(2007/06) June 2007 MTB

Glayz, yalor, just get the munchkin grinder and mash the fresh apple up lor, fresher like that. Also cheaper mah...U should try avocado, its reli good for babies...

i think its still better to give fresh food rather than from the jar, as there might be preservatives and additives which we might overlook on that.

nothing compares with fresh food yeah

dryper, this recipe i modified from a banana muffin recipe:

2 cups all purpose floor
1/2 cup sugar - i used less cos dun like sweet
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup milk
1/3 cup oil
1 egg

I put a layer of the batter, then place cheese (bits of cheese slice or the cube cheese) then cover with some more batter. Will let u know how it turns out

For the banana cake, I simply added 2 bananas and cinnamon powder to the above recipe.

BB Bash
Jen, I might not be able to make it on 9th liao
as hb just inform me that he is flying on that day
for work, dunno wat time. But I might ask my mum to
come along as this stupid mummy have not brought
1 toddler and 1 bb out before..... The thing is my
mum's schedule for weekend is also super hot, must
pre-book in advance.... pls let me go back andcheck
with her then i let you know....

powermama, ha ha... do u bake often too? if u have any other easy to make recipes, do share also. I need those Complex ones I have no patience for them hee hee.

mich, i don't bake, my mIL does,but i love to read cook books! sometimes i borrowed them from the library or buy offer-priced cook books from popular...wat else do ou bake?

afternoon ladies.

bear, me too, throat aso damn itchy which triggers off e cough. sometime, hv to come out fr e bedrm so tt my cough will not startle my boy.

sy, u can call tmc parentcraft & ask them abt e nxt available massage class.

lin/divamama, ok, can transfer $$ to me later.

caitlyn, txks for organising e gymboree, xin ku ni le, having to deal w them.

sweet, yup... jake enjoying a lot, i envy him too, i wish for a gd massage too. congrats tt ur gal has flipped. i din put e unopened bb food jars into fridge, dun tink healthy times does tt too, else their warehse must be a huge fridge.

powerpuffs/sweet/phy, payment for 6mths bb bash rcvd w txks.

sng, when can u cfm if u r attending e bb 6mths bash? if u r coming, of course, hv to pay lah, else wo bu neng xiang qi ta ren qiao dai. dec sch holidays, many families will go trip during tis period, hv to book early, else hard to get.

glayz, 8 spoonful, will it be too much?

phy, dun worry, i aso haven't started jake on solids, WHO recommended to start aft 6mths, so will intro solid to jake aft 6mths. intro later will be better, not so prone to allergies & got other benefits, can read up kellymom website - http://www.kellymom.com/nutrition/solids/delay-solids.html

pinkzebra, i thot someone posted heinz teething biscuits got salt, maybe u want to check e ingredients cos not supposed to hv salt when intro solid to bb.

Jen
8 SMALL SMALL spoon...too much meh...
My spoon is mei mei spoon... so i like... hmm....1-2 dessert spoon...too much???
wahahahahahaha.... I tot all use small small spoon also... but mei mei finish in like 10mouthful.... already dirty like dunno what...

jen,
yelps! heinz teething biscuits got salt ah!?!?! sheesh!!!!!! lemme check the box now ..

you're right leh!
got mineral salt (calcium carbonate and iron fumarate)

sheesh! that means i gonna eat it myself ah! *slap head*

sometimes those bottle food/biscuits contain all kinds of ingredients, so you all gotta read the ingredients first before buying... i dun give bb baby biscuits/teething biscuits... anyway if you look at the nutritional value, most of them has no nutritional value... so no point giving them...

Food
My hb sure say I very troublesome one when it comes to food
Till now I still FEELING VERY SORE when i think abt food intro for Sky...(That time din join forum mah...)

