(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

what do everyone do during maternity? besides the usual looking after the baby and coming to forum?

me started watching X files season 1 till now, at season 6 le

hi guys!

yeah I used to follow the sgpbrides forum thread for May2005 when I got married. but this time round, was too busy trying to clear work before I went on maternity leave. then after that, so busy with baby that no time to surf much net. hehehe only now, wanna have some support, so decided to come join u guys on the thread.

cookies_gal are you a may2005 bride too? your nick sounds familiar.

also, your Dr is Dr Ang? Dr Ang Huai Yan? My PD when I delivered was also Dr Terence Tan. But when we went back to kinderclinic for a followup checkup on my bb's jaundice, he was out of town so we saw his cousin Dr Lee instead. and since then we see Dr Lee.

I saw quite a few posts on babies choking on breast milk flow during letdowns during feeding. I have that problem too. I didn't want to 'waste milk' so also kept trying to push the nipple back into my baby's mouth. but it makes him even angrier and he cries even louder. then my PD said that I shd disengage him when I feel the letdown coming on, then use a tissue or towel to soak up the sprays until no more spraying, then let baby latch on again. That has worked great for me! so you guys can try that. no choice about the 'wastage' - better than baby getting all worked up and not feeding properly.

I've been reading and re-reading my Harry Potters!!! hahaha...

pst

Ng

ya they will collect the full sum at the start.dunno abt changing doc part leh.my next appt is on 27th Oct,long way to go.tell me if u change or not okie?

jang

that's basically the 2 things i do:look after baby and check forum.haha

long time never watch TV liao...

but next week when i go back to parent's place,can chat with sis,and maybe go jalan jalan with her and baby.and also bring baby to my grandma's place...so looking forward to it!

pst

u reminded me abt Harry Potter!wanted to borrow the last book from my sis during last week of pregnancy and she refused,said it was too dark.will affect my mood and baby..

now can read!yippee!

leooh,

i finished that book b4 i delivered.. hehe..

maybe i shld re-watch all the harry potter movies and re-read the books too! lol

an_gal,
dun worry... i'm sure Melcolm will catch up.
most importantly, he should be a happy and healthy baby

wa jang,
ur bb so big at birth ah!
during my ML, i ate, slept, watch TV, watch DVD, went shopping, etc...

pst,
most mummies on ML except me i guess
i'm back at work since Monday after 10weeks of ML!

jang

and you still have a happy baby right?will tell sis that.my family is too ban tang...

tell u a cold joke:my baby is very hairy(arms,forehead and back)and my sis told her,"baby,don't worry.though you are hairy,ur surname is not potter so its ok.."

leooh,
ur sis really can joke *shiver*, btw, my boy also hairy on the arms, legs and back!

my family not ban tang one. don't believe what i watch will have much effect on the baby, its all biological mah.. hehe.. but sometimes family do meant well
if not too troublesome, sometimes will follow a bit of the superstitious things.

Cookie's gal, my gynae is Dr HK Ho. his clinic is at Mt A too. V pro doc but super ex also. Ur 6-in-1, total need to do how many visits to the doc? 6times? I called my GP earlier, he says he can order the vacin if i want, he charges $95 per jab.

Jang, depends on my bb leh. Sometimes he latch only 5-10mins, then dozz off. Then half an hour or an hr later will latch again. Sometimes, i let him cry longer, if he's really hungry, he will latch abt 20mins, that can tong him for abt 3hrs. Really feed on demand.

Pst, that's what i do when bb's choking, no wonder he always unlatch when i having let-down. Must get hanky ready, if not, spray all over man.

Leooh, i'm seriously thinking of changing leh. Maybe will still go on my appt with Dr Tan next Tues for assessment only, then jabs go GP. update u again.

Woohoo......this "frog in the well" is going out! Hb juz called me says he can come back earler. bring me and bb go out jalan a while to take a breather!

adelynn, yeah lor, i used to think:"Dun waste milk!" and push the nipple back in his mouth. But then the pd said:"How would you like it if someone put a hose down your mouth shooting water into it." then I realise the kind of torture I'm putting my baby through! hahaha...

yeah! I was re-reading Half Blood Prince when I was in maternity ward, during labour (on epid) waiting for full dilation. Then started and completed Deathly Hallows during confinement. Then re-read the 1st, 2nd, 3rd, and now on 4th book already! Usually read when I am bf-ing baby. tells you how often baby feeds!

hehehe just some introductory info...

