(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

hi gal,
no explanation to how come keep having spotting lo. My gynae say nothing much can do except to rest more. It has nothing to do with food, cold drinks etc.....when the pregnancy is more stable, spotting will stop. say pro wait for abt 2 more weeks when me abt week 10 should be more stable liao....cos 1st trimester ending soon after tat.

so me rest at home till next fri lo. no need work. hehe......

i have a colleague who keep taking leave and MC last yr cos of preg complications too thru out her 9 months and even need to take un paid leave when all her leave has used up. my company still quite good la....never sack her...so i think my case should be fine la...cos we have many preggie ladies in the company now. hehe

lovedogs,
think fruits juice will help too...dun have to keep eating papaya. can eat instant mee la but try not to eat too much la.

Bridget,
u mean "li yu" will help clear the spotting? but i scare of fish now leh...even fishball i also siam liao.

ice queen,
u wake up at 9pm to have dinner then after tat go back sleep again ah? wah.....me opp....normally i eat abit then go sleep all the way till next morning. haven really vomit out everything yet b4....just feel sick and nausea n no appetite in the evening.

anyone bought maternity wear liao?? any recommendation? not cheap hor. was looking at online but dun look so nice leh

Cheezel
I have bought a few skirts, one from Perfect Mum and two from a shop in Novena Sq (cannot remember the name already). The one at Novena is have some discounts. I have also order a belly belt on line, this will help to extend the lifespan of our current skirts.

lovedogs
Yah, I tried the Joo chiat one, nice but dun like to queue. Found another place Golden Bay Restaurant at west coast, very huge and nice crabs.....

cheezel,
normally, those peoples (eg: bleeding) who need healing will opt for "li yu".it will helps for recovery. may be u can ask your mum and seek for her opinion, they should know more then us. fish is good for pregnant women, don't avoid fish..but may be can choose those fresh and unsmelly type.

hi all MTBs,
heard that we have to avoid certain fruits, eg, papaya... but i have been taking those preservatives foods, papaya strips,
i depending on that to curb my nausea....

is it okie?

and someone mentioned the we cant dye hair/ paint the nails as baby will have different colors...
last sun i have a wedding dinner, just painted my nails...

Karen,
It's not that the baby will have different colours. It's to prevent the chemicals from hair dyes, nail polish, etc to be absorbed into our bodies and hence pass on to the baby.

I juz called my gynae, was told that all fruits can eat leh....

Hi peg_gal,

yeah, the q is horrible hor. What i do nowadays is I call them to order. I call at abt 5pm...normally, can collect at about 6.15pm. But meaning you can't eat there...must ta pao... where is golden bay rest? heehee

lovedogs
i was told cannot call in, must come physically to order, then come back later to collect. Golden bay is at 27 West Coast Highway #01-16, Tel:6775 7255. If you want the huge ones, go to call to order 1st.

Karen
dun think too much, shd be ok lah, only once right.

Karen,

no worry. My gynae also say can eat all kinds of fruits but limit pineapple la.

better not to dye/rebond hair lo. but my gynae say can leh....my 1st pregnancy, i go rebond my hair when i abt 4-5wks preggie, but the pregnancy didnt last lo....miscarriage at week 7 cos bb no develop. i dun know if thats the part of the reason cos my gynae say may be unhealthy sperm or egg that resuted in bb not developing....anyway to play safe now i dun dare to dye/rebond hair now. and My hair now look like SHIT.

Nail polish should be ok ba. My sil always go pedicure when she preggie that time cos tummy too big cannot bend. I saw many preggie women with nail polish when i go for checkup.

peg_gal
what is belly belt? how it helps to extend the lifespan of our current skirt??

Bridget
i got take fish la....just no like. but no choice lo....cos fish is gd for us ma.

cheezel
Take care of urself....

It's true that preggie, dun dye hair or perm hair...my mil said so too...better be safe...

cheetos
Good recommendation on babycenter..i oso signed up cos very informative....

Anyone around 5 to 6 weeks now? Can we see baby when we go for the scan? I will be seeing gynae end this week, very excited....hope everything will be fine...cos I had spotting last week but after taking hormone pills, much better now...

how is everyone feeling today?
i feel slightly better but still rather disorientated. sometimes i feel really light-headed, as though floating in the air. i'm basically in a daze most of the time, so hard to concentrate at work.

hi peg_gal,
thanks thanks.... ^_^

cheezel, sorry to heard about your miscarriage *hugs*
and thanks for the assurance

will check with my gynae next wk when i go check up... btw, what fish shall we avoid? i totally forget about all these... :p

blueblue,
i went for my 1st checkup @5w2d, only managed to see the water sac, will have to go back next wk(7w3d) to try detect heartbeat... keep my finger crossed...

ezann, morning!
i dont feel good...

