(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

just finished feeding bb...he drinks slowly...often taking an hr just to down 4-5 oz! feed until can doze off n its real tiring...do u all face such a problem?
me now pumping..cos can't fall asleep yet...right breast really pathetic...half of e milk compared to left breast...tink by next mth when i return to work...ss dry up liao..sian..

ocean

i did change her clothes but after i took the pics lor. and nope i did not shave her hair at all. she has been like that since born..meaning that her hair has not grown a bit !!! die lor..how to make hair grow longer har?

settes

4-5 oz seems a lot le..could it be that bb is takingmore then needed?

guess what i am not up pumping, i woke up cos bb makes noise and i tot she wants to feed, then i put pacifier into her and she fell back to sleep. bad mommy :p

Jete, y u wan to make FM n put in fridge? duno can or not but isn't it faster to do the normal way?

Pig pig, i oso find tollyjoy more economical. still got 4boxes of pigeon, once finished will change to tollyjoy. bought some loose pieces from forum. it's quite gd also, almoz same as pigeon i find.

Ocean, v sianz hor, starting wk. me soon in 2wks time. but will slowly get use to the routine one. juz wun hv the freedom to chat here so much n no more afternoon nap!

Btw, FM supposed to make bb fuller rite? gave Nic FM at 9pm, he fusses liao 2hrs later for milk. so latch him at 11plus. slept till 5. hope his routine can contd his way........then hope dat he can skip the 5am feed.

INu,
Maybe after our babies 1 year old we can go to Tioman, stay at berjaya and we go diving, while my maid-nanny takes care of the kids in the kids area kekeke..

pls gimme your email addy..

Jaelynn looks so contented kekeke maybe she knows u gonna buy her a gucci bag hahahahaha..

Ocean,
u got 10 years of ML?? wow!!

Jete,
good luck for the hubby's interview!! kaypoh me, what is his PhD in?

talking bout age,
me and hubby never talked abt how many kids we want or when we want them.. then at age 33 in xmas 06 I got preggie, so there it is.. que sera serra kekekeke.. went to phuket with hubby for a trip without diving cos saw the current was too strong and we were not fit enough, then I felt thirsty all the time then I remembered I missed few days of my menses (which is usually normal) Boguht the test pack that comes with the word in digital pregnant or not pregnant, it popped up pregnant.. was v scared cos I was 33 oredi and hubby oredi 40.. how to raise a child when we're oredi so old? by the time Ike is 20, hubby and I may need to retire oredi..

Managed to log in again now that brother is asleepstill camping out at parents place until major house repairs are finished

Jete:

To continue where I left off earlierI watched a show once about a man who kept drinking lots of liquids because he just felt that he was thirsty all the timeturns out he had a neurological problem. Maybe thats whats happening to your dog. One thing Ive learnt with my cats about Vets is that its really impt to get one who is updated on the latest in medical science. My Ragdoll has an enzyme deficiency problem, and used to have diarrhea all the time when he was a kitten, and stopped growing for 2 months. Brought him to my regular vets many times, and they couldnt diagnose his problem. Then I had to travel and I hired a pet sitter to take care of him and she realized that it was the enzyme issue, and had it diagnosed by her vet. After he was given the correct replacement drug, he was okay, though he never regained the lost growth period that he missed out. I highly recommend my Vet, Dr K C Tan of Mt Pleasant Springside.

FM: The Britax Royale Car Seat booklet as well as Isomil tins states that its possible to prepare and chill FM beforehand, then just warm up. What I usually do is prepare it with really hot water (to help the Enfalac to dissolve with as few clumps as possible), then quickly cool it in a cup of hot water, and dump it in the fridge or cooler bag with a fresh block of blue ice. So far no problems. In fact, its no different from putting your BM in the fridge. I find it faster to warm up cold milk and feed, than struggle with hot water, measure out FM powder and then wait for it to cool sufficiently to feed baby, with baby screaming his head off all the whileesp in the wee hours of the morning when Im all tired and blur.

Ameda has a backpack? Didnt see it in website

14 years is a long time to be away from homemust have been difficult to adapt to life here?

