(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

jang

the large size for swaddleme is really very big,can wear til quite big size.enci is still using the small size now cos L is too big for her.so no need to worry abt that.enci is sumo number..4?(behind adeline's,ur's and bliss's..haha)

ng,

somemore i dun hv a schedule to pump ..i just pump as and when i like. oh no i am gng back in 2 weeks time..but i reluctant to give Fm le. how???

mummies using pacifiers:

can ur baby hold the pacifier in place and won't drop out?i used one last night cos she cried badly from 9pm til 1am(terrible terrible night!)she sucked for 40min then finally went to sleep.but the pacifier always drop out and i had to stay beside the cot for 40 min and keep putting it back.is this normal?

yao lan;

is it effective?MIL said she's going to use one once i went back to work.she even said she's going to put it in her room if i'm afraid of yao-ing it at night.i was so angry!

just went gynae yesterday for pap smear, and since they had a digital weighing scale there, we weighed isaac. he's 12 weeks by the end of this week, and he weighed 6.7kg yesterday! woah! more than double his birth weight liaoz! amazing things aren't they!?

ng,
ya, today his 1st visit so consultation is $45.. total bill is $70+ but he had 4 medicine and did urine test so i tink the price is quite reasonable..

Choco,

U try the hot water in milk bottles, it works better...initially I was like U, use hot towel, a while nt hot liao..cos we pump need ard 15-20mins mah..the bottles is gd lor...u apply on the lumps area...the milk will clear de...I ganna that during my 1st mth, my room mate in TMC tought me to use water bottle, its better lor. The consultant teach me use cabbage after each pump, some people say cant put too long cos milk will dry up. For me I put all the way until nxt pumping session leh...after a few days, my breast ok liao thn I nvr use...can U imagine, my hubby bought 4 big cabbage to stock up for me, the big is really big one lor! I laugh non-stop whn I see him bring home. I ask him the NTUC lady never ask U buy so many cabbage for wht ah? So funny lor! I use for 2wks still not use up ah. End up the rest go into the dustbin cos dry liao.

Magical,

sent

Jete,
I think I accidentally keeping the pandora box open!!!!
I usually pump 3 hourly, except after midnight to morning, I do 1 pumping at 6 hours interval, which will give me result twice as the 3 hr interval. been doing this for the past month and it's stabil.. I guess it's ok for me? I latch 2x a day..

leooh,
if ur bb keep spitting out the pacifier means she don 1 it anymore.. usually wen melcolm do tat i will stop with the pacifier

I have been reading all ur postings since i was pregnant. I delivered on the 16th of Aug to a baby boy.Now taking care of my boy on my own as i am a housewife.

nining

got my bag--in the end i bought the brown britt haha.(it was the only bright spot in my miserable hubby not here-baby resists sleep days...;-)

jete

i blame u for starting this(hahaha,just joking!)

an_gal

she didn't spit it out,just that she's sucking it like sucking the bottle and it dropped out during the process..and she whines foe me to put it back so its obvious she wants it.

maybe its a different set of skills for bottle and pacifier?aiyoh baby has so many skills to learn!

Thanks Adeline,

I wanted to join this forum long time back, but was too tired and jus spent my time reading and picking up tips. How is motherhood?

adeline

when i was doing confinment my MIL also went to buy cabbage for me,and when she said she wants a big one the stall uncle asked if its because she's buying for someone BF.haha

leooh,
hahah shopping usually makes me feel good too.. I just came back from orchard with Ike and I brought the maid to help me out.. Waaa ended up spending so much at john little only..

I saw the sleeping bag in thin knit fabric from lucky baby in john little I think it's less than S$20.. but only got blue and pink, no pattern

Inu, last time for my gal, i got her used to FM taste but when i resumed work, i managed to meet her daily demand. So back to TBF again. PD says some babies will hv "milk strike" n lose weight coz they reject FM. but slowly, they will take if they are hungry. Some babies easier though, any milk oso take. If not, then u try to stock up enuf in the fridge, juz in case.

Choco, u changed ur mind! gd gd. Adeline's method works leh. Last time cf lady oso taught me the same way to relieve engorgement. I pour hot water into those hospital glass bottle n roll on the breasts. thino it helps to "melt" the clogs.

Leooh, if the pacifier drop out, if he didn't fuss, i will leave it. Wah, ur MIL wants ur bb to sleep with her at nite?

