it that quickly. pee and poop all over her, me, and our bed. bathe her, handwashed all the clothes, bathe me, and wash the bed sheet. oh what fun!

Gold Piggy & Magical,
you can contact Meita by email directly once you're ready, and cc to me or sms so I can help to chase her for you.. lately she's been resting cos back feels too tired, same like what we had last time kekeke.. Meita and Sonya and the sellers, me just opening lobang for mommies :D not advertising kekeke..

nining
i thought usually airline do not charge for lap baby? so SQ charge more than 50% for baby? is that inclusive of the bassinet?

sunbloom
"breast lopsided
Ooo rats! My baby prefers my right side breast die"

the way you wrote abt it is so funny. haahaa

RE bumbo seat price
kiddy palace, taka, robinsons all seem to be selling the bumbo seat at $69.90. cant remember but i think isetan and tangs too.

and if you have the store card, you can get further discount.

Jete,
yep bassinet is a request item though.. So gotta make sure you request bassinet plus bulk head seats..

that's what I thot, United and Lufthansa do not charge for lap baby, and those airlines have the online booking for lap baby.. SQ doesnt.. so I didnt know just booked for the adults first then called to book for the infant.. turned out it's chargeable. Babies under 4 months cannot have own seat since they cannot be seatd in the car seat, so Ike will be either in bassinet or my lap..

lilyn
thanks for the vet recommendation. we do need to find our fur babies a vet in sg. if it's a good vet, we dont mind traveling. can you post or pm me the vet's address and phone.

bundle of joy,
welcome..

woof,
normaly i clean the web between the fingers while bathing her. i simply try to open her fingers in the water & rub lightly. It works better than trying to clean them with cotton bud.

mesh,
yap.. confirm ur transfer. sorry, think i missed out replying u.

nining
re gucci... will there be new designs later on? hubby got call for 2nd round of interview today, maybe bag really got hope. haahaa

an_gal
i didn't do it on purpose leh. then i was so young, still dating must have some face. so insulted when he thought i didn't iron the shirt which i already ironed! but i must say it worked out quite well in the end. :p

Chloe went for her 6-in-1 & rotavirus today, cost me $205 only.. heng, cos i'm expecting to spend around $300+.

she must be a talkative gal next time cos she tried to "tackle" the male doc with her "er er ah ah.. ah goo".. hehee.. at 3mths, she's weighing 6kg at 63cm, double from her birth weight.. she was realy cranky around 7+, gave her some medicine & she KO till now w/o milk since 5.. now on standby for her to wake up anytime for milk.

settes
after so long i am still pump 2-3oz per pumping session. tried all the "help" food and drinks, still the same. sushi helps a bit, but cannot afford to eat every day!

jang
can you let me know how many boxes you order in total and how much was the shipping charged by vpost. trying to estimate shipping by vpost for a friend who is thinking of ordering from drugstore. i have the milk bags so i was thinking of weighing them to get an estimated weight and figure out the rough shipping for her according to weight. thanks!

alsie
like jerome, paige was cranky on tuesday. from 4/5pm until 1am in the morning. i was so frustrated and so tired.

sorry hubby wasn't helping you. *hugs* sound like you need to have a good talk with hubby about his role in bringing up the baby and helping out. you need breaks too from taking care of him.

pst/jang
my baby is like that too. she doesn't mind when the diaper is full of poop. so gross. my bro teased and said warm warm one, she likes. yikes!

but pee she wont stand for. once pee must change. if i dont change, she'll cry until she's screaming.

choco
similar to what adeline said, i used one of those gel pack thingy that you can put in freezer or heat up in microwave. i heat it up in the microwave and use that on the breasts during pumping to clear the clogged ducts.

nining
that's what i'm doing too. usually pumping at 3 hr interval but 6 hr when i sleep through the night. i'm not latching on though. how many times a day do you end up pumping? my ss is going up bit by bit each week but not by much. i'm thankful it's at least going upwards.

nining
JL sale starts tomorrow. my fren emailed me the leaflet she received. was there sale today??

what sleeping bag is it you're referring to? i'm going to JL tomorrow, wants to check it out. i only saw swaddles last time i was at JL, didn't know they have sleeping bags too.

jang
i saw swaddleme and other brands at robinsons and isetan. cant remember if taka and tangs have it, i want to say yes but cant be sure.

adeline
i paid $45 for my fridge to go (the model that can hold 6 cans), normal price is $49.90. they have their own showroom in toa payoh, you can go there and buy too. if you go back a couple of days, chatty and i were talking about the fridge to go and the pigeon fridge to go.