MS starts to kick in on Tue, and once i reach home in the evening, i merlion... yesterday also... but only merlion fluid...

appetite very bad also... but i forced myself to eat, cos i scare bb will not get enough nutrients... been feeling nausea especially on the way to work, cos the bus keep jerking... wonder how to hang on till 2nd tri.....

Morning mummies.

Cheezel, yalor, I usu vomit the min I reach home cos the bus too jerking for me. After dat will surely go and sleep. Den hubby will wake me up when he come back and ask me to eat dinner. Has been like dat since I was in week 5 and I am now in my week 9. I have totally zero social life as I am just too tired to go out with friends.

Ezann, I am like you too. Cannot concentrate in work.

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Baby #</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jesmine</TD><TD>02-May-2007</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Taro</TD><TD>03-May-2007</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Dr S P Teo</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ice Queen</TD><TD>04-May-2007</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Dr Chan</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cheezel</TD><TD>09-May-2007</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mummyyoko</TD><TD>09-May-2007</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Natalie</TD><TD>08-May-2007</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Dr Jen</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tami</TD><TD>10-May-2007</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Dr Chris Chong</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pegsfur</TD><TD>12-May-2007</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gal</TD><TD>13-May-2007</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Precious_moments</TD><TD>13-May-2007</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ezann</TD><TD>16-May-2007</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lovedogs</TD><TD>20-May-2007</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Dr Chan</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bridget</TD><TD>20-May-2007</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Peg_gal</TD><TD>22-May-2007</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Karen</TD><TD>23-May-2007</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dec_gal</TD><TD>25-May-2007</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Blueblue</TD><TD>30-May-2007</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Slee16</TD><TD></TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Eunice</TD><TD></TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jkids</TD><TD></TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cheetos</TD><TD></TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD></td></tr></table>

i went for a facial when i was in week 4, as i do not know i am pregnant that time.

i am going for another appt tomorrow...quite worry, don't know whether can see the heartbeat,
it will be my 7w tomorrow. praying hard...

Bridget,

facial should be ok ba.

At 7W should be able to drr heartbeat liao....so no worries ladies who haven seen bb heartbeat yet.

peg_gal
if put on belly belt, tat means our shirt must be long enuf to cover the front right? else will see panty liao.....hehe....

ice Queen
me also 0 social life.....practically stay home all day long lo.....even meet frens also cant walk too much......always feel very tired.

hey ladies,
anyone of u taken any herbal soup like "si shen tang" or "pao shen tang" etc?? wonder if ok to take during 1st trimester anot.

Karen,
i also cant remember what fish cant take liao.....think tuna right? cos of mercury ??

Hi cheezel, I am taking the pao shen. But not tang type leh. Just use hot water to soak awhile den drink. My mum says ok to drink as long as the pao shen is good quality. She brought me a small packet, cost ard 50bucks. Other than this, cos I got cough, I also drinking some chinese med. But my physician knows I am preggie, so he will order the med suitable for pregant woman. Ya, me got no mood at all to go out. Even on wkends I just stay at home and sleep throughout. I am hoping that I will be better in my 2nd trim so that I can start meeting my friends and also to inform them of the good news....I haven really tell much ppl abt my pregnancy yet. Just my boss, some lunch kakis and 2 other good friends.

you ladies experience headache? I have got very bad migraine for a week now. Head feels so heavy! I took the day off today to rest at home. Same here, no social life now. Too tired to socialise...

karen,
i also merlion fluid. i realise empty stomach will give me nausea. that is why i feel nauseous in the morning and evening. i tried to eat little bits of food constantly to avoid nausea. i just went to the toilet and realise i am having spotting again. i am on hormone pills already so don know what is wrong. my gynae said the only way is to rest as much as possible. i really hope nothing is wrong. i also don know how to tahun until 2nd trimester, still a long way to go.

thank Taro for updating the table again...

i realise that i'm getting more and more tired... i starts to sleep from 9.30pm~6.30am since last wk, i still feel tired... yesterday 8.30pm sleep, still the same wor.... always feel that sleep is always not enough...

ezann, i also tried to eat bits of food, the prob is, whenever i see the food, i still dont have appetite, i always feel full...

do u all think that if i dont eat, will harm bb bo? cos i always feel very very full/bloated, totally can't swallow anything at all.... my last pregnancy, not so bad wor...

hi peg_gal,

thanks for the crab contact details. but west coast very far for me as i am staying at the extremem east... Joo Chiat one can ta pao...i have been doing that

good luck for your gynae appt

Can i ask u guys when did ur tummy gets big? am only in mid of week 6... i really can't wear most of my pants and skirts.

my pants feel so tied this morning that i came home from office at 11am..now working from home coz really uncomfortable.

hi karen,

DId you ask your doc to give you some anti - ms med? not only for bb, but i think it is unhealthy if u dun eat.. will get weak and fall sick easily...