U all know eggs white should onli be introduce after 1 right... before the MMR.... (my mum gave half boil egg yolk once few weeks as she scare the uncook egg yolk will have germs...)
Then once my hb's STOOPID aunt gave Sky egg (the he bao dan)
I actually stop her telling her cannot give...
Guess what she say.. She claim her grand-daughter also eat eggs liao..(BTW that ger is 3 months older than Sky!!!) and when i tell her CANNOT GIVE...she hack care and push the egg into Sky mouth....
I feel so angry (I AM STILL ANGRY) that I almost SLAP her....
If this time she still does this.. I SURE WILL SLAP HER....

powermama, I only know how to bake muffins and simple cakes... I'm no baker lah...

dryper, guess what? I forgot to oil the muffin pans (which shows how much of a real baker i am ha ha ha) so the bottom of muffins got stuck. But the muffin actually tasted quite nice... top was cripsy and cheese melted inside...

pinkzebra, lots of the baby biscuits are very salty... if you go to the supermarket, you will see taht almost all have salt etc and many actually taste very salty... only gerber puffs are not too bad... I used that when my girl was 9 months old for her to practise picking up finger foods. my friend froze a banana for her girl's teething time... maybe that works? Finally when she is old enough to eat real finger foods, I gave her organic type cereals made of whole grains... more healthy.

Mich,
thanks for sharing the frozen banana tip, i'll try that instead of giving him the teething biscuit (gonna keep it for own cousumption) for the banana, any kinda banana in particular that I should look out for?

was so excited just now when buying the biscuits and once again! I didn't read the label before getting it... felt so blah now.... lucky I haven't give it to Xavier. geez.... I must be more vigilant when choosing the stuff for him now.

mich, i also copying down.. err.. my virgin bake lah, so please help on those below questions..

how long to bake in the oven?
and at how many degrees?
Do i put them into the cup like paper containers?
izzit i just mix all those above ingredients and put them on the cup like paper thingy?
Will the cup like paper thingy "open up" ?(i am assuming the "paste" is gonna be quite heavy..)
1 cup milk = any full cream or fresh milk?

Err and also, about how many cups this will come up to huh? i need to make @ least enuff for the army u see.. keke.. if not 1 eat the other don't get, wait fight..hahaha

I going to try them tomorrow.. also, what else do i need to buy huh?

Sorry for my thousand and 1 questions.. keke

Glayz, wah, why that aunt like tat? If give me I surely snatch away the egg and eat it up. Putting your child at risk...

Mich, frozen banana sounds like a good idea!

pinkzebra, my friend must have used the del monte kind cos she was living in the USA and they didn't have the pisang kind there.

SNG, I baked for abt 20-30mins... but I just kept watching it. When the top is brown, then I tested with the wooden stick to see if cooked inside. Baked at 180degress. I didn't use the paper containers so I should have oiled the muffin tins... in the end my poor muffins kenna stucked. Yah you can just mix it all and put inside the paper cups inside the muffin tins. If you dun use the muffin tin, the weight of the batter may cause the paper cup to open up and spill out. U got measuring spoon and cup?Btw, my banana cake turned out quite well cos I did oil the cake tin. Oh one more thing, make sure the batter covers the cheese or your cheese will ooze out and turn dark brown which is what happened to mine.

pinkzebra, at least u found out b4 giving to bb. i forgot who mentioned it but i remembered tt heinz teething biscuits got salt, tink tt's y is tasty.

SNG, milk is any kind of milk... I used meiji low fat cos I scared of growing fat lah...oil I used olive oil cos that is the only kind of oil I have at home.

mich, measuring spoon and cup? err, for what huh? not normal tsp and cup can liao mah? hmm.. maybe u tell me 1 cup is how many ml.. keke.. i just nick's milk bottle lah.. keke

Kiam sia leh.. i tonight going to buy all those ingredients and the muffin tin and the paper cups.. keke.. so excited..

Divamama
She is a mum of 6 kids mah...so she tot she is a walking dictorary when it come to parenting...

Super piss off lor.... So now I make sure whenever I can see hb relative..I make sure Shane is SNUG SNUG inside my ergo... so they dun even get to see her face most of the time...