Name: Isaac Tan (baby #1)
Birth Date: 6th August 2007
Birth Weight: 3.22kg
Height: 52cm
Head Circumference: 35cm
Delivery method: Natural with Epidural
Hospital: Mt A
Gynae: Dr Ang Huai Yan

pst

talk at the spraying letdown. somehow mine stopped ..dunno whether is becos my SS went down..weird all of a sudden just no more.

does any 1 know any PD in the west? want to let bb take the 5-1 jab.

Pst : welcome !!!

Ng

you have fun heee..

Mummies, please help.

My girl is 3 wks now and she never stops crying since last week. PD gv her medication for wind, i also use ruyi oil for her but still she never stops. Tot bb suppose to eat and sleep but mine is not the case at all. I don't think she has colic cos i understand colic baby cry usually evening time and can last for a few hrs straight. Can someone give me some advice please, i really can't stand it anymore.

inu, my sister uses Alpha Baby
Address: Blk 135 Jurong East St 13 #02-321 Singapore 600135
Telephone: 6795 8660
Fax: 6569 0615

we're wondering whether to bring isaac there too. currently still using kinderclinic at mt A.

pst

garfield,
its common for bb to fall asleep in the first couple of mins..foremilk has oxytocin, which relaxes BB a lot..i make sure i talk to yiheng and massage his hands, his neck and ears whilst he's suckling..all this to keep him awake..i also pop him up to be burped every 5 mins on my lap (not on me as he finds that too relaxing and dozes off too!) it works most of the time, but usually once a day he still will fall asleep after only 10 mins, i'll try to wake him up for 10 mins n if it doens't work i'll put him in the cot...but i know he will b up again real quickly (in 20 mins)..

if ur pumping milk n have been giving him that, u should b able to BF with no prob w ur supply..so don't worry about what the elders say about supplementing..

Pst welcome, hmm... my baby is 1 day older than your baby.

An_gal, lately i bought some clothes for myself, baby's clothes, leg warmer, dream bag, littlepods sling, etc etc... I buy mainly from this forum, the BP for Biz threads and the overseas one. Sometime can get really good bargain. I'm quite selective on the things i buy but still spend a lot. Before i buy something, i will usually check with my boss (hb) but he always say if u think it's useful buy loh.
So near, shd meet up rite... hmmm... my littlepods sling should arrive soon so after i master how to use the sling, we meet up k.

Ocean, i do internet transfer using my home PC so convenient until got addicted. Now, i really have to control myself.

Choco, ur bb smiling till so happy!

Leooh, u noe, this is the third time i reboot my computer. Hope it dun hang so fast. Me pumping now...

Welcome pst!

Ivy, me dun hv internet banking so hv to trnsf via atm. O, for BP, really hv to b careful cos most of the time, not cheap.

Halo mummies, i'm back and pumping now. went sun plaza a while nia. Hb feeding bb ebm now coz want to chk how much he's drinking. He doesn't seem to be able to suck v well n keeps pushing the teat out. Hope he's not too used to latching and rejects the bottle! Otherwise, i'm in trouble coz starting wk next mth liao.

Ivy, me oso like to surf the forum to see got anything interesting to buy. i dun hb internet banking so that's gd coz it somehow restricted my purchases...hehe.

BB, wat did the PD say abt ur bb's constant crying? Mine at 6weeks+ but so far, he sleeps ok. Is she too warm or too cold in the room? Or is she crying to be carried? how do u pacify her then? Maybe u can try infant massage see if it helps to reduce any wind?

Leooh, i chking with hb on changing doc. he's ok with it but prefers to change to PD still instead of GP coz GP only does jabs, not bb assessment rite? For our girl last yr, we signed her for the 5-in-1 pkg but every appt, still got to pay for consultation and medication. consultation alone i tink is $80 liao leh.

ivy,
how do u find the dreambag? thinking bout buying it too...

jete,
how much did u get the swaddle cloth for? i saw the brand u mentioned at the babytown online shop for $30...what kind did u get btw?

choco
that's nice you got it as a gift. i think the basic model is selling about $191-199 at most places.