Alsie: I always have backpain from my slipped disc. No difference after epidural. You may want to check with your doctor whether the pain youre experiencing is really a side effect of Epidural or a result of incorrect posture or carrying of babyif baby is on the floor, remember to bend your knees when picking him up. If you bend your back, you will get backache

Nining: Could you e-mail me the catalogue too? [email protected] My friend will definitely be interested. Thanks : )

Garfield: I think itll be a huge relief for you once your own place is readyits really not easy to live with in-laws or even own parents once youre marriedexperienced it for 2 years when I first got married. Very torturous, so you have my sympathy. Now I tell all my friends not to even attempt it.

Pig Pig: Thanks for info on Breast Pads : )

Inu: Jaelyn looks really sweet!

settes,
when I latch Ike on, he also like that, drink few suckles then stop , if I pull out, he will be cranky.. so I let him pull out, but that will take 1 hr!! I fell asleep sometimes too..
My right breast can produce 2x as much as the left one.. are you left handed?

Jete: Good to know that your Fridge-to-go works so well...Discovered that mine works well if I'm in air-con rm all the time, as the blue ice doesn't melt so fast. As for effectiveness due to number of panels...it'll definitely be colder if there're more panels, but in my case, the issue is really the length of time the panels stay cold. There's nothing special about the "technology" they use, even if they claim its special. Its the same old blue ice blocks that are in most cooler bags. Only difference is that they are inserted into the sides of the bag so it surrounds the product and provides even cooling throughout...my medela cooling bag with the thick blue ice block lasts much longer...but because the blue ice block is so thick and placed in middle of bag, it leaves very little space for bottles.

goldenpiggy,
need your email addy..I dont think she got other brands tho.. just gucci, and not all design avail..

u know wat..everytime i will wear jaelynn in pink (all pink) n then bring her out. still got pple ask me" boy huh?" i flipped everytme and tell them "no, she's a girl" :p

my left side also produce about 30ML more then my right side..

inu,
sent oredi..

mommies who interested in the bags, can also contact me, meita said she scared cannot handle cos now 7 months oredi, can be anytime .. at least if I get the details can follow up with her..

is my turn to vet it out..

yest went inlaws place 4 dinner, they 1 wk no c Melcolm, then fil n mil ask hw com his thighs the flesh like soft soft, previously was quite hard.. y hav tis kind of question 4 mi :S then while mil feed Melcolm ebm, she ask mi today drink hw many times bm liaoz, i say NONE.. she was so unhappy.. until now still so concern abt the bm n fm issue.. then feed half way bb fuss as my bb prefer fm.. then i told her at hm i feed oso like tat so mix bm with fm if Melcolm drink half way cant finish, she then say mus hav patience 2 feed.. she oways can finish feeding the whole bottle.. i kept my mouth shut.. then ask mi hubby got everyday eat fruits boh.. i say NO, i told her if i cut then he eat lol.. then she say mi.. then u cut everyday lol.. i jus tell her sometimes hubby wok late com back eat dinner so full liaoz hw 2 eat fruits again.. she then say jus cut n make him eat..

i already don hav enuf slp daily n she can fuss abt all these small issues.. machiam everything is my fault man.. i know i m not working so to her mayb i veri FREE !!!

every wk sure hav some comments frm her

inu,
bb is 8 weeks liao..4-5 oz thot quite ok? cos i come across other bb drinking ard tis amt when they were smaller...n my bb veri wat one..if drink little...1 hr later eh eh again...i will faint! so rather feed him full full n sleep longer...tink he just has tis bad habit of latching on e teat but not sucking e milk!

nining,
me right-handed...right breast always produces less than e left one..but these few days its abt half of e other breast...goodness! don noe wat went wrong!

Nining,

my right side also can produce 2 times the left! my breasts look loop sided everytime.

Will it go back to normal after we stop breastfeeding?!

Jang, help u answer: yes, juz get the bumper mat if got gd BP. wat design is it? sure will be useful. till now, my elder gal sits on it to watch tv. i shifted the coffee table to the side.

An gal, haiz.....woes of ILs.....my mil oso sometimes like to bombard me with loads of questions. She pampers my hb sooo much lor, cut fruits, ironing, wash clothes, basically did EVERYTHING for him before he is married. Bet she will be heartpainz if she knows hb does housework now too.