SNG, er, cannot use your own cup and spoon lah... scaly everything in wrong proportion. Go to the supermarket can find the measuring cup and spoons... not too expensive and can keep for future when u make other cakes... the truth is I only bake once every few months when the inspiration hits...

mich.. hee hee... maybe i should try the cheese muffin... by the way what cheese u use?

yes, frozen banana or carrot for teething but make sure you are there to supervise to prevent choking.

banana wise, dun get del monte type, it is cooling, get those from market, small and sweet type...

dryper, sorry blur liao, thot you asked what temperature I baked at. The cheese I used the single slices kind... and I tore it into bits. I think the cheese in the cube form should work very well also. Just stick it into the centre of the muffin and less likely to ooze out when baked.

fresh vs jar

I am going to intro some fresh some jar - just convenience lor. but got organic ones lah
applesauce
pear
carrot &
green peas

I going to get sweet potatos from organic shop near my place & see what else they have.

When i get say organic sweet potato - i will let the family ahve the rest of it - just cook abit everyday for baby to try - for testing allergy purposes.

But for jars - i will keep about 3-5 teaspoonfull in jar in fridge - the rest i will spoon out & put into ice cube trays & save for later. If she can eat it - i will then use - if she is for somereason allergic I will throw - maybe try again the fresh version another time.

My Father horrible asked me if she eatin porridge - i said testing brown rice only - he tot ok can liao put a pc of cake into vicky's mouth!!!!!!!! I had to dig it out! my mum alerted me. I scolded dad "you are harming her more than u can imagine - wait she allergic to eggs forever or turn blue canot breath then how?" he kept quiet & walked away quietly eating his cake on his own.

For now Vicky's done the 3 days brown rice liao - i grind into powder then simmer over steamer in a porcelain bowl 1-2 teaspoon of the powder with about 30ml of water & i keep adding boiled water & stiring until its cooked.

Going to try organic oats too but i am taking my time to intro stuff - my mum eats oats & sometimes she buys organic & she will give me some the next time she buys.

dryper

for some reason i only like the del monte kind. i am quirky - i just think they look better but now feeding baby - cannot lah - must get the local bananas instead.

glayz/all,

Jenn is right.. not all BPs are cheaper.
For Healthy Times products, I remember seeing a
15-30% promotion in one baby organic food shop
in United Square.. not sure the name of shop but
its the same level as Toy R Us..

GZ
tell her this is YOUR CHILD -if he gets sick HE IS YOUR RESPONSIBILITY - if anything happen to him - since the books & doctors say no eggs yet esp whites - SHE RESPONSIBLE IS IT? SHE LOOK AFTER IF HE SICK IS IT?

DAmn - my friend's super gd at this - i am learning from her - U have to use brut force & say no when cow sense cannot get into their pigs ears !!!!!! & never leave your child with them - strike her off caregiver list until he is much older.

I get very pissed when pple tell me this but maybe its time to use it on others - LAST TIME LAST TIME THIS CAN THAT CAN - LAST TIME POLICE WEAR SHORTS AR!!!!!!!! Boeing 747 is thing of the past! we already have the A380 ar! (punt intended)

My friend basically says - DONT feed her child at all - must ask her before feeding them anything. on the side it might make pple resistant to feed your kids & buy them snacks but hey isnt that good? can u imagine them giving poki poki to our baby now? or chocolate behind our backs when they are still young & shuold not be eating so much sweets?

pinkz,

I've emailed you my baby pic for T-shirt liao.

Jenn,

I'll transfer the money to you for 6 mths baby bash by wednesday.

jen do i still pay u $26 if i am not eating as well - cos i coming only after 2pm - i dont think i will be joining lunch - i did mention in the listing previously.

Vic-ma, ur father cute lah.. haha.. he's so excited vicky can eat liao so he gave her a piece of his cake to try. haha.. I also tell my IL and everyone they are NOT supposed to feed my kids! they are on strict no sweet no nonsense diet! And when i say no, i mean a NO! i will tell my kid to give it back or spit it out if they put into the mouth.. after they spit it out, i will show the person (i don't care who on earth it is) a super BLACK FACE!!!

sngma

i know he was excited cos grandpas are usually liek that lor. that's why i didnt 'scold' so loud or so hash. I just told him the facts. cos my mother cont from where i left off - think rest of the day she must be nagging at him about it haha!

well my father is one reason i wanted vicky so soon - he is old already & i want to let him enjoy his 1st grandchild sooner.

my FIL worse ar - he forgot his chopsticks got chilli gave my niece CHILLI with FISH!!!!!! the child SCREAMED!!!!!!