Ng,

1st 5wks I let my gal hv 1 formula a day, but due to my huge supply and I prefer not to freeze my milk, I let her go on total EBM leh. Now I am a bit worried if she will take formula later on, cos I have stock up 6 tins of Enfalac, now still have 5 tins since birth leh...

Bundle of Joy,

Motherhood is the same for me as this is not my 1st baby. But to be true..its more difficult to deal with 2 young kids whn one is getting old, no stamina liao. My elder is 3.5yrs now and he gets really jealous whn her mei mei arrive, he do all sorts of nothing things as he want attention, and we cant really punish him cos he is still young.

Leoh,

My hb bought from NTUC lor...thn he choose the biggest de. I almost faint whn I saw it...siao..4 of them worrh, my frigde fill up by the cabbage niah...Haiz...

Ng

ya i waited until she fuss then i stick it back.so dropping is normal lah?
yes,because i said that the methods she's using will cause us problems at putting baby to sleep at night,she said then she look after at night too.i'm so angry when she said that!

leooh,

i think if BB falls asleep, then the pacifier will auto drop out. i normally juz leave it. no need put it back..

where can i get the swaddle? think i saw it at Centerpoint robinsons before..

bundle of joy,
welcome

choco,
dun take medicine coz i had side effect of vomitting....so the best is use cold cabbage to overcome the pain

i realised tat the web b/w the fingers are dirty..how do u clean them? use cotton bud coz she clench so tightly...

Hi! Im finally home! House is really dusty after the repairs, so now my PT maid is busy cleaning up the house so that I can bring baby back from mums place tonight. I had no internet access for the last two days, and I was really suffering from internet withdrawal

Nining: Thanks for e-mailing me the catalogue. Ill forward to my friendsMy breasts take turns to produce more than each otherAs for the Mini Fridge, how many breastmilk bottles can you put in it? Can it hold two bottles with funnels? Thanks.

An_gal: Poor umy sympathiesits always so much worse when criticism comes for ILs. Just hang in there, ok? Hugz!

Jang: I like the Bumper playmate, got it in the Jul BPvery worthwhile. U can check it out at the big shop selling baby stuff in Great World City, cant remember the name but its the one thats on the ground floor of the Office Building facing the road

Baby sleeping: Do you sing to your baby when you carry him? If you do, try putting him down in cot at bedtime, then gently sing and pat him till he sleeps. Once hes used to this routine, then eliminate the patting, followed by the singing. Expect resistance at first, as its normal for children to throw tantrums initially, and to continually test your patience by acting up now and again (even after routine is established). The trick is to just be persistent and be firmsounds easy in theory but as a mum, I know its actually quite difficultbut youll make it somehow. Just hang in there okay? Let your hubby care for baby for a whole day and then hell understand what it is like to be a bed

Leooh: I think the difference between the Bumper and Minitoons Playmat is that the former has a nicer finish, as in you can see that the edges are nicely sealed so you cant see the material inside. The Minitoons is not as well made. Why not go to that shop in Great World City and actually have a look at it before you decide which one to get? Thats what I did Sounds like your MIL has Dyscalculia cant read, count or calculate numbers properlyor maybe she didnt go to school? Quite sad actually

Settes: Such a cute pic of your boy winking : )

Pst: Do you put on the breastmilk collection shell (into your bra) before you start pumping the other breast? I leave it in until Ive finished pumping and then swop shell and pump. This way, I manage to catch every drop from both breasts

Jete: I have the same problem with milk collecting in Medela valve and also have to stop midway to allow milk to flow out and scrape it to get milk out at the endPlaytex: $1 diff quite okay. My ILs couldnt find One-Step in stores, that why I have to order on-line.

Warming drop-ins: just place in cup of hot water or into electric bottle warmer. I even put freshly boiled water into drop-ins, so far no problems. Just dont microwave the drop-in.

Do you find that your ss increases when you use Ameda as compared to Medela Swing? I do, and I think its because Ameda has a stronger pump

Just want to check with you re: Tollyjoy Bottle warmer, thats the one you bought during the JL sale right? I remember you said you bought 2 at $30+ each. I bought one too. Do you find that the milk temp is way too hot if you wait till the light turns green? How much water do you put into it? I find that if I put in the recommended amount of water, then only the milk at the lower portion of the bottle gets warmed up, esp if I use bottles from the fridge. Do you have the same experience?