Settles, if ur right breast is producing lesser now, try to latch more on right side, then can balance up.

settes/inu

my baby is also 8 weeks,drinking 4oz/3hours or 800ml/day.
but every baby is different la,must take into consideration their weight too.so no need to worry.

Ng/Jang

Bumper mat is much more expensive than other brands hor?is there a really very big difference?i'm thinkinbg of just buying one from stores like mini toons,ard $100 i think,not super cheap but still cheaper.would the quality be a huge difference?

MIL:
haha my hubby is also the pampered only son of the family.all the sisters have to do housework but not him.his mum does everything for him.but the difference is,i tell MIL to just let washing machine and dryer do the job,so i don't do any household chores too.she quite pampers me too,maybe ai4 wu1 ji2 wu1?or maybe because they live in me and hubby's place,so they're very very ke4 qi4 with me.

oh no,is it because i'm too fierce?i do sweet talk her and FIL quite often la,and will greet them whenever i wake up/they come home.so maybe thats why they quite like me too.

only problem with MIL is that her child-caring ways are very much different from mine(as in want to use yao2 lan2,jiggle the baby,dunno how to read cues of baby being tired,not very accurate at reading the clock to see what time to feed...etc etc)will have to explain MANY MANY times to make her see the rationale behind me wanting to train baby to sleep independantly.

but other than that,she's quite a nice MIL;-)so i'm fortunate..

wah finally can get into the forum...

leooh and settes,
actually hor..jaelynn is 10 wks old liao..wah i kept thinking she still 8. and yet she drinking so much lesser...at 1 mth, she can still drink 90ML..now she only drink 80..dunno if i shld be worried...but she looked ok to me le.

Jang,
dunno if breasts gonna go back to pre nursing time.. I dont think so tho, it's been "abused" hahaha.. my boobies also loopsided..

Jang & Choco,
catalogue sent oredi..

how to teach the baby to sleep by himself?

whenever i put baby down in the cot, his eyes open big big then a while later, he'll start crying

previously, i can carry him to slp then put him in the cot. Now, WORST, the moment his buttocks touches a flat surface, he'll wake and start crying! he only wants to sleep on me. I've officially become his bed.

HELP!!! i am becoming so depress. Can't even go toilet in peace. i really envy those who can plonk the BB in the cot and BB drift off to sleep by himself..

speaking of pampered hubbies! i ended up staying in KL for another wk so hubby doens't have his shirts ironed for him this wk..he somehow placed the iron on the couch which now has a big scorch mark! then called me to complain on the phone..about how he cannot iron, and its so hard..etc etc..and how he actually asked if his parents had time to iron for him but they said they were busy n he wasn't happy about that??!! goodness! i thot that was a bit of a spoilt brat moment actually..SUCH a lame thing to complain about!!! hehe...but dind't say lar, since he was so upset already about ruining the couch...

jang

i had a terrible 2 weeks with enci abt sleeping as well,first we overfeed her because she started making the sucking motion when she wants to sleep.so she got reflux and couldn't eat well.

then we stopped feeding so much,she ate better,but started crying when we try to put her to sleep.

then she won't sleep past 1 hour and wake up very tired and cranky...

but i see the light at the end of the tunnel now,because with sleep training(i'm using the baby whisperer's method.following the EASY routine,and using shush/pat) i think she's getting better and better and learning to self-soothe to sleep.

after 2 terrible weeks of training i think we're getting somewhere...so u may like to try!heard that gina ford is not bad too..

also,experts say that 6 weeks the crying peaks,and after 4(or is it 6?)months baby get better at self-soothing to sleep...so hang in there!

jang,
my hubby is Ike's bed.. He can be all cranky but once he lay his chest on his dad's chest, that's it.. soothen.. I train him to self sooth during day time, but night time is his dad's time..

Lilyn,
ur hubby is ridiculously funny hahahaha.. I won't have th stomach to ask my parents to iron for me no matter how much I hate it kekeke.. Sure will kena scolded..

leooh,
I have the gina ford's book but too lazy to read kekeke

nining

i'm thinking of going to buy and see if its very much different from BW.

haha i still ask my mum to sew buttons/hems for me sometimes..;-)

btw meita didn't return my email leh..

leooh,
Meita was at home today, she said she didnt feel good, so got herself a rest.. 7 month lee hahaha.. u wanna let me know what u ask then I can call her?