Ice Queen,
my mom told me if those pao shen that r exp normally is those "bu" type. cheaper type ppl normally just take to "ti shen" and some abit "cooling". dunno if those mixture type of herbs that label pao shen tang, is liang or bu type.

taro,
me no migraine. just feel abit light headed at times. u rest well ok...if still have better tell doc/gynae how come like tat.

ezann,
me also on hormone pills and also got spotting....even someime resting also have lo....ask my gynae, he just say stop work and rest at home. as long as its brownish colour shouldbe fine but not blood la. at this stage, my gynae say we can only wait and see ....hope bb develop well....nothing much we can do too.....continue to take ur hormone pills and rest more......

karen,
i also sleep very early now. normally 9pm i will turn in for the night liao. very tired. today near 10am then wake up....now still feel very tired.

peg_gal,
me also tot of buying but my current shirts all quite short leh....cant cover much....

lovedogs,

my pants all cant wear liao....me wearing those drawstring pants and "XL" size cappri pants now. terrible right....

Karen,
normally 1st trimester, bb dun take much nutrients fr what we eat....its only in the 2nd trimester. 1st rimester normally MS, so most of the ladies will lose wt cos of no appetite and also merlion out all those that r eaten......but u should still take some to keep your energy level there lo....else feel weak and plus the MS will make u feel even worse

hi cheezel,

i think its time for me to go shopping this weekend... else, i really have very limited clothes left.

i really envy u ladies can sleep so early... i feel extremely tired and giddy, although i do not vomit. however, i can't fall asleep until abt 1 am...and i need to get up at 7.30am to work. or 9am if working from home.... i am having 6 hours sleep most of the time only
i also wish i can fall asleep by 9pm...

lovedogs,

me too....i only left with 2 drawstring pants n 1 XL cappri pants which i think very soon i cant wear them liao.

hi lovedogs,
my next appt is next sat wor...
now just have to hang on till next appt...

cheezel,
my pants and tops all also cant wear liao... the tummy will be so obvious... but if starts wearing maternity wear now, isnt that very funny? some more my work dont allows Tee shirt, have to wear blouse wor... *headache when think of this*

I envy those who can work from home...
sigh, too bad my company dont have such kind of service, and my job dont allowed...

i tried to eat, but whatever food i see, i just feeling like puking.. this morning, i only took 2 slice of bread till now, totally no appetite at all, and dont feel hungry at all. I so scare that if i force myself to eat, i may just merlion all out... the nausea feeling is up till the chest....

hi karen,

how abt consulting a GP for some anti-MS medication? coz if it is really affecting your appetite, then its no good. Its like a virtual cycle hor, if u eat, u throw them up, if u dun eat, u will feel weak and giddy...

guess u will also need to do some shopping for those loose-fitting blouse...

as for tummy getting bigger. i kept thinking it will only be big after 12 weeks.... guess i was wrong...

karen,

how abt drinking milo or cocolate drink if u really cant eat? porridge??

the nausea feeling is definitely not comforting at all....sometime eben when i lying down to sleep, i also feel nausea. i just haven merlion yet...thats the last step i think.....

where u ladies going to shop over the weekends? i cant walk too long cos of spotting so must have targeted shops/boutiques. but i have no idea where to start......

hi cheezel,

i read on this thread earlier someone mentioning of a place in paragon...i plan to go check it out there....

btw, any idea does mothercare sells maternity clothes?

i think we can also buy babydoll dresses since now it is trendy to wear them... hence, not so obvious

cheezel,
my gynae (we share the same gynae) also told me to rest but the moment i rest in bed, i will fall asleep. i slept so much that i feel giddy and whole body like jelly. stay at home very sian and my thots will run wild also so i decided to come to work. my colleagues say i look very weak and i daze the whole day.

icequeen,
i took some chinese medicine (for an tai) also, if everything goes alright i will stop the medicine.

lovedogs,
i've big tummy also...i think it caused by bloating.

ezann,
my colleagues even said i look pale...i am wondering i have enough blood supply as i have low blood pressure.

karen,
i think cheezel has a good suggestion. you may opt for beverage, especially milk and milo. may be you can put some corn flakes as well. at least it filled your stomach.

taro,
no headache for me, but i've backpain when i bend down.

taro,

I have headache too ... and like alot of gals here, i'm starting to feel nausea too.

