(2007/06) June 2007 MTB

sounds like the gastric flu alot of pple getting - i had that last 2 weeks - the mummys here also some had or having - i prayed hard baby didnt get.

anyone in the family is ill?

just to share from my work experience

using the ear thermometer
below 37.5 degress - means no fever
37.6 to 37.9 - low grade fever (usually a dosage or 2 of paracetamol will do)
38.0 to 38.5 - fever (pls see doc to rule out any throat infection etc)
anything above 38.5 - high fever (if after a dosage of paracetamol, it still 38.5, bb needs further evaluation from doc)

as bb still small, pls bring to PD or Children's Emergency.. no point going to GP

We can use tepid sponging also.. use lukewarm water.. use 7 small towels and compress it to
1)forehead
2)neck
3)both armpits
4)both groin area
5)the last piece of towel for u to wipe the bb all ard.
sponge bb for 10-20mins.. OFF the fans! if bb start to shiver, stop immediately and wrapped bb tight and warm..
DO NOT SPONGE BB if high fever..

hope my 2cents help

still so bad ar how many weeks already your preg - gosh u remind me of what i hate most about my pregnancy.

but on the bright side i can vom now on demand - natural liao. really helped with i had gastric flu - just merlioned - but so afraid inlaws tot i preggy again.

vic
now better la.. just tat i scared eat some food my bb dun like one.. then i'll merlion immediately.. i wanted to eat cold soba badly.. boo hoo...

re: amt of food to feed. first you give 1 teaspoon of cereal mix with fm/bm. make it as watery as possible. if ok, next day add another teaspoon. add till you reach the recommended amt state on the cereal box. add slow and also slowly make it thicker

re: meat/fish/seafood, best not to intro baby till they are 1 year old. but you can add some ikan bilis powder (diy) abit on their porridge when baby ard 9 mths.

eggs, can only intro egg yolk before 1 yr old around 8-9 months. after 1 yr then intro egg white.

for now best to just to intro grains/fruits/vege. but no berries such as strawberries/blueberries/cherries before 9 months. because these fruits can trigger allergy.

cow milk, you can add to cooking around 8 months but not for drinking. after 1 year old then can give cow's milk. cow's milk is not equal to fm.

pooh - my hb loves cold soba i make for him at home. even with Daiso $2 kind can get nice as good as restuarant kind.

everytime he sees quails eggs his eyes will light up & look at me & wink! then i know liao i very long never make for him - keke

redrain
i dont know how to use FB. sorry. i myself need help.

wow congrats pooh - out of the problematic zone liao!

dryper
u tried red bean powder(diy) b4?? i've been to a bb food talk last time, they told me to grind red bean into powder and add to porridge..
but i find red bean and porridge combination abit weird.. prefers ikan bilis and porridge..

over the weekend, i stayed at my mum's hse.. althou trimelle haben start on semi-solids.. my mum very gung ho to let her try food..
now trimelle had a taste of apple, kaya and sprite!!! i nearly faint when i saw my mum gave her 1 drop of sprite to taste.. somemore it's cold one lor.. but the shock expression on trimelle's face is damn cute.. haha

pooh congrats on crossing over to 2nd trimester. u take care

no i got to be home to jaga Gabriel. anyway I am logging off soon. Those who wanna access FB pls email soon eh?

i tried split peas before. but these beans you need to wash, dry in oven and grind into powder form and need to use immediately. if not it will spoil or the nutritional value will be compromised. maybe i will try red bean/green bean for my boy... kekeke

thanks gals for the congrats

dryper
i wonder will the porridge turn super sticky anot.. haha

redrain
i've tried sweet potatoes with porridge b4.. taste ok but bb will fart big time.. haha
buy the normal sweet potatoes, dun buy the japanese one.. ely ate those and suffer from bloatedness..

i recommend plain rice cereal fortified with iron for start. once ok, you can make your own apple puree and add into the cereal. then you can try other fruits with the same cereal. u can try other grains, like oats/ brown rice with the fruits that u have tested before.

ask u all ar about the tracy Hoggs books

what it about i went to Borders last weekend all sold out!

1) Secrets baby Whisperer Toddler $30.95
2) Secrets Baby Whisperer $28.95
3) Super Secrets Baby Whisperer $35.30
3) Tracy Hogg Box Set $52.95

what's the box set ar & what's this book/s about? i saw alot of Gina Ford there but no Tracy Hogg.

I can only get 10% waiting for them to email me coupon for 20-30% off + member 10% off then i go buy if i find it suitable for me.

pooh, tt time when i use split bean on my porridge, it is quite thick so need to add slightly more water. tt is why can only intro when bb is ard 8 months when they can eat thicker food.

The search function in FB by email is not working now. I gotta log off now to feed Gabriel. Maybe Dryper u can add redrain, u have the admin rights too

pooh, i agree with you abt japanese sweet potatoes. somehow they dun really taste as nice as the normal one... yes, big fart coming up after eating tt

redrain u dun have a profile picture right? u must change yr network to singapore then i can add u to June Mummies Thread. I've just added u as friend waiting for u to approve me first

Ester, what is yr name in FB?

dryper

I plan to cook & freeze veg & fruits - the thaw & mix into porridge which my maid will prepare daily from ground brown rice.

porridge will add in veg/later ikan bilis, fruits by itself as tea time snack - ok right?

just 2 additions.

cos of the 3-4 day waiting period - think its time to start testing foods for bb already since its just 1 spoon right? all these testing say 8 types of fruits/veg/rice will take 8*3 = 24 days liao. about 1 mth by that time my bb is about 2 weeks from 6 mths old liao. - can i say like that dryper?

vic ma, for now baby will only eat solid once a day (lunch) as you go along and see that bb can eat more then you intro teatimes, then breakfast, then dinner. yes you are correct abt your last point. :)