Pumpin now..

Settes,
I had same problem too.At least urs is 4 to 5 ozs , mine is only 3 ozs of milk take one hr plus...
Within 2 hr not finished, had to throw. Sigh..
Hey, ur bb look as if he is winkin at us! Such a
precious moment.

Inu,
So u 5 in the mornin wake up to log on cos u feed bb with pacifier? Hehehe..
But i agree tat it is very addictive... sometimes, i also need to ctrl myself not to log on, esp my PC hang all the times.

Nins,
Did i say 10yrs of ML instd of 10 wks? Hahaha...
See how unwillin i m 2 go back work... If 10yrs, then my boss will b my hubby n my supervisor will b my gal n bb, everyday monitorin me closely..
hehehe..

jang,
poor thing! u must be feeling so tired! have u tried giving him pacifier? i've got a little routine set for yeeheng....when he starts to fuss cuz he's tired (this is usually after he's been up 1.5hrs in the day, and he'd have yawned a couple of times), i'll hold and cuddle him for a few minutes, then swaddle him, give him the pacifier and put him down in his cot. if he's over-tired or fussing a lot, i'll pat his back and go "ssshush" next to his ear whist he has the pacifier..i do this for a good 10-15 mins..if he's almost asleep, i'll put him down in the cot and then keep patting his back (let him sleep on his side), for another 10 mins..key here is that he is semi-awake when he's placed in the cot, but falls asleep there in the cot (not on me)

learnt all this fr baby whisperer..really helpful and super happy w the results now! hope this helps dear..

lilyn

i'm hoping that enci finds her thumb soon cos she don't know how to keep the pacifier in her mouth,so i gave up doing that...

nining

forwarded u the email;-)thanks gal!

ok logging off now..goodnight ladies!

ocean..

my laptop always on ma..so when she makes noise and i put pacifier on her..i came into the study room and see got any news posts...after reading go back and look at her..she fell asleep liao lor :p

i must say BW is good. i also used it on jaelynn..now she sleeps on her own in the cot most of the time. the few times she needs to carry is when we missed her cue and she become overtired..someting like wat lilyn describes. i just carry her and pat her on the back till she half asleep then put her in cot.

Jang,
My bb last time also like tat.. but now slightly better n at times, try to pop the pacifier in her mouth which work sometimes.
Did u try to dim the light n heard tat can play some soothin music will help too. Also had to ensure tat bb is completely sleepin... whole body soft soft liao n indeep sleep then put down.

inu,
dun worry, my gal also like tat. Drink only 90ml or even less than tat... n can be 4hrs interval sometimes... make mewonder y her tummy seem to shrink instead of growin.. yet like urs, she appeared ok leh.

Today 1st day of work.. completely blank n also forgotten my login password. Am so tiring now. Whole day bz clearing emails as got 1000 over emails and only clear half of it... Still got so much more... no time to log in here also plus me now mus leave office by 7pm....

My bb last feed was ard 6:30pm plus and till now, still sleeping... dun noe wanna wake up up or not... yawnz...

ng,
my mil don realli pamper hubby lah.. but then she is super health consious.. bb cant watch tv, use hp or digi cam near bb she will ask hav radiation boh.. if she knew my mum everyday carry bb n watch tv 2gether, she will sure nag n nag..

leooh,
ur mil is confirm beta than mine lol...

jang,
i let my bb slp tummy dw if he fuss n cry.. it works 4 mi.. he can slp longer too.. hwever, mus keep a close watch as their neck not stable yet..

lena, garfield, wah, the article on 2nd hand pump does sound rather scary... hiaz but buy already leh... think shd be alrght lah...

jang, chatty, yeah! sometimes i also use the collection shells. but that can only 'catch' the spray - but not the 'golden period' that the milk will come out a lot if you're pumping...

ng, around the time when isaac was abt 6 - 9 weeks he also latch at almost every hous during certain parts of the day... think its growth spurt...