Tml is my appt to see the gynae &amp; do another blood test ... hope everything is fine

lovedogs &amp; taro,

Tks ... I'm trying to be positive but seeing how distraught HB felt yesterday, i oso feel sad.

pegsfur,
dun worry too much hor......all the best. remember to update us.

lovedogs,
i seldom wear dress or skirt to work. the most i wear denim skirt only....most of the time i m clad in jeans and tshirt at work as i work in a lab. hmm....i may consider babydoll dress if i can find nice one .....any recommendation?

i think mothercare do sell maternity wear ba...i pass by one in causeway pt b4 and i remember i saw some clothing there.

Evann,
U stay at northeast ah? i always there during the weekends cos my parents stay there. ya lo.....Dr Adrian only say must rest more. and now its a stressful momment cos sometime even not stress wen we see the spotting we get stress up again...but nothing we can do lo.

i stay at home also very sian....nothing to do...eat sleep surf net and nothing else......my colleagues ask me to rest inst of going to work cos at the end of the day should anything happen, nobody gona praise me for going to work instead of resting at home. Instead pple will ask how come u didnt rest well. so i heed their advise and get the rest which Dr Adrian has been asking me to since last week.

pegsfur,
u remind me of my previous mc when i need to take blood count on 2 separate days to compare if my hcg level is rising as normal when my gynae found my water bag is not growing at week 7. That time i keep thinking abt the bb, what if this gona happen and what if thats gona happen. Nothing much we can do except to wait for result to be out and thats the longest wait we ever had.

Dun think so much ok....TOMOR WILL BE A BETTER DAY. Who knows ur twins are doing fine now.

cheezel,

Hahhaa .. yah, 3 sacs leh
I supposed that's the same test my gynae is gonna test on me too. I can only pray that everything is alrite

karen,
Tks! I'll update u gals here after my review tomorrow.

hi pegsfur,

i know its tough not to worry. But remember the mind is a strange thing... may have some strange force. so...must be POSITIVE ok... be positive remember...

hi cheezel,

i am not sure where got nice babydoll dresses. I reckon the standard boutiques...or isetan etc should have. i will try to go parkway parade or orchard this weekend if i can drag myself out.

u shd stay at home...try to watch some DVDs, read magazines, books etc... i agree with what your colleagues say... honestly, i can't wait till next May when i can enjoy 12 weeks paid maternity leave! paid and yet no need to work...isnt that the best thing? heeheehee

Thanks Taro for updating the chart. My gynae is Dr KL Yam at KKH, but I do not know my EDD yet as I have yet to see the gynae.

Some things to do curb MS..much on a cracker (don't leave the stomach empty); keep busy (either occupy yourself with something or walk about). That usually works for me. If I sit down and do nothing, the MS tends to get worse.

I don't really know how to cope this time round too now. Previously, it was much easier, just need to concentrate on being preggie, but can still go shopping, sleep early etc. Now, with a baby it's really tough, I have to pick her up after work, play with her, put her to sleep. There are times when she'll wake up in the nite and I have to get up as well. And she'll wake up for her morning feed at 530am. So being pregnant while having a kid is not easy at all! I'm sure those having #2 will understand. But I guess we all have to hang in there, and see through it till the end!

lovedogs
I cannot wear most of my skirts already. Those with elastic bands ones are very comfortable.

I did not managed find the belly belt in the stores in singapore, so i ordered online.

Mothercare does sell maternity wear but quite limited. Can try going to suntec, they have spring maternity and cloud9, theirs not bad.

cheezel
i have also just bought a XL drawstring, think will outgrow that quite fast also.

lovedogs

the 12 weeks ven if no need work, you may need to "wrok" at home at that time liao...hehehe...breastfeeding, change diapers, carry bb, bath bb, wait up in the middle of night to feed etc.....hehe.....also work leh all these....haha....

cheetos,
u bring ur girl back home everyday? fr nanny place or childcare? must be tough on u......

peg_gal
my colleague told me maternity waer normally quite ex so she recommend that can go metro, isetan, OG, where theres maternity section to look for clothing though i dunno if they r nice.

cheezel
yah quite expensive. Ok, will go to these departmental stores and see.

have u started wearing flats already? I am still wearing high shoes. Actually, bought one pair of flats last weekend, but kena blisters from it, so revert back to wearing heels, more comfortable.