BB,
so sorry to hear ur having a rough time...how often do u feed ur gal? it could be that ur not reading her signals rite? my boy was cryin a lot too previously, but it was cuz i didn't know what he wanted...i've put him on this Eat, Activity, Sleep routine fr the baby whisperer book..sample of my routine is below. At 3 weeks remember bb can only stay up each time max for 1.5 hours..usually less..and this will have to include both the eating and activity time...i kept thinking my boy was very awake (thanks to my CL!) so kept him up for way longer than that..so by the time we tried to get him to sleep he was overstimulated and over tired, so VERY grouchy and screamy!

7am:feed
8am:nappy change/watching mobile time
8.15:put down for nap
10:feed
11:bath/change
11.30:nap
1pm:feed
2:music/mobile time
2.15:nap
4:feed
5:nap
6:cluster feed
7:sleep
8:cluster feed 2
8.45:wipe body/change to pajamas
9pm:sleep

good thing about this routine is that i can understand a bit more why bb is crying..ie if he'd just feed less than 30mins ago, he's not likely to b hungry...and if he's been up for an hour plus, he may be getting tired..

also,we've got a problem with gas too, so i burp him every 5 mins when i feed him (even tho he only takes total of 20 mins to suckle fully, the burping takes up a lot of time!)..i also burp him everytime b4 i put him down for a nap..

have u thot of introducing a pacifier btw? it may b that bb has a need to suckle, and this is a way for bb to self-soothe

hope things get better soon dear!

leooh
really? the baby oil was what the PD told us to use and we were actually quite surprise how effective it was. i thought must at least use it for a week or two, but after 2 applications, it was all gone.

nining
we're hoping to use it in the living room and dining room instead of moving the cosleeper in and of our bedroom. hmm.... but paige was already 55cm at the 6w PD visit, past 2w she grew taller by quite a bit, don't know whether worth buying the chair if around 60cm may be getting tight for sleeping.

BB,
also remember tat crying is baby's way of communicating with us..it doesn't mean ur a bad mummy if u can't read ur little one's mind! I remember feeling really frustrated and upset with myself when i was going thru this with my bub.felt i had no clue what i was doing and so inadequate!! keep telling urself that this WILL pass, and if u need to, just step away from bb for a minute and BREATHE...baby may be crying but will not die fr it..but at the end of the day baby needs YOU to be ok so u can take of her...

an_gal
not bad lah, 5kg is pretty good. we got to consider our babies started at a lower birth weight. paige was only 3.98kg at her 6w appt.

jang,
I've become addicted to scrabulous on facebook! and i watched sex in the city too! finished up to season 5 already..will b watching season 6 soon!

i'm surprise to see the prices for 6 in 1 jab varies so much. i expected the PD to charge quite a bit for it but end up it wasn't as expensive as i expected. i paid around $230 and it was the 6 in 1 leh, i hope they didn't mis-calculated and will ask for more $ when i go for the next appt!

BB
maybe try changing temp, either make the room warmer/colder or let baby wear less/more clothes. my bb cried alot first couple of weeks and we discovered she was cold.

Can i ask u gals if any of u had probs with the immunisations? we're going to KL on the saturday after BB goes for his jab, and i'm worried if he'll b sicky/feverish..i know he'll fuss lots if that the case...its a 4 hour drive so i don't want it to b too unpleasant for everyone in the car with a screaming bub!

jete,
jabs r heaps cheaper at a GP compared to PD! We're going to a GP who used to be a PD (got out of the field cuz he was in oncology, too depressing)..and he's charging bout 120 only for 6-in-1...

lilyn
i bought the 100% cotton one. i bought it in the US before we came home. I think it was around S$20.