loh, my bb had slight fever after 6 in 1 too. doc say sponge his forehead when tat happens. so we did. n fever went dwn.

choco, I so totally know what you mean! sometimes you're trying all you can to settle the baby and nothing works. then someone just comes along and picks the baby up - and they baby chooses that time to 'get tired and fall asleep' pengz!!!

garfield, jete, adelynn, and other mummies storing ebm - how much milk do you put into milk bags on average? and what maximum? I try to maximise at about 180ml, sometimes even 200ml, but I scared overflow when frozen... but my sister also say shd store in 'feed sizes' - but the problem is I dunno excactly how much bb is drinking coz I latch all the time!

ytanhn, chloe's so big girl liaoz!

jete, wah which shop in taka did u get the fridge-to-go from? so nice the guy... I got mine yesterday from Mums R Us... tried to find the minifridge from some of the shops listed in the FTG website, but not all of them carry the miniFridge, a lot of them carry the 'lunchbox' kind...

ocean, you taste your ebm all the time? I haven't really dared drink it yet hahaha even though my hubby tried already. I only dare taste one or two droplets :p

jete, yeah I much prefer the format of your forum. maybe you can add the url of the forum to your signature for this forum, then we try to migrate everyone there? kekeke... this forum can put signature?

garfield, my sympathies with you on your MIL! can understd how you feel. you know what my MIL did? she went to sterilize the brush that is used to clean teats. *pengz* I alos very scared my MIL dunno how to first-in-first-out for the EBM... me starting work next monday... hiaz...

ninings, which shop issit in IMM that you bought the FTG and the avent milk bags from?

lilyn, I usually feed bb one side of the breast at a time. and he usually doesn't take more than that. so I will pump the other side and store that. so am sure it's not taking supply from baby.

jete, think they say can use wire ties to tie the avent bags. someone on this forum also mentioned using scotchtape to tape. am thinking of trying that.

an_gal, adelynn, hiaz... MIL-DIL woes... me too... sometimes I think my MIL thinks I very useless and cannot take care of her darling boy...

woahz!!! took me an entire morning to go through the weekends' posts! hiaz! sometimes have to scarifice reading the forum to do housework! :p gotta go!

wanted to post the above at 11.30am - but forum was down. here it is!

jang, we have the same problem too! recently, we found a method which works better - when he's quite asleep, we wrap him up tight tight, then carry and pat awhile more (coz he'd wake up when u place him down to wrap, right) then when he sleep again, then put him down. coz of the wrapping, he dun feel unstable and won't be so conscious that you're placing him down.

ninings, how do you train ike to self-soothe during the day?

jayden mummy,
yeah, my bb can lift his head up wen tummy dw but oni awhile, his neck still not stable yet but wen tummy dw, his head can turn left n right liaoz..

Leooh,
will talk to meita tomollow..

jayden's mummy,
sent oredi..

Pst,
I bought a mini fridge, not a fridge to go.. It's at New Maternity, IMM level 2.
What I did with self soothe training is similiar to what recommended by BW, keep the bedroom light dim, shh and pat his back, when he's less fidgetty, I put him to his bed or his bouncing chair without the buzz on, then see if he can settle, if not, I will hold his two hands to his sides and wait.. then he will still have big eyes open wide, I will slowly blow air to his eyes, then he close and then slowly fell asleep..

Harlow Ladies! I'm back..hehe...went to m'sia over the weekend to visit my grandma...did a lot of shopping for bb too...the clothes there are so cheap..hehe..bought a lot...haha...now catching up on the posts..wah, the posts go so fast when i'm not ard...anyway, juz got 2 used dream bags fr my relative...bb loves it..hehe..tink mayb she thot it's her new clothes..now wearing it to zz liaoz..happy tat she's sleepg..haha..hopefully she only wakes up at 8am tom..(coz in m'sia she zzz fr 12am-8am, but tat's mayb coz we put her in her fav car seat as she refused to zz on the bed)

garfield: wah, your frozen supply so much lehz..so envy..i only hv roughly abt 20 odd bottles..anyway, ask you ah..you hv a separate freezer to store ah? or you store all w the frozen food? got space ah?