jen, sorry i tt via uob, so it may take another day or 2 for the funds to reach u.

re:heinz teething biscuits
i checked the labels and found that the heinz teething bicuit sodium content is one tenth that of nestle baby rice cereal. should be ok ba...the biscuit taste like the HT brown rice cereal to me, not tasty at all. i believe the sodium is for making the biscuit rock hard.

anyway, if u are unsure then don't feed ur bb with it.

for me, it keeps isaac occupied, he doesn't swallow much biscuit at all but, the size is just nice for him to grab and put it into his mouth himself to soothe his gums.

soothing gums - those teething toys work? my mum so funny bought 2 since the instructions say put in fridge to chill then use - so one in use other can chill!

Faints!

mich, thanks thanks... i did ask you abt the temp, but i realized you alr indicate on your previous post so I ask another question that i forgot to ask... heeeheheheh

i also particular about what people feed my kids. that time when my gal was ard 1 year old, my mil sister bought pocky and panda biscuit with chocolate/strawberry fillings for her. good thing is she ask me if can feed or not. i said NO! too sweet. then she told me dumex chocolate milk also sweet what, why can drink? *faintz* lor... dumex chocolate milk contains all the necessary nutrition for a one year old because it is for one year old lor. pocky and and panda biscuits is not specially for one year lor... want to compare also dunno how to compare... then my mil can feed my gal chocolate cake with lot of cream when we celebrated my gal's one year old birthday. if my sil did not stop her, she keeps on feeding lor... i want to say also cannot say lor, if i say one word she says many many words lor... fed up... anyway, i will pass message to hubby and hubby pass message to her... better that way

hi hi ladies!!*wave wave*
hpw's everyone? Jovial went for his 2nd 5 in 1 and pnuemoccal(sori if i speel wrongly)..haven been working since thurs so nvr log in the forum often..

dryper - empty calories is the word - worse still these empty calories will promote bad eating habits as well & cause coughing , etc health concerns.

hui!! hi hi

vicky going for her 5 in 1 tomorrow & prevenar aka peumococoal next thurs! big hole in pocket again man! heng this time no roto.

hi ladies!
Am on leave today. This morning weather so shiok until sleep till late.
But kerna sore eyes so will be on MC tom. Hope tom weather as good. Haha...

Ariel went for her 2nd dose of 5-in-1 today. She weighs abt 7.15kg now & 69cm long. Quite healthy gain. Btw, any of your bb have rashes after the jab? Ariel seems to be having them. I will monitor & if rashes worsen, need to call the PD.

I have also checked with my PD on starting bb on solids. He said we should start with plain rice cereal 1st b4 brown rice. Think need to go buy some plain rice then cos only bought the brown rice cereal from HT. Also, not recommended to start on teething biscuits if we have not start bb on semi solids.

Jen, will trsf the money to you later. Cant find my token. Must be in one of the bags.

Caitlyn, my colleague should be helping me pick up the HT stuff from you tom. If not, I will pick up from you on wed.

oh man....i just read all the post about in laws and aunties...sigh.. i am like faced with that EVERYDAY! have to set up all the rules and make sure they follow. everyday complain to husband til he sian , not healthy, make me seem like a devil. yesterday my MIL has fever. this morning she happily carry Dylan and sit on her lap while she still sick! i was sick upstairs resting. if i come downstairs and see that i sure flip! and show her a super BLACK FACE!.

SHE thinks dylan can eat solid already, she gave a glass bowl to dylan for feed, gosh., is it brainless or what? glass so dangerous. even though she meant well. that is so bloody stupid!

oh ya, and 1 st month , she convinced my hubby to bath dylan in guiness stout cause he has rashes. bloody hell . after that, he broke out more.

cant wait to shift out!

dylan also had the heinz biscuit this mornin, i held it for him while he grinded it with his teeth. i was scared he will stuff the whole thing in his mouth. when i feed him bee ghor, he gets so excited and stuff his face into the bowl, even though i am holding it tightly, my maid has to hold his hands and push him backwards. very very difficult. dunno why. maybe he has teeth already or wat. he acts like he wants to eat the bowl too!