Jete:

Vet: Mt Pleasant Animal Hosp has several branches. The main hospital is at Stevens Road where the most senior vets are, and where the animal crematorium is as well. The other branches that Ive been to are at Serangoon North and at Springside (Upper Thomson Road near Nee Soon Camp, and opposite the new Springside Terrace Houses that are being advertised in newspapers theres a map in the advertisments). My Vet, Dr KC Tan is currently posted to the Springside branch.

I must check out the Ameda backpack at Robinsons. Is it placed with the Ameda pumps, cause I dont remember seeing it. Any idea how much it costs?

Fridge-to-go: I think it must be the Pigeon design and room temp then. Mine can last max 6 hours, at the end of which the milk bottles are barely chilledtried many times already. Even froze it in my mums freezer, which is at a lower setting than mine, and same result. Now Ive even resorted to placing the medela blue ice block into the pigeon to maintain coldness

Alsie: Jerome looks so cute and tiny in the bumbo seat!

Adeline: Your baby is really cute. Looks like you too!

Cin: Whats a peapod ?

Mel: Lucky u! No need to potty train baby

Atinarin: WRT jabs at polyclinic and pte: no difference in jabs, big difference in price.

Leooh: My baby cant hold pacifier in place, so I have to hold it for him or it will drop out. I think its normal, as coordination not fully developed yet at this stage.

Bundle of Joy: Welcome : )

chatty

ya,she didn't finish pri school...so i try not to get mad at her.do u let ur baby have the pacifier until he goes to sleep?happy for u that u're back at ur house,and hope that the neighbour's contractors don't cause any more trouble!(actually u should get them to pay for the cleaning fees too,haha)

bundle of joy,
welcome..

CHatty,
I can put 4 Avent Via Cup in the mini fridge. Havent checked the capacity for 2x bottle-funnel yet.. will do tonight after the bottle-funnel cleaned up okie? will post u a pic :D

i can't wait for my maternity leave to end and go back to work. really can't tahan staying at home with my 2 kids, mil, bil, sil & their kids!!!

i vented my anger on my dd today...so pek chek.....

Leooh: Pacifier - I only give it to baby when he really fusses and wants to suck, and then only after I've determined that its not due to other reasons. I don't "pacify" him to sleep. He self soothes for most part, although in the day, he doesn't like to sleep in his cot, and would rather be in the pram or bouncer chair.

We are sending the cleaning bill to the contractors. They didn't want to pay initially, but we were quite firm with them, esp. since they did a mosquito fogging of the neighbour's house without informing us to close our windows. In the end, we had thick clouds of pesticide billowing into the house and my cats started coughing...luckily the room baby James was in had its doors closed...when I went out to scold the fogger (who had a gas mask on while fogging), he had the termerity to claim that he had informed my maid. Later, my hubby asked him to describe the maid, and he made up a fake description of someone who doesn't exist in my house! Anyway, after we quoted NEA guidelines etc, the contractor had to concede and agree to pay for the cleaning...I even wanted to give him the vet bills, but in the end decided not to. So if you ever want to rebuild your house or know anyone who does, ask me for the name of the contractor from hell...believe me, the headache is not worth it.

Nining: Thanks! Looking forward to hearing about the mini-fridge capacity. Too fed up with my Fridge-to-go already.

As for bags, my friends and I are interested, and will let via e-mail you know if we want to buy any by next week.

chatty: i stayed with my in-laws for 7yrs liao....but will be moving out soon. hopefully, can move out end of this year or early next yr. now just gotten the keys to my new flat so planning for renovation now.

Garfield: I really admire your tolerance...I could "tahan" as I was crying and crying all the time...my SIL used to complain about me to my BIL who would complain to my hubby, who would tell me. I couldn't open and close doors or even walk around the house at night 'cause she couldn't have her beauty sleep! In the end I used to get all tensed up whenever I had to go home, and tip toe around the house...I moved to my mum's place and stayed there till my own place was ready. So the fact that you've managed to cope for 7 years is nothing short of a miracle from my point of view...at least its only for a short while more, soon you'll have your own house to live in. : )

chatty

wah the cheek of them!heng u all stood firm..and ur stay with ILs sounds terrible!i don't like staying with ILs as well,but i'm gald that they're not that terrible pp to live with..

garfield

congrats in moving out soon!renovation at most takes a month ma,quickly renovate and quickly move lor!

I reckon if you store using milk bags, can squeeze in between the ameda bottle-funnels. Or use the small glass bottles..