Mel,
my life without CL is totally different too, but in a good way! am so much less stressed now that she's gone n i'm managing on my own without her interfering.. ;p now i handle bb all on my own and thats my job...hubby is in charge of doing any housework required ie laundry, cleaning etc

with ur MIL, it can b hard cuz old ppl don't always listen..but u can always pull the "but the doctor said" trick..we did that for LOTS of things when my mum or the CL tried to impose their Point of views...it worked like a dream! they don't dare to mess with the pros one..case in point,my mum keep saying my bb's pimples on the face is cuz i don't keep it clean enuff...kept telling her its infant acne she dont believe..until i told her dr said that it IS infant acne then she finally agreed that its NOT a hygiene issue

lilyn
on the schedule you posted, does your bb sleep from 9pm to 7am the next morning?

i've watched sex in the city for 3x from beginning to end! :p

jete,
do u use it in the car seat too? i saw on the site that they have slits in the back for the belts to go thru...thot that may be good for our long trips to KL..

lilyn
no, i only use it in the house. i dont think the one i bought has slits for the belts, think maybe you're looking at the traveling one? i remember they do have one listed as traveling set or something, maybe even come with a cute hat??

Ng, Lilyn & Jete,

Thanks so very much for yr kind advice. The 1st 10 days she was really an angel but since last week this is all she does. Eat, cry, sleep but not deep cos i can see her eyes moving than she suddenly cry again and we hv to hold her and start all over again to rock her to sleep and she will continue to cry and it will take 1hr to get her to sleep again. And before i know it, is feeding time agin.

PD said she has wind but after 3 days of medication she is still the same so i dont think is just wind problem. I would like to seek professional help, any good recommendation? I dont think LC is the right person to approach, wonder if we have some specialist here in singapore than can help sooth cranky baby. People kept telling me is normal but i can't agree but i dont know what's wrong. Tot baby should sleep after eat. I hv increase her feed, for a 3 weeks old she is taking 120ml EBM which i tot is alot.

Lilyn,

Is the whisper a good book? If yes will try to get it at borders. Can i hv the name of the author please.

jete,
cool! SATC fan too!

I WISH he slept thru! haha...no, he doesn't..i give him a dreamfeed at 10.30..then he wakes at 2 ish, once at 5ish..the dreamfeed is always expressed BM..its SO much harder giving him the breast for the Dreamfeed..sometimes i give him the breast after he's had the bottle..only successful 3x with that so far tho..

jete,
best is to bring paige to the shop and try it out then u can gauge if it can last u long enough.. I bought it while Ike was still in the tummy hahaha so no chance of a tryout..

Note that most high chair (non convertible one) is quite expensive already, circa 150-250.. so if u invest on the combi I think it will be worth it even if the basinett mode can only be used for a little while..

Ng,
GP does baby assessment as well too.. i brought my boy to the GP near my place. paid ard $580 for the whole package. comes with the 5 in 1, hep B, MMR and chickenpox. inculdes the bb assessment and consultation as well. not sure whether this is consider cheap or expensive. but near my place so convenient.

BB,
author's name is tracy hogg..i got my copy at times in P Sing.full name of the book is "secrets of the baby whisperer: how to calm, connect and communicate with your baby"

maybe she's taking in too much food? fr what i read, overfeeding can b related to gas too...also, eyes moving is part of normal REM sleep which is in our sleep cycle too..its lighter sleep, which could b why she wakes..she may have learnt that when she cries she gets picked up? try not to rock her to soothe, it overstimulates some babies apparently ( i know mine doesn't like rocking at all! got completely upset when CL did it)..i pat my little one on his back and go "shuuuu" by his ear....try to read the thread fr 02,oct or 03 oct where i posted the baby whisperer stuff on how to do that..i used her method and it works like a dream! i made sure i persisted for a week tho before i expecteed changes..

If u want to get help, i know of friends who went to Mrs Wong at TMC..she's a LC but helped my friends with other non BF stuff w the bb..(they thot bb was colicky)..i attended her prenatal classes and she's very experienced..

lilyn
yeah, that's the one. here's the company's website. the one for traveling is swaddleme traveler.

swaddleme

i love love love satc. i have the whole thing on dvd. hubby knows how much i love it and enter some drawing and won me a tee.
not only have i watched the whole thing 3x, i've watched individual episodes so many times that i know them by hard.

paige's easy schedule is not very "easy". lots of time she goes from sleep to activity (without the e), her naps are very short during the day. i recorded her activity from last thur and lost track yest.

nining
i wanted to get it 4w ago and hubby wasn't convinced it'll be useful. now he's beginning to see the uses. i was at kiddy palace and saw that high chairs can be quite expensive too, so that's a + towards getting the combi chair.